Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:    (0)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Attack Force/Into the Sun/The Russian Specialist/Consoiracy-4-pack
I was a little disappointed as I was hoping for 4 movies with Steven Seagal, but at least there were 2 of them. Steven Seagal's movies are not always crowd pleaser but he does know martial arts, I only wish he would talk a little louder. Attack Force and Into the Sun I have never seen before buying this DVD but they were both very good. The Russian Specialist with Dolph...
Published 14 months ago by B. J.

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Good & the Bad of Direct-to-DVD Action Flicks
I grew up watching the over the top action movies from the 1980s and early 1990s, so I was more than eager to review the 4 Movie Collection featuring Attack Force, Into the Sun, The Russian Specialist, and Conspiracy, courtesy of Mill Creek Entertainment and Tower PR in exchange for an honest review.

Steven Seagal plays Marshall Lawson, a commander of an elite...
Published 17 months ago by Coffee Addicted Writer's Reviews


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Good & the Bad of Direct-to-DVD Action Flicks, November 7, 2012
This review is from: Attack Force/Into the Sun/The Russian Specialist/Conspiracy - 4-Pack (DVD)
I grew up watching the over the top action movies from the 1980s and early 1990s, so I was more than eager to review the 4 Movie Collection featuring Attack Force, Into the Sun, The Russian Specialist, and Conspiracy, courtesy of Mill Creek Entertainment and Tower PR in exchange for an honest review.

Steven Seagal plays Marshall Lawson, a commander of an elite military unit, in the 2008 direct-to-DVD Attack Force. While in Paris, three of his soldiers are brutally murdered in their hotel room. He starts his own investigation into their deaths with the help of his much younger girlfriend, Tia, and his military friend Dwayne. He learns that the soldiers deaths are linked to a military drug called CTX, in which Tia was one of the original scientist that helped create it. Whoever takes the CTX becomes an unstoppable killing machine.

I'm not the biggest Seagal fan and it has been awhile since I have seen one of his movies, but Attack Force has to be the worst. The plot is unrealistic and confusing. The fights scenes are ridiculous, the acting is laughable, and half of Seagal's lines are dubbed due to the script being changed after the movie was filmed. Attack Force is one of the worst movies ever made.

Steven Seagal plays an ex-CIA agent Travis Hunter in the 2005 direct-to-DVD Into the Sun. Hunter is brought in to look into the murder of Tokyo's governor along with his new FBI partner Sean Mac (played by Vampire Diaries' Matthew Davis). The murder is linked to the Japanese mafia known as Yakuza. Hunter was raised in Japan and knows the customs, but his new partner doesn't know about the culture and is more of a distraction. Hunter ends up sending Mac on a surveillance mission, but it ends up in disaster. As Hunter gets closer to the killers, Yakuza kills someone close to him, resulting in Hunter taking matters into his own hands.

Despite from the incorrect CIA/FBI jargon, Into the Sun wasn't a bad action flick. Yes, the whole drug kingpin plot has been done to death, but there are some decent sword fighting scenes that kept the movie likeable.

Dolph Lundgren directs and plays the main character, Nikolai "Nick" Cherenko, in the 2005 action flick The Russian Specialist (aka The Mechanik). Nick left Russia and moved to America after he witnessed the brutal murder of his wife and son. He's trying to get over his loss by working as a mechanic. That is until a wealthy woman offers him $500,000 to find her daughter who has been forced into the sex trade industry in Russia. At first he rejects the job, but then he learns that the kidnapper is Sasha Popov, the man that killed his family. Nick returns to Russia and joins forces with William Burton and his band of mercenaries to take down Popov's mob.

I wasn't expecting too much from a movie that I had never heard of before, but I found The Russian Specialist to be a well written and nicely directed action movie, minus the odd fade-to-black after each scene.

Val Kilmer stars as a disabled ex-Marine William "Spooky" Macpherson in the 2008 direct-to-DVD Conspiracy that is somewhat inspired by 1955 film Bad Day at Black Rock which was based on the short story Bad Time at Honda by Howard Breslin. After receiving a phone call from a fellow Marine, Spooky packs up what little belongings that he owns and travels to border town of New Lago. To his surprise, nobody in the town has ever heard of his friend and he is not wanted there. He soon learns that the small town is owned and controlled by John Rhodes (played by Gary Cole). Spooky is arrested, but quickly escapes to lead a one man war against Rhodes and his crooked sheriff office.

Conspiracy is another action movie that I have never heard of before. The premise is interesting and Val Kilmer and Gary Cole do their best, but there are numerous plot holes. The Marine jargon is incorrect and the supporting cast is horrible. New Lago looks like it came out of the 1800s. The town looked more like a tourist attraction than a realistic small town. I don't care much for Val Kilmer, but he does a decent job with what little he had to work with. Gary Cole is the best part of the film as the corrupted villain. In the end, I did find Conspiracy to be somewhat entertaining with a few decent action scenes.

Attack Force, Into the Sun, and Conspiracy are all in 1.85:1 aspect ratio with English 2.0 audio. The Russian Specialist is in 1.78:1 aspect ratio with English 2.0 audio.

My expectations were low for these for action movies that I have never heard of before. Considering there are two movies per disc, all the films have a good picture quality to them. These movies are never going to win any awards. That is probably why they were released direct-to-DVD. Attack Force is a complete waste of time to watch. Conspiracy has its share of plot holes, but it held my interest thanks to Gary Cole. Into the Sun and The Russian Specialist are both worth watching. Overall, this 4 Movie Collection isn't even close to being perfect, but it does have two decent action movies in it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Attack Force/Into the Sun/The Russian Specialist/Consoiracy-4-pack, February 24, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Attack Force/Into the Sun/The Russian Specialist/Conspiracy - 4-Pack (DVD)
I was a little disappointed as I was hoping for 4 movies with Steven Seagal, but at least there were 2 of them. Steven Seagal's movies are not always crowd pleaser but he does know martial arts, I only wish he would talk a little louder. Attack Force and Into the Sun I have never seen before buying this DVD but they were both very good. The Russian Specialist with Dolph Lundgren was a surprise. It was also very good. Dolph Lundgren in my personal opinion is not really a good actor and to be the lead in a movie is a surprise. The last movie in this 4-pack Conspiracy is worth watching but I can not remember who the lead actor was. This dvd was well worth the price and will be watched more than once.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not one of his best movies (Steven Segal), May 9, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Attack Force/Into the Sun/The Russian Specialist/Conspiracy - 4-Pack (DVD)
It was a very dark movie, they dub his voice and it wasn't a good movie. I only watched the Attack Force and didn't like it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A pleasantly surprising 4 movie collection that had four movies I actually enjoyed viewing., April 8, 2014
This review is from: Attack Force/Into the Sun/The Russian Specialist/Conspiracy - 4-Pack (DVD)
As we all know, the vast majority of movie collections sold as a unit are not always very good. However, I have to admit to being pleasantly surprised after I bought this collection at a bargain price. I like Steven Segal as an authentic Aikido martial artist, but as an actor he needs to stop mumbling his lines. I can barely hear what the hell he is saying in the two movies (Attack Force and Into the Sun). I thought Attack Force was okay but I did like Into the Sun much better. The other two movies were also good. Surprisingly, The Russian Specialist with Dolph Lundgren had some great action scenes and a very familiar story about thugs killing his wife and son, and now he seeks revenge. The Conspiracy with Val Kilmer was slow moving but the ending scenes had lots of action. This particular story obviously must have been inspired by the old classic movie with Spencer Tracey, Bad Day at Black Rock. If you see both of these movies you will see the same basic theme.

If you like good action movies you might want to pick up a copy of this DVD. You can pick it up I am sure for a very reasonable price.

Rating: 4 Stars. Joseph J. Truncale (Author: Predator Hunter: A warrior's memoir)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars 4 movies--some better than others. 1 really pretty bad. Another a close second., February 13, 2014
This review is from: Attack Force/Into the Sun/The Russian Specialist/Conspiracy - 4-Pack (DVD)
Attack Force--really bad. 2 stars is generous. I couldn't watch the whole movie. Into The Sun--I , actually, kinda liked it. 3 1/2 stars. The Russian Specialist was OK--3 stars, but that's generous. Conspiracy is pretty tragic--2 1/2 stars is generous. Collectively, not to be recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A great actor. In most movies he exhibits values and respect, and hard work. I like that., August 6, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Attack Force/Into the Sun/The Russian Specialist/Conspiracy - 4-Pack (DVD)
Showingm that you are responsible for your actions shold be displayed more often, especially now in this day and time. The present generation walk around thinking they can do what they want, antime, to anyone but you will receive what you give out. What goes around, comes sround, whether good or bad.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0x9918742c)

This product

Attack Force/Into the Sun/The Russian Specialist/Conspiracy - 4-Pack
$9.98 $7.07
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.