Prime Music
Sell yours for a Gift Card
We'll buy it for up to $1.10
Learn More
Trade in now
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Image Unavailable

Image not available for
  • Atco Sessions 1969-72
  • Sorry, this item is not available in
  • Image not available
  • To view this video download Flash Player

Atco Sessions 1969-72 Import

See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Audio CD, Import, January 13, 2008
"Please retry"
$190.17 $33.60

Amazon's Lulu Store


Image of album by Lulu


Image of Lulu
Visit Amazon's Lulu Store
for 38 albums, 4 photos, discussions, and more.

Product Details

  • Audio CD (January 13, 2008)
  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Format: Import
  • Label: Rhino/Wea UK
  • ASIN: B000W1N1R6
  • Average Customer Review: 4.6 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (7 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #580,625 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
Share your thoughts with other customers

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

23 of 24 people found the following review helpful By gassy goon on January 12, 2008
Format: Audio CD
This is a treasure trove for Lulu fans. After many years of waiting, Lulu's classic albums NEW ROUTES and MELODY FAIR are released on CD, plus an entire 2nd CD of rare UK & US singles and unreleased songs. Definitely a reason for Lulu fans & music lovers to celebrate the release of this glorious double disc of Lulu's most soulful & artistic recordings. Only a few of these songs have been released on CD, so the long delay of getting this great music on CD has been worth the wait.

NEW ROUTES was recorded in Muscle Shoals, Alabama, and has the legendary musicians who have backed so many great singers accompanying Lulu. The songs and Lulu's vocals are blue eyed soul at it's best. There's no shortage of great material here. Most people will know Lulu's hit OH ME OH MY [ I'M A FOOL FOR YOU BABY ], a truly great recording , later done by Aretha Franklin, who liked it so much , Lulu says in the liner notes, that she did it herself soon after this. Other stellar moments ballad wise are IS THAT YOU LOVE, AFTER ALL [ I LIVE MY LIFE ], MR. BOJANGLES and Eddie Hinton's WHERE'S EDDIE - all reflective songs that have a deep sense of longing that Lulu brings to them. On the upbeat side , Lulu gets gritty and funky on FEELING ALRIGHT , accompanied by these ace musicians and some amazing brass & horns as well. Lulu really lets loose on this stunning track, a song done many other times by many other artists, but sounding very unique here. The arrangement is very different than those of Traffic, Three Dog Night, Mother's Finest, and the 5th Dimension, and it illustrates the work & care that Lulu & the producers & musicians put into making this album.
Read more ›
2 Comments Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
20 of 21 people found the following review helpful By Martin A Hogan HALL OF FAMETOP 500 REVIEWER on January 27, 2008
Format: Audio CD
This is truly a "collector's" package with rarely-seen photos, memorabilia, and liner notes that feature commentaries by Lulu herself. Nothing beats a CD package that has all the information and goods in it. The Atco Sessions were remarkable in that Lulu recorded her first album in the Fall of 1969 in Alabama with musical legends. All the big players from the later seventies were there, like, Jerry Wexler, Tom Dowd and Arif Mardin. Many of these songs were written by Gary Bonds, Leiber & Stoller, Randy Newman, The Bee Gees and Bacharach/David. This is a collection just as good as "Crayons & Perfume". I must add the song list. I don't know why it was left off!

Disc 1
1. Marley Purt Drive
2. In The Morning
3. People In Love
4. After All (I Live My Life)
5. Feelin' Alright
6. Dirty Old Man
7. Oh Me Oh My (I'm A Fool For You Baby)
8. Is That You Love
9. Mr. Bojangles
10. Where's Eddie
11. Sweep Around Your Own Back Door
12. Good Day Sunshine
13. After The Feeling Is Gone
14. I Don't Care Anymore
15. (Don't Go) Please Stay
16. Melody Fair
17. Take Good Care Of Yourself
18. Vine Street
19. Move To My Rhythm
20. To The Other Woman (I'm The Other Woman)
21. Hum A Song (From Your Heart)
22. Sweet Memories
23. Saved
Disc 2
1. Bury Me Down By The River
2. Got To Believe In Love
3. Jokers Wild
4. Come Down In Time
5. Everybody's Got To Clap
6. Back Home
7. Things Are Getting Better
8. Love Song
9. Goodbye My Love, Goodbye - With The Dixie Flyers
10. It Takes A Real Man (To Bring Out The Woman In Me)
11. You Ain't Wrong You Just Ain't Right
Read more ›
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
9 of 10 people found the following review helpful By Bradly Briggs VINE VOICE on March 23, 2008
Format: Audio CD
England had a complete explosion of great singers in the wondrous & thrilling musical sixties with one of the finest from that amazing group being the little lady with a big voice Lulu, still in great form to this day, going back then to the top of the charts with mega-hit "TO SIR WITH LOVE" quickly followed with soulful gems like the rough and rhythmic "MORNING DEW" then the mesmerizing tour-de-force anthem "BEST OF BOTH WORLDS", so not surprising by the late sixties rhythm & blues classic label Atlantic Records snatched up the blue-eyed soulful songbird for her first American recording contract. Lulu went on to record tremendous tracks for Atlantic such as chart-topping hit "OH ME OH MY (I'M A FOOL FOR YOU)" plus a number of should have been #1 hits from the classic Atlantic debut Lp "NEW ROUTES" such as the engrossing "PEOPLE IN LOVE" or from the equally great follow up Lp "MELODY FAIR" feature classic performances such as gritty power ballad "AFTER THE FEELING IS GONE" all being stellar examples of blue-eyed soul at its very finest...extraordinary two-disc treasure chest filled with diverse and great performances finally on CD and this stunning collection show sadly American Radio & the Music Industry in general failed miserably to rise to the occasion of a truly great body of work from this magnificent "blue-eye" soulful legendary singer!
Imports such as this winning collection made up of two lost masterpiece Lp's plus rare bonus tracks usually are very limited so get this one fast while it is available! BRAVO to the brilliant production team of JERRY WEXLER, TOM DOWD & ARIF MARDIN, truly dedicated masters who helped wonderfully talented LULU lay down some of the funkiest soulful tracks to ever come out of those great legendary studios!!! Here's to more "NEW ROUTES" from LULU...ENCORE!
3 Comments Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again


There are no discussions about this product yet.
Be the first to discuss this product with the community.
Start a new discussion
First post:
Prompts for sign-in

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?

Look for Similar Items by Category