Customer Reviews


87 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (26)
3 star:
 (18)
2 star:
 (13)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A cut above
This film is a cut above most independent, gay-themed movies. The acting is solid. The story is compelling. My only criticism is the non-linear storytelling format the director chose. My lingering question was why did they cut their hair? A vague reference to having worn their hair that way in the past was not enough of an explanation for me. The three main actors are...
Published 21 months ago by Marketing Professor in Connecticut

versus
9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Sometimes a Re-Tread just doesn't take......
(( BACKGROUND FOR VIEWERS: This Feature Length film is a reworking of Director Eldar Rapaport's 2005, well received Short, "Postmortem" ))

"August"....whatever is meant by that, you might ask? Well, rather than looking at the title as being merely a play on words, let's just assume what's meant is the "simmering"..."sweat-drenched"..."torridness"...of that...
Published 24 months ago by JUST A REVIEWER2


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A cut above, November 10, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: August (Amazon Instant Video)
This film is a cut above most independent, gay-themed movies. The acting is solid. The story is compelling. My only criticism is the non-linear storytelling format the director chose. My lingering question was why did they cut their hair? A vague reference to having worn their hair that way in the past was not enough of an explanation for me. The three main actors are each gorgeous. Murray Bartlett (Troy) provided the most nuanced performance of the three, and he is the most experienced actor of the trio. Bartlett's take on Troy was so good that even though the character is a despicable human being, you can't help but hope Troy will learn his lessons and evolve.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


36 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A wonderful film, August 1, 2012
By 
This review is from: August (DVD)
A beautifully realized film-- a guy's life is thrown into disarray when his ex comes back to town, and they find the spark between them isn't exactly dead. What sounds like a simple story has surprising raw emotional power, helped in no small part by a couple of fantastic lead performances. AUGUST is the rare film to really look deeply at its gay characters, their choices, their aspirations. If you liked Andrew Haigh's WEEKEND, check this one out-- it's real gem.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WATCH IT!!!!!!!!, October 25, 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: August (DVD)
A sensitive film about love, trust and regret in relationships. The actors come across as realistic and in the moment of their emotions. This isn't a gay film about relationships- this is a film about relationships and all that comes with it. The shooting of the film is beautiful without pretense. The actors are very easy on the eyes and every one needs a Nina in their lives. Hilliary Banks is fantastic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A short becomes a feature..., October 17, 2012
By 
Craig Haynes (San Diego, CA United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: August (Amazon Instant Video)
"August" is actually based on, as far as I know, a short film (Postmortem), by the same film director Eldar Rapaport. I have often wished that certain short films would indeed go on to develop characters and take the story to a place that is often-- in the short film context-- only intimated, suggested or simply left to the imagination of the viewer. Interestingly, Postmortem (the short), lends itself to a fuller treatment and I think for the most part, it works well. Here in "August" we get the characters fleshed-out in all their full "lack of character" beauty. These guys not only have feet of clay, but hearts and brains of putty. It is such a cliche. Good-looking guy, who can have anyone he wants is beginning to age and reflects on a life of no commitment. He lands on the one person who really loved him and whom he 5 years ago turned-away. Back in LA from Spain, he shows up, out of the blue to rekindle the flame, even though the man of his intent is in another relationship that is really complicated by his status in this country as a legal alien. This part of the story is very rich and involves other interesting characters all intertwined beautifully by honest, real emotions, concerns and dreams. I loved how the film ends. It was real, not phony and packs a real punch for all those folks out there, who just don't take relationships seriously or when they finally do, it's too late. What really matters is a person's character and commitment. There is little else to sustain one, once the exterior beauty and charm fade.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Sometimes a Re-Tread just doesn't take......, August 29, 2012
This review is from: August (DVD)
(( BACKGROUND FOR VIEWERS: This Feature Length film is a reworking of Director Eldar Rapaport's 2005, well received Short, "Postmortem" ))

"August"....whatever is meant by that, you might ask? Well, rather than looking at the title as being merely a play on words, let's just assume what's meant is the "simmering"..."sweat-drenched"..."torridness"...of that particular time in the yearly weather cycle. In fact, this is what becomes visually and audibly obvious to us, as our actors/characters experience sometimes uncomfortably high temperatures---a condition reinforced by repeated soundtrack use of Los Angeles area weathercasts. So, indeed, this film does have "Heat"! ....But, it's not just that sort of "Hotness" which involves us...because "Lovemaking Action" makes up a significant part of what's being shown in this film.

Still and all, IF a film director is going to expand an earlier released 16 minute Short into a 100 minute, Feature Length work....and essentially retain the same storyline and same 2 lead characters (tho now 6 years older)....there has GOT to be more provided than "Heat"....more than "Hotness". Admittedly, a much lessor role in the short film's "triangle of 3 guys" has notably (and most SIZZLINGLY) been expanded in this 2011 production. For now we see the character of "Raul" being torridly played by relative newcomer, Adrian Gonzalez (giving us something not weather-related which definitely IS HOT). Oh, and we also have added a female role in the form of B(Girl)FF (and Green Card facilitator) "Nina", played by Hillary Banks.

Now, allow this Reviewer to give just a few closing thoughts involving the "old and new" productions, as coming from someone who's lived with the former for years...and with the latter for a couple of viewings:

- In the Short's early scene...involving former lovers meeting once again at an outdoor coffee house...there was an intimacy, a "Heat" between the 2, which burned off the screen and into the viewer. That is pretty much missing in today's re-tread scene and, for me, is due to one actor in particular.

- Adding several extraneous scenery and street-related shots may add minutes to a feature's length....but it does not necessarily add interest.

- I was sometimes left wondering which way writing and direction were heading with the sex shots. There is an anal sex scene, with virtually a full length, nude shot of the 2 going at it. Yet, at another point we're given an after-sex scene---our leads still together in bed---BUT wearing underwear (even tho the camera is, obviously, avoiding any "crotch shots"). Are we advertising boxer briefs? Is this American network TV filming? Does our director expect this is ever to be shown as a K-Thru-12 (grade school thru high school) afternoon school special?

- What I would consider a production glitch involves occasional sound problems, with music and background conversations drowning out conversation between lead characters (this is even with earphone listening). There is no captioning provided...at least in my Region 2 DVD.

FINALLY -- Perhaps the best thing I can draw from this comparison of Short vs. Feature Length film, is that the feature definitely gives us a FINAL Ending...one which cannot be misconstrued or that is left up in the air. And even better than that....everyone gets what they deserve.

PS -- Writer/Director Rapaport strikes me as being particularly capable of developing intense and interesting storylines; he should stick to doing that...in all-new works. (I do acknowledge it is not easy for anyone to expand a short story into an acclaimed full-length novel...let alone achieve fully successful refilming.)

PPS -- If you would like to join in the fun of 2 guys who scorchingly C-O-N-N-E-C-T....grab a look at "3" (I've done a review)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting expansion of a short film, weakened by a miscast key role, October 5, 2012
This review is from: August (DVD)
Jonathan, a shortish, homely-ish, 29-year-old, minimally employed nebbish in LA, has a tall, gorgeous (but shallow and manipulative), 40-ish ex-boyfriend, Troy - who dumped him five years earlier but for some reason has moved back from Barcelona just to get him back. BUT... Jonathan has an even MORE gorgeous (breathtakingly gorgeous) twentysomething current boyfriend, Raul - who is not only gorgeous but sweet, strong, sincere and totally devoted to him. Right away you say to yourself, this is just like real life, just like me and the two incredible hunks who can't get enough of me. What's a homely nebbish girl to do? That's the dilemma in this movie that I really wanted to hate but can't.

It's the actors' fault: they're very, very good - TOO good for this unbelievable story. Unfortunately, the weakest actor is the one playing Jonathan, who brings no sensuality or charisma or other hot quality to the role to compensate for his nebbishy homeliness and explain WHY the two hunks are so irresistibly attracted to him.

He was much more believable in Postmortem, the short this movie is based on (available on the compilation DVD Boys Briefs 3). Opposite the same actor as Troy (but a much less gorgeous actor as Raul, in an almost negligible role), he was sexy, and the attraction between him and Troy in Postmortem was palpable and totally believable; it's not in this movie (but Postmortem was set in sexy, dynamic NYC, not in sterile, boring LA, which may have a lot to do with it).

Self-defeating compulsion is the only motivation either Jonathan or Troy shows in this movie, which may be intentional. August is a lot grittier and more complex (and therefore more interesting) than Postmortem was, which is why I'm giving it three stars despite the lackluster performance by Daniel Dugan in the key role as Jonathan. He was great playing the same character in Postmortem, but he'd lost the fire or something when August was made; since that character is central in the story, August suffers for it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars meaningless feelings, October 19, 2012
By 
Doctor Whom "The Doctor" (Newton,, MA, United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: August (DVD)
The diagnosis of hysteria refers to free floating affects, to feelings disconnected from what they mean and so taken as seriously as if feelings were truth, or at least facts. I guess actors have learned how to appear sincere by tearing up; great technique, guys. This movie tries to treat such decorator affects as dignified and serious, but only shows how vapid they really are. "August" has a lot of heart and sincerity and attractive actors, but is important because of its naive, direct depiction of the emptiness papered over with superficiality that is gay love as movies often portray it.
The only character in the movie with any verbally expressible sense is Troy's straight brother Josh, who correctly diagnoses Troy as a shallow manipulator messing with other people's lives. The opening scene in which Troy is subjected to a job interview makes it very clear that Troy is a fraud. The question is, why does Jonathan love Troy to the extent of risking his relationship with sober and gorgeous Raoul? The made for TV answer is that Jonathan aspires to be like Troy, as Troy is some one who does "not give a s..t". Troy has nothing to offer Jonathan except his solid looks and manifest insincerity .
The clincher: (spoiler alert) Raoul proves his love for spineless Jonathan by making love to both Jonathan and Troy, revealing Troy as the cad he is, and driving Troy out of the country. Way to go, Raoul!!
A good movie to think about.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Gay love triangle presented with great style, May 4, 2014
By 
M. Jackson (Astoria, NY United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: August (Amazon Instant Video)
This modern film about gay life in L.A. shows a man returning to a relationship he may have left behind by mistake. The problem is that his former boyfriend is in a new relationship. Both have unfinished business to take care of, but at the expense of destroying another relationship. The way the filmmaker explores this story and the feelings of the actors as they go through their process is really interesting. A lot of the film shows the characters thinking, contemplating, observing. There is a lot of gold in what is not said. This is a small film about a few people, but it is visually fascinating and the story is somewhat told out of order, which helps to keep the viewer guessing at what will happen next. The acting is very good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Love Triangle Rehashed, February 7, 2014
By 
This review is from: August [HD] (Amazon Instant Video)
This is a remake of the proverbial love triangle, but with an attempt to be artsy. I found much of the camera work and scenery to be the saving's grace of the production.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Is August the time for a former lover and affair?, December 16, 2013
By 
James McDonald (Lancaster, California) - See all my reviews
This review is from: August (DVD)
August (2011). Not rated. Running Time: 1 hour, 38 mins.
Directed by Eldar Rapaport.
Previews must play through before option menu comes up.

Troy (Murray Bartlett) is coming back to Los Angeles from Spain. He is looking for a new job and a personal relationship. He calls his ex-boyfriend Jonathan (Daniel Dugan), whom he left to go to Spain. He leaves a message, but Raul (Adrian Gonzalez) picks up and answers. Raul is Jonathan's new boyfriend.
Troy has lunch with Jonathan and finds out he has changed. John no longer smokes and now lives in Silver Lake. Troy is staying in Venice at Josh's home while he is away. When Raul arrives, he asks John to leave with him because he is double-parked.
Later, John visits Troy to give him the key to Josh's place. They begin to make out, but then John stops and leaves.
Troy goes to the bar to see a buddy, Devon (Brad Standley). Guess who is the bartender? It's Raul. Once again Raul says to Troy, "I've always wanted to meet you".
What will happen next?

Includes male frontal nudity and sexual situations.

In-film advertising: Nutella, 99 cent store.

English language only, 5.1 surround, 2.0 stereo. Option of subtitles in English only.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

August
August by Eldar Rapaport (DVD - 2012)
$24.95 $20.68
Temporarily out of stock. Order now and we'll deliver when available.
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.