Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good Clinical Resource on Family Intervention
Increasingly, there is a trend away from individual approaches to child therapy to focus more on the family. This is especially true in the treatment of children with disrupted attachment patterns, as is common with foster and adopted kids, for example. Drawing upon theory, clinical experience, and case examples, Hughes emphasizes that intervention with families should be...
Published on February 5, 2009 by Christopher Alexander

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars More of the Same
I've read a few of this author's published works. It has some value to the practitioner in the field, but, if you've read one you've read them all. A bit like the diet or self-help gurus who keep releasing re-hashes of their first successful publication.
Published 6 months ago by Gary O. Shepherd


Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good Clinical Resource on Family Intervention, February 5, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Attachment : Focused Family Therapy (Hardcover)
Increasingly, there is a trend away from individual approaches to child therapy to focus more on the family. This is especially true in the treatment of children with disrupted attachment patterns, as is common with foster and adopted kids, for example. Drawing upon theory, clinical experience, and case examples, Hughes emphasizes that intervention with families should be playful, curious, and empathic. Hughes also emphasizes the importance of the therapist 'resonating' with what is happening in the treatment.

Many of the concepts and approaches discussed in this book are familiar to those of us who work with foster and adopted children and their families. If you are new to these concepts, this book will broaden your understanding, but it requires a shift in mindset and approach from that of typical child psychology.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Highly recommended!!, July 4, 2007
This review is from: Attachment : Focused Family Therapy (Hardcover)
This book demonstrates how Dan Hughes has evolved his style over the years. An extremely compassionate and skilled healer, he writes with simplicity and clarity to share the theory behind his work as well as the specific skills to replicate it (Though it isn't easy!!). Dan's work can applied in therapy with all populations, and is a must read in working with parents and children.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well-written, and USEFUL for the therapist, December 17, 2008
By 
RN-LCSW (Asheville NC) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Attachment : Focused Family Therapy (Hardcover)
I attended a training by Dan Hughes years ago and was very inspired and impressed. This book gives the therapist the real 'flavor' of Hughes' work with attachment disordered children and their families. Humor, empathy, and "finding the words" for the child are used in a way that keeps the focus on the child-mother connection. Many others talk about keeping the focus on that connection...Hughes shows you how to do it. Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars not just for child psychiatrists or family therapists, November 29, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Attachment : Focused Family Therapy (Hardcover)
An engaging and easy read, Hughes years of experience clearly resound in his theoretical concepts and practical examples. Though the title suggests otherwise, there are many concepts that can easily be applied to daily clinical practice and not reserved for family therapy. His chapters on PACE and "shame and guilt" were the highlight of the book for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars one of the best books I've ever read in 20+ years, June 24, 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Attachment : Focused Family Therapy (Hardcover)
Excellent, well-written and cutting-edge approach to family therapy. I've been proselytizing Daniel Hughes' wisdom in my current workplace and hoping to change some of the culture of child welfare with his insight.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars More of the Same, May 13, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Attachment : Focused Family Therapy (Hardcover)
I've read a few of this author's published works. It has some value to the practitioner in the field, but, if you've read one you've read them all. A bit like the diet or self-help gurus who keep releasing re-hashes of their first successful publication.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book!, February 23, 2008
This review is from: Attachment : Focused Family Therapy (Hardcover)
It is one of the most helpful and excellent books I have read in this field.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Does not meet expectations, November 16, 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Attachment : Focused Family Therapy (Hardcover)
I read all the rave reviews for this book and suggested it to my professional clinical supervision group. Eight licensed professionals read the reviews and agreed that this would make a terrific study on attachment focused therapy. We were all terribly disappointed. After about 3 sessions, we called it quits. This group consists of masters and above trained clinicians, some with 20+ years of experience. The new language that is used seems circular. As eager as I was to gain all the insight that the other reviewers said I would, I was sorry I had suggested it to the group. All 8 of us purchased the book. This week I traded my copy in for about 1/4 what I originally paid. I had also purchased a book by same author for attachment focused parenting and the workbook... traded those in at a loss also. Unfortunately, this just does not deliver at the level of the reviews.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Attachment : Focused Family Therapy
Attachment : Focused Family Therapy by Daniel A. Hughes (Hardcover - May 17, 2007)
$32.00 $25.40
In stock but may require an extra 1-2 days to process.
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.