Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

59 of 60 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A beautiful yet inexpensive introduction to Atget's Paris, January 11, 2003
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This is one of the more unusual books on my shelves, in that physically it is designed to bear a resemblence on its exterior to some travel guides. The photograph above doesn't do it justice. The material is kivar-like, and his famous photograph of the entrance to the Moulin Rouge is tinted in red and yellow. Inside, the photographs are arranged thematically, according such topics as Salesman and Traders on the Streets of Paris, or Trades, Shops, and Window Displays, or interiors of Parisian homes, or, my favorite, Old Paris.
As the introduction of the book points out, Atget was the great photographic recorder of Old Paris. It is to Paris of the turn of the 19th to the 20th century what Weegee was to lower Manhattan. The pictures in this book are nothing short of remarkable, and to look at them for any length of time helps transport one, to the extent that that is possible, to a world that no longer exists. This is not beautiful, genteel Paris. It isn't the Paris of Proust. It is more the Paris of Baudelaire fifty years down the road, the Paris of Toulouse-Latrec.
This without any question the finest inexpensive edition of Atget's photographs currently available, and since Atget is the predominant photographer of the Paris of a hundred years ago, the best inexpensive book of photographs of Old Paris.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The master at work, January 18, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This book is a wonderful collection of work by Atget. One, at least I, tend to forget just how influential Atget was in bridging documentary photography to art. One star off because I wish the book had larger dimensions and better print quality, not that the quality is bad. This is an excellent value for a budget book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Atget was one of the Pioneers of Street Photography, May 12, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Atget: Paris (Taschen 25th Anniversary Edition) (Hardcover)
Score another beautifully done coffee table book of photography to Taschen's publishing reputation. Atget was not only one of the pioneers of street photography he may have been the first full-time practitioner of that art? If not the first, he was certainly one of the best and he devoted his entire life to that career. It was amazing he could make a living at it, but then again he had given up both his acting and painting careers, so it may have seemed more lucrative than either of those professions.
"Born in 1857 the son of a Libourne carriage-builder, he lived for over three decades in the great metropolis of Paris, where he constantly explored the city's historic streets and squares, made contact with numerous potential buyers, and gave evening lectures in adult education centers." His original plan was to sell individual photographs of scenes and nudes to artists in order to save them the costs of traveling to the location or paying for models. He had a great many commissions and contracts to document the historic architecture of "Old Paris." His normal shooting gear included 20 kilos of equipment including a heavy-duty tripod, wooden camera and a supply of 18 X 24 cm glass negatives. He spent his entire adult life dragging this heavy burden around all of Paris and its suburbs. It was amazing he had any energy left to take his photos.
"From 1902, onwards, his visiting cards and letterheads proudly read `E. Atget, Author and Publisher of a Photographic Collection of Old Paris.'" By this time he had become a successful and much in demand photographer.
Around 1909 the Paris photographer grew tired of working on a commission basis and started publishing his work in the form of albums of prints and post cards. The subjects of the albums tended to focus on particular subjects such as "Vehicles of Paris" which was devoted to the pre-automobile means of transport used by Partisans. As the son of carriage maker, Atget had a particular affinity for these horse drawn means of transport and those pictures are some of this reviewer's favorite examples of the photographer's work. He concentrated on the old and carefully avoided the new and trendy. Photographer friend and promoter of Atget's work, Berenice Abbott who eventually purchased most of Atget's negatives and prints from his estate, counted 121 different albums of his work in 1927. Samples from these different albums and motifs are used to separate the different types of photographs reproduced in this collection. Two of my favorite sections in addition to the "Vehicles of Paris" are the so-called "bizarre series, such as portraits of prostitutes (1921), or shots of merry-go-rounds. Added to this, he made a new edition his of his photographs of shop-windows." The shop window displays look very much like the products of today and include styles of clothing that are once again coming into vogue. A neighbor of Atget, Man Ray, was one of the first photographers to take notice of Atget's work and began collecting and publishing it as well as recommending it to other artists, collectors and publishers. May Ray also shared Atget's interest in clothing mannequins, but while Atget considered all his work mere documentation of the world he lived in, Man Ray was more interested in making his photography something more. Berenice Abbott was one of May Ray's darkroom assistants and she may have introduced Ray to Atget or vice-versa since Man Ray was his neighbor?
I don't want to end this short review without also mentioning the collections of Street Fairs and the many portraits of "Salesmen and Traders on the Streets of Paris." Both chapters contain many memorable images including one of my favorites entitled 'Model-Boat hirer." That picture brings back many happy memories of my own childhood in St. Louis where I used to sail one of my grandfather's antique model boats on the lake behind the St. Louis Art Museum.
Little about Atget's personal life is known, but this volume does include an excellent year-by-year illustrated biography of what is known about his background. This is one of the more important collections of photographic history that has been published by Taschen Publishing. The book contains separate translations of the text in English, French and German. This is another nice book for the serious collectors of photography or fans of "Old Paris."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, December 23, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Atget: Paris (Taschen 25th Anniversary Edition) (Hardcover)
Excellent presentation and quality of images. Good representation of what is the whole work of the best Paris-dedicated photographer of the 19th-20th centuries.
This book is a must, don't hesitate!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gorgeous book!, July 11, 2011
By 
Amazon User (Philadelphia, PA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Atget: Paris (Taschen 25th Anniversary Edition) (Hardcover)
This is a beautiful, solid book with French, English, and German text. The photos are stunning. An extremely good value for the price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "A Balzac of the camera", December 4, 2014
Taschen publishes wonderful affordable books of art, photography, and cultural ephemera. I have five or six. ATGET'S PARIS may be my favorite. It contains about 160 of Eugène Atget's marvelous photographs of the Paris of yesteryear -- more precisely, 1897 to 1927.

The book contains a brief essay (in three languages, including English) by Andreas Krase, who writes: "Eugene Atget is THE photographer of Old Paris. * * * [T]oday Atget is regarded as one of the most important photographers in the history of the art. His work is regarded as the bridge between 19th century topographic photography and the so-called art documentary of the 20th century. Over and beyond their subject matter, his pictures can be seen as evidence of a passion, an uncompromising vision that took little account of technical perfection, but rather was entirely given over to creating a perception of pictorial space."

The epithet "a Balzac of the camera" is from Berenice Abbott, who did much to preserve Atget's work and make it known among the cognoscenti of photography. It is an apt phrase. Because Atget documented the reality of Paris in the early years of the twentieth century -- its graceful beauty, its gritty fustiness, its extravagance, its silliness, its bourgeois pretentiousness, and its wretched poverty. Anyone who wants to have a better feel for what fin-de-siècle Paris was like, or any fan of French literature of the period, would no doubt profit from leafing through ATGET'S PARIS.

There are numerous street scenes and some interiors, storefront window displays, and gardens and fountains. And there are Parisians -- but not the glamorous, well-heeled ones. (I don't know whether Atget simply had no interest in photographing the affluent or whether Adam, the editor, selected against any such photographs.) Instead, there are street vendors, rag-and-bone men, streetwalkers, and their kin.

My edition from 2001 is bound in a sturdy, flexible material (kivar?), with Atget's photograph of the Moulin Rouge on the cover, garishly tinted in red and yellow. The dimensions of the book are just under 5 inches by 8 inches. The quality of the reproductions is satisfactory. I see that there now is a larger, hardcover "Taschen 25th Anniversary Edition". It too is inexpensive, as good books of photography go; but I still would opt for the smaller, more portable, 2001 edition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Was in my apartment in Paris...., May 26, 2014
By 
Mavendetout "El Gato:" (Valrico, Florida United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Atget: Paris (Taschen 25th Anniversary Edition) (Hardcover)
We just returned two days ago from a two week stay in Paris. This book was in our apartment and I found it marvelous. For anyone in love with that city, or simply appreciates great photography, this is a must. Found--and bought--the Taschen "Brasai Paris" which I would also encourage readers to buy. In fact, ALL of the Taschen items are incredible value. Oh. I miss Paris already. Too bad there's no place on Amazon to review that city.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a Bargain!, June 14, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Atget: Paris (Taschen 25th Anniversary Edition) (Hardcover)
Beautiful large hardcover edition in French, English and German. Quality paper and excellent printing. A real time machine looking into the late 1880s and early 1900s before Paris was forever changed with the massive renovation of the city in the years following. Loving care was given to the photographer and the city. A real treasure and a tremendous value at this price. Don't miss this one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars How can you not like anything about Atget?, June 5, 2013
By 
Lambert McLaurin (Valle Crucis, NC United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Atget: Paris (Taschen 25th Anniversary Edition) (Hardcover)
A nice collection of Eugene Atget's photos of Paris and its environs. Grouped geographically and topically. There is also some solid information about Atget and his importance. The reproductions are decent but perhaps a bit soft compared to actual prints which to me seem to have more contrast and depth. Terrific book for the price
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Atget vs Marville - 2 very different men view Paris, July 11, 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Atget: Paris (Taschen 25th Anniversary Edition) (Hardcover)
This book was a real bargain and quite a different view of Paris than that of Charles Marville. I was glad I purchased both, and I expect to enjoy both for years to come. Also, a much smaller book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Atget: Paris (Taschen 25th Anniversary Edition)
Atget: Paris (Taschen 25th Anniversary Edition) by Eugène Atget (Hardcover - August 1, 2008)
$14.99 $13.58
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.