Customer Reviews


33 Reviews
5 star:
 (29)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


39 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars big, handsome coffee table book to be hefty both in its weight and its contents
Atlas of the Civil War: A Complete Guide to the Tactics and Terrain of Battle </em> by Stephen Hyslop, Neil Kagan, and Harris Andrews, National Geographic Incorporated, 255 pages, additional readings, index, 2009, $40.00

Comprehensive is a word of which CWL is suspicious. <em>National Geographic's Atlas of the Civil War A Comprehensive Guide to the...
Published on December 25, 2009 by Rea Andrew Redd

versus
4 of 16 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Civil War book
While it is an overview of the civil war, the details on battles is limited for more intense research. Gives a good overview picture of the civil war.
Published on July 5, 2011 by Cowboy


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

39 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars big, handsome coffee table book to be hefty both in its weight and its contents, December 25, 2009
By 
Rea Andrew Redd "Civil War Librarian" (Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania metropolitan region) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Atlas of the Civil War: A Complete Guide to the Tactics and Terrain of Battle (Hardcover)
Atlas of the Civil War: A Complete Guide to the Tactics and Terrain of Battle </em> by Stephen Hyslop, Neil Kagan, and Harris Andrews, National Geographic Incorporated, 255 pages, additional readings, index, 2009, $40.00

Comprehensive is a word of which CWL is suspicious. <em>National Geographic's Atlas of the Civil War A Comprehensive Guide to the Tactics and Terrain of Battle</em> is pretty close to comprehensive though.

Organized as a chronological account with eighty-five rare period maps, this atlas offers the map maker's history of the American Civil War. Campaign maps surveying whole regions and strategies, contemporary battlefield charts used by Union and Confederate generals, commercial maps produced for a newspapers are the majority of the maps in the atlas. The key moments of major battles are pinpointed by National Geographic's cartographers using satellite data to render the terrain with astonishing detail in 35 maps created for the atlas.

In addition, there are over 300 documentary photographs, battlefield sketches, paintings, and artifacts bear eyewitness testimony to the war, history's first to be widely captured by photography. Users of William J. Miller's <em>Great Maps of the Civil War: Pivotal Battles and Campaigns</em>, Earl McElfresh's <em>Mapping For Stonewall</em> and <em>Maps and Mapmakers of the Civil War</em>, the Atlas to the Official Records, the West Point Atlas of the Civil War, and the numerous online map collections of universities and libraries will be content with the depth and clarity of reproductions in this atlas. Those coming to Civil War era maps and map making for the first and second time could hardly do better that the National Geographic's atlas. Those looking for a large format nearly comprehensive book on the military aspects of the war will find in this big, handsome coffee table book to be hefty both in its weight and its contents.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just what I wanted.., October 4, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Atlas of the Civil War: A Complete Guide to the Tactics and Terrain of Battle (Hardcover)
I was looking for a book that would have maps for battles I'm reading about in other historys (i.e., Shelby Foote's 3-volume, The Civil War, A Narrative). I am not that interested in period maps, but I'm not opposed to them either. This book exceeded my expectations because it has both period and modern maps AND it has nutshell descriptions of the historical context of each major battle plus fairly detailed descriptions of the battles themselves. So, while not as detailed as Foote on individual battles or the cast of characters involved, this book does an excellent job of putting each major battle into context, describing how the battle unfolded, who was involved, and why the battle was important. After you read the first two volumes of Foote, some of the references to earlier battles become a little hazy. All you need to do when that happens is open this book and refresh your recollection. As I said, this book was exactly what I was hoping it would be - plus a little bit more. The only slight downside is the dust jacket. To be honest, I'm afraid I'll rip or mar it. But I guess that's what dust jackets are for. Would definitely recommend this one. I'd buy it again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars finally!, July 29, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Atlas of the Civil War: A Complete Guide to the Tactics and Terrain of Battle (Hardcover)
i am a map nut, 67, also a cvil war nut.

i have waited for this book for 58 years!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A beautiful book!, November 30, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Atlas of the Civil War: A Complete Guide to the Tactics and Terrain of Battle (Hardcover)
Wonderful period maps, photos and text on all the main battles of the ACW. a very pretty and nice coffee top book that summarises all the key facts. The main part is the maps of the battles. There is a nice section at the start which reviews the role of cartographers in the ACW and how important they were in the battles.

I feel like putting gloves on when I look at the book it is so nice!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars For the Devotee and the Novice, January 24, 2012
This review is from: Atlas of the Civil War: A Complete Guide to the Tactics and Terrain of Battle (Hardcover)
This is a good reference book that will serve the interests of the Civil War aficionado as well as the novice.

A coffee table book, "Atlas of the Civil War" contains period as well as new maps, lots of pictures, summaries of major battles and lots of other odds and ends info. For the Civil War buff, maps are always a great thing to peruse and this book has many drawn by Civil War cartographers as well as current renderings that more sharply display troop movements and battle sequences. For someone - adult or youngster - just getting into the Civil War, this is the kind of book that can be picked up, flipped to any page and deliver great visuals as well as self-contained information in easy to digest amounts. Exaclty the kind of books my dad had around the house that peaked my first interest in the Civil War (his were the old two-volume American Heritage Civil War history; a great find if you can locate them used).

My only minor nib is that I would have liked more maps drawn by today's interpreters. The vintage maps are great historical pieces, but they are typically hard to see in terms of detail. The currently drawn maps are great visualizations of the chosen battles and give a good, concise view of attacks and movements. There are a lot of the currently drawn maps - probably over 30 - but I would have preferred more and rather less of the vintage maps. Not a major quibble at all, this is a wonderful book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 28 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good info - poor graphics, December 5, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Atlas of the Civil War: A Complete Guide to the Tactics and Terrain of Battle (Hardcover)
If you're a Civil War buff, student, teacher this book is a must - BUT many of the graphics, trying to look "of the period" are a bit obscure. The maps from the Natinal Geographic are better. Some of the "battles" were a bit more than skirmishes; still people died, were wounded and subsequent battles were often determined by these skirmishes.
To understand the war, you must have a fair knowledge of "the west" i.e. TN LA etc. This book does a good job with that.
The VA peninsula campaigns and Gettysburg are well described and fairly easy to follow
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A mans companion!!! A+++, January 9, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Atlas of the Civil War: A Complete Guide to the Tactics and Terrain of Battle (Hardcover)
My husband got this for Christmas and he ran off to read this atlas as soon as he could. He said this was a great atlas. I would recommend this product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A winner, September 27, 2012
By 
carrollk (Kerrville, TX United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Atlas of the Civil War: A Complete Guide to the Tactics and Terrain of Battle (Hardcover)
This book is a winner, not so much as an atlas, but as a short Civil War history. The maps are pretty good also, but you might need a magnifying glass.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Atlas of the Civil War, February 8, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Atlas of the Civil War: A Complete Guide to the Tactics and Terrain of Battle (Hardcover)
I purchased this book for my son -in-law who is a civil war buff.He absolutly loved the pictures and the maps. I also had a chance to look at it and was very impressed with the presentations.everything was well put together and very informative. I thought he knew everything there was to know about the civil war but even he was surprised. I would recommend this book and plan on buying the companion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Civil War Map and Guide, April 17, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Atlas of the Civil War: A Complete Guide to the Tactics and Terrain of Battle (Hardcover)
I haven't been able to go through the entire book because I am referring to it in conjunction with a book that I am reading on the Cavalry in Sherman's Army. Has been helpful so far, however.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Atlas of the Civil War: A Complete Guide to the Tactics and Terrain of Battle
$40.00 $26.71
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.