Customer Reviews


86 Reviews
5 star:
 (46)
4 star:
 (23)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


59 of 70 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best Long Board for the right price
If you want a smooth ride you will want this board. This board is real easy to push i love it the wheels are alot bigger than what i thought this board will last along time and if you buy it you will be happy you did.Like most boards when they get to you you have to loosin the for stearing it's already done for you great turning also.The wood is very strong and...
Published on December 26, 2010 by Johnathan V

versus
33 of 38 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A decent board for beginners
As an avid skate and snowboarder, longboarding has become a solid form of reliable and fun transportation in my college life. After skateboarding for over ten years I can say I am very pleased with the transition from a small unstable board- to a larger, more forgiving, and maneuverable deck such as the "Atom Drop-Through." The board itself, arriving a little late, is...
Published on February 12, 2012 by DC


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

59 of 70 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best Long Board for the right price, December 26, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Atom Drop-Through Longboard (Sports)
If you want a smooth ride you will want this board. This board is real easy to push i love it the wheels are alot bigger than what i thought this board will last along time and if you buy it you will be happy you did.Like most boards when they get to you you have to loosin the for stearing it's already done for you great turning also.The wood is very strong and flexible.Come on and buy you will love it just as much as i do
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 38 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A decent board for beginners, February 12, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Atom Drop-Through Longboard (Sports)
As an avid skate and snowboarder, longboarding has become a solid form of reliable and fun transportation in my college life. After skateboarding for over ten years I can say I am very pleased with the transition from a small unstable board- to a larger, more forgiving, and maneuverable deck such as the "Atom Drop-Through." The board itself, arriving a little late, is beautiful to say the least. The deck itself, made up of an unknown wood, is layered seven times- offering a large amount of flex but also a decent amount of strength while riding. It sports black, white, and candy red stripes/wheels to really turn heads during cruising. Grip tape also feels high quality despite lacking any design found on other Atom boards. My first ride was great, on smooth pavement and on small slopes you could really get low and carve. However as expected the ABEC 5 bearings did not offer much wheel spin- making level ground and uphill riding more difficult than it should be. Another oddity is that one of the front wheels (after slow easy riding), already felt unstable after one ride.

Once I began using the board on campus I became pleased with its downhill abilities even more, easily getting up to speeds of 15-25 mph. Because of the flex however, the board tends to flex and bounce on high speed maneuvers (I'm 6'0 and 150- for anyone heavier it might be a little scary). The biggest let down of the board however is the constant retightening of the trucks- after a few days of riding on bricks and pavement I was horrified to notice how loose my trucks became- missing a couple screw heads can screw you over... so buy a cheap skateboard tool. Other students with more expensive boards can identify the cheap $100 qualities such as the wheel size and trucks.

In conclusion: if you're under the age of 15 and want to try longboarding out- by all means buy this. If you have experience with skating and want to try a drop though... there's a reason why good decks cost $300+
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


32 of 37 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Perfect for beginners, January 6, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Atom Drop-Through Longboard (Sports)
Let me start by saying I have bought and used this board as well as used the green version of this deck. The only difference between the two is the color and the wheels. Let me continue to say that I am an avid, and experienced longboarder.

Deck
This board isn't bad. The only boards better than this for the price are Churchillm boards. Go to their website at churchillmfg to check out their stuff. Super great quality for cheap. It's unheard of. Anywho, this board is a 7 ply with camber (as most 7 plys are). This means the board is slightly convex from truck to truck to allow for the flex of the board. As a drop through deck with 7 plys, it is a breeze to push. really comfy ride. It's slightly concave (from side to side) but nothing to get your hopes up about as it is fairly flat. The board is wider in the back than the front. Doesn't make that big of difference but I prefer symmetrical boards for tricks. This board isn't uncomfortable to ride switch so I wouldn't be worried about that. However, it doesn't have any kicks. One side has about as much as a loaded dervish (which many people manage to trick on) and the other side is almost impossible to trick on.

Wheels
The wheels have a durometer of 78a. That means they are soft wheels and are grippy. This makes for a comfortable ride a no fear of the board sliding out from under you. You can break these in to do slides if you're interested in getting into that. These wheels have a rounded lip. That means they are easier to break into slides with and will cone more naturally. Normally you can do that with any wheel, but take the green Atom for example: The wheels have a flat lip and the thane used in the wheel is clearly cheap and meant to grip. This can lead to chunking in which the wheels will break off in chunks instead of breaking down in the cone shape. A good longboarder will chunk or even flatspot either of these wheels with a big slide. A beginner will learn how to get comfortable riding these just fine.

Bearings
Comes with ABEC 5 bearings. That means...SLOW. They're not horrible. They're the same ABEC 5 bearings that come stock with most completes. However, Bones Reds are better (and are the cheapest on Amazon). If you have a hill in front of your house that you, or your son/daughter will be riding and you or they or whoever is inexperienced, these stock ABEC 5's will do fine. If you're on flats with only slightly hilly spots and are inexperienced, Bones Reds all the way. They're faster and better, period.

Trucks
GARBAGE. Worst part about the deck. It has double barrel bushings of some durometer which I don't know. Personally double barrel is my favorite setup because it's the most stable and they have the best return to center after turning or carving. The trucks though are really cheap. One was totally fine and the other was slightly bent making my wheels spin slower (I did numerous tests with wheels to make sure it was the truck). Last my board was run over by a car. One of the trucks COMPLETELY broke. The fat part before the axles not only bent but also fractured. Metal doesn't just fracture. I can understand it bending a bit under a car but this was ridiculous. Metal doesn't fracture like that unless it has impurities. My new deck (this atom deck broke under the car) has with Bear Grizzly trucks which come stock with double barrels and it's godly.

Conclusion
This is a great beginner board. If you've ridden a skateboard before or are just comfortable pushing and riding, go for a cheap Churchill board or just upgrade the bearings to Bones Reds. They're high quality and cheap. Churchillmfg is the website. One of my favorite brands. Oh and if you snowboard you'll be comfy riding but not pushing most likely. My buddy used to snowboard and that was his problem. He picked up fast tho :D
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Board, January 13, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Atom Drop-Through Longboard (Sports)
This was my first longboard and I love it! it came in perfect condition and shipped really fast. No problems with the board as far as I can tell, it performs well and It is sturdy but flexible. I have hit a few curbs and stuff but this board seems very durable and hast shown any signs of real wear yet, only minor dents on the very edge, so no complaints there. For this price, I'm very happy with the performance. I'm happy with the purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars LONG BOARD, February 19, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Atom Drop-Through Longboard (Sports)
GREAT PRODUCT! I BOUGHT THIS FOR MY 10 YEAR OLD AND HE LOVES IT AND IT IS A GREAT LONG BOARD!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Atom Drop-Through Longboard Atom, May 8, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Atom Drop-Through Longboard (Sports)
This board fell apart and the bolts actually came out when he was riding it. Don't know if it was just a defect or not. He got injured from it. Don't think we would buy this board again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good For Beginners, March 5, 2014
This review is from: Atom Drop-Through Longboard (Sports)
If you are a beginner it's great. The board is goodish at everything except sliding since there is very little concave and the wheels will not break out unless it's pouring with rain. I've been riding this board for about 10 months and I changed the bearings to some Reds. The grip tape is wearing down but, I rode it every day over the summer. Now I've got an Original Baffle 37 with 50 Cals that are Purple(Purple Haze! that's a Jimi Hendrix reference not the actual color) and Abec 11 70's Flashbacks and Bones Reds. Now getting back to the product it's great for the price but is way two flexy to bomb any thing bigger than your average neighborhood hills. If you loosen up the trucks you can carve pretty well. Again if your are experienced not the best buy but for beginners it's great to figure out what your gonna go into whether it's Downhill or Freeriding or Freestyle or Cruising the boardwalk. Go Original!!!! and lastly if you try to do any standies you will be bucked and be in pain for a while.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Going on day 3..., June 24, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Atom Drop-Through Longboard (Sports)
I love this board. This is my first longboard, and it has been fantastic. I rode a buddy's top-mount (if you know what I mean) and I like how much lower this is.

I initially over-tightened my trucks and didn't really like it at all.. loosened them back up and now it's fantastic.

The grip tape does seem like it might rub off pretty easily (can already see a little bit of wear after only a few hours of riding) but that's very easily and cheaply replaced.

Buy this board, you won't regret it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love it!, January 28, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Atom Drop-Through Longboard (Sports)
This long board is great! Everything is set up perfectly and you can ride as soon as you get it! If you do crash, this board is great and is made with a lot of quality. :) All I did was buy some Bones Reds Bearings (just search that on amazon) I then installed them and loosened the trucks with a 9/16 wrench, and off I went. I have had this board for over a year now and it has lasted me great with no scuff marks on the deck itself and minor wear and tear to the wheels. Speaking of the wheels, they are the perfect size for bumps and small sticks and cracks. Also, they have good grip for carving, but you can break them in a little and get some really nice slides with them. Thanks for reading, and have a nice day! :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars great but replace bearings, November 24, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Atom Drop-Through Longboard (Sports)
The Atom Drop Through longboard is amazing i got one and fell in love with it the only problem that I noticed is that the bearings arent bad but not great and the picture has been slightly cut off where it says longboard and I personally think it should have black wheels but red is cool to overall great longboard
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Atom Drop-Through Longboard
Atom Drop-Through Longboard by Atom Longboards
$99.95 $91.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.