Customer Reviews

342
4.2 out of 5 stars
Asus VE278Q 27-Inch Full-HD LED Monitor with Integrated Speakers
Price:$245.99 + Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

276 of 282 people found the following review helpful
on November 14, 2010
Verified Purchase
I've been shopping around for a new monitor for quite some time. I always do my research before making a purchase, and it was no different with this monitor.

Having been a past ASUS component owner who is impressed with the quality and innovation in their products, I ended up searching around for quite a while only to come back to them.

I started out with quite a list of features I was looking for in a monitor, and I wasn't sure I could find any monitor that could satisfy the list of essential features. But then I found the VE278Q.

The monitor has everything I wanted in a top of the line monitor, and it delivers in every way exceptionally well. I'll do a pros and cons list first, then round this out with more info:

PROS:
+Excellent color quality - very rich and accurate color when calibrated.
+Super fast - no ghosting.
+Even lighting - no backlight bleeding.
+Wide range of input options, and audio options.
+Very bright, instant on with no warm up time, and outstanding contrast.
+Solid range of adjustments, video modes, and display capabilities.
+Anti-glare coating removes nearly all glare.
+Price is low for such quality monitor.
+No dead pixels.
+Very good max viewing angles with minimal color distortion
+Decent internal speakers that don't waste visible space if you don't need them.

CONS:
-I can't really think of any

RATING:
VALUE: 10
FEATURES: 10
SETTINGS: 9
QUALITY: 10
DESIGN: 10
OVERALL: 9.8

ADDITIONAL INFO:

**** Input options:

HDMI, Display Port, DVI, and RGB inputs - an outstanding range of input options. It also has a stereo audio input that will output sound from the internal speakers, which I might add aren't half bad for a display thats so thin. They don't have much distortion even at max volume (which is pleasingly loud), and thanks to internal Bass and Treble settings you can make them sound pretty good, though still not as good as a dedicated desktop system. I didn't expect much from them, but I was surprised. There is also a line out jack that works wonders for HDMI content. I currently have audio coming from my PS3 (along with 1080P video) in a different room through an HDMI splitter into this monitor, going out the line out on the monitor and into the line in on my PC, which then outputs the sound to my high quality desktop speakers that are connected to my PC (this lets me share audio between the two). The way it handles HDMI audio is a truly outstanding bonus, and it really made this monitor far more useful to me as a secondary display for my other HDMI entertainment devices.

**** Video options:

The display features customizable "Splendid" picture modes (5 total, with sRGB being raw, and non-configurable), sharpness adjustment, "Trace Free" which attempts to remove any additional ghosting as far as I can tell, and ASCR (ASUS Super Contrast Ratio) which is available as an option for all display modes except sRGB and "Standard", and AI Light which adjusts the back light to a balanced level with the room lighting.

Of those options I use the following settings. I set Sharpness down from 50 to 40 to give the display a nice smooth look for reading text, and it works very well, since the display is otherwise one of the sharpest I have seen. I set "Trace Free" to 0, since with a 2ms response time, ghosting is essentially nonexistent (this monitor is fast!). I leave ASCR on, since it really does do an amazing thing for gaming - the display can literally go pitch black when a dark scene is on the screen, and then within 1-2 seconds ramp up to eye burning max brightness when needed. AI Light works great, but it should be noted that it is only available when ASCR is disabled, since both cause adjustment of the LED lighting.

The monitor has no gamma adjustment, but it does feature custom color temperature settings with an R/G/B adjustment menu along with some presets (Cool/Normal/Warm). My current settings for R/G/B are R: 83, G: 76, B: 69 to make it match the calibrated output tone of my top of the line theater projector. I set color to 43 for all modes to prevent clipping, and contrast to 67 to keep color tone balance consistent across the entire grayscale, and again prevent clipping. It looks very, very nice with a bit of adjustment. Uncharacteristically warm for an LCD, in a good way. I've always been a fan of the warm, smooth, fast look of CRT's. This monitor is the first one I've seen that I could say matches and exceeds all of those characteristics.

**** More features:

Picture in picture works excellent, allowing you to move the smaller image window and change its size. You can have picture in picture from one of the other inputs that you aren't currently using as a primary for the entire screen. Audio tone adjustments allow you to make audio from the internal speakers sound pretty great for internal speakers in my opinion, and if nothing else they give you some freedom to tweak the sound coming from your HDMI line thats coming out to your speakers or headphones. The buttons on the bottom of the display are hidden well, which I like, and offer quick access to PIP, backlight brightness, speaker volume, input, and Splendid modes. Overall I love the ease of access and the audio/video features of this monitor. Its uncommon to find many of these features in a PC oriented display.

**** Design/quality:

The design of the monitor is very nice. I love that the screen is antiglare, and the entire monitor is glossy. It really makes the image look raw and undisturbed in contrast to the glossy exterior. Its great. The backlighting is extremely bright if you want it to be, instantly lit with no warm up, has a very neutral color tone (I expected the typical LED blue hue), and lights the screen very evenly without any bleeding at the edges. It also makes little to no heat, no hum, and shouldn't dim over time like traditional CCFL panels. The display controls are hidden pretty well, but are easy to access when needed. The speakers output audio from grills on the top of the monitor, and sound pretty decent. The AI Light sensor sits at the top of the monitor between the two speakers. The base is very sturdy and actually looks pretty nice. It has as much tilt range as I've found myself needing. The monitor has well placed 100mm x 100mm VESA mount holes as well, which I plan to utilize very soon.

OTHER NOTES:

+Gamma was hard to pin down to 2.2, since out of the box it sits at about 1.8 (This could be related to my default ICC profile, as there is no driver disk with the monitor).

+Yellow push was visible in skin tones out of the box, though there is a skin tone setting to adjust around this a bit (This could also be related to my monitor ICC profile).

+I loved this monitor so much that as soon as I used it for a week, I purchased a second one. If there are noticeable differences between both monitors I will make note of it here.

UPDATE - December 9th, 2010:

As noted above, I have returned to report if there were any differences between the first VE278Q and the second one that just arrived today. I'm very pleased to say that they are visibly identical in all but completely black scenes (there is a slightly different spread on the back lighting between them). The color tone is within 100K of the original at the same settings. There are again, no dead/stuck pixels or sub pixels. Call me impressed. With extended desktop between these two identical monitors, I now have an outstanding work station. Hope this review helps others! If Amazon gets some more of these in, I may get one more for my other desktop - these are too good to pass up.
1616 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
111 of 113 people found the following review helpful
on December 7, 2012
Verified Purchase
This is the third monitor I have used with my new computer, which was purchased in late November, 2012. I confess, that at best, I'm a simple man and not a techie, so I wanted a good monitor for my simple means. I use Photoshop, read and create a lot of documents, play some games, and watch YouTube, as well as the occasional DVD on this computer. For these uses, this monitor ranks far above what I really need, but at least by having this now, I have some room to grow with as my needs change. Granted, I don't know enough to be as nit picky as some people are, but I can attest to this, based on the other two monitors I tested, this has so far proved to be a solid, superior monitor.

PROS:
It has a 2ms response time. This pretty much eliminates blur on fast action videos and games. BUT, you need to have a fast graphics card as well for fast response time.

The screen is matte / non-glare. This was crucial for my needs.

My eyesight isn't all that great even with my glasses, but I can say that this monitor is very crisp and clear. I no longer have to hunch forward to read fuzzy lettering.

It has various inputs, VGA, DVI, HDMI, so this will work with older computers, as well as the newest ones.

There is an option for the monitor's photo sensor to recognize the light of the room, and adjust itself accordingly. Note: This option has to be selected in the menu.

This monitor allows for Picture In Picture. I don't have a use for it, but some of you may desire this feature.

The cords can be routed through the arm of the base which will make everything look more tidy.

It has a VESA mount, so if you want to attach an upgraded monitor stand or wall mount, you can.

It arrived in perfect condition. No dead pixels, no scratches, no worries.

IT HAS A 3 YEAR WARRANTY! This was a high sell point for me.

CONS:
The menu for adjusting the screen is less than helpful, but some trial and error will eventually get you to change the settings if you need to. Personally, I just had to turn down the brightness, and that was good enough for me.

It does NOT come with a manual or an installation CD. Sometimes the CD will include the manual, but again, you don't even get the disc. However, you can download the manual from their website. After doing so, the only useful thing I got out of that was learning how to navigate through the menu buttons.

MY BOTTOM LINE: In my humble opinion, I have to say that this monitor is of superb quality to the average / above average consumer. As I said before, this was the third monitor for my computer, and it would seem that 3rd time was the charm.

Thank you for reading this review, and I hope it was of help to you. If so, please click the "YES" tab so that Amazon and I will know that at least I did something which was of use to someone else. And if you have any additional questions, feel free to ask me. I don't know much, but what I do know I'll be happy to share with others.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
134 of 143 people found the following review helpful
on April 13, 2011
PROS:
* Looks fantastic on my desk. Big black glossy frame with a tame ASUS logo, and the lighted power button is stashed away where it's not obnoxious.
* Very crisp and bright.
* Very low power use due to LED backlight.
* The refresh time is excellent - no ghosting.
* sRGB mode looks great.
* PIP is excellent. PIP is essential for a system builder / troubleshooter - put your BIOS on the one PC in the PIP display, and research your settings on the other PC. You just can't understand how useful that is until you've tried it.
* Matte finish on the display panel is excellent, and you can use it in the daytime if you have a window next to your desk.
* Many connections! It has HDMI, DVI and VGA ports that work great, and a headphone jack.
* Actual buttons protrude from the bottom lined up with tiny white icons on the front make the UI easy to use.

CONS:
* This is the big one but if you're not using DisplayPort, ignore it and consider this monitor at least a 4/5. When you use the DisplayPort connection, which you will probably use if you have an ATI Radeon 6xxx series card, you have to cut the signal first before powering off. That means you need to wait for your PC to power off before you power off the monitor. If you don't do this, the power button LED will turn violet / purple (which is not acknowledged as a state that it can enter in the manual) and you will no longer be able to turn the display back on. To resolve the problem, you have to disconnect the DisplayPort cable and the power cable, wait a few seconds, reconnect the power cable, turn the monitor on, and then reconnect the DisplayPort cable. This is a major hassle.
* The stand it comes with is a little weedy. Specifically, it doesn't hold up well to the trains that rumble by my apartment complex. It wobbles side-to-side pretty fiercely. Granted, a large CRT monitor wobbles a little bit, but not nearly this much. It takes a second to stop moving if you adjust it. You can use a VESA mount, though.
* Does not come with a DisplayPort cable. Cheap ones are what, $10? They could have thrown one in there if they were going to advertise the DisplayPort connectivity in the top 5 bullet points.
* PIP has an odd restriction on which ports you can use simultaneously.
* This is a TN panel, not IPS. This becomes a problem at large sizes because when you sit centered at arms' length in front of it, you can sort of see "negative black" towards the sides. Any other large TN panel would have this problem too, so it's not counting against the score. If you're used to a laptop you probably won't care about this because you're used to it by now.
1616 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
54 of 63 people found the following review helpful
on October 14, 2010
Hi everyone, I originally had the non led version of this monitor the VE276q and the VE278q came out 2 weeks later so I decided to return it and get the Led version instead....Comparing the 6q to the 8q (non led to led) I would say theres not that big of a difference, theyre both 5 star monitors in my opinion but rating out of 10 the 6q gets a 9.0 while the 8q gets a 9.4 ..the difference between the two is that small. The main selling point of the 278q is primarily low energy consumption with the secondary selling point being slightly better picture and deeper blacks.

Pros-
Excellent viewing angles
No Blacklight bleed
Good Picture Quality
Excellent Black levels
Power Consumption
Stand not as wobbly as before
Price!

Cons-
Led Picture quality did not meet my expectations (I was expecting a big difference or to say wow after returning the 276q model, although I'm not sure if my expectations were unrealistic because I have not seen another led monitor only tvs)

Basically I have on complaints about his monitor the picture quality / colors is slightly better then the 276q but not that big of a difference, and 350 for a 27in led monitor is a steal....but I would only recommend getting this monitor if you can afford it and dont mind paying extra 30-40 for a minimal upgrade in picture quality or if the 278q price was $10-20 more. Overall buy either the VE276q or the VE278q you wont be disappointed with either
22 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
on August 15, 2012
Verified Purchase
So, I will start this review out by saying I wanted to love this monitor. I own ASUS motherboards and graphics cards, and would buy them again in a heartbeat.

Sadly to say however, this monitor, while HUGE and good looking when OFF, has several major flaws IMHO.

1. Black level is HORRIBLE! No matter how much I adjusted the settings (which are a pain in the you know what) you can never get rid of this horrible green hue to any blacks.
2. Base is not height adjustable. (didn't think about this one until I got the machine, but when your tall, it does matter)
3. No matter how much I fiddled with the settings, I could not get it to look as sharp or crisp as my HP w2408h.

If you want a large, decent priced display and can put up with 1-3 above, then buy this monitor.

If you are more discriminating about your video quality however, I suggest you look elsewhere.
11 commentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
38 of 49 people found the following review helpful
on February 19, 2011
Verified Purchase
This monitor is amazing! after it was shipped to me I plugged it in, and it worked!

PROS:
+Excellent color quality - very rich and accurate color when calibrated.
+Super fast - no ghosting.
+Even lighting - no backlight bleeding.
+Wide range of input options, and audio options.
+Very bright, instant on with no warm up time, and outstanding contrast.
+Solid range of adjustments, video modes, and display capabilities.
+Anti-glare coating removes nearly all glare.
+Price is low for such quality monitor.
+No dead pixels.
+Very good max viewing angles with minimal color distortion
+Decent internal speakers that don't waste visible space if you don't need them.
+Porn looks really good on it, I recommend lesbian.
22 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
on January 22, 2012
Verified Purchase
This monitor is great. I'm using it on my gaming PC with a 560Ti. I've played Skyrim, Battlefield 3 and a few other games with no display issues.

Before I bought the monitor I was concerned that 27" @ 1080p would be too big for gaming or that the resolution would be too low. I think the size is fine and I don't have any problems with the resolution. I can't see individual pixels, I know that is a concern for some.

I upgraded from an old Dell 20" widescreen (2005fpw) and the difference is amazing (size, clarity, response).

I'm using DVI and have yet to try other inputs or PiP. I'll update the review if I try other inputs or PiP and have any issues.

Also, I love that is it a matte screen and not glossy. I have a lot of light behind me and don't want to stare at reflections or turn the brightness up to absurd levels.

My only complaints are personal preference things. It's a really bright monitor and I had to turn the brightness down to around 15. Also, the stand doesn't adjust for height so I built a shelf to put it on that raises it up about 6.5 inches.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
15 of 19 people found the following review helpful
on December 10, 2010
Verified Purchase
Just got the monitor in today, and I'm very satisfied. Here is what I got:

I'm coming from a 22 inch ACER and this is noticeably bigger.The stand snaps in easily and then is tightened by a clever bolt. I have red that the stand is wobbly, but I found it just fine. Now, if you shake your desk violently then the monitor would wobble at the top, so keep that in mind (if you're prone to shaking the desk). The nice thing about the stand is that it allows the monitor to be tilted forward (top of the screen towards you)a lot, which is awesome if your eye line is below the monitor.

You can spend 10-15 minutes manually adjusting the image (which I did), or simply turning the "AI LIGHT" option on in the Monitor's menu (works just as well). But the something has to be done as the screen is way too bright when you first turn it on. And it can get mad bright. The quality of this LED screen is fantastic. Great colors, deep blacks and pure whites...what more can you ask for? At 2ms the refresh rate is fast enough for Black Ops or Battlefield.

All around, fantastic monitor that will improve your computing/gaming experience.

Get this.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
on December 23, 2011
After long research comparing size/price/performance/technology and reading reviews, I selected this monitor to replace my 5yo 37" Sharp Aquos 1080p LCD HDTV and I knew it was going to be a though downgrade, size-wise. The bottom line is: I'm totally satisfied with it, the performance makes it totally worth it.

- The PICTURE QUALITY is excellent, very sharp [sharpness setting available], full clean whites/plain blacks [high contrast ratio], accurate colors, great picture modes [Standard/Theater/Game/Night View/sRGB/Scenery] forget about the settings just press the "Splendid" button at anytime for a quick switch mode setup.

- The PERFORMANCE is outstanding, the 2ms makes a difference, while gaming [SKYRIM, NFSHP, PES2012, MFlightSim, ASA, NFSS2, StarCraft2 and others] everything seems so realistic, images flow fast without ghosting, it'd make your gaming experience better. My system registers 75Hz REFRESH RATE. [*see system specs].

- It has very good FEATURES. The Picture in Picture is very useful in my opinion, while in HDMI input you can PiP the DVI input or any other input. The buttons are useful and allow quick adjustment to volume, brightness, inputs, PiP and picture modes without going into the main menu.

- LED Technology, besides better image quality, allows the monitor to be very slim and to run so cold! I can barely feel some heat coming out the top vents, amazing.

- A 3 YEAR WARRANTY for system and panel, free pick-up and free cross shipment available for rapid replacement... I think that's great.

You can download and check the User Guide for more specs and features from ASUS site: [...] [English User Guide is almost at the bottom]

I will add some images later.

System Specs:
Intel Core2 Quad Q6600 @2.4GHz
Sapphire ATI Radeon 6870 1Gb DDR5 @900MHz
4Gb, 4x1Gb RAM @800MHz
WD Green Caviar 1 Tb HDD
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
on August 18, 2011
Verified Purchase
I bought this monitor after my friend demo'd it for me, and I fell in love with the brightness and size. But I've been having some issues, namely when using the HDMI connection on my laptop:

- Sometimes when the laptop tells the screen to go to sleep, the monitor will not wake from sleep. You must pull power plug to reset.
- Sometimes when the laptop shuts down, the monitor will start making static/scratching noises and will not stop. Power button doesn't do anything, must pull power plug to reset.
- Sometimes the buttons become "delayed"-- you'll hit power and it won't turn on/off until 5-10 seconds later.

All this happens randomly and I have to believe it's a firmware issue, not a flaw in my particular item. Not sure how they can push a firmware update for a monitor (if at all) but these issues really bring down the quality of such a nice monitor.

Overall I wouldn't recommend anyone purchase this monitor until ASUS fixes the issues.

** UPDATE 2014-02-07 **

I am downgrading my rating from 3 stars to 1.

I bought a Macbook Pro, and there are major bugs with the monitor working with DisplayPort. If you attempt to connect DisplayPort to your Thunderbolt port, when the monitor isn't on yet, turning it on turns the power light purple (??) and the monitor gets "frozen". The only thing you can do is unplug the powercord by hand. Then, disconnect your Thunderbolt plug, plug the monitor back in, turn it on, then plug in the Thunderbolt plug, and everything should be okay. This is totally unacceptable.

Also, the Macbook Pro sees the display as a "TV", so the color space is off. You have to manually edit color definition files on the Mac to make it send the full RGB signal color space. I don't know who to blame on that one.

With the DisplayPort issue, and the random issues I described in my original review, there are just too many firmware/software issues with this monitor. I regret buying it, and wish I had just spent a little more and gotten something with a better track record.
44 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 76 answered questions


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Your Recently Viewed Items and Featured Recommendations 
 

After viewing product detail pages, look here to find an easy way to navigate back to pages you are interested in.