Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Paragon of Advocacy, May 7, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Autism Mom's Survival Guide (for Dads, too!): Creating a Balanced and Happy Life While Raising a Child with Autism (Paperback)
The Autism Mom's Survival Guide is a necessary book for parents who are struggling to cope with how to function at anything resembling normal where there is an autistic child in the house.

Upbeat and honest, but never condescending or perky. The book manages to be very supportive but keeps an arms length from the dark places autism can take a family. It does offer real, balanced advice from someone who has been and will always be there. She and her husband have three children, one of whom is autistic. Susan is a great guide to have as she leads you through some effective methods of handling the day to day activities with a special needs child.

This is Susan's second book on autism. This is not a sequel though. Her first, Making Peace with Autism, is also worth seeking out.

I found the book to be geared mainly toward autism moms, (although there is plenty for fathers to get from this) who are the true heroes in the struggle to understand this condition.

If you have a child with autism in your life, you may find yourself nodding your head with many of the stories Susan and the parents she writes about have experienced. If you're new, you will find out very quickly what it is like to be a part of an autistic child's family.

Full disclosure: I'm one of the autism parents that were interviewed for this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Must-Read for Autism Parents, May 7, 2010
By 
MommyRocks (East Coast, USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Autism Mom's Survival Guide (for Dads, too!): Creating a Balanced and Happy Life While Raising a Child with Autism (Paperback)
This informative book should be in the library of every autism parent. It gives useful, practical advice from both the author and other ASD parents on how to survive and thrive as the parent of a child with a very difficult disability. I would also recommend it to educators and grandparents, so that they can get a good feel for the home life and unique challenges of an autism family. It is an excellent companion to the author's first book "Making Peace with Autism".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More than just a guide, May 10, 2010
By 
This review is from: The Autism Mom's Survival Guide (for Dads, too!): Creating a Balanced and Happy Life While Raising a Child with Autism (Paperback)
First a disclaimer: I am not the parent of an autistic child.

This new work by Susan Senator, although intended to be of assistance to the parent of autisic children, can be appreciated by anyone. This book is more than just a parenting guide. This book is more than just the story of a parent with an unusual child. This is the story of the personal growth of a remarkable young woman. It is the story of not only accepting the hardships of a particular problem, but of embracing your plight and appreciating all that it is: both good and bad. It is certainly a book that can be appreciated by anyone who is willing to give it a try.

It is also the work of a very gifted writer. Susan Senator takes us into her family to explore how she (and the rest of the family) tackled the everyday adventures of the autistic child. She moves us when she tells us about getting her son a tuxedo for his first "prom" and she intrigues us with her use of belly dancing as an emotional escape. My favorite part is the comparison between the children's game of Candyland with being a parent of an autistic child.

This one is worth a few hours. It is much more than a simple parenting guide.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Buy this book if you're an autism parent!, March 10, 2012
This review is from: The Autism Mom's Survival Guide (for Dads, too!): Creating a Balanced and Happy Life While Raising a Child with Autism (Paperback)
First of all, I want to thank Susan Senator for writing the book that I wish someone could have given me 10 years ago. The book is full of BTDT practical tips and advice for day-to-day coping. Reading the book is like having a long talk with a good friend about the things that really matter in life. The author also interviewed parents all over the country and arranged their ideas in a way that makes sense, all supported by the latest research in autism and special needs parenting. Of course, there are no easy answers on this journey, but the author shows us how to navigate with love and good humor. This book is a great place to start if someone you love has recently (or not so recently) been diagnosed with autism.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Gift for Parents of Special Needs Kids, July 2, 2011
This review is from: The Autism Mom's Survival Guide (for Dads, too!): Creating a Balanced and Happy Life While Raising a Child with Autism (Paperback)
A while back, someone sent me a copy of Susan Senator's The Autism Mom's Survival Guide. Susan Senator is a gifted writer, with a blog as well as an earlier book about raising her autistic son. Susan Senator writes with a personal, honest voice that feels like you're talking with a close friend over a cup of tea.

The Autism Mom's Survival Guide is really all about taking care of yourself at the same time you're taking care of your special needs child, as well as the rest of your family. Senator writes from her own perspective, as well as compiling the advice of other autism parents. For parents who may feel like they're all alone, judged by others and not measuring up, this voice from a community of others in the same situation can be a valuable support.

My favorite part of the book comes when Senator writes in her own voice, as the mother of a now grown autistic child. Her compassion as she looks back on her own young self, raising her small child, was touching, and just what every young mother needs to hear. This book is a gift for all parents of special needs kids, a book to pull out when you feel like no one understands, or that you're all alone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great read...., May 12, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Autism Mom's Survival Guide (for Dads, too!): Creating a Balanced and Happy Life While Raising a Child with Autism (Paperback)
Having become a huge fan of Susan Senator after reading her first book "Making Peace with Autism"...I was anxiously awaiting the release of this book, and, once again, as an autism parent I have been touched and educated. If you have a child with autism, are friends with or related to a family that has an autistic child, or do any sort of work with autistic children, this is a book you need to get. Raising a family offers many challenges, and those are certainly multiplied when you have an autistic child. This book provides a window into the lives of autism parents and strategies that have helped them cope. Do yourself a favor and get this book, and if you haven't read Susan's first book, pick that up as well. Susan has a wonderful writing style which I absolutely love...she certainly tells it like it is, and her honesty is quite refreshing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great perspective, May 9, 2010
By 
This review is from: The Autism Mom's Survival Guide (for Dads, too!): Creating a Balanced and Happy Life While Raising a Child with Autism (Paperback)
I am not an autism parent. I have some connections to autism through some family members, but that connection is distant enough that I do not need a survival guide. Nevertheless, I found this book extremely interesting and a most enjoyable read. Susan Senator has an amazing talent to find the single flower in a field of weeds, the one funny moment in a day of disasters. She is honest, real and, in very many ways, inspiring. The epilogue alone is worth the price of the book. I know, who reads the epilogue? Read this one. It is a delight.

This book is a wonderful and enjoyable look into the world of the parent of an autistic child. It is also a wonderful and enjoyable look into the world of remarkable parent. It will be worthwhile reading even if you have absolutely no connection to autism.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Must Have/Read, December 26, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Autism Mom's Survival Guide (for Dads, too!): Creating a Balanced and Happy Life While Raising a Child with Autism (Paperback)
Perfect for everyone involved in an autistic childs life and not just for beginners but it is great for them as well. Susan Senator is amazing, I have a more in depth review on my blog post at coltonsmama2011.blogspot.com
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars EXCELLENT!!, September 12, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Autism Mom's Survival Guide (for Dads, too!): Creating a Balanced and Happy Life While Raising a Child with Autism (Paperback)
This book is excellent and SHOULD be a manual for all parents that have children on the autism spectrum. You can relate to the author, but she also includes other people's worlds, and you find yourself in many of the parents. GREAT ADVICE columns. Teaches you acceptance for your child and how to manage others. It really helped me heal wasted anger feelings and create some sort of balance in our lives....which was lacking...When your child gets diagnosed, or labeled, the doctor should hand you this book too!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This mom definitely "gets it.", April 28, 2012
This review is from: The Autism Mom's Survival Guide (for Dads, too!): Creating a Balanced and Happy Life While Raising a Child with Autism (Paperback)
This mom "gets it." She's had twenty years of experience raising her boy. Her personal knowledge combined with her collected interviews with other autism moms give a realistic, supportive, and sometimes humorous outline for how to cope when your child is on the autism spectrum. I could especially relate to this author because she is candid about her own depression both pre-autism and post-autism. She is candid about the guilt we autism moms invariably carry - though unfounded. The no frills acknowledgement of how life can be as an autism mom is supportive in and of itself but she goes beyond that by offering realistic suggestions for how to actually cope and even go beyond to living peacefully (eventually) with autism in your child. Any book that can point me in the direction of other books or web sites that I've not found yet on my own is a valuable book in my opinion because I have covered an awful lot of territory in my efforts to understand and cope over the last eight years. I highly recommend this book to other autism moms and dads, to extended family members and friends, and anyone in the general public who wants to understand what life is like with a child on the autism spectrum
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.