Customer Reviews


140 Reviews
5 star:
 (108)
4 star:
 (23)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


28 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A conprehensive field guide to the trees of the E. U.S.
This field guide is an excellent field to the trees typically found east of the continental divide of the United States. This guide includes photos and descriptions of 315 species of trees, excluding about 100 trees of south Florida and a small number of imported varieties. The front 1/2 of the book includes 630 photos of leaves and bark, flowers, cones and fruit, and...
Published on January 10, 1997

versus
182 of 211 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars There is a better book
If you live north of a line from Virginia to Northern California get Trees of Northern United States and Canada by John Farrar: a) Superior Bark Photographs - bark at different ages when necessary, full trunk shown b) Line drawings leaf, bud and flower (supplemented with color photos when necessary). c) Key guides for both summer and winter identification. d)...
Published on January 23, 2000 by Ted Bonner


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

28 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A conprehensive field guide to the trees of the E. U.S., January 10, 1997
By A Customer
This review is from: Audubon Society Field Guide to North American Trees: Eastern Region (Imitation Leather)
This field guide is an excellent field to the trees typically found east of the continental divide of the United States. This guide includes photos and descriptions of 315 species of trees, excluding about 100 trees of south Florida and a small number of imported varieties. The front 1/2 of the book includes 630 photos of leaves and bark, flowers, cones and fruit, and autumn leaves. The second 1/2 contains detailed descriptions of the 315 species presented in the front portion of the book. A detailed index including both common and scientific names is found in the rear of the book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


182 of 211 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars There is a better book, January 23, 2000
By 
Ted Bonner (Greenfield NH) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Audubon Society Field Guide to North American Trees: Eastern Region (Imitation Leather)
If you live north of a line from Virginia to Northern California get Trees of Northern United States and Canada by John Farrar: a) Superior Bark Photographs - bark at different ages when necessary, full trunk shown b) Line drawings leaf, bud and flower (supplemented with color photos when necessary). c) Key guides for both summer and winter identification. d) Everything on one page. This book is the result of over 40 years by the Canadian Forest Service.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


32 of 34 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars National Audubon Society Field Guide to North American Trees, May 18, 2002
By 
B C Evans (Central OHIO, USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Audubon Society Field Guide to North American Trees: Eastern Region (Imitation Leather)
This is a excellant ID manual for the trees in the eastern USA and Canada. I feel that the way the manual is layed out is a big plus. The photos are very good. This is a book for all levels of the studing of these beautiful kings of the earth.
The only area that can be improved (in my opinion) is the IDing of trees in the winter stage or off season.
Overall, this book/manual is very portable and is easy to transport, fitting well in a backpack.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


48 of 54 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A good secondary reference, March 16, 2002
By 
Jamie R. Storey (Pittsburgh, PA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Audubon Society Field Guide to North American Trees: Eastern Region (Imitation Leather)
This book relies heavily on color photos of bark, leaves, flowers, and fruiting bodies. This method makes winter identification diificult, and even when in leaf subtleties which differentiate species may not be evident. I use the Peterson guide to trees and shrubs (ISBN 039535370X) as my primary resource, and use the Audubon book as a secondary source.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


106 of 127 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Pretty, but mostly useless, November 3, 1999
By 
jerry smith (pell city, al USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Audubon Society Field Guide to North American Trees: Eastern Region (Imitation Leather)
If you are serious about identifying trees, this book won't help much. A lot of the most common trees are omitted, particularly in the oak family. The thrust of this book seems more toward the odder varieties. I wish I had my money back.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great reference!, July 6, 2002
By 
R. Graslie (St Louis, MO USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Audubon Society Field Guide to North American Trees: Eastern Region (Imitation Leather)
We just purhased some new land with an abundance of trees. While I don't consider myself to be a tree expert, there where quite a few that stumped my husband and I. This is where this great little book came in handy. It lets you identify trees based on either flower, leaf, bark, etc and has them sorted into appropriate sections with colored photos. Needless to say, we have used this book time and time again. It is a nice size too so that you can take it with you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I love this guide!, February 4, 2000
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Audubon Society Field Guide to North American Trees: Eastern Region (Imitation Leather)
There may be better books out there (according to other reviews contained herein), but, for the novice, I don't think you'll find an easier to use guide. I have two other Audubon guides as well and plan on adding more to my collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book, July 20, 2006
By 
D. Kelly (Northeast, MS USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Audubon Society Field Guide to North American Trees: Eastern Region (Imitation Leather)
We took this book on a camping trip last weekend in North Mississippi and were able to identify every tree that we attempted to. This is a VERY GOOD field guide.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Getting to know your friends, November 4, 2006
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Audubon Society Field Guide to North American Trees: Eastern Region (Imitation Leather)
Trees thrive all around us; but how much do we know about them? If you want to learn about your best friends and neighbors in a hurry, Elbert Little's field guide is a good way. I lived with a Black Walnut for 23 years before realizing my tall friend is the scarcest and most coveted of native hardwoods and was especially terrific for gunstocks. And I didn't know my two neighborly Common Persimmons were having a lovely relationship with one another (they must in order to produce the fruit), nor that their name was derived from the Algonquin.

If you'd like to identify a stranger, Little's organization by thumb tabs based on leaf shape makes it easy to find the section where your tree is pictured with its leaves and bark in a full color photo. He also provides separate sections showing us flowers and fruit. You'll be charmed by an especially brilliant section showing red, orange, brown and gold autumn leaves.

Who but a dendrologist, or tree identification specialist, would know so well how to share all this knowledge of trees? And Elbert Little is not just any dendrologist, mind you, but the former Chief Dendrologist of the U.S. Forest Service.

What is a tree, really? According to Little, it's a "woody plant with an erect perennial trunk at least 3 inches in diameter at breast height, and definitely formed crown of foliage, and a height of at least 13 feet." That's good to know.

If you love words (as I do), you're lucky to get a glossary with "lanceolate," "nutlet," "pith," "sepal," "stamen," and "whorled" fully explained. Besides a wealth of full color photos, the guide includes 400 pages of prose narratives and black and white diagrams describing the 315 native trees of the eastern two thirds of the continent arranged by family, as well as the common naturalized or introduced trees you'd be likely to run into in parks or cities.

Here's a recommendation for you: walk in the woods for love of trees.

"If a man walks in the woods for love of them half of each day," Thoreau tells us, "he is in danger of being regarded as a loafer. But if he spends his days as a speculator, shearing off those woods and making the earth bald before her time, he is deemed an industrious and enterprising citizen."

The danger of being regarded as a loafer is worth risking. Let this book be your companion. For all that's inside, it's amazingly small: 7.5" x 4" by 1" deep, with a soft laminated cover--perfect to fit in a jacket or backpack pocket.

It's also great for lying on the ground and placing as a pillow under your head. To look up at the trees.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great for the Boy Scouts, August 5, 2006
This review is from: Audubon Society Field Guide to North American Trees: Eastern Region (Imitation Leather)
This field guide is just what the doctor ordered for teaching young Boy Scouts about trees. The leaf and bark pictures are excellent, and the organization of the book is superb. Spend a few minutes going through the examples in the front as to how to most effectively use the guide. I was so impressed with this guide, that I went back and ordered another guide in the series that the Boy Scouts will find helpful - the guide to the night sky and constellations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Audubon Society Field Guide to North American Trees:  Eastern Region
Audubon Society Field Guide to North American Trees: Eastern Region by NATIONAL AUDUBON SOCIETY (Imitation Leather - May 12, 1980)
$21.95 $15.09
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.