Customer Reviews


46 Reviews
5 star:
 (26)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


26 of 26 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Blu-ray Review: "Atlantis: The Lost Empire" / "Atlantis: Milo's Return" 2 Movie Collection 3-Disc Special Edition
Disney makes me a very happy man by releasing "Atlantis: The Lost Empire" and "Atlantis: Milo's Return" on Blu-ray. The 3-Disc Special Edition includes both movies on a single Blu-ray and separately on regular DVDs. Recognized as Walt Disney Feature Animation's first science fiction film, it underperformed at the box office despite good word-of-mouth from audiences. An...
Published 19 months ago by ERSInk . com

versus
9 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars One flaw
Atlantis The Lost Empire was one of Disney's greatest movies. But part 2 Milo's Return? Oh my goodness, that movie is hideous. Not sure why they gave this film the green light. I am glad they brought back the voices of the supporting cast but the person playing Milo was AWFUL. Michael J Fox as Milo was much needed. It was not written well and even the animation was bad.
Published 19 months ago by G. Stapleton


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

26 of 26 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Blu-ray Review: "Atlantis: The Lost Empire" / "Atlantis: Milo's Return" 2 Movie Collection 3-Disc Special Edition, June 25, 2013
By 
This review is from: Atlantis: The Lost Empire / Atlantis: Milo's Return: Two-Movie Collection (Three Disc Blu-ray / DVD Combo) (Blu-ray)
Disney makes me a very happy man by releasing "Atlantis: The Lost Empire" and "Atlantis: Milo's Return" on Blu-ray. The 3-Disc Special Edition includes both movies on a single Blu-ray and separately on regular DVDs. Recognized as Walt Disney Feature Animation's first science fiction film, it underperformed at the box office despite good word-of-mouth from audiences. An extended life on video and DVD has garnered it as one of Disney's most overlooked gems of a bygone era.

In "Atlantis: The Lost World," historian Milo Thatch leads a crew of the world's greatest archaeologists and explorers in a search for the lost city of Atlantis. They travel through the depths of the dangerous sea aboard the submarine Ulysses. Only expecting to unearth ruins and artifacts, the team is astonished to find the ancient city still thriving with life.

This is one of my all-time favorite animated Disney features. It's a masterful blend of Jules Verne's "20,000 Leagues Under the Sea" and "Journey to the Center of the Earth." "Atlantis: The Lost Empire" is an adventure tale mixed with everything you could ever want in a fantasy film. There are elements of science fiction, mythology, and mystery all combined to form a highly exciting and entertaining tale.

Steampunk fans will find something to enjoy in the film, as well. All sorts of interesting advanced mechanical technology appear that shouldn't exist in the early 1900s. It has a "League of Extraordinary Gentlemen" vibe to it as well, which isn't surprising since comic book artist Mike Mignola was one of the production designers for the movie.

The reformed crew from the first film returns to the ancient underwater city and recruit Milo and Kida to help them battle a sea monster in "Atlantis: Milo's Return." The two are eager to return to their world, but keep getting drawn into different adventures by eccentric Preston B. Moore. They find themselves going up against vicious coyote specters, a vengeful spirit, and a madman who believes he's the god Odin.

"Atlantis: Milo's Return" suffers from being a compilation of the three episodes finished for a television series which was scrapped after the first movie didn't perform as well as Disney expected. They're interesting yarns somehow all connected to Atlantis. Ultimately, they fall short of living up to the greatness of their predecessor.

The animation for "Atlantis: Milo's Return" is way below that of "Atlantis: The Lost Empire." It resembles the Hanna-Barbera cartoons from the late 1990s / early 2000s, which isn't bad. It's just not what you expect from Disney. The different episodes reduce Milo, Atlantean Kida, and the rest of the rehabilitated mercenaries from the first movie to a sort of "Scooby-Doo" gang of mystery solvers.

Both films are presented in 1080p High Definition (2.35:1) and feature 5.1 DTS-HD Master Audio. While "Atlantis: The Lost Empire" shines brightly from its upgrade, "Atlantis: Milo's Return" suffers because more of its flaws are obvious thanks to the HD clarity. That's not to say it's not better to see it this way. Just don't expect the sequel to look as good as the original. The 5.1 surround sound will thrill home viewers with a barrage of great sound effects accompanied by James Newton Howard's powerful musical score in the original movie.

An adequate amount of special features can be found inside this release. Audio commentary is provided for "Atlantis: The Lost Empire" by Producer Don Hahn and directors Gary Trousdale, and Kirk Wise. An hour long documentary entitled "The Making of 'Atlantis'" is included. Two short featurettes, "How to Speak Atlantean" and "Atlantis: Fact or Fiction?," are here as well. Deleted scenes for "Atlantis: The Lost Empire" are also featured. Three "Atlantis: Lost Empire" trailers round out the bonus material for the first film. The one extra for "Atlantis: Milo's Return" consists of a deleted scene.

Any fan of hand-drawn animation and Jules Verne will love the blend of science fiction, action, and fantasy you'll get from "Atlantis: The Lost Empire." It's definitely worthy of its title as a cult classic. "Atlantis: Milo's Return" is a nice added bonus to an already strong Disney Blu-ray premiere.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Under-valued Disney Movie, July 6, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Atlantis: The Lost Empire / Atlantis: Milo's Return: Two-Movie Collection (Three Disc Blu-ray / DVD Combo) (Blu-ray)
Sure, it's not Beauty and the Beast and classic Disney but I still think this movie was well worth the time. They tried something new and it was interesting to watch.,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A lost classic to me., August 9, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Atlantis: The Lost Empire / Atlantis: Milo's Return: Two-Movie Collection (Three Disc Blu-ray / DVD Combo) (Blu-ray)
Great film; the animation has its own style, some enjoy it, and others, seemingly a hefty sum, don't seem to grasp the loving care this film was given, in all aspects.

Oh well, we can cry another day. It would be truthful in saying that the movie at least ranks with Disney's better animation films, and is nowhere near as bad as some of the libel on this site. It is quite possibly no more disconnected than ALL of the so called Classics, and though it may not top something such as Aladdin or Lady and the Tramp, it's better than so many of the other films script wise. The cubist style animation in particular reminds me of a lovely comic book.

The creators brought aboard famed comic illustrator Mike Mignola as visual designer and consultant. The script and the comic book style fit together SO WELL in this film... I truly adore the jaggy edges and slightly disconnected elements as they are presented in the full painstaking package, Directed by Gary Trousdale and Kirk Wise, (responsible for Beauty and the Beast and The Hunchback of Notre Dame) and from a story conceived by Tab Murphy of Hunchback fame. The entire experience is totally backed up by professionals, and should be acknowledged as four stars for that reason alone, in that they succeed in what they set out to do, and quite well compared to what Pixar and Ghibli present these days.

Atlantis is a journey where nothing gets in the way that cannot be solved, logically or not, but it leaves the viewer optimistic with wonder and not unjustly imbibed with gimmicks or nonsense. Atlantis is a sensational experience like Hunchback or Howl's Moving Castle, and though it is not quite to that level, it's close. Watching the movie in darkness and headphones provides ample testimony to my claim. Although many things are not realistic nor completely immersive, what Disney film is also not in the same vein? They all have a flaw or two. It is just nitpicking of the naysayers that would have it the other way....

I also must note that the enemies and other antagonists are quite fearsome even sinister, much more so than the majority of Disney's catalogue. I was very convinced of imminent danger in the first few chapters, going into the sea with the crustacean machine violently raging after the crew. The stereo effects and symphonic overlay are quite gorgeous during this sequence and many more throughout; the ending, the firefly sequence, and the descent all being memorable.

With nice headphones and an amp, you really appreciate what went into the sound design, and it is obvious that is was a process carefully looked over and appraised, because it stands among Disney's best.

I for one, appreciate quirky misunderstood characters like the Hunchback, and to make a point, that is the film I most compare this one too. Each is very much a masterpiece in its own right. And this is proven in the finale that is one of the most memorable in recent memory, if a little cliche, it has its parting shot up there in beauty with Pride Rock. Exhilarating, to say the least, if you have the imagination.

Also, the sardonic and sometimes sexual humor is quite natural and amusing... you might find yourself saying, 'Wow, didn't quite expect that out of this', and that is what it comes down to in the end: this movie is full of good surprises, and as one of the few traditional movies left I think we should applaud that aspect.

The Bluray is completely beautiful and worth your time. Comes with some extra episodes as sequels and a bunch of good info about the film and the process of its making. All the line art seems to be intact. Sharp as heck too. Huge upgrade from DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars UNDERRATED MOVIE! FLAWLESS BLU RAY TRANSFER, BUT ONCE AGAIN WE LOSE BONUS MATERIAL!, March 10, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Atlantis: The Lost Empire / Atlantis: Milo's Return: Two-Movie Collection (Three Disc Blu-ray / DVD Combo) (Blu-ray)
Disney Studios 41th full length animated feature film Atlantis The Lost Empire is a departure from the musical and truly anything Disney has done before in animated films. An adventure film with no musical numbers and a comic book style art approach make this one of the most unique Disney animated films ever done.

While not a hit at the box office, this shouldn't keep animation fans away as this is really a very solid film, but because the studio had a few commercial duds during this period, the studio decided to close its hand drawn department and make way for CGI. It's not for lack of invention that this one isn't remembered, but I guess the characters aren't all that memorable even is the story is.

The 3 disc Blu Ray combo is a bit misleading in that it is one Blu Ray disc and two DVD's. The good news is the Blu Ray transfer is flawless! It looks and sounds amazing. There are a good amount of bonus features carried over from the previous 2 disc DVD release including a 2 hour making of the film feature and it also includes the sequel.

The bad news is we do lose quite a few bonus features from the 2 disc collector's DVD set that was released a few years back which was loaded with great bonues. Depending on how much you like this film will determine if you want to upgrade and keep the DVD set for the bonus features or not.

.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of Disney's best work yet, July 7, 2013
By 
DanPMurphy (Coconut Grove, FL) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Atlantis: The Lost Empire / Atlantis: Milo's Return: Two-Movie Collection (Three Disc Blu-ray / DVD Combo) (Blu-ray)
The visuals are awesome , and even though the story might need a bit more polish because it is a bit preachy , it gives us nostalgia of when we saw old fashion adventure movies , love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great movie, with the bonus of the second movie, September 8, 2013
By 
Tax Bear (Santa Clarita, CA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Atlantis: The Lost Empire / Atlantis: Milo's Return: Two-Movie Collection (Three Disc Blu-ray / DVD Combo) (Blu-ray)
I loved Atlantis. The opportunity to get it with the second movie, admittedly not on par with the first one, in blu ray was an easy sell, especially at the price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent, September 13, 2013
By 
Francine S (PRINCETON, MN, US) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Atlantis: The Lost Empire / Atlantis: Milo's Return: Two-Movie Collection (Three Disc Blu-ray / DVD Combo) (Blu-ray)
This is perfect exactly what I needed and I would recommend this product to all. It came faster than expected and perfect condition. A MUST BUY!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A great story, September 1, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Atlantis: The Lost Empire / Atlantis: Milo's Return: Two-Movie Collection (Three Disc Blu-ray / DVD Combo) (Blu-ray)
Just like Milo, I've been fascinated by the tales of Atlantis since I was a child, so I felt like I had to see this. The first movie, we have an archeologist named Milo who is determined to prove that Atlantis exists. It feels a little like an Indiana Jones movie due to the archeology and fights you see throughout it. You get epic and touching moments, especially during the opening and ending of the movie. went in a different direction than past Disney movies because there isn't a single moment where the characters sing, but you do get very good music throughout the movie.

If you're wondering why I'm only giving the Blu-Ray set 4 out of 5 stars, the reason for this is because of the 2nd "movie" on it. The 2nd movie is made up of 3 different stories like the horrific Cinderella II is, and we all know how poorly that did. It was made only as an attempt for Disney to try making a TV series which this failed at.

If you do decide to buy the Blu-Ray, just watch the Lost Empire movie and skip the Milo's Return.

You do get some cool bonus features on this set such as Deleted Scenes, the Making of Atlantis, a 10-12 minute video that teaches you how to speak Atlantean, and a video that talks about if Atlantis is really fact or fiction.

Anyway, I'm glad I bought it, and I hope everyone else that buys it enjoys it as much as I do.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars atlantis, June 26, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Atlantis: The Lost Empire / Atlantis: Milo's Return: Two-Movie Collection (Three Disc Blu-ray / DVD Combo) (Blu-ray)
I love that now you can have both movies in the same case for a great low price. My only wish is that they would stop stacking the dvds on top of each other in the case.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars One flaw, June 13, 2013
By 
G. Stapleton "Cityboy" (Columbus, Ohio United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Atlantis: The Lost Empire / Atlantis: Milo's Return: Two-Movie Collection (Three Disc Blu-ray / DVD Combo) (Blu-ray)
Atlantis The Lost Empire was one of Disney's greatest movies. But part 2 Milo's Return? Oh my goodness, that movie is hideous. Not sure why they gave this film the green light. I am glad they brought back the voices of the supporting cast but the person playing Milo was AWFUL. Michael J Fox as Milo was much needed. It was not written well and even the animation was bad.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.