Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (1)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very different.
You have to be in the right mindset for this movie. It's strange. Somber. But I found it interesting. Dark and engrossing with a subtle buildup that turns deliberately anticlimactic, and it works perfectly for what I think the message of this film is. Unrequited feelings, insignificance, and a constant disappointment with the world sucks. And it's not easy to explain to...
Published 7 months ago by Kirsten

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Adolescent Angst--French Style
If you like the French's style of film-making watch this, but if not, run away. This film has no plot line, but it's beautiful to look at and the dialogue is very poetic.
Published 8 months ago by Lucky Rob


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Adolescent Angst--French Style, May 17, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
If you like the French's style of film-making watch this, but if not, run away. This film has no plot line, but it's beautiful to look at and the dialogue is very poetic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very different., June 8, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Atomic Age (Amazon Instant Video)
You have to be in the right mindset for this movie. It's strange. Somber. But I found it interesting. Dark and engrossing with a subtle buildup that turns deliberately anticlimactic, and it works perfectly for what I think the message of this film is. Unrequited feelings, insignificance, and a constant disappointment with the world sucks. And it's not easy to explain to others, and even harder to understand it yourself.

If I were being completely honest I would have rated this 4 stars, but the other reviews are too harsh. Watch this only if you're going into it with the mindset of observing everything that happens, not understanding perfectly. I think the story is partly supposed to be what our own imagination creates for what we don’t see.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Good acting and a poetic sensibility make this worthwhile., November 20, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Atomic Age (Amazon Instant Video)
Good acting and a poetic sensibility make this worthwhile. It is in French, with English subtitles. I don't think it is meant to be realistic, but this doesn't mean it is not emotionally true. It's atmosphere is closer to that of a 19th-century short story than to present-day film, but that shouldn't stop anyone who wants to watch something thoughtful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Where's the plot???, December 26, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Made absolutely no sense to me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars a night episode, June 15, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Atomic Age (Amazon Instant Video)
Too dark literally and figuratively I kept hoping it would get better. There seemed little hope for a better life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Just simply Bad, April 29, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Atomic Age (Amazon Instant Video)
Nothing about this movie IMHO related to the gay lifestyle and I was confused from the start on that issue alone. If you like movies about drugs well this would be for you. Just a sad thing to watch from start to finish. I mean I thought it was finished. I know I was finished wasting my time. BTW why is s*** like this put on as a video on demand but yet other movies that are good and have been out of years not a part of this site? What is the deal? If you are worried about torrent sites well I don't have time for sites like that and I just want to see a nice gay movie where it has a happy ending. Not a hard concept to grasp.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Waste of time., October 7, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Atomic Age (DVD)
Sorry excuse for a film. It is filmed in darkness. Hard to see much of picture. I am not sure what the plot was.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Atomic Age
Atomic Age by Héléna Klotz (DVD - 2013)
$19.99 $7.00
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.