Professional restaurant supplies Spring Reading 2016 Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc $5 Albums Fire TV with 4k Ultra HD Grocery Mother's Day Gifts Amazon Gift Card Offer bschs2 bschs2 bschs2  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Fire, Only $39.99 Kindle Paperwhite AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Spring Arrivals in Outdoor Clothing SnS

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars24
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:$36.95+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on August 17, 2008
I loved this book! The exercises are (generally) things that you can actually do at home, and though I've only had it for a bit I've gotten some real benefit out of them.
Don't get this book if you're looking for a manual on self-defense and technique. This one's all about conditioning, so it's best if you already have a background in a martial art and use this to make you better at it!
0Comment|19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 23, 2007
I bought this book when i was browsing around for different exercises to supliment with my martial arts training and out of all the books i bought this is one thats not hidden away in my book box

Weather you are looking for exercises or want to know more about the history and the way monks trained, this book is worth its weight in gold. Since i dont mind the history I'll just talk about the exercises

Basicaly the book is full of mostly isometric, body conditioning and yoga/tai chi/chi gung type exercises, but also has many weight and plyometric exercises, each one focused but not limited to the martial arts. If you are a martial artist it would be very hard for you to not get at least one exercise that you will fall in love with :)

Although you need to build stuff for some like someone sayed, only a few exercises you probably wont be able to do because of its complexity of aparatus, and a few like the groin conditioning exercise are purely for entertainment purposes but there are some gold nugets in this book that are more than worth it

Buy this book! :):):)
0Comment|18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 19, 2007
this book has all the exercises,just as promised. The thing you have to remember is the time it was written in. So youre going to have to buy some things...a lot of things if you want to become good with the training. Another thing: dont buy this if you dont have patience. A lot of the exercises take a "warm up". The thing is tht it takes 100 days,then 10 more years to completely master. But dont let this stop you

good luck
0Comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 16, 2008
This book teaches all the exercizes it promises. However, some of them could be made clearer by adding pictures or further explanation. Anyone that buys this book should be aware that the great majority of these exercizes should only be done under the supervision of a qualified teacher. Besides, all of them require patient and constant (daily) effort during at least 6 months to have some results, and from 2 to 10 years to master. I advice this book for anyone seriously engaged with studying any chinese martial art system.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 3, 2013
Any martial arts whose serious about martial arts on a whole or specializing in shaolin martial arts,this book is an essential tool to have in there library. I live in the Caribbean and although they aren't many competent Shaolin practitioner here, this book helps to fill in some of the gaps of not having a competent practitioner. Although a book could never replace a competent practitioner, this book does a good job of get the training points across pretty good for the most part in regards to training the fundamentals of shaolin martial arts.
In all its one of the best training books I've come across so far and the price isn't bad for the wealth of knowledge in this book.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 15, 2007
This book Reveals Secrets within Chinese Martial Art - Shaolin Gong Fu (Kung Fu) never published in the western world before...

The book was released and translated into English only 1934 due to a disastrous fire that burned 1000 years old documents in the main monastry of Shaolin - the book is an attempt to recreate the lost written knowledge from Old 'Masters' still alive - the result is a book that will take you on a lifelong journey to master Gong Fu (Kung Fu).

An unique book for any Martial artist. Unfortunately the quality of the translation from Chinese is not always the best and more pictures would be very helpful... Mats Fondelius - CEO from USA/SWEDEN
11 comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 13, 2015
Although this book attempts to translate directly Chinese to English from its source of historical reference, and does a good job at retaining the original text, it has not made much of an editorial effort in improving upon the material, whether literature or illustration wise. Hence, the reader is stuck with somewhat vague instructions for antiquated and useless training methods such as "one should train his finger daily on a wall or a tree trunk (...) It is necessary to strike with your forefinger at a wall or other objects (...) The skin tears off, muscles and sinews swell and hurt, but it is necessary to continue (...) The soft skin becomes hard. After three years of training the finger will become like a tree brunch (yes, they spelled it that way without editing)" or "After that, it is necessary to sit quietly with your crossed legs and tap on testicles with a palm. It is quite painful in the beginning. (...) Painful felling (yes, another misspelled word) Will disappear in the course of time" or "Tie small bags of coarse fabric with iron shot (treated in pig blood) to your arms and legs. (...) You have to run on the wall in the horizontal position every day."

The illustrations are probably even worse if there are any at all. Please have a look at the photos I've attached to this review. At this point, I'm really thinking of returning this book, save for the fact that it made me cry from laughing too hard.
review image review image review image review image review image review image
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 5, 2010
The book gets you back at the beginning of the 20th century, when kung-fu was for real martial purposes and when you didn't train for fun.

There is a short introduction plus a highlight on the different exercices you should do every day (qi-gong), then there is 2 to 5 pages for each training method. They are mostly "hard" (and hardcore!) training, such as trying to pull nails from a plank or beating yourself with hammers, plus also training methods for speed and flexibility.

There are a couple of exercices which are extremely difficult, if not impossible, such as running on walls or hitting yourself in the groin. Lots of good info though for those who want to push themselves in their kung fu training
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 18, 2009
Jin Jing Zhong's, "72 Arts of Shaolin," is an amazing compilation of training and conditioning techniques. It preserves much of the ancient Shaolin training knowledge that would otherwise have been lost after the Communist Revolution. I have added many of the techniques to my own training regimen, and I only wish that I had found this book when I was younger! Most of the practices are safe but highly taxing and require a 100% committment in order to achieve success. Others require special apparatus or setups, but none are insurmountable. I quickly discovered a few favorite exercises that I try to practice every day, and I am sure that any student reading this work will fall in love with some of them as well. A few of the exercises suggest training with "dead lead," and as far as I know, there is no way to train safely with lead. I would recommend using some of the other non-toxic heavy metal substitutes for those exercises that are readily available today. This book is truly wonderful, and contains much of the true spirit of Shaolin. I'll need to buy another one soon to replace my own dog-eared copy! Good luck-Erik.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 9, 2015
A daunting task. Super difficult topic translated into english from chinese terms that do not readily translate very well.The first part of the book is a total blast. I think this book is the one of the kind. Super unique. Incredible curriculum.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse