Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Zoe rhymes with Joe
Jan Grape is best known for writing short stories and editing mystery anthologies. AUSTIN CITY BLUE is her first novel and hopefully, the beginning of a promising new series.
Zoe Barrow is a member of the Austin Police Department currently assigned to working desk duty at her local precinct. A few days ago she was attending a sports event at a local arena when she...
Published on August 26, 2002 by Angel L. Soto

versus
1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars disappointing
Being a displaced Austininte, I looked forward to reading this book because of its locale. Unfortunately, the plot and characters were poorly developed, sentences were often clumsily constructed, and the Austin historical snippets were repetitive and not terribly interesting.
Guess I'll skip the next Zoe Barrow book, if there is one.
Published on August 23, 2003 by Foodie


Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Zoe rhymes with Joe, August 26, 2002
This review is from: Austin City Blue (Hardcover)
Jan Grape is best known for writing short stories and editing mystery anthologies. AUSTIN CITY BLUE is her first novel and hopefully, the beginning of a promising new series.
Zoe Barrow is a member of the Austin Police Department currently assigned to working desk duty at her local precinct. A few days ago she was attending a sports event at a local arena when she heard the call requesting police backup. Officer Barrow went to the scene and found two officers wounded at the hand of a single perpetrator. When the suspect starts to make a move she shoots him even though she is not aware of his identity. A few moments later she learns that he was Jesse Garcia the man responsible of putting her husband in a coma.
Zoe does not trust her feelings. She is not sure if she shot Garcia out of doing her duty or just plain revenge. It does not help that she is confined to office work and the people at Internal Affairs are getting on her case. She manages to get distracted from all that when Avery Peppard, a friend of her husband, comes to her asking for help. He believes his wife is having an affair with a cop and that they are plotting to kill him. She does not know what she can do for him so she helps him find Jason Foxx, a private detective, to help him. It is not until an informant with a connection to Peppard is found murdered in a motel room that Zoe decides to get involved.
Ms. Grape writes a good novel that is heavy in character development. Zoe is a conflicted woman who is torn between what she knows and what she believes. She loves he husband very much but he has been in a coma for a long time. She is attracted to Foxx but does not want to betray her husband. The story is fairly good with several red herrings placed throughout the novel. The author leaves the door open for another book and it will nice to learn more about the life of Zoe.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Austin City Blue, September 25, 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Austin City Blue (Hardcover)
Jan Grape's first mystery novel Austin City Blue was nominated for best first novel (Bouchercon 2002). I bought it because I used to love the wonderful, friendly, book store she and her husband owned. I knew it would be well written (I have read several of her short stories) and took a chance. I was delighted to find that I loved the book. The characters are memorable, the writing is polished and the plot is engaging. I hope it is first in a series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book!, December 18, 2001
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Austin City Blue (Hardcover)
I really enjoyed this book. The heroine is admirable and really likeable. I came to worry about her and cheer her on.
Also, this is a murder mystery, with the emphasis on whodunit and not on the grisly details of death. I especially enjoyed all the many suspects, and how we figure out the mystery along with the heroine.
Finally, really enjoyed having this mystery take place in my adopted home. All in all a great, exciting and fun read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very well written and compelling. Enjoyable., February 4, 2002
This review is from: Austin City Blue (Hardcover)
When female police officer Zoe Barrow shoots a man to rescue another officer, she is merely doing her job. When she learns that he is the criminal whose earlier shot turned her husband into a vegetable, she feels a sense of closure rather than regret. But the shooting is only the beginning of a strange and violent events in Zoe's life. One of her snitches is killed, a friend of her husband's claims that his wife is trying to kill him, and Zoe starts feeling a strange attraction toward a private detective. When the possibility of police corruption comes up, Zoe doesn't know who her friends are and who might be her enemies.
Talented author Jan Grape explores the continuing prejudice against female cops, the emotional implications of a justified shooting, and writes a bang-up action story as well. As readers, we're dragged along with Zoe, thrust deep into the mystery, and thrown clues so fast that it's hard to sort out what's important and what isn't. Bits of the history of Austin, Texas's police force add some texture to the story and put Zoe's current job into its historical perspective.
I would have enjoyed a little more focus. Some of the events appeared to be either unconnected or connected by coincidence that stretch beyond normal reader credibility. Thanks to Grape's superior story-telling, these flaws don't detract much from novel's enjoyment, except to hint that Grape's next novel may be even better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book!, December 18, 2001
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Austin City Blue (Hardcover)
I really enjoyed this book. The heroine is admirable and really likeable. I came to worry about her and cheer her on.
Also, this is a murder mystery, with the emphasis on whodunit and not on the grisly details of death. I especially enjoyed all the many suspects, and how we figure out the mystery along with the heroine.
Finally, really enjoyed having this mystery take place in my adopted home. All in all a great, exciting and fun read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars disappointing, August 23, 2003
Being a displaced Austininte, I looked forward to reading this book because of its locale. Unfortunately, the plot and characters were poorly developed, sentences were often clumsily constructed, and the Austin historical snippets were repetitive and not terribly interesting.
Guess I'll skip the next Zoe Barrow book, if there is one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Austin City Blue
Austin City Blue by Jan Grape (Hardcover - Oct. 2001)
Used & New from: $0.14
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.