Customer Reviews


104 Reviews
5 star:
 (26)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (27)
2 star:
 (19)
1 star:
 (21)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I give it a 6/10
This movie is very good, but lacks a lot. It leaves a lot of questions unanswered, but was very suspenseful which keeps you watching. The ending did not make any sense to me at all and leaves you wondering what the killer's motive was. The acting was very good. I was expecting a very badly acted B rated movie, but this movie had a pretty large budget for such a simple...
Published on March 5, 2012 by Danny

versus
14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Very poorly written
WARNING: SPOILERS.

I saw the trailer, and thought, "wow, how could they make a movie about being in an ATM scary, since it looks so easy for them to escape." I thought that the movie must be some well scripted mind game in which the bad guy plays with his victims to terrorize them and force them to choose the path he's laid out for them - so they stay in the...
Published on September 21, 2012 by Quentin Davis


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Very poorly written, September 21, 2012
By 
Quentin Davis (Houston, Tx United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: ATM [HD] (Amazon Instant Video)
WARNING: SPOILERS.

I saw the trailer, and thought, "wow, how could they make a movie about being in an ATM scary, since it looks so easy for them to escape." I thought that the movie must be some well scripted mind game in which the bad guy plays with his victims to terrorize them and force them to choose the path he's laid out for them - so they stay in the ATM because they have no choice.

Uh, no. It's basically a movie about 3 incredibly stupid people who act just like stupid people would. And the killer has no plan. He just looks for ATM's that don't have good security camera coverage and then waits at night for someone to come by. Here is an example of something you think is about to reveal the mind game, and ramp up tension, but only serves to make you disconnect from the film given how unlike the you and the characters are (i.e., they are stupid):

The bad guy decides to walk around to the back of the ATM. You think he's about to unleash some pre-built trap from which the victims inside the ATM will have to think their way out of (or at least fight their way out of). The characters stand inside the ATM arguing about whether they should open the door to the ATM and run for it now that the bad guy can't see them (and he really can't). They can't make up their minds (they've already seen the bad guy kill a wandering homeless person in the parking lot, so they know they should run). So they just hang out inside the ATM, waiting for the mysterious man in the parka to come back. Oh, and what's the bad guy doing? Setting into motion some devious plan? Nope. He's around back of the ATM, and he cannot see the victims at all (can only hear their muffled voices a little), and he's just trying to jimmy the back door open and not succeeding. He doesn't even have a proper tool to do it.

So, the bad guy goes to the back of the ATM to try and break in the back door, cause, you know, the front door that isn't locked would be too easy. He's around back, without any means to keep track of what the victims are doing and he's trying to pry the door open with tools not designed for the job (a hammer or wrench or something - I don't recall). The victims, meanwhile, just wait for him to come back. You know, cause he's dangerous and might come back while they are outside the safety of the freely swinging ATM door and completely transparent walls (except the back wall, the one the killer's behind).

Anyway, the entire movie could not have happened, and you find yourself checking out early because they characters do something that NO ONE, and I mean, NO ONE ever does: at 2 AM on a freezing night, they park 25 yards from the ATM in the middle of an empty parking lot. Now, they could have pulled up to within 1 foot of the ATM, let their friend out and waited there. This is what EVERYONE else in the ENTIRE world would have done. Except the idiots in this movie. But, then it would have been just toooooo easy for them to escape once they saw the bad guy. So everyone at some point has to get out of the car and walk the 25 yards to the ATM. One by one, 3 people each make the same stupid decision that no one else in the ENTIRE WORLD would make. The first guy doesn't complain that his friend doesn't drive up to the ATM on a freezing cold night. Ok, maybe he's just the one stupid person that we all know. But when he has problems with his card, his friend driving the car doesn't drive up to the ATM. No, he also gets out and walks 25 yards to the ATM at 2 am in the freezing cold. A few minutes later, so does the girl. Cause, you know, she can't drive (who knows).

Anyway, a bunch of people die and no one cares. It wasn't scary and is just as dumb as it looks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A pretty tense but also very repetitive thriller that is worth watching. If you liked "Phonebooth" check this one out. I say B, May 20, 2012
By 
Tony Heck (Belgrade, MT USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: ATM (DVD)
"Why is he doing this?!!" After finally getting up the nerve to talk to the girl he likes David (Geraghty) is excited to be driving Emily (Eve) home. When his friend Corey (Peck) crashes his date and asks to stop at the ATM machine he is counting down the minutes till he can get Emily alone. After getting out the cash they turn around and notice a stranger starting at them. Their night takes a deadly turn. To start with this is not a bad movie at all. I like the movies like this where it takes an everyday activity and introduces terror into it. The big problem with this is that after a half hour it seemed to run out of ideas and kept repeating itself over and over. The one thing that really saved this and made it enjoyable was the end. This is not a typical "Hollywood" ending and that helped the movie a lot. If you liked "Devil" or "Phonebooth" then you will also like this one. This is worth a watch. Overall, a tense but also repetitive thriller that is worth watching. Ending is great & disturbing. I give it a B.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Modest, But Entertaining, Thriller: Need Cash In The Middle Of the Night? Park Close!, July 22, 2012
This review is from: ATM (Amazon Instant Video)
Although I am certain that some people will not like "ATM," I actually found it to be a relatively enjoyable little thriller. As a B-movie guilty pleasure, this slight film benefits from having modest ambitions. Thus, with its limited scope, I think it works satisfactorily as a pleasing and entertaining diversion. You want a big complicated plot? You need interesting back story? You want character motivation? Don't bother with any of that! "ATM" plays out as a simple, but extravagant, nightmare. Three young professionals visit an ATM booth in the middle of the night only to have that seemingly mundane decision irrevocably change their lives. A menacing figure watches them from afar. And as they contemplate what to do, his murderous intentions become quite clear. Who is he? Why has he targeted this trio? Again, the plot that holds "ATM" together is sketchy at best. You'll get the most enjoyment by not thinking about it, not analyzing the logic, just experiencing it. Normally, I might not have thrown aside intellectual reservations but I found the cast appealing and reasonably resourceful so, in this instance, I was willing to go along for the ride.

It helps immeasurably that the movie casts Brian Geraghty, Josh Peck, and Alice Eve in the principle roles. All are exceedingly likable, their chemistry is palpable, and their discourse is amusing. We meet the trio at an office Christmas party. Geraghty is secretly crushing on Eve and his chance to score some alone time with her is compromised when he has to give his intrusive friend (Peck) a ride home as well. They are soon on the road, bantering playfully. A last minute decision to score some cash (who doesn't love late night eats?) begins a hellish descent into surviving at all costs. To make the situation particularly delightful, they park (for the sake of plot convenience) a spectacular distance from the booth. It's so silly, you have to laugh along! Later on a security guard will do the same thing! But once confined in the booth, the film generates a fair amount of suspense as they try to figure out what to do. And the performances are committed and believable.

As I said, "ATM" doesn't attempt anything too complex and that's why it works as well as it does. I'd have preferred that the danger be a random madman, but as in movies of this type--he seems to be a skillful genius. But I did think the movie was fun and I really think that is all it was aspiring to be. About 3 1/2 stars. This gritty little picture won't win any awards, but it passes a tense 90 minutes. KGHarris, 7/12.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars I just can't justify 3 stars, despite it being entertaining, March 10, 2012
By 
rareoopdvds (San Diego, CA United States) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: ATM (Amazon Instant Video)
The set up of a horror or thriller, such as ATM, is probably one of the most important parts of the film. You can expect a chase, gore scenes, some monstrosity's, and if time permits, character development. So here we have two seemingly successful people working in finance who leave a party to bring home a good looking woman, who also works with them. One of the guys needs to stop at an ATM to get money for his late night munchies.

The film seems to be set in the city. New York City (or at least something like to NYC). But apparently the only ATM is on this remote street with no one around. Pulling up to the ATM, he parks, what seems like a half a block away. Why not just pull right up to it?? I don't know anyone that does this, especially at 1 in the morning. And so, between the car and the ATM hut stands the killer. And yes, they all forgot their cell phones in the car.

I just get infuriated how people find themselves in situations like this. It could be argued on the other side that what are the chances of some crazy guy looking to kill some people locked in an ATM hut. But err on the safe side when the chances are higher that strange people creep around at night in big cities. Ultimately, however, it just seems too convenient for the killer to get into place.

The film does not offer much other than high tension. As the other reviewers mentioned, the question of "why" is never answered. Clearly it is not supposed to. I am not sure if thats the question the film is offering either. I think its more stating that "it can be done". If we recall the opening credit sequence, we see maps and diagrams and coordinates. All of this for the killer as a challenge for technology.

I am probably being more poetic than the film deserves, but its a measure of avoidance as the film has little substance to work with. Anything revealed gives away almost too much. I can only assume that the film was green lit based on a pitch and wasn't developed further.

Now that I have my gripes out of the way, I will say that the film is well done and the drama is exciting and intense. The acting is credible and well executed, so that's a bonus. It is worth a rental, but not at the current price. I would wait for the actual DVD release. It was exciting and entertaining, but the lack of the depth the film has, I cannot merit it more than 2 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Many flaws but still fun, July 26, 2012
This review is from: Atm [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
I'm torn on ATM. On one hand it's overwhelmingly dumb and filled with plot holes and yet, somehow, I still liked the damn thing. At an office Christmas party, David has just gotten up the nerve to talk to co-worker Emily (Alice Eve) and offers to give her a ride home. However his friend Corey (Josh peck from Nickelodeon's Drake & Josh) decides to be a third wheel and tags along for a ride home as well. Corey asks to stop at an ATM on the way home and that is where the trio's night of terror begins.

They stop at one of those enclosed, cabin-type of ATMs that requires your debit card to get into. As they turn to leave the ATM they see a man standing outside staring at them. He's dressed in a hooded parka, hiding his face. Thinking he might want to rob them the three remain inside the safety of the ATM. But when their tormentor kills a man walking his dog, they realize their situation is much more grave than they thought. Soon the trio turns on each other as paranoia begins to grip them as the mysterious man just stands outside the ATM, daring them to try and escape.

ATM is certainly an interesting concept. Most of us probably utilize an ATM at least once a week and while I've never used one of these enclosed types of ATMs, I know I certainly always am aware of my surroundings when I use one. Director David Brooks builds suspense nicely as well as the mystery of their assailant. I quite enjoyed Josh Peck, having a son who loved Josh and Drake I was very familiar with him and he makes a strong transition to a more adult role.

But as mentioned, ATM is quite dumb and if you can't suspend disbelief you're likely not going to enjoy the film much. There are holes aplenty in the plot. Why does David park some 60 - 70 feet from the ATM when the parking lot is completely empty, especially when it is below freezing outside? And the precept that got all three inside the booth was downright silly. It makes no sense in reality but made no sense in the film either as it wasn't necessary. With two relatively in shape males and one female all in their 20's, why not rush the man, especially after it was made clear he had no gun or other dangerous weapon? Why not run in three different directions? At least two would have escaped and been able to get help.

If you can look beyond the many plot holes, ATM is a flawed, but fun film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars 3 stupid characters in the stupidest movie I've ever seen, October 13, 2013
By 
This review is from: ATM (Amazon Instant Video)
There is absolutely no point to this film. The characters do things that real people don't do -- like walk around without their cell phones or park 100 yards from an ATM or leave your purse in the car, or leave a girl alone in a car -- or go to the most isolated ATM in the world in the middle of the night. Arguing over nothing, making one stupid decision after another. I watched to the end to see what the point was.. I shouldn't have wasted my time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Great Concept, Poor Execution, October 13, 2012
This review is from: ATM (Amazon Instant Video)
ATM follows three co-workers as they make a late-night stop at an isolated ATM; as they are leaving, they notice a strange person watching and stalking them. The concept is great, and could've kept people from using ATMs at night, but fails to effectively use it.

The bulk of the film takes place in a walk-in-ATM (think: a very large phone booth) in a parking lot. A chain of unfortunate and illogical events take place that leads them there; for example, they need cash because Corey (Josh Peck) must eat at night and the place he must eat at only accepts cash. That's slightly understandable, right? Oh, but David (Brian Geraghty) has to park as far away as possible, then everyone has to get out of the car because Corey's debit card is not working and Emily (Alice Eve) doesn't want to wait in the car. Then, all of the phones are dead or misplaced. Unfortunate for this group, but very fortunate for the psycho outside. Other events like these are scattered across the movie, like a security guard with very bad hearing. Honestly, they could've rushed the man that was clearly unarmed at the beginning or split up when he disappeared for several minutes at a time. As you can see, the movie is poorly and lazily written. I did like the concept a lot, and the feeling of helplessness was evident. The acting was decent, and the music was great. It also has a very fast pace, and has a runtime of 1hr and 20min without the credits, so it's a perfect time-killer if you can get past the illogical events. The ending was also decent.

Overall, ATM has an amazing and chilling concept, but it's ultimately poorly executed. It has many flaws, but can kill time if you're bored and want a couple of thrills. As of 10/13/12, this film is available on Netflix Streaming, and you should stream or rent before purchasing.

ATM has strong blood and violence, no sex or nudity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Rip off of P2, April 7, 2012
This review is from: ATM (Amazon Instant Video)
Watching this, I couldn't help but think the director saw the far better P2 and thought "if I put it in an ATM and tweek it a bit, no one will recognize that superior movie is being ripped off." Only I'm one of the 500 or so that has seen and appreciated P2. Brian Geraghty is too good to be in this movie. He was a major character in The Hurt Locker. He deserves better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Some atmospheric moments, but it ultimately fizzles, July 29, 2012
By 
This review is from: Atm [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
"ATM" is a thriller that begins at a company Christmas party. Insecure investment banker David (Brian Geraghty) asks co-worker Emily (Alice Eve) if she'd like a ride home. Emily, who's been David's secret crush, agrees, but David's pushy, wisecracking friend Corey (Josh Peck) winds up joining them as they leave. When Corey asks them to make a late-night stop at a free-standing, glass-enclosed ATM in a dimly-lit parking lot, what had been a romantically promising night for David turns into a nightmare as a mysterious man in a hoodie and mask appears. He might just be waiting to use the machine, but when he suddenly and brutally kills an innocent passerby, the three realize they are trapped.

The mysterious stranger is in the mold of the nondescript Michael Meyers of "Halloween," but rather than merely stand in doorways or commit gruesome murders off-screen, the villain here is more graphic in his dastardly deeds. Director David Brooks creates a chilling atmosphere -- figuratively and literally -- as temperature plays a significant role in the hapless trio's attempt to make it through a grueling night in freezing weather. There's an effective score to heighten suspense, but the film runs out of steam long before the final credits roll. The Blu-ray contains both the R-rated theatrical and unrated director's cut versions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A pretty tense but also very repetitive thriller that is worth watching. If you liked "Phonebooth" check this one out. I say B, May 20, 2012
By 
Tony Heck (Belgrade, MT USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: ATM (Amazon Instant Video)
"Why is he doing this?!!" After finally getting up the nerve to talk to the girl he likes David (Geraghty) is excited to be driving Emily (Eve) home. When his friend Corey (Peck) crashes his date and asks to stop at the ATM machine he is counting down the minutes till he can get Emily alone. After getting out the cash they turn around and notice a stranger starting at them. Their night takes a deadly turn. To start with this is not a bad movie at all. I like the movies like this where it takes an everyday activity and introduces terror into it. The big problem with this is that after a half hour it seemed to run out of ideas and kept repeating itself over and over. The one thing that really saved this and made it enjoyable was the end. This is not a typical "Hollywood" ending and that helped the movie a lot. If you liked "Devil" or "Phonebooth" then you will also like this one. This is worth a watch. Overall, a tense but also repetitive thriller that is worth watching. Ending is great & disturbing. I give it a B.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Atm [Blu-ray]
Atm [Blu-ray] by David Brooks (Blu-ray - 2012)
$29.98 $20.69
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.