Customer Reviews


1,064 Reviews
5 star:
 (572)
4 star:
 (210)
3 star:
 (117)
2 star:
 (91)
1 star:
 (74)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


299 of 356 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Better than Part 1
This is Part 2 of the Atlas Shrugged series; and it's a powerful continuation of Atlas Shrugged Part 1. I viewed this when it was released into theatres.

This part depicts the United States' further decline into the depths of economic despair. And it shows how increasing government oppression causes the decline to accelerate, even as more and more producers...
Published 23 months ago by D. T. Jewett

versus
10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fell short of Part 1
I consider myself to be an Atlas Shrugged/Ayn Rand fan, but I found myself rather disappointed with AS: Part 2. I thought Part 1 was quite promising, decent cast and presentation. Part 2, however, felt very amateurish in comparison. Oddly enough, I enjoyed the actors for Rearden and Francisco much better in Part 2, but I think they were hampered by a poorly adapted...
Published 19 months ago by Matt K


‹ Previous | 1 2107 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

299 of 356 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Better than Part 1, January 2, 2013
This review is from: Atlas Shrugged II: The Strike (DVD)
This is Part 2 of the Atlas Shrugged series; and it's a powerful continuation of Atlas Shrugged Part 1. I viewed this when it was released into theatres.

This part depicts the United States' further decline into the depths of economic despair. And it shows how increasing government oppression causes the decline to accelerate, even as more and more producers and innovators disappear from industry.

The acting is good to very good. Samantha Mathis brings a more dynamic range of acting skills to Dagny Taggert. Jason Beghe is first rate in his role as Hank Rearden, and Esai Morales is exceptional in his role as Francisco d'Anconia. In fact, I must say that these three are much better suited to their roles, especially at this point in the story. For example, Hank Readen's speech before the court was much more forceful, I think, than if it were rendered by Grant Bowler.

The camera work, computer graphics, scripting, and cinematography are all first rate.

There's nothing that comes close to this story. It is an in-your-face depiction of liberty vs. tyranny, and how an overbearing government impoverishes, and then destroys everyone. I guarantee you'll either love it or hate it, but you won't be neutral.

True to form, the critics bestowed even more hate than they did on Part 1. And yet, the audience seemed to enjoy this even more - for at the film's ending, they stood and applauded! And cheered!

This is a great film and a great story. I highly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fell short of Part 1, April 17, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I consider myself to be an Atlas Shrugged/Ayn Rand fan, but I found myself rather disappointed with AS: Part 2. I thought Part 1 was quite promising, decent cast and presentation. Part 2, however, felt very amateurish in comparison. Oddly enough, I enjoyed the actors for Rearden and Francisco much better in Part 2, but I think they were hampered by a poorly adapted script.
The special effects were atrocious and reminded me of 10-15 year old sci-fi original pictures. So many shots could have been practical effects, stock footage, or just plain absent and would have been better than the very poor CG that they decided to go with.
Even the parts that should have had great impact, like Francisco's money speech or Rearden's defense at his trial, seemed flat and a bit forced in the film.
If you are also an Atlas Shrugged/Ayn Rand fan, I'm sure you'll want to see this movie. If you are not familiar with the book, skip the movie and go buy the book. I think you'll get a lot more out of it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


251 of 334 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Plan 2 from Galt's Gulch, February 20, 2013
This review is from: Atlas Shrugged II: The Strike (DVD)
Ayn Rand must be rolling over in her grave. As readers of Atlas Shrugged know, one of Ayn Rand's sacred words is "competence": she accords it the reverence that a Jesuit reserves for the word "chastity". Her villains aren't merely evil: they're morons who'd have trouble running an elevator. So it's a cruel irony that Atlas Shrugged is being so thoroughly botched.

The origins of this disaster go back some 20 years. In 1992, producer John Aglialoro paid $1 million for an 18-year option on the film rights to Atlas Shrugged. The outlook seemed promising, with big names like Charlize Theron and Anne Hathaway being considered for the lead role. But first a contract with Turner Network Television fell through; then another with Lions Gate Entertainment. Meanwhile the years were ticking by.

Suddenly, it was 2010 with rights on Atlas due to expire on June 15 of that year. Aglialoro made the fateful decision to press on. The screenplay was still being written in May; Director Stephen Polk was dropped at the start of June, with Paul Johansson picked as a replacement. Shooting of Atlas Shrugged Part I began June 13 - two days before the option was to expire - with a Director who had been on the job for two weeks. The whole project has never recovered from that initial panic-stricken rush to beat the expiry deadline.

Predictably, Atlas Shrugged Part I was a pretty shambolic effort: what else could you expect with zero time for planning or reconsideration? But most fatally, none of the actors had been contractually bound to perform in the next two installments. So when the first part bombed, all the actors took their leave. And it turned out that Atlas Shrugged II would need a new Director, as well as a new script writer.

Inevitably, the result has been two parts clumsily stitched together: having someone write or say "Who is John Galt?" every ten minutes is no assurance of dramatic continuity. Neither are announcements by newscasters in place of action by the characters. Atlas Shrugged, in spite of its great length, is a real page-turner - and millions of people have been turning those pages for 50 years. By contrast, the films consist of one vignette after another, with no sense of drama or pacing. If you think these movies have a coherent narrative, I suspect you've read the book and are unconsciously filling in a lot of blanks.

Apparently, many admirers of Ayn Rand's novel are content to see their favorite scenes on the big screen, and disregard the ineptness of these movies taken as a whole. Such viewers may be thrilled to watch Francisco d'Anconia's defense of money; and they may enjoy Henry Rearden's trial with his ringing defense of the profit motive - even if the courtroom looks bizarrely like a university lecture theatre. But stuff like that is not enough to sustain a movie.

Atlas Shrugged the novel presents Rearden as a man who is deeply in love with Dagny Taggart but morally conflicted about his adulterous relationship with her. He is both fascinated and repelled by Francisco d'Anconia - and doesn't know that d'Anconia had had a passionate affair with Dagny Taggart many years earlier. If the script writer and Director were doing their jobs, the air would be crackling with sexual tension. It isn't. The key emotional drivers of the novel go straight into the waste basket in these movies. You hear political argument without remit; but nothing helps you understand why Dagny, d'Anconia and Rearden are who they are. It is supposed to be enough to be told that they are moral giants and that they are very angry.

The totally new cast is of course the main disaster, especially since there seems to have been no attempt to find actors resembling those who were in Atlas I. Dagny is no longer the young stainless steel executrix of part I; she is now in her 40's and presents like a harried soccer mom. Dr. Robert Stadler has lost the strong foreign accent he had in the first installment; and Eddie Willers is 10 years older, more heavily built and balding. At least the part goes again to an African-American: thank heaven for that much continuity. Jason Beghe, the new Rearden, does a pretty good job - although he doesn't look much like his predecessor either. On the positive side, the new Francisco d'Anconia is clean-shaven: his scruffy predecessor in Atlas Shrugged I would have outraged Ayn Rand, who was famously prejudiced against men with facial hair.

And it isn't just the plot line that has no continuity. Incredibly, the production company didn't save the sets from the first movie. Dagny Taggart's office and apartment; the Taggart Building and concourse; Rearden's office: all of them are clearly different from those in Atlas I. I was prepared to look past the amateurish CGI that everyone has complained about. But set continuity? This is a level of incompetence reminiscent of sci-fi cheapies from the '50's. It would get you a failing grade in Cinema 1100.

To be fair, it would be difficult and perhaps impossible to do a 21st century adaptation of Atlas Shrugged. Although the novel is allegedly set in the future, the technological background is locked firmly in the mid-1940's, with steam locomotives just beginning to be phased out, steel production still key to American industry, and no sign of Chinese outsourcing. Furthermore, the social and sexual attitudes that background the action come right out of a 1940's Bette Davis flick. Finally, Ayn Rand had a tin ear. Dialogue so stilted is tolerable in a novel, especially if you like the message; if you try to use it unmodified in a film, it's simply laughable.

Given plenty of time, an enormously talented and determined script writer might have had a shot at resolving these problems - but if such a writer was out there, Aglialoro didn't find him. And time was something he'd run out of.

I'm giving this film a two-star rating. It deserves to be rated lower, but I want to put some distance between this review and the one-star efforts, some of which seem to me to be as mindless as most of the five-star ratings.

Not surprisingly, Atlas Shrugged I garnered hundreds of glowing notices on Amazon and this may very well happen to Atlas Shrugged II: when it comes to book and film reviews, campaign voting is one variety of collective action that worshippers of Ayn Rand are expert at. But the box office and DVD sales numbers tell the real story. Between $20 and $35 million was spent on the two movies; both together have so far barely managed $11.5 million in box office and DVD revenue. The blu-ray numbers aren't available, but they can't be big enough to close a deficit like this. These movies have been serious money losers. This is a fact.

Atlas Shrugged II opened at more than a thousand theatres, so admirers of Ayn Rand had plenty of chances of tell their friends about it. One reviewer at this site said that the viewers at his theatre stood up and applauded at the end: if they did, they represent a tiny minority. Most seem to have crept away in embarrassed silence: the film's second-week drop in attendance was one of the worst in the last 30 years. This is a fact.

Many, many reviewers are claiming that the failure of these two movies is due to the evil and omnipotent "liberal elite." My answer: stop kidding yourselves. Dinesh D'Souza's "2016: Obama's America" was panned by liberals too: but it's made a $40 million return on an initial investment of $2,500,000. Ayn Rand's novels still sell well in spite of decades of negative reviews.

Millions of people are enthusiastic readers of Atlas Shrugged. If Mr. Aglialoro had produced a halfway decent adaptation, right now he and his backers would be rolling in dough. Instead they are drowning in debt. That's because Atlas Shrugged I and Atlas Shrugged II are bad movies.

Atlas Shrugged II would never have seen the light of day if it weren't for investors more interested in ideology than in making money. In Atlas Shrugged we are told that man should not be "a sacrificial animal"; but when it comes to movies, it's apparently okay to be a cash cow.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


158 of 217 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars True to Our Times, January 4, 2013
By 
I went to see Atlas Shrugged, Part 2, at one of my local theaters the day of its first showing. The film is a pretty accurate reflection of the direction our Nation is taking. Little wonder that the movie makes Hollywood critics and D.C. politicians uncomfortable. The film reveals what they really are and what they are about. The characters are believable, the acting is supurb, and the plot ties into current events very well. I'm looking forward to Part 3.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Terrible Casting, June 13, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Atlas Shrugged II: The Strike (DVD)
Atlas Shrugged is a great book and a warning to our citizenry about excessive governmental power and the welfare state, but it is also entertainment and to excel in the latter arena, it needs a good cast. The first installment, Atlas Shrugged I, was excellent in every way particularly the cast. For Atlas Shrugged II, the entire main cast was changed, and the result was terrible.

The new cast is lackluster. In fact Dagny Taggart, the principal character, went from a hard driven, sophisticated, glamorous woman to a frump. The other principal characters such as Francisco d'Anconia, Hank Rearden, Eddie Willers and James Taggert were also far less dynamic and appealing.

I also found the cinematography to be of lower quality. If it was not for Ayn Rand's excellent story, I would have turned it off. Giving the film two stars was generous and entirely due to Ayn Rand's masterpiece. I hope that the producers will reprise the original cast for Atlas Shrugged III.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Somebody that read the book should have cast the movie, April 19, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
The chosen actors for this episode are phenomenally better than the first, which was swill.
I love Samantha Mathis in her part, but damn, who did her makeup?
Patrick Fabian is incredible as James Taggart, but I would have MUCH preferred to see him as Hank Rearden.
He is such a nice guy, it's hard to see him play such a louse.
In three movies, they couldn't even give us a hint of Cherryl's story? She was such a rich character. They got a perfect actress to play her.
I loved that she got to say her one iconic line, but it didn't make a lot of sense unless you read the book.
And absolutely no racism intended, but Eddie Willers is black? Really? Ok, I didn't picture that one. He's really good though. Another character with a rich story that we aren't allowed to see.
I want a do over.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Ruined by too many technical errors., June 5, 2014
By 
Rusty Sly (Riverside, CA USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
The sound was excellent as was filming. But this movie had amateurish graphics and poor research on the central industries, the railroad, whereas the steel factory seemed mostly accurate, with very good CG.

Seems that Hollywood doesn't have knowledgeable people to go to when creating trains or realistic railroad scenarios. There were more than three major technical errors, besides the impossible jet plane maneuvers in the chase sequence. I've only seem two movies with accurate portrayals of trains in the last decade: "The Lone Ranger," where the original locomotives are accurately replicated, and "Unstoppable" where appropriate contemporary trains were actually used. Most movie producers use the local train museums for their trains.

First, railroads don't have grades of 15-percent. No locomotive could go up that steep a grade, much less pulling a train. (Maybe a tourist cog loco up mountain.)

Second, a steam locomotive takes hours to get steamed up before operating, that's why in the big industrial junctions, an apprentice was assigned to keep the locomotives steamed for the next day's runs. He was also responsible that the pressure on his locomotives didn't get too high, and explode.

Third, a single steam locomotive of the type shown wouldn't have enough drawbar power to pull that many passenger cars on level track, much less in Colorado mountain lines.

Finally, in one scene a boxcar roof with ice hatches rolls down the video. Maybe a 1925 museum piece.

I gave it a second star for the actors portraying impossible characters. This film reminded me of student films that I've seen, created by beginning college film students.

I read "Atlas Shrugged" years ago, and neither this part nor part one seemed an accurate portrayal.
.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars I GOT TIRED OF BEING EVIL, March 7, 2013
This review is from: Atlas Shrugged II: The Strike (DVD)
The film suffers from attempting to make a modern adaptation of Ayn Rand's master piece. Part 2 does better than Part 1 as we now see the cell phones and computers in abundance. However, alternative energy seems nonexistent. Indeed with gas at $40.00 a gallon, Volts and Prius would be everywhere. Since plastic comes from petroleum, the use of plastic as a coffee cup lid would have ceased. But the film was made to show us that when all the world's best and brightest are taken away, Sean Hannity would be left behind and no one can fill the void of those wonderful job creators.

No matter which side of the political spectrum you are on the film agrees with both: The poor couldn't exist without the rich. Henry Rearden (Jason Beghe) is quite the despicable character to be the hero of libertarian capitalism. He makes amateur speeches similar to those made by tax protesters I knew in the 1980s...the ones who ended up in jail. His message is simple: Government is evil. Taxes are robbery. Tax money given to help everyone but himself, goes to looters. In this film capitalism has gotten so out of control, they force the hand of government to nationalize all business and created a sudden communistic society by executive order. Can't happen, but try to go with it.

There is a gross exaggeration of the battle between capitalism and socialism, as if the two can not coexist in one society, except it does exist that way in every society to one degree or another. However, they don't exist exclusively without each other. You hear the mantra of the barter system "True value for value." Hand me my barf bag.

The main problem I had with the film was not the exaggerated if not cartoonish view it took on economics, but the stiff cardboard characters who can't act. The directing, editing, and screen adaptation also left much to be desired. And yet, as bad as it was, it was an improvement over the first film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as the first one, June 17, 2013
By 
Lindy Nolan (Boca Raton, Florida, US) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
After waiting for this after seeing the first one it was a bit of a let down. The original was exciting, suspenseful, the acting was good and we couldn't wait for this 2nd part to come out. As, I guess, in many sequels it just didn't stand up to the first.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Highly abbreviated, but good., January 25, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Atlas Shrugged II: The Strike (DVD)
After reading the book, it is quite apparent that much is omitted, and much is casually passed over. It's unaviodable; I imagine a 1200 page book cannot by fully developed on screen in an hour or two (or six). That said, I enjoyed the movie experience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2107 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Atlas Shrugged II: The Strike
Atlas Shrugged II: The Strike by John Putch (DVD - 2013)
$6.98 $4.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.