Customer Reviews


42 Reviews
5 star:
 (26)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


59 of 64 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great, but no save feature
The Firecore Arcade Ultimate (aka the Gopher) is a fantastic system.
Why? Well, first let's look at the built in games. There are 20 of them
-Alex Kidd in the Enchanted Castle
-Alien Storm
-Altered Beast
-Arrow Flash
-Gain Ground
-Columns III
-Crackdown
-Shinobi III
-Decap Attack
-Mean Bean Machine
-Ecco...
Published on April 24, 2011 by Jack

versus
27 of 30 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great for a gift, but ultimately lacking
Well, I bought this for a friend of mine and he absolutely loves it. So it's a great gift and a good introduction to the world of Sega which quite simply did what nintendidn't.

First of all, lets get this out of the way: YES YOU CAN ADD GAMES VIA THE BUILT-IN SD SLOT. It just needs a bit of a trick to get it to work. First of all, you need a compatible SD card...
Published on June 3, 2011 by Petros Laoudikos


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

59 of 64 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great, but no save feature, April 24, 2011
This review is from: At Games Arcade Ultimate Portable (Video Game)
The Firecore Arcade Ultimate (aka the Gopher) is a fantastic system.
Why? Well, first let's look at the built in games. There are 20 of them
-Alex Kidd in the Enchanted Castle
-Alien Storm
-Altered Beast
-Arrow Flash
-Gain Ground
-Columns III
-Crackdown
-Shinobi III
-Decap Attack
-Mean Bean Machine
-Ecco
-Ecco Jr
-ESWAT
-Kid Chameleon
-Golden Axe
-Jewel Master
-Shadow Dancer
-Sonic & Knuckles
-Sonic Spinball
-Flicky
Now, you might think, "What? Those aren't really any good!"
You're right. They aren't. However, the system has an SD slot at the top.
If you have an SD card (goes in cameras) and an SD reader, you can put in
about 1000 games. Very few games are unplayable. The ones that aren't playable
are Contra Hardcorps and Virtua Racing and Vectorman II. Some others may not work,
but I can personally assure you, all Sonic, Mortal Kombat, and Streets of Rage games work.
Also, the button layout is a bit strange, and very different from the original controller. There is no
save function, so getting Phantasy Star is useless.
One of the best features is an A/V jack, so you can hook it up to your TV. Also, you can use
iPod earbuds to listen to the Genesis music through headphones for FANTASTIC sound quality. Also, the
D-pad is amazing, rivaling the original. Well, that's my review. Thanks for reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 30 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great for a gift, but ultimately lacking, June 3, 2011
This review is from: At Games Arcade Ultimate Portable (Video Game)
Well, I bought this for a friend of mine and he absolutely loves it. So it's a great gift and a good introduction to the world of Sega which quite simply did what nintendidn't.

First of all, lets get this out of the way: YES YOU CAN ADD GAMES VIA THE BUILT-IN SD SLOT. It just needs a bit of a trick to get it to work. First of all, you need a compatible SD card. A normal cheap 2GB one works great and holds a lot of games. Don't try cards with more that 2GB capacity, there seems to be a problem with those. Then you need to convert the games to ".BIN" using a tool like genecyst or GenRomSuite as Firecore does not support the SMD format. And then you need to put all your files in a folder called "GAME" inside the SD card. That's all there is to it.

Compatibility so far is very good. Most of the games work with no speed problems. Some games do glitch in certain places but very few games are completely unplayable.The controls are nice and comfortable, and the battery life is impressive.

So why the three stars?

Well, the sound is a LOT way off-key. It's like the original soundtracks were given to a guy who can only play a certain part of the synthesizer and decides to play the song the way he sees fit.. A newbie won't see what's wrong, but a longtime Sega fan that wants to relive some memories will be sorely dissapointed, especially if he decides to play games like Streets of Rage or Sonic where music is a strong selling point.

Also, no way to play a co-op. There is no joypad slot when you hook it up to the TV and there is no way to connect two of these together. Which makes Columns and Golden Axe a lot less enjoyable.

There is no internal battery, and no save states which means that games like Phantasy Star and Shining Force, though playble are simply not completable.

Finally, when you hit the "Menu" button, you go back to the beginning and you have to go through browsing over and over. This can be very tedious, especially if you decide to pack a lot of games into your SD card.

For those reason, though a solid game machine, Firecore gets only three stars. However it's great value for money, it's a great way to introduce someone to Sega and if you enjoy playing Shooters, puzzles and platformers for a few hours to relex, it's just what you need.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Finally got it right!, July 25, 2011
By 
S. Brighton (Clovis, NM USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: At Games Arcade Ultimate Portable (Video Game)
It seems that for about the last decade or so, Sega has been secretly trying to resurrect it's business through rekindling interest in the retro console, the Sega Genesis (Mega Drive, if you live abroad). Their latest endeavor has led them to team up with Firecore software through AtGames and release a string of handhelds, most of which are pretty obscure, but no less impressive. The Retrogen was a great system capable of playing cartridges with full resolution, yet had it's drawbacks such as wrong color and sound and the fact that it nad no D-pad, but rather a cork-lite disc used in it's place which wasn't bad, but could have been better. Then there was the GenMobile which, while a step up from the Retrogen in terms of it's control and built-in content, was a drastic step down in build quality and resolution. In fact, mine broke on the very first day I got it while my Retrogen works like a dream. Fortunately I got my money back for that GenMobile.

And now what? Well there was a motion-control thing that I heard of and saw in a local Walgreens which surprised me because of how obscure the brand seemed (Come on now, it's Firecore, dude.) and then there was a three-button predecessor to the Gopher. Now, there's the Gopher.

I must say right off the bat, the first thing that impressed me was the weight of the system. You can tell by holding it that it's well-built, and has perfect screen resolution. I'm not sure if the colors are dead-on, but most of the games I played look good, so I'm not gonna do a side-by-side comparison because I'm too lazy. The sound varies. Some games, like Mortal Kombat 2, work fine but games like Streets of Rage 1 through 3 have distortion or off-key notes. Streets of Rage 2 noticeably has horrible sound but nothing that can't be fixed by turning the volume down.

The layout is very good. I can argue about the D-pad and the angle of the six-buttons, but that's what happens when you take a system like the Genesis and try to cram it in to a six-inch plastic shell. So I can deal with it. The volume knob has migrated to the upper right of the system's frame, meaning you can use your index finger of your right hand to adjust the volume. What's so great about this? You can even adjust it when it's hooked up to a TV, which is awesome!

The SD functionality is OK, but could use work. Then again, it's not like they have years of beta-testing to get everything right. Some games you download work fine, others refuse to load. You just have to scour around the internet and find ROMs that work on this system. Yes, it's tedious, and it's trial-and-error, but it's definitely worth it if you need your nostalgia fix. The manual mentions a version of this console being compatible with 2 players via a wireless controller, but the model number has an R at the end of it, and mine apparently isn't compatible. Shame, 'cuz that would be awesome to share two-player games. Another thing that I like about the SD card is that in my personal opinion, they picked a bunch of games on the system that no one will really play. I like the first Columns more than Columns III and Sonic 3D rather than Sonic Spinbal, but then again who cares? There are some really good games built in, like Shinobi III, Golden Axe and Sonic and Knuckles.

So what's my beef with the system? It, like it's predecessors and successors, will have flaws. Obviously. But the fact that it works as well as it does definitely makes up for those flaws. I'm currently still finding games that don't work, and other games that have weird flaws. Example, Ultimate MK3 won't let you perform special moves or fatalities when the handheld is played, but when you plug it into the TV, they work fine! Weird, yes. Solution? Play it on a TV. People assume just because a handful of games don't work the way they want, it's a piece of junk and not worth buying. I paid 30 bucks for mine here on Amazon and I'm getting more than my money's worth because I don't have to search for rare or expensive games. The sheer fact that some of the these games work on a TV instead of the handheld itself (trial and error) should be it's main selling point, as they belong on a TV anyway.

I'm giving this system five stars because I'm satisfied with it, and because it does what it was intended to do. I don't expect any more from it, and to tell you the truth, it's a VERY good buy. Just make sure you experiment with different versions of ROMs from around the web and keep in mind they have to be changed from SMD to BIN files. Deuces out, and enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent value, May 10, 2011
By 
smacksaw (Vancouver, BC) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: At Games Arcade Ultimate Portable (Video Game)
Bought this for my 3-year old who is a Sonic fan and he loves it. The included games are good, the quality of the unit is fine and the implementation is done as well as can be expected. The emulation does deliver lower sound quality, but it's a fair trade-off for smooth performance and good battery life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well worth it!, April 21, 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: At Games Arcade Ultimate Portable (Video Game)
This product works very well. It is compatible with almost every Genesis game I throw at it. There are 20 built in, but if you put more on the SD card, they need to be BIN format in the 'GAME' folder. A 1GB card is more than enough. No game crashes so far, or a/v errors. Plus you can also store important ROM apps or other files on the same card outside of the GAME folder. It's a nice way to keep everything together.

The controls work well. All buttons seem solid, and the grip is comfortable. The unit is light weight, but built well for the price. Although I would not recommend dropping it! It is not made of a rubberized plastic. It is cheaper plastic prone to cracking.

The screen is bright and clear, but a bit small imho. It comes with an AV cord to display on a TV. Only catch is you need a full charge on the battery or the picture flickers. The TV out is no different than playing an actual Genesis! Same quality and sound.

The device has an internal battery which charges from USB, rather quickly I might add. So far it seems to last a long time on a single charge. This is my first charge and I have played two hours after only a 20 minute charge!

The speaker is wimpy and crackles at high volume, but there is an ear phone jack which provides a satisfactory audio experience.

The other nice feature is that you can hit the menu button and it takes you back to the game list, instead of having to restart the unit. The menu is straight forward, select game, and hit start button. No confusion.

Fits in a PSP case perfectly!

If you are a Genesis fan, you cannot ask for much more from a handheld. I am very happy with this, and I think most old school genesis gamers will love this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fantastic, March 12, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: At Games Arcade Ultimate Portable (Video Game)
5 stars! My son loves it! I loaded a lot of games on the sd card (SD card not included with the console).

It is simple, full of fun, the battery allows you to play for hours,

what more can I say, just to see my son playing happily gives this device a well deserved 5 stars review
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nice console for little money., March 5, 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: At Games Arcade Ultimate Portable (Video Game)
This console has been with me 11 months so far and remains in perfect working condition. It was a lot of fun to play again games I played about 20 years ago, specially Golden Axe. The only thing is that the screen is smaller than it should so playing on the TV with it might be better idea. It has been a durable game considering the low price but I don't use it all the time either. The manual explains you how to add games to SD card but it does not tell you where to get them or if there are legal warnings to take in consideration.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great gift for a boy, December 5, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: At Games Arcade Ultimate Portable (Video Game)
My six-year-old really wanted a DS or a Wii, but I was looking for something fun but not as expensive or "addictive." I found this on Amazon and have been very pleased. There are enough games loaded onto it to keep him entertained, and I don't have to keep going out to buy new ones for $25 each. The rechargeable battery is also a plus. We've not had any problems with the unit, even after 6 months of play. It works well, is durable, and continues to be fun for our son. There are a few games that we don't let him play because of his age, but most of them are fine for a kid of his age.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Mom loves it, November 9, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: At Games Arcade Ultimate Portable (Video Game)
Ordered this for my mom as she likes handheld games but doesn't want to deal with cartridges. She is very happy with this and loves that it is chargeable. The last one she had she went through tons of batteries. The screen size is also good as she is 70 and has bad eyesight. Great price for a great product and delivery was quick.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars game for grandson, March 11, 2012
By 
lcbell (sulligent, al.) - See all my reviews
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: At Games Arcade Ultimate Portable (Video Game)
i was really surprised at how fast the game arrived. i gave it to my 5 yr.old grandson for his birthday and he loves it! it is really sturdy and well-made. i love the fact that his parents can down-load more games to an sd card as he gets older and grandma isn't spending a fortune for a new game everytime he gets bored with an old one. with the 20 games already programmed on it, he shouldn't get bored with it for a long, long time! for the price, i feel like it was a great investment and money well spent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

At Games Arcade Ultimate Portable
At Games Arcade Ultimate Portable by At Games (Electronic Game)
Used & New from: $40.98
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.