Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Atlas, Schmatlas is Great!
If you're not yet familiar with the work of Craig Robinson, you need to be as soon as possible. "Atlas, Schmatlas" is brilliantly illustrated in Craig's signature pixel-oriented style, and the impeccable sense of humor employed on his Website ([...]) is in full-force here. I've been a fan for a long time, and it's great to have a book featuring more extensive writing -...
Published on September 17, 2007 by Breezie Scheezie

versus
3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars This is no onion.
I received this as a gift. Having an interest in geography, I thought I might enjoy this because of its global scope and interesting illustrations.

Nothing could be further from the truth. This atlas is horrible, uninformative, unfunny, and appeals roughly to someone the maturity level of a 12 year old.

The "humor" consists of inside jokes the...
Published on August 27, 2011 by Gustav von Hohenhein


Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Atlas, Schmatlas is Great!, September 17, 2007
This review is from: Atlas, Schmatlas: A Superior Atlas of the World (Hardcover)
If you're not yet familiar with the work of Craig Robinson, you need to be as soon as possible. "Atlas, Schmatlas" is brilliantly illustrated in Craig's signature pixel-oriented style, and the impeccable sense of humor employed on his Website ([...]) is in full-force here. I've been a fan for a long time, and it's great to have a book featuring more extensive writing - some of his descriptions of various countries actually had me laughing out loud . . . this book makes for a great gift, and it sure to keep you entertained. Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Superior - As In Different, October 22, 2008
By 
AliGhaemi (Toronto, Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Atlas, Schmatlas: A Superior Atlas of the World (Hardcover)
Craig Robinson is not a geographer, but he sure makes the facts - as he sees them - fun to read. The brightly illustrated book covers the countries of the world in ways no snobby scholar would. Filled with facts and even more filled with wit, Atlas, Schmatlas: A Superior Atlas Of The World is both funny and informative in the same way as the recently published Borat and Onion's Atlas books.

The book is irreverent and turns the concept of an Atlas upside down, but read more carefully and the sarcasm is so true it begins to hurt. It is doubtful many parents would buy this as a present for their children, which is sad because Schmatlas would otherwise inform the reader that Nepal's "Mount Qomolangma can make a rich man's penis bigger" or that after getting rid of the aristocratic Brits, "Americans decided that they'd have a president instead, one that wasn't part of a rich family where fathers and sons ruled the nation and just helped out their rich mates."

Good insight indeed (and maps, capitals, population statistics and more too), but whether the book will be referenced too many times is probably a matter of taste. Perhaps knowledge is something that needs to be passed on after all, which makes Schmatlas perfect for regifting instead of resifting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very Funny, May 29, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Atlas, Schmatlas: A Superior Atlas of the World (Hardcover)
His website is great and this book is pretty funny (and somewhat informative). Not really 'family friendly' like I hoped but still worth getting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Not for kids, February 3, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Atlas, Schmatlas: A Superior Atlas of the World (Hardcover)
This is a good book but we were caught off guard by the adult language.
Not appropriate for our 10 year old.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wit and Wisdom With a Light Touch -- A Sheer Delight, November 30, 2013
This review is from: Atlas, Schmatlas: A Superior Atlas of the World (Hardcover)
A genuinely witty take on the ancient concept of the atlas. Craig Robinson is the soul of wit (his Twitter motto is, "Wake up, do stuff, go to bed. Repeat 'til dead.")

If you appreciate that line, you will appreciate this glorious book, vividly illustrated and filled with facts, factoids and knowledge, presented with a rare and much-to-be-treasured-and-encouraged sensibility.

This is an author and illustrator to savor and to follow. Start now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars This is no onion., August 27, 2011
I received this as a gift. Having an interest in geography, I thought I might enjoy this because of its global scope and interesting illustrations.

Nothing could be further from the truth. This atlas is horrible, uninformative, unfunny, and appeals roughly to someone the maturity level of a 12 year old.

The "humor" consists of inside jokes the author has with himself. Most jokes are simply profanity or immature pixelated pictures. The pictures themselves are tiny, and consist of the illustrator's attempts to portray famous people of a country. This is as boring as it sounds, I assure you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Worst Infographics ever., June 12, 2011
This review is from: Atlas, Schmatlas: A Superior Atlas of the World (Hardcover)
Info graphics are supposed to convey information and be usable. While this is obviously meant to be funny it represents the worst of the genre in terms of information and frankly isn't all that funny.

Don't waste your time on this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 14 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Boring, Schmoring, January 5, 2008
This review is from: Atlas, Schmatlas: A Superior Atlas of the World (Hardcover)
Atlas, Schmatlas has no substance to it and no originality. It feels like it might have been rushed due to the popularity of the Onion's Atlas, our dumb world. While the cover art is pretty, the inside looks like garbage. Each Country has a brief little blurb that are not even amusing. Trust me if you want to see an farce atlas done well, stick to the onion's version.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 18 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars NOT A CHILDREN'S BOOK AT ALL!, March 6, 2010
This review is from: Atlas, Schmatlas: A Superior Atlas of the World (Hardcover)
I can't believe that this book was sold in the children's section of the bookstore. The book is vulgar, profane, and totally inappropriate for children. The cover has sexual intercourse between a man and a woman, a man "flipping off" the reader, and nude women. The page opposite the copyright page has a quote of "All governments are lying coc*!?&#*rs". We received the book, along with 21 other 8 year olds, as a gift. Let's just say that my 40 year old husband is the only person who enjoyed reading this filth. This book is falsely advertised as a children's atlas and even falsely reviewed on your website. There aren't any reviews that talk about the continuous "f bombs", "nudity", "sexual drawings", or "political profanity". There is nothing in this book that is appealing to children at all! The author is doing a major disservice to the millions of people who think that this is simply an ATLAS for children. DO NOT BUY THIS BOOK FOR ANYONE UNDER THE AGE OF 18!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Atlas, Schmatlas: A Superior Atlas of the World
Atlas, Schmatlas: A Superior Atlas of the World by Craig Robinson (Hardcover - October 1, 2007)
Used & New from: $0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.