Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Will Make you Think Twice about Being an Auditor
This text clearly reflects the difference between accounting and auditing.For those who love accounting as I do, you may find the material quite challenging especially in terms of keeping one's focus. The subject matter is dry and repetitive. The key information boxes are all the same which makes locating specific information difficult. However, from an auditing...
Published on March 31, 2012 by kenneyklan@aol.com

versus
6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not that great...
I had to get this book for one of my classes.

The writing is horrible... extremely wordy and hard to read- the author must be big-time Shakespeare fan, because the sentence structure seemed to come from the middle-age.

The book contradicted itself on more than one occasion...
Published on January 19, 2012 by Alexander M. Martinez


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Will Make you Think Twice about Being an Auditor, March 31, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Auditing and Assurance Services (14th Edition) (Hardcover)
This text clearly reflects the difference between accounting and auditing.For those who love accounting as I do, you may find the material quite challenging especially in terms of keeping one's focus. The subject matter is dry and repetitive. The key information boxes are all the same which makes locating specific information difficult. However, from an auditing perspective the information is excellent.The material builds on itself and gives a comprehensive presentation of the entire auditing cycle. The instructor I had did not use the CD which would have made the course much more interesting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not that great..., January 19, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Auditing and Assurance Services (14th Edition) (Hardcover)
I had to get this book for one of my classes.

The writing is horrible... extremely wordy and hard to read- the author must be big-time Shakespeare fan, because the sentence structure seemed to come from the middle-age.

The book contradicted itself on more than one occasion...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Even the professor doesn't understand the materials in this textbook, August 2, 2013
This review is from: Auditing and Assurance Services (14th Edition) (Hardcover)
Some chapters are easy to follow along but others can be confusing. The biggest complaint I have with this textbook is the chapter questions. It is very unorganized. The questions are sorted by objectives through the chapters and its a mixture of MC/discussion/explanation/etc. Most of the questions are so confusing or irrelevant that not even the professor can explain the answer. And the professor is a Ph.d, MBA, CPA/CFF, CIA, CFE, CICA. The professor can only provide the answer by looking at the solution manual and that's it. Exam question for the text is even more ridiculous. There are tons of questions that can be very tricky. Is it necessary? Only use this book if its required by the school/course. I'm sure most of us are only using this text because its required. Otherwise other cheaper books would be better for understanding and application.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Bought for a class, June 22, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Auditing and Assurance Services (14th Edition) (Hardcover)
It teaches the basics of auditing and has review questions and terminology at the end of each chapter. A good resource book for accountants.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Overall Viewpoint, June 4, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Auditing and Assurance Services (14th Edition) (Hardcover)
It's a book about the introduction of concepts, formulas etc.that are used in auditing. It's about the role of the agencies, auditor, company, skepticism, financial statements, formulas, objectives, transaction analysis and other forms of analysis. This is a foundation book that I will keep. I'm glad I bought it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars No Glossary, April 18, 2013
In our opinion, because of the lack of a glossary (non-existent) and a sparse index (totally not helpful), the book reviews or descriptions in reference above do not present fairly, in conformity with any basic reasonable format textbook generally accepted in all of academia. In short, get a glossary in this book and make sure the index is functional... it appears like the author/publisher got towards the end and didn't feel like finishing. Have fun reading through unnecessary jargon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Worst Textbook Ever, May 12, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
As a student graduating with a degree in accounting this year I have had many accounting textbooks. This textbook is by far the absolute WORST book I have ever had. For starters, in the homework the author expects you to draw conclusions from premises never even stated in the text. There are no clear explanations about the basic ideas and principles of the material. I absolutely HATE this book and advised our department to adopt a different book next semester.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Textbook review, August 16, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Auditing and Assurance Services (14th Edition) (Hardcover)
The book was in great condition! It also had the CD that I needed! It would be nice if in the description, it did say that it had the CD because I was worried that I wouldn't get the CD and I need the CD for my class. Great experience overall!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars The worst textbook ever published by Pearson, May 2, 2013
By 
kim risse (Riverdale, MD) - See all my reviews
I purchased this book from the school bookstore. It does not have chapter numbers, the binding is on the wrong side, so page numbers are on the binding making it hard to read. The most frustrating thing is that the index does not correspond to page numbers making it useless as a study guide. DO NOT PURCHASE THIS BOOK!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great teaching book, April 20, 2014
This review is from: Auditing and Assurance Services (14th Edition) (Hardcover)
I loved this book more than any other college text book I can remember. The writing is very clear, making a difficult subject understandable. The figures provided wonderful summary information, and the charts also helped to make things simpler. I read that some people thought the book repetitive. Well, I think I understand what they meant, but how else were they supposed to get the information across? This book will really teach you auditing, whether you like it or not.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Auditing and Assurance Services (14th Edition)
Auditing and Assurance Services (14th Edition) by Alvin A. Arens (Hardcover - March 27, 2011)
Used & New from: $14.47
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.