Automotive Deals HPCC Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Look Park Fire TV Stick Sun Care Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer showtimemulti showtimemulti showtimemulti  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Segway miniPro

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
12
5 star
58%
4 star
42%
3 star
0%
2 star
0%
1 star
0%
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:$38.17+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on October 3, 2015
good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 14, 2015
Had to buy it for a class great reading then passed it on to the next person who needed it for class
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 16, 2015
great
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 1, 2014
this book offers a great insight into the origins of sounds and music and explores where it may be headed
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 23, 2014
I can't say enough about how much I've enjoyed this collection of essays. Even if you look through the table of contents and see pieces of work you may already have (Such as Luigi Russolo's "The Art of Noises") there are so many other pieces of writing from such varied artists as William S. Burroughs, Umberto Eco, Brian Eno, Morton Feldman you should find more than enough to make the purchase price a worthwhile investment. Best of all there's only ONE essay by Paul D. Miller and NONE from Markus Popp!

If you enjoy critical thinking about modern music, this is a must-have.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 25, 2014
Textbook for my son. Received in timely manner. Book in great shape. Not dog eared, no stray markings or any type of indications of inappropriate use or wear. Excellent!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 3, 2013
A book with many interesting articles that discuss how developements in technology and culture in the 20th century has altered the path of music aethestics.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 26, 2012
Bought it for a college course, opened it once or twice then sold it back to the school bookstore for a profit, so I like the price.
11 comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 18, 2009
It is quite a challenge to write a review when just thinking about a book renders one speechless. The very first chapter (an excerpt from Jacques Attali) is more explosive that the opening sequence of a James Bond movie, with insights as penetrating as any I have read about quantum mechanics, astrophysics, economics, or philosophy. And that chapter was only two pages long!

Not all of the book spoke to me, because it covers an extremely wide range of topics, not all of which are of interest to me. But every single chapter that remotely connected with my interest in music, economics, culture, freedom, and sustainability spoke so clearly, so cogently, so powerfully, and so affirmingly YES! that I give the whole work five stars.

I was a reader (and lover) of The Rest is Noise by Alex Ross, and what he did in the way of explaining the evolution of modern musical composition, this book does for modern musical production, as well as the recontextualization of modern music *experience*. Indeed, I will say that this book really does pick up, and deliver, about where Ross's book exhausts itself. And it does so entirely with the words of the great producers, performers, and philosophers of this modern era.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 15, 2007
My son is into "Modern Music" and said this was good, so I got it for him for Christmas.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse