Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: August
Automotive Deals HPCC Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer angrybirds angrybirds angrybirds  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Segway miniPro STEM

Format: DVD|Change
Price:$13.30+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

This film is a cut above most independent, gay-themed movies. The acting is solid. The story is compelling. My only criticism is the non-linear storytelling format the director chose. My lingering question was why did they cut their hair? A vague reference to having worn their hair that way in the past was not enough of an explanation for me. The three main actors are each gorgeous. Murray Bartlett (Troy) provided the most nuanced performance of the three, and he is the most experienced actor of the trio. Bartlett's take on Troy was so good that even though the character is a despicable human being, you can't help but hope Troy will learn his lessons and evolve.
11 comment| 24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 1, 2012
A beautifully realized film-- a guy's life is thrown into disarray when his ex comes back to town, and they find the spark between them isn't exactly dead. What sounds like a simple story has surprising raw emotional power, helped in no small part by a couple of fantastic lead performances. AUGUST is the rare film to really look deeply at its gay characters, their choices, their aspirations. If you liked Andrew Haigh's WEEKEND, check this one out-- it's real gem.
11 comment| 40 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 25, 2012
A sensitive film about love, trust and regret in relationships. The actors come across as realistic and in the moment of their emotions. This isn't a gay film about relationships- this is a film about relationships and all that comes with it. The shooting of the film is beautiful without pretense. The actors are very easy on the eyes and every one needs a Nina in their lives. Hilliary Banks is fantastic.
0Comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 17, 2012
"August" is actually based on, as far as I know, a short film (Postmortem), by the same film director Eldar Rapaport. I have often wished that certain short films would indeed go on to develop characters and take the story to a place that is often-- in the short film context-- only intimated, suggested or simply left to the imagination of the viewer. Interestingly, Postmortem (the short), lends itself to a fuller treatment and I think for the most part, it works well. Here in "August" we get the characters fleshed-out in all their full "lack of character" beauty. These guys not only have feet of clay, but hearts and brains of putty. It is such a cliche. Good-looking guy, who can have anyone he wants is beginning to age and reflects on a life of no commitment. He lands on the one person who really loved him and whom he 5 years ago turned-away. Back in LA from Spain, he shows up, out of the blue to rekindle the flame, even though the man of his intent is in another relationship that is really complicated by his status in this country as a legal alien. This part of the story is very rich and involves other interesting characters all intertwined beautifully by honest, real emotions, concerns and dreams. I loved how the film ends. It was real, not phony and packs a real punch for all those folks out there, who just don't take relationships seriously or when they finally do, it's too late. What really matters is a person's character and commitment. There is little else to sustain one, once the exterior beauty and charm fade.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 15, 2015
Great movie and storyline. Acting is decent, even great by some of the actors. The story revolves around Troy who comes back to LA after living in Spain. He's hoping to rekindle a romance he had with his ex Jonathan. However, his goal turns out to be more difficult as Jonathan has moved on and is now in a relationship with an handsome Hispanic hunk named Raul.

The movie is well executed, and is well worth a watch.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 29, 2012
(( BACKGROUND FOR VIEWERS: This Feature Length film is a reworking of Director Eldar Rapaport's 2005, well received Short, "Postmortem" ))

"August"....whatever is meant by that, you might ask? Well, rather than looking at the title as being merely a play on words, let's just assume what's meant is the "simmering"..."sweat-drenched"..."torridness"...of that particular time in the yearly weather cycle. In fact, this is what becomes visually and audibly obvious to us, as our actors/characters experience sometimes uncomfortably high temperatures---a condition reinforced by repeated soundtrack use of Los Angeles area weathercasts. So, indeed, this film does have "Heat"! ....But, it's not just that sort of "Hotness" which involves us...because "Lovemaking Action" makes up a significant part of what's being shown in this film.

Still and all, IF a film director is going to expand an earlier released 16 minute Short into a 100 minute, Feature Length work....and essentially retain the same storyline and same 2 lead characters (tho now 6 years older)....there has GOT to be more provided than "Heat"....more than "Hotness". Admittedly, a much lessor role in the short film's "triangle of 3 guys" has notably (and most SIZZLINGLY) been expanded in this 2011 production. For now we see the character of "Raul" being torridly played by relative newcomer, Adrian Gonzalez (giving us something not weather-related which definitely IS HOT). Oh, and we also have added a female role in the form of B(Girl)FF (and Green Card facilitator) "Nina", played by Hillary Banks.

Now, allow this Reviewer to give just a few closing thoughts involving the "old and new" productions, as coming from someone who's lived with the former for years...and with the latter for a couple of viewings:

- In the Short's early scene...involving former lovers meeting once again at an outdoor coffee house...there was an intimacy, a "Heat" between the 2, which burned off the screen and into the viewer. That is pretty much missing in today's re-tread scene and, for me, is due to one actor in particular.

- Adding several extraneous scenery and street-related shots may add minutes to a feature's length....but it does not necessarily add interest.

- I was sometimes left wondering which way writing and direction were heading with the sex shots. There is an anal sex scene, with virtually a full length, nude shot of the 2 going at it. Yet, at another point we're given an after-sex scene---our leads still together in bed---BUT wearing underwear (even tho the camera is, obviously, avoiding any "crotch shots"). Are we advertising boxer briefs? Is this American network TV filming? Does our director expect this is ever to be shown as a K-Thru-12 (grade school thru high school) afternoon school special?

- What I would consider a production glitch involves occasional sound problems, with music and background conversations drowning out conversation between lead characters (this is even with earphone listening). There is no captioning provided...at least in my Region 2 DVD.

FINALLY -- Perhaps the best thing I can draw from this comparison of Short vs. Feature Length film, is that the feature definitely gives us a FINAL Ending...one which cannot be misconstrued or that is left up in the air. And even better than that....everyone gets what they deserve.

PS -- Writer/Director Rapaport strikes me as being particularly capable of developing intense and interesting storylines; he should stick to doing that...in all-new works. (I do acknowledge it is not easy for anyone to expand a short story into an acclaimed full-length novel...let alone achieve fully successful refilming.)

PPS -- If you would like to join in the fun of 2 guys who scorchingly C-O-N-N-E-C-T....grab a look at "3" (I've done a review)
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 17, 2015
Murray Bartlett brings a certain angst to his character that is poignant. His character's struggle to to grow up, discover who he is as an individual, and realizing you can't recapture the past is the central theme to the film. Yes, these elements have been told in many gay themed films but it is Murray Bartlett's acting that gives this story its interest. The other actors in the film are as good in showing their character's development, but the story centers around Murray Bartlett's character, so that has been my primary focus in this review. I recommend this film.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 21, 2014
thought there were some interesting moments, worried me to hear the third lead going in and out of his Spanish accent. i think also the head shaving seemed a little extreme, as the promos seem like from a war movie. It's LA and it's hot, get it? I liked the second lead Daniel Dugan who i'm guessing is the son of actor Dennis Dugan who married Cybill Shepherd on an episode of Moonlighting. Would watch it again, esp with Murray Bartlett as the oft naked lead, who was so good with SJP in SATC as a shoe salesman. Remember that scene at Pastis?
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 4, 2014
This modern film about gay life in L.A. shows a man returning to a relationship he may have left behind by mistake. The problem is that his former boyfriend is in a new relationship. Both have unfinished business to take care of, but at the expense of destroying another relationship. The way the filmmaker explores this story and the feelings of the actors as they go through their process is really interesting. A lot of the film shows the characters thinking, contemplating, observing. There is a lot of gold in what is not said. This is a small film about a few people, but it is visually fascinating and the story is somewhat told out of order, which helps to keep the viewer guessing at what will happen next. The acting is very good.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 30, 2014
Possible spoiler alert. Not much depth to characters but decent flick. Acting was pretty good. But its really hard to really empathize with a thirty year old who cheats and ruins a relationship with a great guy (who's smokin' hot) for a cold hearted creep who burned him BADLY (cruelly!) once before. Yes I know sometimes people choose the wrong person for the wrong reason. But to throw away a good relationship with a really nice, downright charming guy (did I mention he's smokin' friggin' hot?) for a person you know will mess you up AGAIN. Its like some gay-ex abusive lover Stockholm Syndrome. Gaaaaaaaaa!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

$13.01
$16.99
$14.48

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.