Your Garage Summer Reading Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it PME Fire TV Stick Sun Care Patriotic Picks Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer WienerDog WienerDog WienerDog  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis Segway miniPro

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on May 25, 2016
A few typos aside, I do not regret for a single minute taking the time to slowly read this book, and think about it. The chapters are very short and numerous, and it is easy to read a little bit at a time. Gandhi has an easy and friendly way of speaking to the reader, and I found myself admiring the memory he displayed, as well as the moral principles he strove to uphold. He is also able to inject a very light touch of humor into the description of some very difficult situations. Before reading this book, I would not have guessed that he had tried to commit suicide as a young man (by taking poisonous seeds), and I was thankful for the frankness with which he expresses his trials and flaws. He called his delving into many aspects of life an "experiment", and he succeeded in making a positive difference on so many lives.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 16, 2013
This should be titled *Gandhi: Part One,* because his story ends before the greatest events in his life that made him world famous.

He was a brilliant leader, organizer, and developer of the non-participation/passive resistance approach to civil disobedience.

His diet and medical advice leave much to be desired. His favorite cure-all is a poultice of clean earth on the skin. His strict vegetarianism in contraindicated when at a point near death he gives in, drinks goat's milk, and gets better.

He's at his best when discussing comparative religion.

Otherwise, the journal style simply does not make for stimulating reading.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 21, 2014
transformational

i could not put this book down. inspired unwavering devotion to Truth. i learnt what it means to be completely free and absent of violence in thought, action, deeds. never occurred to me before how this is important. i feel very grateful for this piece of writing and expression.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 21, 2014
I had read a few excerpts and thought id buy the book. Come to find out the complete autobiography is pretty dry, at least in my opinion. I took it with me to read on a flight and after about 50 pages i couldnt take anymore. I found myself wanting more detail on things he didnt really elaborate on and becoming bored with the things he did.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 12, 2013
Five stars for the content of the book, no question. But this particular edition is ridiculous - the copy-editing is AWFUL, with typos too numerous to count, and several formatting errors as well. Note that this isn't a standard paperback-sized book either, but an unnecessarily bulky edition with an awkward typeface to boot. Buy this book - just buy a different edition of it.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 11, 2013
This book is full of typos and also has lots of blanks pages. Looks like someone just printed this out on their computer annd didn't even run spell check first. Buy another publisher or edition or something. Steer clear of this copy.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 12, 2014
A classic book! One must read to appreciate the genius of Gandhi. In one life time Gandhi delineated the root cause of the conflict arising from in-just social structure, formulated tactics based on nonviolence to resist the oppression and demonstrated that the nonviolence is the way to solve societal ills.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 6, 2015
This is really a true autobiography in the sense that Mr Gandhi has revealed each and every truth of his life so honestly. If you want to know about the Indians and their culture...it is a must read for you.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 7, 2013
I enjoyed this book as it followed Gandhi's day-to-day life and offered insight into his human side. I was expecting more of his philosophical views to show up in the text, but it didn't so I must look to other writings for this type of insight.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 18, 2013
great book that sheds a lot of insight on how to be introspective and self aware. not sure if it is the case in all prints of this book but there are multiple spelling errors.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse