Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful rich color, works right out of the box
If the description of this monitor had been correct when I purchased it, I would have given it five stars, however it does not come with integrated sound nor any kind of speaker system whatever, and also does not support DVI, both of which are listed in the description. ( as of October 11, 2010 )

It is still a very nice monitor with rich and true color and...
Published on October 11, 2010 by V. Wright

versus
31 of 37 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Nice monitor, but no DVI
This is a nice monitor, but it has no DVI as it is stated in the product description.

Take care if you need to rely on DVI!
Published on March 27, 2010 by Martin Mulazzani


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful rich color, works right out of the box, October 11, 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Asus VW193DR 19-Inch 1440x900 LCD Monitor (Electronics)
If the description of this monitor had been correct when I purchased it, I would have given it five stars, however it does not come with integrated sound nor any kind of speaker system whatever, and also does not support DVI, both of which are listed in the description. ( as of October 11, 2010 )

It is still a very nice monitor with rich and true color and set-up is a breeze, working right out of the box. Nice unobtrusive blue light for on/off indication, and lots of customization available ( several different modes, easy to adjust angle ). I especially like the anti-glare screen as I usually cannot use my pc ( tried several different monitors ) in the late evening as sun from nearby windows made it impossible to see the screen. This monitor has no glare whatever. A little hard to get used to the wider view but it does provide a lot of real estate. I did change the resolution down to 1024 x 768, as my eyesight isn't as good as it was when I was younger. The monitor also has a minor amount of backlight bleed through, which just means there's some dark blue that seems to over cast the black, but only on the edges of the bottom and a small amount on the right side, so far, and is only obvious in certain lights or viewing angles. The only other quibble I have with this unit is that one of the cords has to be inserted vertically and therefore it's weight causes it to slip out at times. I have found with some playing around with it that rolling or folding the cord slightly ( not a lot, though ) and letting the weight rest on the roll or fold, holds it in place. You will need to be careful dusting around that cord, though, as any movement seems to trigger it coming loose. However, since I'm not a real confirmed housekeeping fanatic, I seldom worry about nudging it loose myself.

Overall, I'm well pleased with purchase, despite the inaccurate description. If you already have a good set of external speakers you can use, and don't really need DVI, then I would recommend this monitor as very good for the price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 37 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Nice monitor, but no DVI, March 27, 2010
This review is from: Asus VW193DR 19-Inch 1440x900 LCD Monitor (Electronics)
This is a nice monitor, but it has no DVI as it is stated in the product description.

Take care if you need to rely on DVI!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Simple but functional, January 25, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Asus VW193DR 19-Inch 1440x900 LCD Monitor (Electronics)
After buying all the components to build a new i5 computer thought it would be a good idea to save the last $75 or so on the monitor. The little asus works fine but only has an analog input. This means I cant take advantage of the the hot rod graphics card I installed.

I will keep it for while. It will give me an excuse to build a new machine for the garage!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars first flat screen, April 25, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Asus VW193DR 19-Inch 1440x900 LCD Monitor (Electronics)
The monitor works terrifically. The contrast is excellant and the wide screen is great for having multiple windows open and for viewing movies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent inexpensive monitor., February 27, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Asus VW193DR 19-Inch 1440x900 LCD Monitor (Electronics)
Well packed, easy to set-up. Only complaint; the tape they used to protect the screen will leave residue on the face of the monitor; otherwise 5 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just Fine for the Price, February 19, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Asus VW193DR 19-Inch 1440x900 LCD Monitor (Electronics)
This little monitor was a replacement for my son's monitor that had seen it's years of service. When it started to die I searched Amazon for the cheapest replacement. With him being 8, he doesn't need anything but a good working Monitor.

That is what he got.

Sure, it doesn't have all the fancy connections that other higher priced monitors come with, but that is to be expected. No speakers either. Again, expected. The contrast ratio isn't all that either. EXPECTED!

If you need a cheap replacement, this will work just fine. The picture quality is good and for normal web surfing and basic business work, it will work well. Not the best gaming monitor. That is a given!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect for a basic monitor., October 3, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Asus VW193DR 19-Inch 1440x900 LCD Monitor (Electronics)
Plugged it right in and works perfect. Didn't have to make any adjustments. Great for a basic monitor.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Decent, but not that great, September 12, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Asus VW193DR 19-Inch 1440x900 LCD Monitor (Electronics)
Perhaps I've got too high of standards, but the clarity on this monitor is not nearly as good as my home and work laptops. Also the color has a yellowish hue to it. I don't mean that I can see yellow, but the blues are more aqua, the ambers are yellow, and the blue hyperlinks on the internet are almost purple. All black letters have a reddish color/outline to them--not sure how to describe this, but it hurts my eyes and makes the letters blurry. I'm considering returning this monitor. I've done all the color adjustments while connected to both my laptops, and checked all the cords and plugs for proper connection and function. I really don't have any options left.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Like it a lot, September 21, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Asus VW193DR 19-Inch 1440x900 LCD Monitor (Electronics)
We use it all The time with The family computer, fantastic resolución AND contrast, recomendad to alll
It can be usted as a small TV
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good Buy, ASUS will be the next, too, April 16, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Asus VW193DR 19-Inch 1440x900 LCD Monitor (Electronics)
Great purchase one year later. Low energy consumption, great display and features strong for a smaller screen. Next one is two biggest ASUS made.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Asus VW193DR 19-Inch 1440x900 LCD Monitor
Used & New from: $1,080.54
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.