Customer Reviews


44 Reviews
5 star:
 (36)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


43 of 43 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must have for everyone into farming, gardening, nature!
This is a most wonderful book. Great photography, great illustrations, great graphic design, and great info! For many folks, its easy to love butterflies coming to flowers, but too often all the wonderful bees and flies and other pollinators which are so crucial to pollination get ignored or feared. This book will change their minds as it opens up the wonderful world of...
Published on February 18, 2011 by Elizabeth E. Betros

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars This did not have the information I was looking for ...
This did not have the information I was looking for: how to attract native pollinators. It is more of a visual guide to native pollinators but very light on the how-to.
Published 1 month ago by Eric Gauthier


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

43 of 43 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must have for everyone into farming, gardening, nature!, February 18, 2011
This review is from: Attracting Native Pollinators: The Xerces Society Guide, Protecting North America's Bees and Butterflies (Paperback)
This is a most wonderful book. Great photography, great illustrations, great graphic design, and great info! For many folks, its easy to love butterflies coming to flowers, but too often all the wonderful bees and flies and other pollinators which are so crucial to pollination get ignored or feared. This book will change their minds as it opens up the wonderful world of native bees and other pollinators to them. Whether your garden consists of a flower pot on the apartment porch or many acres, you will enjoy and learn from this book on how to make and keep our world a better place for us and the bugs!Attracting Native Pollinators: The Xerces Society Guide to Conserving North American Bees and Butterflies and Their Habitat
[...]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing book!, July 4, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Attracting Native Pollinators: The Xerces Society Guide, Protecting North America's Bees and Butterflies (Paperback)
This book is really amazing! It talks about different pollinators, why they're important, what their threats are, and how we can help. The last section is all about the different plants you can plant to attract different kinds of pollinators, and which ones are appropriate for different areas.
There are also great pictures of bees in this book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 26 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Stunning photos, great ID guide and habitat creation info, December 25, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Attracting Native Pollinators: The Xerces Society Guide, Protecting North America's Bees and Butterflies (Paperback)
Attracting Native Pollinators has a lot going for it. The book is the first I've seen that provides an easy field guide type section for the main groups of native pollinators. In addition, there's a similar section for the best flowers to plant for pollinator habitat. Finally, there's plenty of in depth information about creating the best habitat for pollinators, whether that's patches of flowers for summer food, easy to build nest boxes, or overwintering sites.

I docked one star because I got a bit bogged down in the early sections. I could tell the book was written by a committee, which meant that they stifled the enthusiasm they clearly felt about the subject to make the text more formal. In addition, the authors chose to turn the book into a textbook rather than an enthusiastic DIY guide, filling pages with encylopedia-like definitions of vocabulary that wasn't really necessary for the layman to know.

However, the photos are so stunning that they carried me through even the boring bits. In fact, I'd recommend buying the book for the photos alone --- garden porn!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Must-read!, August 3, 2011
This review is from: Attracting Native Pollinators: The Xerces Society Guide, Protecting North America's Bees and Butterflies (Paperback)
This Xerces Society Guide is long overdue in my opinion! The book contains sound information on pollinator conservation, gardening, and community action. As if that weren't enough, it has garden design templates and tips, AND is the first book with native bee identification material that's actually accessible to all knowledge levels! Combine all this with beautiful photos and it's a must-have for your library! Visit my blog to read an interview with one of the authors, watch a video review of the book, and to learn more about the fascinating world of pollinators!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pollinators!, April 21, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Attracting Native Pollinators: The Xerces Society Guide, Protecting North America's Bees and Butterflies (Paperback)
This is a fabulous book that describes the importance of pollinating insects and how they impact our environment. The book is well-written and easily understandable. It contains a lot of pictures. The book looks at bees, butterflys, moths and beetles, but special emphasis is on bees, for good reason. Detailed information is presented regarding "Bees of North America" as well as how to develop a pollinator friendly habitat. All gardeners need to understand how pollinators fit in to the work that they do whether it be in the flower garden or vegetable garden (or both!) This is a very good reference book. Since reading this book, I have built a bumble bee house and have placed it near my garden. It is early spring, so no activity yet, but I am hopeful that it will attract a queen bee's attention.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Attracting Native pollinators, August 6, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Attracting Native Pollinators: The Xerces Society Guide, Protecting North America's Bees and Butterflies (Paperback)
Read it cover to cover in 1.5 days. Ours is a National Wildlife Federation Backyard Wildlife Habitat #18291 and Monarch Butterfly Waystation #660. After reading about the benefits of Alternate Leaf Dogwood, I ordered from Ebay and propagated at least four that I will scatter between Florida dogwoods and spice bush.More and more butterflies because we have more larval food plants.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great resource and eye-opener!, March 1, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Attracting Native Pollinators: The Xerces Society Guide, Protecting North America's Bees and Butterflies (Paperback)
First, the book arrived on time and in good (new) condition.

I am a civil engineer and also enjoy gardening. I actually bought this book for my teenage daughter who is doing her high school senior thesis paper on Colony Collapse Disorder (CCD).

This books does give some good information on CCD, though it is not the main topic, nor the only focus, of this book.

The book covers the value of various pollinators, as well as listing and describing the various pollinators such as (but not limited to): bees, wasps, flies, beetles, butterflies, moths, etc. (It does not include hummmingbirds or other vertebrae creatures, only non-marine invertebraes).

Just from perusing the text, it is very informative, in-depth, well-cited, broad in coverage, and has plenty of beautiful, full-color photos, some showing 'almost-microscopic' beauty of pollinators.

Whether you are a DIY'er (like me), or an educator, a researcher, farmer, advocate, government official, agriculturalist, you will find great value in this book.

As for me, I plan on using to help me properly prepare my yard for gardening, flowers, and to make it a great habitat for bees, butterflies, and other pollinators. For my daughter, she will be using it to do her research project on honey bees and CCD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Xerces Society Guide Attracting Native Pollinators, June 24, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Attracting Native Pollinators: The Xerces Society Guide, Protecting North America's Bees and Butterflies (Paperback)
The Xerces Society is a must for those of us who are concerned about our vanishing bees and other pollinators. The society and the pollinators both need our support. Join the society and begin purchasing their timely and informative publications. We need to care about what's happening to our invertebrates, especially those who pollinate our fruits and vegetables. When they're gone, so is our food supply!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars loved it. another way to go green, August 11, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
i love this book. i am just an ordinary person who saw the title and since i am an avid gardener i decided to get it. i have since learned so much and i am happy that i have chosen the plants i did and know what to choose in the future. great for the earth and great for my garden. the book is beautiful and informative. i'm not a "bug" person but since reading this i have greatly enjoyed watching the butterflies and the bees dance in my yard.i feel i have a greater understanding of their purpose and i am delighted i have done something for them to continue their jobs here and to provide nourishment. it's a win win situation. i even learned about night butterflies i didn't know existed,thought all of them were moths! amazing. another way to go green!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Attracting Native Pollinators: The Xerces Society Guide to Conserving North American Bees and Butterflies and Their Habitat, October 15, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Attracting Native Pollinators: The Xerces Society Guide, Protecting North America's Bees and Butterflies (Paperback)
I purchased this book to use as guide and information for planting a natural area close to my home. I found it to be very factual and helpful. I have shared it with other residents in my home area. I would recommend it to others.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Attracting Native Pollinators: The Xerces Society Guide, Protecting North America's Bees and Butterflies
$29.95 $20.36
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.