Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


28 of 28 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Room to Grow
As a child, I liked my superheroes to have a scientific bent, so the stories about physics grad student Ray (The Atom) Palmer adventuring not only on earth but also in time and other dimensional worlds appealed to me. Plus, kids can identify somewhat with a hero that the adult world towered over.
Comics from the '60s were all about gimmicks, and the Atom's was that...
Published on April 25, 2002 by Chris Jarocha-Ernst

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Tiny Dancer
The Atom Archives Volume 1: written by Gardner Fox; illustrated by Gil Kane, Murphy Anderson, and Mike Sekowsky (1961-63; collected 2005): When the great DC editor Julius Schwartz decided to reboot the humdrum Golden-Age Atom for DC's ascendant Silver Age, he wisely gave the character actual powers. The Golden-Age Atom had been a short guy who was pretty good in a fight...
Published 14 months ago by Jonathan Stover


Most Helpful First | Newest First

28 of 28 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Room to Grow, April 25, 2002
By 
This review is from: Atom, The - Archives, Volume 1 (DC Archive Editions) (Hardcover)
As a child, I liked my superheroes to have a scientific bent, so the stories about physics grad student Ray (The Atom) Palmer adventuring not only on earth but also in time and other dimensional worlds appealed to me. Plus, kids can identify somewhat with a hero that the adult world towered over.
Comics from the '60s were all about gimmicks, and the Atom's was that he could shrink, varying from submicroscopic size to about a foot tall. That let stories develop from notions of putting the Atom in peril not only from normal-sized adults but also from various small objects, from the pointed hands of a watch to a Venus fly-trap to a draining sink (all represented here), which would then be drawn enticingly on the comic's cover.
Author Gardner Fox and artist Gil Kane had already gained some measure of fame for their work on Green Lantern, but they had yet to find their footing on The Atom. The Atom was never one of DC's most popular heroes, but I liked him, and this collection shows the two creators moving from the hero's origin to the establishment of recurring themes which would lead to The Atom's brief peak of popularity.
The collection includes the introduction of two villains who became favorites with DC Comics readers: Chronos the Time Thief (who used clock gimmicks) and Jason Woodrue the Plant-Master (not only a master gardener but also an exile from a dimension where dryads ruled). It also includes the first "Time Pool" stories, in which the Atom would use a wormhole in time (too small for normal humans) to make discoveries in the past. (Oddly, Chronos was never used in a Time Pool story, which would seem a natural combination.)
    This book reprints Atom stories from SHOWCASE #s 34-36 and THE ATOM #s 1-5, 1961-1963.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Mite for All Seasons, October 3, 2001
By 
This review is from: Atom, The - Archives, Volume 1 (DC Archive Editions) (Hardcover)
The Atom was probably the most versatile superhero of the Silver Age of DC Comics. In this collection of stories from 1961, scientist Ray Palmer discovers the secret of controlling his size and weight and becomes the Atom. Rather than exploit his invention for prestige or commercial gain, he chooses to secretly aid lawyer Jean Loring, his fiancee, with her most difficult cases, in the hope that she will agree to marry him after achieving professional success on her own. His subsequent adventures run the gamut from science fiction to espionage to historic time-travel to light fantasy to criminal investigation. Far from invincible like Superman or Green Lantern, the six-inch Atom, embellished by the artwork of Gil Kane and Murphy Anderson at their best, promised and delivered the most fun and excitment (and, admittedly, at times, silliness) of just about all 1960s superhero comic books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My favorite of the comic book heros of the silver age, June 2, 2005
This review is from: Atom, The - Archives, Volume 1 (DC Archive Editions) (Hardcover)
The silver age Atom (there was a slightly different "Atom" of golden age comics) was a fantastic comic. Perhaps the strongest thing about it was the art of Gil Kane.

Kane's renderings are true works of art, some times surreal some times psychedelic, that are time capsule of our fears at the height of the cold war. In a word Kane's work in "The Atom" gives a strong feeling of the apocalyptic.

It was a science based comic book which I found very appealing when I discovered it as a child. For a comic book some of themes, characters and dialogue are actually fairly sophisticated.

This volume reproduces pages of the first and probably best issues of the comic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Tiny Dancer, June 22, 2013
By 
This review is from: Atom, The - Archives, Volume 1 (DC Archive Editions) (Hardcover)
The Atom Archives Volume 1: written by Gardner Fox; illustrated by Gil Kane, Murphy Anderson, and Mike Sekowsky (1961-63; collected 2005): When the great DC editor Julius Schwartz decided to reboot the humdrum Golden-Age Atom for DC's ascendant Silver Age, he wisely gave the character actual powers. The Golden-Age Atom had been a short guy who was pretty good in a fight. The Silver-Age Atom was a scientist who figured out how to shrink himself while also controlling his mass.

This latter ability -- which allowed the Atom to be light as a feather or to weigh his full 180 pounds when he was six inches tall -- really could have been dangerous, as he could conceivably have been the first superhero to be constantly in peril of collapsing into a black hole. But apparently the Atom kept good track of his mass-to-size ratio and avoided this terrible fate.

This new Atom allowed for Gardner Fox and Schwartz to play with size and perspective within a quasi-scientific framework. The explanation for how the Atom could travel down phonelines required a half-page of text, and actually explained to me how the sound of a voice or what-have-you supplied power to analog phone lines. Science!

The elegant and dynamic Gil Kane and the detailed Murphy Anderson made a really nice art team on these early adventures. As with most Silver Age reboots, the Atom eschews a cape. And Kane makes the little fellow quite balletic and acrobatic, just as he did the Silver Age Green Lantern. A lot more fun and engaging than I expected. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars atomic gil kane art lives on., May 27, 2010
By 
Michael Dobey (colorado springs) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Atom, The - Archives, Volume 1 (DC Archive Editions) (Hardcover)
Gardner Fox was a great writer who wrote a ton of comics from the golden age to the silver age and lots of books as well. With this character he is as usual very literate and he often focuses on the current science of the day. These aren't his best stories; but they are entertaining. These stories often feature non-custumed villians , but they do have the origin of Kronos in here though. Interestingly he has pattern baldness! now that's a first perhaps as far as super=-villians go. (he's not completely bald). These type of stories are not slambuster type of superhero stuff but they are well thought out and fun to read.this is not as good as what Fox had done in the Justice League; but it's not that bad. Todays readers are too much bombarded with supervillians to realize that you can also have stories that have nothing to do with them and still be entertained. These are cold war era early sixties stories and the late Great Gil Kane does his usual great art stylings and he even gets the excellent murphy anderson to ink him! This archive is remastered like d.c. used to do before they went insane and started scanning old comics and putting that out as a expensive archives . So you get your moneys worth with this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Fond Memories of a Moment in Time, January 21, 2014
By 
This review is from: Atom, The - Archives, Volume 1 (DC Archive Editions) (Hardcover)
Unlike earlier Silver Age DC superheroes like Flash, Green Lantern and Hawkman, the Atom was not a refashioned but still recognizable variation on a Golden Age original. The only element that carried over from the Atom of the 1940s was the name. All the stories in this volume are scripted by Gardner Fox, with pencils by Gil Kane and Murphy Anderson inking. (A few pages of one story are penciled by Mike Sekowsky.) Kane and Anderson were a wonderful team, and these pages showcase the resulting art that is both solid and fluid with motion. As mentioned by other reviewers, these tales are largely not from the cream of Fox's legendary storytelling career, but they are in their way complex and structured, albeit with the usual comic book shortcomings. The Atom never attained for me the level of excellent I perceived in the Silver Age Green Lantern, but he was one of my favorites nonetheless, mostly on the strength of the Kane/Anderson art. There's a nice slice of that era between the covers of this book. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good but not great Silver Age Atom stories., April 5, 2002
By 
miles@riverside (Indio, CA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Atom, The - Archives, Volume 1 (DC Archive Editions) (Hardcover)
Fox wrote these stories around the same period of time he was writing for JUSTICE LEAGUE and HAWKMAN. But the Atom story ideas are never as creative or bizarre as those in JUSTICE LEAGUE, and the characters aren't as likeable as Hawkman and Hawkgirl. The Gil Kane / Murphy Anderson artwork is pretty impressive, however; and it's reproduced here well via the DC Archives "remastering" process.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Atom Archives-Vol 1, June 19, 2008
This review is from: Atom, The - Archives, Volume 1 (DC Archive Editions) (Hardcover)
Great product. Brings me back to my youth and original comic book collection. Too bad prices are not a bit lower.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 15 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Atom shrinks with age: Great Artwork, Poor Writing, April 15, 2002
By 
JWA (Abbotsford, British Columbia Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Atom, The - Archives, Volume 1 (DC Archive Editions) (Hardcover)
I remember the Atom when he first came out, and I read a couple of these issues as a kid. I bought this volume on the strength of the art, which is excellent in my view, and relying on my enjoyment as a kid of these stories. There remains a lot of dynamism and solidity to the penciling in these stories, but not much else. Unfortunately the writing (and I am usually a fan of Gardner Fox)is lousy, and the plot twists, few as they are, lack believability. In retrospect, I wish I had not invested--it's not a volume I'll be looking at again any time soon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars the atom archives , vol 1 - shipping problem, November 5, 2006
This review is from: Atom, The - Archives, Volume 1 (DC Archive Editions) (Hardcover)
I received this colectible product with book covers -both top right end corners (1/4 inch) crushed, which affected a slight bend of 20 - 30 pages inside the book. I was dissapointed. Considering this book costs more than $30, I had contemplated returning this product but since it will cost me around $3 to ship I decided against it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Atom, The - Archives, Volume 1 (DC Archive Editions)
Atom, The - Archives, Volume 1 (DC Archive Editions) by Julie Schwartz (Hardcover - July 1, 2001)
Used & New from: $18.98
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.