Customer Reviews


973 Reviews
5 star:
 (658)
4 star:
 (242)
3 star:
 (50)
2 star:
 (15)
1 star:
 (8)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


235 of 239 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A historical read.
Having just finished this book, I will say that it is a must read. This is a very disturbing look into Auschwitz and the attrocities that took place, under the direction of Mengele. This account, from a Dr. details that number of people massacred and how they were relieved of their lives. This man, for one reason or another, managed to stay alive and recount the life in...
Published on July 26, 2011 by Adam S.

versus
40 of 49 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A narration with more of a clinical telling?
Dr Nyiszli tells his story beginning with his imprisonment in Auschwitz in 1944 and subsequent job chosen as the infamous Dr Mengele's right hand assistant, performing autopsies as part of the "great" Aryan experiments.
The writing seemed clinical, maybe because it's written by a physician, (I found the questions of this truly being written by Dr Nyiszli...
Published on January 24, 2010 by bookloverintexas


‹ Previous | 1 298 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

235 of 239 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A historical read., July 26, 2011
Having just finished this book, I will say that it is a must read. This is a very disturbing look into Auschwitz and the attrocities that took place, under the direction of Mengele. This account, from a Dr. details that number of people massacred and how they were relieved of their lives. This man, for one reason or another, managed to stay alive and recount the life in Auschwitz as no other could. He is detailed in his memories of the place and gives a clear image for the reader to understand. It is one of those books that you don't often find, in which once you start, you simply cannot put it down. Truly one of the best accounts to date, as it has held up under the years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


253 of 269 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential Holocaust Study., October 21, 2001
By 
M. D Roberts (Gwent, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I have always had an interest in the Holocaust, but until I read this book some fourteen years ago, it had always remained at a distance.
A reputable colleague at work handed me a copy of this book and said `this is worth a read'.
Having begun, I could not put the book down. The book gripped me from start to finish. The story is horrific but, nevertheless, it is a story that we all owe it to ourselves to be familiar with.
The story and the author's experiences were so profound and penetrating that I have spent the last fourteen years studying and reading as much about the Holocaust as I can. I have visited the Concentration Camps at Treblinka, Majdanek, Auschwitz, Birkenau and Plaszov, together with other areas in Poland directly connected with the Jewish Holocaust. I have seen the buildings full of human hair from the Jewish victims, the gas chambers, crematoria and the other hideous instruments of mass murder referred to in this book.
The book by Dr. Miklos Nyiszli will not take you long to finish. The voices of the victims referred to have long since disappeared. Many people today are not even aware of the Holocaust and others deny it's very existence. Books like these, written by people who were actually there, are essential if our this and forthcoming generations are to be made aware of "man's inhumanity to man" and to prevent such a horror from occurring again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


58 of 59 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Understanding the walk of death, August 20, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
For years I have read books, watched movies and studied the reasons why so many people would just walk to their own death at the hands of the SS. So many Jews died because of "business as usual". After reading this book, I have found the answer. Perhaps now I can get over my obsession with that question. Bruno Bettelmeim who wrote the forward to this book has brilliantly answerd that question that evades so many of us.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


105 of 113 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting, Quick and Informative, July 27, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I read this book recently and found it thought provoking and certainly informative. This isn't a classic or great piece of literature. It's a essentially a pretty frank account of the Nazi atrocities as seen through the eyes of a medical professional who worked alongside Dr Mengele in Auschwitz and fought to stay alive. The material is different than the typical camp survivor because the author lived a much different life than the majority of those crammed into barracks.
I found the book worthwhile and I'd read it again. This isn't an all encompassing piece of work about the holocaust, rather a view through the eyes of a survivor who had to watch those around him suffer and perish. I'd recommend it to anyone who already has read a fair bit on the holocaust and wants to see it through a different set of eyes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


34 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Frank, informative view from a doctor's perspective, September 8, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This book is a very frank account of Nazi atrocities written by a medical doctor who worked as a pathologist for the notorious Nazi war criminal, Dr. Joseph Mengele. By fortunate circumstances the doctor had previous experience dissecting cadavers and this knowledge saved his life. He was chosen by Mengele to help prove the Nazi hypothesis of superior-inferior races and much research was done on the cadavers of twins, midgets, the deformed, etc. to help prove this hypothesis.

This book is different from a typical survivor story as the pathologist lived a much more comfortable existence at Auschwitz than the typical prisoner. He was not housed in a barracks, living a subsistence life. Instead, he lived near the medical laboratory and crematoriums and received adequate food and warm clothing. However, crematorium personnel only lived 4 months then were executed because the Nazi's feared information being leaked to the outside world. This weighed heavily on him and the rest of the staff. Fortunately, Mengele needed his skills and he was spared. He lived as he had to watch those around him perish.

This book was originally written shortly after the war so the doctor's memories were fresh. There are some grammatical or syntax errors but I attribute them to someone new to the English language.

I recommend this book to anyone wanting to read about the holocaust who wants a different perspective on the atrocities of the camps.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


57 of 63 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A True Nightmare, February 1, 2005
By 
Neal Bellet (Wayne, New Jersey United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Auschwitz, A Doctor's Eyewitness Account, is the horrific story of what life, if one could call it that, was like inside of the crematoriums at Auschwitz as told by an inmate doctor who performed gruesome operations "under the supervision of the Angel of Death, Dr. Josef Mengele." Even though this doctor was working under the constant threat of death, and even though we cannot come close to imaging what it was like to have been thrust into this world against ones choice, one cannot help but wonder how he managed to do the things that he did. In my opinion, he certainly did not make himself a sympathetic figure in the same manner as the main subjects of other holocaust books have. However, the strength of this book is the in depth detail it goes into when describing one's horrific existence in the crematoriums and that is why this is a book that must be read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


34 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Unbelievable True Story, November 30, 1999
This book provides us with a first eye look at the operations at the infamous Nazi concentration camp, Auschwitz. Dr. Miklos Nyislzi volunteered his services as a doctor/pathologist to the notorious "Angel of Death", Dr. Mengele. The experiments that were performed are unbelievable. How Dr. Nyislzi avoided getting killed on numerous occasions is beyond me. The ending to this book is perhaps the most astonishing part of all. A must read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


62 of 73 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WARNING:Graphic Descriptions of Gruesome Horror - BEWARE!, November 10, 1998
By A Customer
Aushwitz - A Doctor's Eyewitness Account is not for the faint of heart. It is the memoirs of a doctor / prisoner of the infamous Nazi 'Death Camp'. I have personally read (at the time I write this) about a dozen memoirs on the Holocaust. Dr. Nyiszli's experiences cannot even be imagined. I am truly at a loss for words to articulate the feeling in my heart left by this accounting of evil. Under the direct supervision of the infamous 'Doctor' Mengele, Nyiszli performs, without question, some of the most horrific and scientifically useless 'experiments' on human beings. Truly, who among us could ever imagine trying to survive in a Death Camp such as Aushwitz? And yet the disturbing point over all in Nyiszli's book, is the fact that he VOLUNTEERED his services ! I will not judge anyone personally, however, was this author truly a victim or a conspirator with a 'better them than me' attitude? If you have the intellect and stomach for descriptions of horror, then I do acknowledge the importance of this 'Self-Damming' memoir, since it does offer a rare glimpse into the levels of mindset that was the sinister and the sadistic butchers that were the Nazi's...and their conspirators. Perhaps it is a confession of a repentant mind tortured with his actions of the past.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars To understand what could make another human being do such atrocities to others is what makes this book so horrorifying!, August 10, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I always heard about the death camps, and Auschwitz, but I could never even think of the things that I read about. Truly evil! It was also educational. This book really takes you inside Auschwitz and exposes the utter madness that was the Holocaust!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gripping Horrific Account of Life in the Auschwitz Death Camp, December 23, 2007
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Dr. Miklos Nyiszli has written (1960) a graphic, gruesome, first-hand account of his time working as a doctor in the gas chambers of Auschwitz. Due to his previous medical training in medicine and pathology, Dr. Nyiszli was spared by the hideously inhuman Dr. Josef Mengele, to be the medical doctor to the Sonderkommando, the 600-plus Jewish prisioners who actually operated the creamatorium ovens which incinerated over 3,000 inmates a day. Dr. Nyiszli also became the chief pathologist for Dr. Mengele's infamous experiments on Jewish prisoners, performing disections and autopsies, all explained in great detail.

Dr. Nyiszli had permission from Dr. Mengele to travel through the camp, and therefore witnessed atrocities that are shock all sensibilities, and are sickening in the cruelty in which they were carried out. One wonders how the guards can kill in such a matter of fact manner, so many men, women, children, grandmothers, and grandfathers, without being emotionally devastated. He described the entire process of how the Jewish populations were induced to walk into the gas chambers without resistance. How they died a horrible death in the gas chambers, how their bodies were striped of hair and gold teeth, and then incinerated in non-stop 24 hour a day operation in the four ovens. When the gas chambers were overflowing with Jewish bodies, he writes of hundreds of others standing in line to be shot to death with a single bullet in the back of the head, then dumped into a long burning death pit, created for just such a purpose. He describes how a 16 year old girl miraculously survived being gassed in the chamber, only to be shot the next day. He describes how whole camps of upwards of 4,500 people were "liquidated" in one day. Dr. Nyiszli is continually stunned by the utter brutality of the German Nazis and the ultimate purpose of Auschwitz - to destroy the Jewish race and other "undesirables".

Since the Sonderkommando group of prisoners were themselves shot to death every 4 months to prevent anyone from telling the world what the Germans were doing in the camps, it is a miracle that Dr. Nyiszli survived to tell the atrocities of the death camp.

Fortunately for history, and for the lesson of man's inhumanity to man, we have Dr. Nyiszli's account to tell the world the truth about what happened in Hiltler's concentration camps. Although very disturbing to read, this is an important account that absolutely refutes modern-day revisionists who claim there was no holocaust, or that is was greatly exaggerated.

This book is not for young eyes. The descriptions of the deaths are too vivid. However, it is an important book for students of history and for any who need to be reminded of the incredible cruelty man is capable of. While sobering and horrific to read, I do recommend this book to those interested in the holocaust. It is one of the better books in the genre.

James Konedog Koenig
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 298 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Auschwitz
Auschwitz by Miklós Nyiszli (Audio Cassette - June 1, 1995)
Used & New from: $85.92
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.