Customer Reviews


45 Reviews
5 star:
 (31)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


30 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars His Music Will Live On Forever
Ronnie James Dio left a big empty hole in metal music when he passed away on May 16th 2010. Dio had quite a unique voice, it was operatic, powerful and quite impressive and unlike some singers he had this great voice right until his death. It's hard to describe just what Dio was and represented, he was a kind and generous man who cared about his fans, the metal movement...
Published on November 10, 2010 by Tommy Skylar

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars I have a question:
I am so glad that I did not purchase these a couple of months ago because I really thought that these were the complete songs that were at the concerts and I just read another review where I found out they are excerpts (which really sucks) because I want the full shows. I'm taking away 2 stars because of this.
I have been over to the Ninj Entertainment Group website...
Published on November 24, 2012 by Dean


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

30 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars His Music Will Live On Forever, November 10, 2010
By 
Tommy Skylar (The Great White North) - See all my reviews
This review is from: At Donington UK: Live 1983 & 1987 (Audio CD)
Ronnie James Dio left a big empty hole in metal music when he passed away on May 16th 2010. Dio had quite a unique voice, it was operatic, powerful and quite impressive and unlike some singers he had this great voice right until his death. It's hard to describe just what Dio was and represented, he was a kind and generous man who cared about his fans, the metal movement and his music. He gave a lot to metal including the famous « Devil Horns » and to say that he was a huge influence on this genre of music would be an understatement. Ronnie was a man of great talent and was truly the voice of metal (at least one of the most important and powerful ones), he left us excellent music from his solo career and all the bands he's been in. I always had huge respect for Dio and I think that this live two-discs collection « At Donnington UK : Live 1983 & 1987 » is a testament of not only his talent but of just how passionate he was about music.

The first disc is Dio's 1983 performance introducing his band to Donnington, Dio was know for his work with other bands such as Elf, Ritchie Blackmore's Rainbow and Black Sabbath (later Heaven & Hell) but this was his solo debut. The lineup for this disc is : Dio (vocals), Vivian Campbell (guitars), Jimmy Bain (bass), Vinny Appice (drums) and Claude Schnell (keyboards), this often considered the best era of the band and rightfully so. Children of the Sea is fantastic, Dio's delivery of the song is wonderful.Straight Trough The Heart is impressive, the long version of Heaven & Hell is great and Holy Diver is amazing, this is a terrific live version. They also included drum and guitar solos tracks which is nice for those who are fans of all that stuff, I don't think it's particularly great but it's cool to have.

Disc two is Dio's 1987 appearance at Donnigton, there are 13 songs and the setlist here is a little different from the first disc. The lineup for disc 2 is : Dio (vocals), Craig Goldy (guitars), Jimmy Bain (bass), Vinny Appice (drums) and Claude Schnell (keyboards). The highlight for me is a very brief version of Children of the Sea (modified so it's different) leading to a short version of Holy Diver and then going into Heaven & Hell! That was quite a medley, strong energy in each progression and I simply love it and know fans will appreciate it as well. Terrific performances of Man On The Silver Mountain (amazing) and Rainbow In The Dark (great conclusion to the show and the crushing Last In The Line. To me, disc two is superior because of the sound, it sounds better than the first disc (which is still good) being much louder, clearer and therefore better.

For a double live package At Donnigton UK is a deal, I expected it to cost more (I paid mine 14.99 at HMV, CAN price). This collection comes in a digipack format and besides the music it also offers a booklet with good liner notes which I thought was a nice touch, a little short on content but good. You also get two replicas of the Donnigton tickets, one is from the 1983 concert and the other is an all access pass, cool additions I must say. I didn't know what to expect in terms of sound for these live albums honestly and the sound is pretty decent especially considering the time and the venue, it sounds better at certain places and some places less so, it's live recordings after all we're talking about. Disc two sounds better than the first. Dio's voice sounds great and the musicians are good too, it's also nice to hear Ronnie interacting with the crowd (just enough interaction in my opinion, it's neither too much or not enough).

If you're a fan of the man (and if you're reading this you probably are) you really should get those live discs, they truly are worth it. Dio himself was the executive producer of this collection which only helps the album's cause. Excellent price, two good live albums and one remarkable legend what's more to ask? If you're hesitating...well don't! Fans may be interested to know that there are going to be more Dio releases in the future like the new live Heaven& Hell album from Dio's last few concerts ( also a live DVD) and his autobiography will be released in the not to distant future. I'll give this package 5 stars because of the deal that it is but this rating also applies to an objective perspective.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great to hear early Dio again but..., November 10, 2010
By 
wiredog (Santa Clarita, CA USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: At Donington UK: Live 1983 & 1987 (Audio CD)
I've always loved Ronnie James Dio. His contributions to whatever project he was involved with pretty much guaranteed excellence at the highest level. My only problem with these disc's and I emphasis it's my problem, is that I'm not a fan of medley's at all and these discs are full of them. I'm the guy who would rather hear half of the songs in their entirety than little samples of all of them. The track listing is deceiving as some of these tracks are only a minute or two as part of a medley. At one point he sings a verse from Temple of the King (one of my favorites from Rainbow's first album) but that's it; just a little tease.

I cannot say anything bad about RJD as he will always be one of my favorites. Listening to these does bring back the power of those early Dio albums and the impression they left on me as a young metalhead back then. Great stuff for sure, I'm just nitpicking.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "MONSTER-SLAYER" - Dio Delivers at Donington, March 24, 2011
This review is from: At Donington UK: Live 1983 & 1987 (Audio CD)
It's been close to a year since the iconic, majestic, soaring and commanding voice that was the beacon for all things Heavy Metal departed this earthly realm to exist forevermore amongst the magical rainbows of which he so often sang. When Ronnie James Dio succumbed to the most-dreaded of earthly disease last May, it seemed so unfair -and impossible really- that the Man on The Silver Mountain could be taken from us in such an inconceivable manner.

Although the man and the legend may be gone, his legacy lives forever through his astonishing musical catalog - as formidable and revered a catalog if ever there was one.

From his legendary stint fronting Ritchie Blackmore's RAINBOW in the 1970's, to his match-made-in-heaven collaborations with BLACK SABBATH in the early-80's, straight through to the outfit with proudly bore his name, Ronnie James Dio personified Heavy Metal. Dio was the real deal: a sweet, genuine man who was extremely passionate about the music he crafted and the fans for which he performed.

We can now add another chapter to the DIO saga with the posthumous release of DIO AT DONINGTON UK: LIVE 1983 & 1987, a barnstorming 2-disc set (released under the auspices of NIJI Entertainment) which captures the DIO band at the height of their powers showcasing two blistering live shows at the legendary MONSTERS OF ROCK Festival at Castle Donington.

Disc One features DIO performing at the 1983 version of the WHITESNAKE-headlined festival and shows them a band afire; plowing through selections from the debut DIO-LP HOLY DIVER (which had just been released through Warner Bros). The classic, throw-your-fists-into-the-air rave-up that is "Stand Up And Shout" kicks proceedings off in the requisite steamroller manner and captures DIO firing on all-cylinders. Axe-pert Vivian Campbell (ex- SWEET SAVAGE, current DEF LEPPARD) lays waste to the Donington faithful closest the stage and leans into the buzzsaw riff of 'Shout' at maximum speed and never looks back. What follows is an incendiary-set which encompasses selections from the aforementioned debut as well as select tracks from DIO's colorful and illustrious past. Gems such as "Man On The Silver Mountain," an abbreviated "Stargazer" and "Children Of The Sea" are performed with biting vigor and fiery enthusiasm and stand proud alongside newer fare such as "Rainbow In The Dark" and "Straight Through The Heart." A stunning set and one that I'm sure left the acts that had yet to perform that day shivering in their spandex.

Disc Two focuses on DIO's triumphant return to Donington at the 1987 Bon Jovi-headlined MONSTERS festival. Touring in support of the then newly-released DREAM EVIL LP, this particular incarnation of the DIO band featured guitarist Craig Goldy (ex-ROUGH CUTT/GIUFFRIA) on lead duties. DIO '87 features a more varied-set list and also includes selections from his various pre-DIO outfits as well as the ever-growing DIO stand-alone catalog. The gargantuan "Last In Line" and "Rock and Roll Children" from 1985's SACRED HEART album are unveiled here and take the Castle by force. Guitarist Goldy really comes into his own on this stage and his playing -especially during a particularly heavy version of "Neon Knights" - is superlative. Throughout both set's, Dio's vocals are in fine form; serene and heavenly one moment and positively SEISMIC and seemingly capable of cracking the sky through sheer will the next.

Although DIO's voice has sadly been silenced, this live document of his band ROARING through some of the all-time classics in the history of Heavy Metal is a searing testament to Ronnie James Dio's contributions to the music and lifestyle we so adore. - Ronnie Jimenez
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely amazing!!, September 26, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Two absolutely blistering shows on one album. The first show was from 1983, supporting the release of HOLY DIVER. Ronnie was amazing that day, with a band that was matching his ferocity at every step. From show opener of "Stand Up and Shout" to the last note, it is pure Heaven (and Hell...couldn't resist).

The second show is just as exciting, promoting the DREAM EVIL album. RJD and the boys offer up an excellent mix of Rainbow, Sabbath and Dio numbers, keeping the crowd moving. My personal favorite is the excellent performance of "The Fools Sailed Away", but there is not a weak song in the set.

If you are an RJD fan, you MUST own this. Heck, if you are human and like music, you MUST own this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Any Dio is better than no Dio, November 29, 2010
By 
Blaine T. Jones (Dahlonega, GA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: At Donington UK: Live 1983 & 1987 (Audio CD)
I'm a huge Dio fan. I missed the Holy Diver tour but went to The Last in Line, Sacred Heart, Dream Evil and the Lock up the Wolves tour.
This CD just arrived from Amazon so I ripped it open and put it on the player.
I was immediately disappointed with the audio quality. As another reviewer put it - it all sounds a bit muffled.
I imagine there are better unreleased recordings than this out there but at the same time, it's hard to beat for the price of this double-disc set.

Audio quality issues aside, Ronnie is really at the top of his game on this set. His voice is just amazing and the band gels well. It really brings back memories. Plus, I have a new appreciation for a lot of the songs. In my teens I hadn't listened to all that much Black Sabbath and Rainbow. Now that I know more of the songs like Children of the Sea and Stargazer, its great to hear them live.

Anyways, I recommend the CD to get a live glimpse of the greatest voice metal has ever heard, at his best.
Unfortunately, his voice is a bit mired in a bad recording. But as my review title says - Any Dio is better than no Dio.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Perhaps the best live Dio album, December 21, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: At Donington UK: Live 1983 & 1987 (Audio CD)
Of all the various Dio live releases I believe this one captures the "in concert" feel the best. It features a band that was the best of both worlds, having the experienced Ronnie Dio, Jimmy Bain and Vinnie Appice who were rock veterans even in '83 joined by the then young and hungry Vivian Campbell ('83) and Craig Goldy ('87). The setlist is just fantastic on both the '83 and '87 shows. Classic tracks from the Sabbath and Rainbow days are included along with Dio's own incredible catalog up to the excellent Dream Evil. Dio's voice is in top form, clear and powerful and without some of the harder edged tone that came in later years. Great sound, great setlist, and above all, its Dio. What more can a metal fan ask for? I for one am grateful that these shows were released and not left to gather dust on some shelf. Long live Rock and Roll and Ronnie James Dio.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Dio, at Donington Uk 83 & 87, December 15, 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: At Donington UK: Live 1983 & 1987 (Audio CD)
Let me say I'm a big fan of R.J.D. all the way back to Rainbow. If you've ever heard any live Dio or seen him live you know he likes medleys. The track list is a bit inaccurate in that some of the titles aren't complete as they are part of a longer medley, that being said this is a cool set to have. These shows where recorded by pros so they sound great & don't sound like bootlegs at all. The booklet could have had more to it, it was described as "deluxe" in the ad I read but I wouldn't say that(6 or 8 pages)& I was disappointed in that regard. If your a fan this would be a cool addition to your DIO collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great set of live music for metalheads, headbangers, and rabbis, February 8, 2011
By 
ChrisV82 (South Jersey, United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: At Donington UK: Live 1983 & 1987 (Audio CD)
Any Dio fan should pick this up. No, I don't mean illegally download it (or even legally download it), I mean you should buy the actual compact discs and put them in your CD player and listen to them and be like, "thanks internet stranger, this was a good idea." Besides the great songs from the heyday of heavy metal, you also get some Monsters of Rock replica backstage passes, which is a nice bonus. Dio's voice really shines, and you get to hear two classic Dio line-ups supporting the master on the biggest of stages. So, fans, friends, enjoy this quality collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars DIO fans get a double dose of classic live metal, February 28, 2011
This review is from: At Donington UK: Live 1983 & 1987 (Audio CD)
Both of these live sets rock with energy and passion, just like RJD lived his life. The setlists are cool mix of Rainbow, Sabbath and his solo hits. Only gave this 4 stars, because 1 of the live cds sounds poor. I am a big live music collector and was surprised to hear lots of hissing when you crank it up. The other disc sounds great though and well worth adding classic metal riffs from an Icon to your collection. The artwork and inserts are awesome. I wish that I could have seen him live on his recent comeback shows w/ Heaven & Hell.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Live CD from DIO, November 26, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: At Donington UK: Live 1983 & 1987 (Audio CD)
RIP RJD

Pulled from the vault some classic shows when he was in his prime.
Good quality of the songs you know and love if you like DIO and Rainbow.

Such a shame we won't see any new material, he was certainly not done writing just yet.
A unique writer with a golden voice, a true one of a kind that will never be reproduced.

I could go on and on about how instrumental DIO was the hard rock but true fans already know this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.