Customer Reviews


33 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


193 of 194 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Convincing
I'm one of those former skeptics who came to believe that, while few of these "New Age" psychics are legitimate, Edgar Cayce was authentic. I concluded this after reading tons of books on Cayce, as well as his readings, which are transcriptions of things he said while in trance. If you're a seeker, it's important that you read what he actually said, rather than just...
Published on March 24, 2004 by B. McEwan

versus
23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Auras/Colors/Analysis
I really hate to say it, because it has Edgar Cayce's name on it, but I was disappointed. This little 20 page book is more of a pamphlet and it doesn't say very much. I bought it because Mr. Cayce was thought to be one of the most respected and accurate psychics and aura interpreters, and I have no doubt that he was, so the only book written by him, so to speak, wow! But...
Published on April 22, 2007 by Kathy W


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

193 of 194 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Convincing, March 24, 2004
This review is from: Auras: An Essay on the Meaning of Colors (Paperback)
I'm one of those former skeptics who came to believe that, while few of these "New Age" psychics are legitimate, Edgar Cayce was authentic. I concluded this after reading tons of books on Cayce, as well as his readings, which are transcriptions of things he said while in trance. If you're a seeker, it's important that you read what he actually said, rather than just reading what others say about him and how others interpret his philosophy. What convinced me that Cayce is legitimate were his own words. In the beginning, he himself was not convinced that his knowledge came from a higher source. In fact, he thought it may have been evil, or at the least just a personal fantasy his brain pumped out while he was in some sort of stupor. Only after he saw that his readings helped real people deal with real problems did Cayce become comfortable enough with his abilities to use them without significant reservations.
This little book on auras, or halos as some might call them, is one of the few publications from A.R.E. (Cayce's foundation) that Cayce actually wrote himself. Most of the other books, while interesting and valuable, were written by Cayce's followers, most of whom at this point in time never knew Cayce personally. There are a lot of interesting ideas in this booklet and I recommend it to those of you who are on a journey to find reliable sources of information on the nature of what Cayce called "the unseen world."
A.R.E. also publishes the unedited transcripts of all of Cayce's original readings -- on CD-ROM and in print -- and for serious seekers I recommend those as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


94 of 97 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really all you need to know about auras, March 5, 2003
This review is from: Auras: An Essay on the Meaning of Colors (Paperback)
Perhaps why Edgar Cayce took so long to write a book on auras is that reading and interpreting auras is something very intuitive rather than something systematic that can be easily learned. Although I can sense an energy about people, I have never been able to see colours there. Once I was at a dinner party and I couldn't fathom why something seemed very different about one of the other guests. He died a couple of months later. It was only after reading this book that I understood that I had picked up on his lack of aura. Edgar Cayce encourages us to look at all the other little clues surrounding people, including the colours they choose to wear, in order to get an impression of the colour of their aura and offers some interpretation of various colours. While some people may feel this book lacks substance and depth, the real message is that we each need to develop our own ability to read and interpret auras through our own intuitive faculties.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


68 of 71 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Info from a reputable source, December 15, 1999
This review is from: Auras: An Essay on the Meaning of Colors (Paperback)
The human aura has been scientifically proven through a method called Kirlian Photography, a type of photograph that captures the colors of the energy field surrounding a person (or any living thing, for that matter). I can't give the scientific info about auras, and this book is esoterical in nature, not a scientific type book of "proof." This book conveys the typical colors which vary during moods of anger, sadness, happiness, creativity, etc. Some people are able to see the human aura, and it is believed that anyone can learn how to see it.

Think of an aura as a halo that surrounds the entire body. Now, think of the halo having numerous layers of different colors, and you have an idea of what an aura is.

Of all the so-called psychics, Edgar Cayce has arguably been considered the "genuine article." At a time when mediums and psychics were looked upon as heathens or charlatons even moreso than today, this Christian was concerned about his undeniable abilities, how they fit in with his strong spiritual beliefs in God, and how he should or shouldn't use these skills. He decided to help others, and this book on Auras is an excellent resource I've seen used in the field by kirlian photographers who refer to his color definitions when giving kirlian photography color interpretations to their clients.

This is a small booklet type of book, but it's packed with fascinating information that is well worth the price. I'll never forget his description of the lack of auras around people on an elevator, or other scenarios describing situations that happened in his life. This book is a keeper you'll find yourself referring to time & time again. I use it to compare other books on the subject against, for quality and pertinent information.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


32 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It'a a good guide for seeing colors and what they mean, March 18, 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Auras: An Essay on the Meaning of Colors (Paperback)
I think this book is great for those who can already see auras, and also great for those who are unaware that they can. There is not a lot of info, but enough. I like it because it was written by Mr. Cayce himself, which made me fell like he was talking to me. He does state that those who don't see auras are usually not aware that they can, and that many people see auras, it's not uncommon, you just have to relax and be more aware of it. I like this book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Auras/Colors/Analysis, April 22, 2007
By 
This review is from: Auras: An Essay on the Meaning of Colors (Paperback)
I really hate to say it, because it has Edgar Cayce's name on it, but I was disappointed. This little 20 page book is more of a pamphlet and it doesn't say very much. I bought it because Mr. Cayce was thought to be one of the most respected and accurate psychics and aura interpreters, and I have no doubt that he was, so the only book written by him, so to speak, wow! But the book just don't cut it, Hon. I am guessing that somebody thought putting the notes out there was a good idea. Honestly, if I were the publisher, I think Mr. Cayce's little bit of material would have been better served by putting it inside a larger publication that would maybe enhance their meaning. Possibly, a co-author could have talked about Mr. Cayce's life, and clients, and more on colors.

Anyway, this booklet gives some intro comments from Mr. Cayce, explaining some of what he sees, such as a streak of lemony green shoot through one's aura, horizontally, just over his/her head when they tell a lie or are evasive. He also gives a few predictions, such as "imagine what it will mean, everyone able to see when you plan to tell them a lie. . ." He gives general info in the first 10 pages, then he begins discussing colors: red, orange, yellow, green, blue, indigo and violet through page 14. Page 15 through 19 give analyses of some clients (anonomously). Page 20 is a chart of 7 colors, the corresponding musical note, the ruling planet, and the positive and negative interpretation (interpretation vs. affliction). (e.g. Green, note "Fa", planet Saturn, healing and helpful, vs deceit when mixed with yellow.

The book is put out by the Association for Research and Enlightenment (ARE). If you want a very short book that was written from Mr. Cayce's notes himself, by all means buy it. It's certainly inexpensive enough to add to your insight book library. But if you're looking for more information, especially the "how to," then save your money. Check out Ted Andrew's books on aura and color interpretation and also "Color Medicine: The Secrets of Color/Vibrational Healing" by Charles Klotsche on the 49th Vibrational Technique.

For the skeptics, yes, I HAVE seen auras and I have seen colors, both with my eyes closed and open. But I do not see colors in auras easily or often. It is easier for me to see and sense colors in plain air. I've also found that although they are usually similar in meaning, the color that means one thing to me may mean something else to you. So, as with anything else, you need to search through your inner guidance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An authentic revelation, March 9, 2002
By 
John Benfield (Saint Petersburg, FL) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Auras: An Essay on the Meaning of Colors (Paperback)
Mr. Cayce revealed to his friend, during a beautiful evening sunset over the west coast of Florida, that he could see auras. Nature itself was manifesting yet another glorius splendor of color through the atmospheric convulsions of earth's rotation. Since I began using this guide as a sole-basis for interpreting the aura's that I myself have seen for over eight years, my interpretations have hit in the 95% to 98% correct range. I anguish at the loss mankind suffered when Mr. cacye died later that year. For to have a compendium of more exact interpretations would be invaluable to both the seer of the aura, and to those whose physical and/or emotional well-being would have benefited from such a record. This small tome suffices as an ispiration for those of us left to continue his teachings!
For those who can see auras, a MUST!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A must have... if you already see auras., October 29, 2001
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Auras: An Essay on the Meaning of Colors (Paperback)
This is an interpretation from Edgar Cayce on his meanings associated with the colors his saw in auras.
It is a tiny pamphlet and would be of assistance only to those who can see the aura but who do not know how to interpret the colors.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A good starter book, August 29, 2006
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Auras: An Essay on the Meaning of Colors (Paperback)
For those beginning to see the colors of the aura this book is helpful, but lacking in some ways. It actually resembles a pamphlet more than a book, but it is worth the price.

Cayce gives the reader a guide to what each aura color suggests about a person's personality based on his own personal observations. If you trust the word of Edgar Cayce, then this is a good book for reference as it is more consistent than some of the other books on auras out there. However, it is a very general guide. Cayce leaves a good bit of room for personal interpretation which can be both advantageous and frustrating.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars must have, May 8, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Auras: An Essay on the Meaning of Colors (Paperback)
Auras, by Edgar Cayce is only a 20 page booklet but it's great for referencing aura. While I can't see auras, and I'm guessing not maybe people can, but as Cayce points out that we can sense the colors of our auras by the colors we choose to wear and surround ourselves with. Here's what Cayce has to say about it.

"I believe that anyone can figure out what another person's aura is in a general way, if he will take note of the colors which a person habitually uses in the matter of clothing and decoration . . . "How many times have you said, "how beautiful she looks in that dress. She was made to wear it. . . she was wearing a color that harmonized with her aura. All of you know what colors are helpful to your friends, and bring out the best in them. They are the colors that beat with the same vibrations as the aura, and thus strengthen it. By watching closely you can even discover changes in your friends as they are reflected in a shift in the color predominating in their wardrobe." pg. 10

So, to sum up the book, here's what the different colors mean so you can judge where your friends and family are at.

Red: represents the body, earth, and hell. Force, vigor, energy, high temper, and can be a symbol of nervous turmoil. War, strife and sacrifice. (does mean you wonder about all the red, power ties that politicians wear). Scarlet indicates an overdose of ego(Okay, now it make sense). (Isn't this the color the Cardinals wear?) Pink or coral are the colors of immaturity.

Orange: Thoughtfulness and consideration of others, indicates self control (is this why we put it on prisoners? Are we trying to teach them to be considerate of others? Or, since do we do it because it clashes with that obvious lack of self-control?).

Yellow: Indicates health and well-being, people who take care of themselves and aren't worriers. If the yellow is ruddy, it indicates a timid person. If they are red-heads, they are apt to have an inferiority complex.

Green: The color of healing. It indicates a person who is helpful, strong and friendly. If it's lemony-green, it indicates deceit.

Blue: The color of the spirit, and the symbol of contemplation, prayer and heaven. They say that the sun is really blue, but seen as yellow from earth, through her atmosphere.

Indigo and Violet: The color of seekers, but once the a person is settled into their career, their color usually goes back to deep blue. Heart and stomach problems are indicated by these two colors.

White: Is the perfect color because it contains all of the other colors. It's an indication of perfect harmony and balance.

This is a simple, easy to understand little booklet that realistically, is probably the only one you'd need in order to understand the colors of the aura.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars not much information, February 6, 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Auras: An Essay on the Meaning of Colors (Paperback)
This is a very thin tiny book and doesn't contain much information. This book is for people who just want to know something about auras. Though Edgar Cayce can see auras, he's not really good in interpreting them. He has limited knowledge in this area.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Auras: An Essay on the Meaning of Colors
Auras: An Essay on the Meaning of Colors by Edgar Cayce (Paperback - January 1, 1973)
Used & New from: $16.74
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.