Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very reader friendly
This is an excellent book. It is an overview of electricity and electronics for the beginner. It seems to be written for tradesmen and technicians, but could be a suitable introduction for teens looking for an enjoyable hobby.

This book won't teach you how to build a circuit. It does explain the operation behind a lot of electrical components and devices...
Published on July 31, 2005 by James

versus
12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Many errata obscure an otherwise clear presentation
In Chapter 2 author Paul Rosenberg cautions to "go through these explanations as slowly as necessary to grasp them completely." But after pondering the equation: "1/5 + 1/10 + 1/30 + 10/30 = 1/3" (p. 70) for longer than I should have, I realized the frustration I was experiencing was not due to a lack of comprehension, but truly poor proofreading.

Going back I...
Published on April 8, 2007 by Bob Harris


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Many errata obscure an otherwise clear presentation, April 8, 2007
This review is from: Audel Basic Electronics (Paperback)
In Chapter 2 author Paul Rosenberg cautions to "go through these explanations as slowly as necessary to grasp them completely." But after pondering the equation: "1/5 + 1/10 + 1/30 + 10/30 = 1/3" (p. 70) for longer than I should have, I realized the frustration I was experiencing was not due to a lack of comprehension, but truly poor proofreading.

Going back I found 11 glaring errors in the first 80 pages, and no errata list at the publisher's website. It's a shame, because topics are organized clearly and diagrams are well-drawn.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Book makes several errors via poor proofing, November 7, 2009
This review is from: Audel Basic Electronics (Paperback)
The book is sound in principle, but from the start there are lots of errors in diagrams, formulas, and descriptions. They appear to be the result of poor proofing. EG. A diagram should have the Voltages provided, but they are not, A value should read 117*I (where I is current) but instead reads 1171, a problem worked through specifies how to arrive at Power, but writes "Volts" after the value instead of watts.

It had the potential to be a great book, but the time I've spent trying to figure out the mistakes make it a trash can candidate after 3 chapters. I'll have to look for a different book on the same subject.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very reader friendly, July 31, 2005
By 
This review is from: Audel Basic Electronics (Paperback)
This is an excellent book. It is an overview of electricity and electronics for the beginner. It seems to be written for tradesmen and technicians, but could be a suitable introduction for teens looking for an enjoyable hobby.

This book won't teach you how to build a circuit. It does explain the operation behind a lot of electrical components and devices. It's a very broad, high level (or "bird's eye") survey of the very wide discipline of electronics.

This book doesn't bog you down in mathematics, and assumes only basic skills like addition, subtraction, multiplication and division. It gives instruction in the use of Ohm's Law and how to make calculations involving voltage, current and power.

If you need to start from the very beginning, and I mean from scratch, this book will provide a very readable and enjoyable introduction to electronics. From here, you can go on to buy electronics kits from Tandy or wherever, construct some circuits, learn to solder, and read more about electronics to further your education.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars High marks on content, low score on editing, August 7, 2012
This review is from: Audel Basic Electronics (Paperback)
Intuitive and practical, this is a pretty decent introduction to electronics. It covers the most pertinent subjects, but fails to follow through with proper editing. Some references are made in error. Page 84, for instance, references drawing 42 where 41 should have been referenced. In any case, the content is good and should be considered on its merits: practicality and intuitive examples.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars It May Not Be the Author's Fault!, July 10, 2014
This review is from: Audel Basic Electronics (Paperback)
I read the reviews, some complaints, about this book and I find some of my personal experience may shed light on some complaints. My college mentor in grad school received a telephone call from one former student who relayed information that the current textbook he was teaching from had a great deal of incorrect information, particularly where graphics and photographs were used to support textual writing. After an investigation with the publisher, it was found that the graphic arts department had updated photos without the author's permission. As I look at some of the complaints in these reviews, I think that a similar kind of circumstance may have resulted with this 'how to' book because most complaints are related to graphics used to support textual writing.
I have not seen a sheet to of errata to help the reader and I found no way to contact the publisher to register a person to person complaint. It appears that the book is no longer being published and that appears to mean to me that the publisher has turned its back on the consumer instead of making the situation right. I have found so many technical self help books (computer related mostly) where the writing is so poor and it is obvious the author has no idea what makes a proper and responsible textbook, and the publisher doesn't know a good author from a poor one.
In defense of Paul Rosenberg, I find his writing admirable, direct, and developing of the subject at hand. The fault seems to rest with the application of graphics after the textual writing was concluded.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Author: Paul Rosenberg, April 8, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Audel Basic Electronics (Paperback)
If your into tinkering or operating professionally these are the books for you. If it says AUDEL, just buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good book, January 2, 2014
This review is from: Audel Basic Electronics (Paperback)
Just got it for Christmas, so I have not read it yet. But I have skimmed and will be reading soon. Looking forward to it. The book appears to a do a good job detailing how physical conditions "enter" and "exit" an electrical system.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars basic electron theory, December 26, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This is a good basic book on electronics for the first time student or review for people with a good background in electronics. I have used other Audel books in the past and have found them all to be very good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars If you like electronics, BUY THIS BOOK, June 16, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Audel Basic Electronics (Paperback)
This book is really amazing. It crams tons of information about electronics into a small package. If you like electronics, please do us all a favor and buy this book.

keep in mind this book is not for the faint of heart. It isn't an "easy reading" book. That said, I would like to point out that if you are interested in electronics, it will be interesting to you. although, if you detest science and hate chemistry with a passion, this book is probably not for you.

I'm an electronics geek and I love this book.
If you are, you'll think the same.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars I recommend for anyone interested on, August 13, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Audel Basic Electronics (Paperback)
Simplifies matters electronics. I recommend for anyone interested on electronics
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Audel Basic Electronics
Audel Basic Electronics by Paul Rosenberg (Paperback - May 13, 2005)
$26.99 $19.36
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.