Customer Reviews


29 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A very classy end to a very fine trilogy
Autumn, Purification, basically marks the end of a trilogy of zombie-focused books.

The story evolves around the same group of survivors that was featured in the previous, `Autumn, the City' book. The action starts exactly where it stopped there. The survivors are sheltered in an underground, army-occupied bunker. They take the decision to venture out of it...
Published on January 18, 2008 by T-Rexx

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Subdued climax to a subdued zombie series
It would not be correct to say The Autumn series is a Romero-fan's ultimate zombie series, but its not fair to say its "the thinking man's" zombie series either.

If you worked your way through Autumn and its sequel, The City, you pretty much know what you're getting. Some occassional grisle and gore but mostly a lot of complaining and...
Published on August 28, 2006 by S. Keel


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Subdued climax to a subdued zombie series, August 28, 2006
By 
This review is from: Autumn: Purification (Paperback)
It would not be correct to say The Autumn series is a Romero-fan's ultimate zombie series, but its not fair to say its "the thinking man's" zombie series either.

If you worked your way through Autumn and its sequel, The City, you pretty much know what you're getting. Some occassional grisle and gore but mostly a lot of complaining and "didnt-we-already-go-over-this" dialogue. Still, I know I was at least invested enough to see how things turn out. The sadist in me wanted more of the survivors to get mauled by the hordes but the Lost fan in me was interested to see how the ending would develop from here.

Most of the most annoying characters have been weeded out by now, so you know that you won't get too many "what's the point" speakers from here on in, but you still get your gaggle of quitters and whiners, which would be fine, if it weren't every other conversation.

The scenes at the airport are certainly intense and make for the most thrilling in the series since the farmhouse stand-off on the first book.

The Autumn series did just-enough blood/guts/gore to keep me invested, the characters were interesting at time, annoying at others, and Moody's reliance on describing the state of decay on the zombies became less powerful the more and more he did it. By then, he needed to raise the bar and emotional resonance by sacrificing a few more brave souls in a gruesome demise.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A very classy end to a very fine trilogy, January 18, 2008
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Autumn: Purification (Paperback)
Autumn, Purification, basically marks the end of a trilogy of zombie-focused books.

The story evolves around the same group of survivors that was featured in the previous, `Autumn, the City' book. The action starts exactly where it stopped there. The survivors are sheltered in an underground, army-occupied bunker. They take the decision to venture out of it after the shelter gets overwhelmed by a mass of zombies and all hope to stay safely in is lost. What follows is their quest for survival in a devastated, highly perilous world.

Without lifting the curtain off of the story plot, please remember that David Moody is a talented English writer who has decided to take his time to tell a very realistic tale of survival without any kind of biased opinion. Zombies are never called zombies, they are depicted as beings that used to be normal and that now suffer from their decaying condition. They don't hurt for pleasure, or without reason. The military is shown as a group of very different characters. They are not described as a stereotypical, 2-bit group of dumb-minded, orders-obeying robots. Some of the survivors are selfish and meet their end without judgment, while it becomes clear that their attitude is actually dictated by their incapability to feed their hope any longer. Some others are brave and courageous, but also subject to doubt. Boredom is shown as an implacable enemy. The fragility of hope in people's heart is demonstrated over and over. Only a handful of people get to see some kind of light in the gloom of their everyday life.

Moody seems to be willing to get away from any kind of judgment on the zombies' conditions, hence it becomes difficult to really feel disdain towards them. Rather, their evolving attitude becomes logical and, from them, less of a threat, more `acceptable'.

Overall, action is continuous and logical. The whole book is a real pleasure to read. It concludes with class and smoothness a fine trilogy of books that really deserves any reader's attention.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The Conclusion to the Second Book in a Five Novels (So Far) Series, February 9, 2012
By 
James N Simpson (Gold Coast, QLD Australia) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Autumn: Purification (Autumn series 3) (Paperback)
Unlike the first sequel, you do need to have read the prior novel to enjoy this one and even understand to a decent level what is going on. The second novel in the series Autumn: The City, had a cliff hanger to be continued ending, which is where Autumn Purification starts. Although it isn't necessary to do so, it's probably not a bad idea to read the original book one Autumn, before both of them as well, simply as the main two characters in this one, were in that one so you'll know who survives and so on if you later go back and read it. Autumn Purification does leave room for more sequels (and there's two more at the time of this review), but the central following these characters story does wrap up, it's not a to be continued ending, so if you are interested in what happens to the characters from Autumn but are hesitant thinking the same thing will happen, rest assured if you chose to do so you could end your reading the series here, (or take a rest from it, read other books or whatever before reading book four).

As I said Autumn Purification follows the characters from where they ended up in the prior novel (I won't give away where), of course it wouldn't be much of a novel if they lived happily ever after there so of course after a little while they are back in those vehicles and on the run again, with a couple of extra characters, desperate to find somewhere to stop where they can escape the tens of thousands of putrid smelling rotting corpses that like flies, just seem to want to hassle them. One on one a corpse is just a bother, but on mass their numbers seem to present some sort of danger (although to be honest I still don't really see it). But the point is the survivors seem to think there's one and are terrified and act accordingly. Internal tension is just as much if not a bigger threat than the walking corpses. When all hope seems lost this group will encounter a couple of other survivors with an idea that injects a massive amount of hope to a possible peaceful zombie free existence. But is it too good to be true?

I did find that the consistency of some of these characters has changed a fair bit from the initial and previous novel, especially Emma who seems to have gotten younger, either that or the affects of travelling alone with someone in highly stressful circumstances, when there's not a lot of other prospects around can create lustful feelings no matter if that person is old enough to be your grandmother. More likely Moody has made her younger since the first novel became a movie (which I haven't seen so I don't know how old she is but I assume she would be younger than the book) or just to allow the changes in the plot of the series to work. Also Cooper's actions at one point seem completely out of character, especially when you consider there was a safe way at hand to transport the people who needed to get to where they needed to survive, and when you consider they used to be his colleagues before the world changed. I would have liked to have also seen more of the story told through these characters eyes, especially in those scenes and in the place they were at the start of the story. Although maybe Moody will put us in their minds in one of the next sequels, as going back in time with parallel stories to the first novel occurred with the first sequel. But still Purification would have been more satisfying read if ther points of view were in here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Moody continues to impress with another instalment in the Autumn series, December 22, 2012
By 
John Milton (Glasgow, Scotland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Autumn: Purification (Autumn series 3) (Paperback)
After having loved David Moody's Autumn and its sequel Autumn: The City, I was eager to get started on the third title in the series, Autumn: Purification.

Autumn: Purification opens with a brief recap leading to the events narrated herein and thereafter, picks up almost immediately from where Autumn: The City left off. This had me ever so slightly worried since it would have been incredibly easy for Moody to take the path of least resistance and created a clone of the plot from Romero's Day of the Dead from this point. Thankfully, this is far from the case with Purification.

Moody continues to develop not only his characters and the undead in this third instalment of the Autumn series but the universe which they occupy also. The tone of the book, as with its predecessors, is suitably bleak and the focus is very much on the plight of the characters, the daily trials they suffer, how they cope with their own emotions and despair; and how much they have changed despite less than six weeks having passed since the cataclysmic event which wiped out the majority of the planet's population and the dead started to rise. At the same time, Moody pays attention to the degradation of the physical states of the walking dead, but Purification, as with the previous instalments in the Autumn series, sees the shambling corpses continue to evolve in a fashion that I can only imagine that other authors wish they had thought of first...

Although there is plenty of action, death and decaying flesh in this book and it is undoubtedly at home in the horror genre, it will leave those looking for an adrenaline-fuelled mindless zombie tale unsatisifed. I would submit to you that this is no bad thing. Autumn: Purification continues to flesh out Moody's Autumn universe admirably and although this book only runs to 260 or so pages and could be read as a stand alone title, I would suggest to any potential reader to do as I have done and read the series from the start since it has greatly enhanced my enjoyment of each of the books by taking them in sequence.
There's no need to take my word for it either, award-winning author Jonathan Maberry said of Autumn that: "This is smart fiction, written with style and insight. Not for the gore-hounds who can't think past a pile of entrails, but the rest of the readers in the world."

Taking into account my love of post-apocalyptica and how many books concering the sub-genre that I read, I can honestly say that Autumn has, to date, seriously impressed me and consistently hits the mark where so many other books fail and simply rely on gore and decay. In short, my advice to genre fans is simple. Get involved with the Autumn series as soon as possible. You won't regret it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Third in the Autumn series, March 14, 2012
This review is from: Autumn: Purification (Autumn series 3) (Paperback)
The survivors from AUTUMN and AUTUMN: THE CITY have finally come together and are holed up in a military bunker. Unfortunately, the soldiers in said bunker have been cut off from the virus and are not immune, making things complicated for the groups. As the dead swarm above, the survivors come to the conclusion that they must soon move on. Their opportunity comes when the soldiers begin a mass attack on the horde outside.

Third in the series of five presents new challenges to the growing group. The interaction with the military was brief. Not sure if this element will return (though they're kind of doomed anyway). The end of PURIFICATION was great, though, and I look forward to what comes next for these poor survivors!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Liked Every Book in this Series, May 14, 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Autumn: Purification (Paperback)
I have read the entire Autumn series, and loved every book. It is not your typical fanfic type of zombie story, and the buildup is slow (not in a bad way), but as you go through the books and read the points of view of the different characters, it all tells an horrific but compelling story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Zombie action, but no gore., March 27, 2007
This review is from: Autumn: Purification (Paperback)
I have read and reviewed the first 2 "Autumn" books and I am probably sounding like a broken record. There is not enough of the over-the-top Zombie gore that I enjoy so much. There is however more action in this book than the first two in the series.

The books are well written and interesting. The problem I have, besides the absence of extreme Zombie gore, is that the books focus mainly on the characters. The Zombies almost seem secondary to the story.

I enjoyed all three books, but this was my favorite so far. The suspense is tight throughout almost the entire book. You get a possible explanation of what may have caused most of the world's population to die. The Zombies are more violent than ever, and the feeling of despair is at an all time high. Then the mood changes, there may be hope!

These books wouldn't be my first choice in the Zombie genre, but they are entertaining. The story does lure you into wanting to know how it all ends. I have read the first three in the series and plan to read all five books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Humanity's final stand., May 11, 2007
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Autumn: Purification (Paperback)
David Moody, Autumn: Purification (Infected Books, 2004)

The third entry in Moody's popular Autumn quartet, Purification picks up where The City left off, with the survivors being driven out of the military base by hordes of the (still not flesh-eating!) dead and scrambling to find some place more permanent to make their last stand.

Simply by dint of the fact that Moody's not bouncing back and forth between two unrelated storylines, Purification starts off stronger than The City, and the momentum keeps up throughout the book. The undead continue to evolve, which keeps both the survivors and the reader guessing, and the human relationships between the main characters evolve, as they should. (The minor characters are, for the most part, still cardboard cutouts, however.) The ending does put one in mind of another novel whose ghost has shadowed the entire series, but I figured that was going to be the case.

Quite enjoyable. ***
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An entertaining read, November 10, 2006
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Autumn: Purification (Paperback)
Overall I recommend this series of books for those who like zombie stories. I've read all four and have enjoyed each one.

However, I do have a few issues.

1. David Moody should do a little more research on modern military technology. The military does possess protective suits like those used by the soldiers in his books. However, they protect only against a chemical attack. They do not filter out airborne biological agents. Bacteria is just too small. Viruses are even smaller. You would probably have to carry your own air supply. While it might be possible that the government anticipated this event and created suits customized for this particular bioligical agent, I just had a hard time buying it.

It seems like the survivors are mostly idiots. I can think of a number of ways to fight the zombies that were never even tried in the book.

1. Your in an airfield or some other enclosure and there are so many zombies around that it is difficult to get in an out without letting loads of them in. What do you do?

a. Create a "zombie lock." Think of an air lock on a space ship. You have an smaller enclosed area around the entrance to your large enclosed area. You can use fencing or just create a circle of cars. When you need to let someone in or out, have a crew of guys with baseball bats at the ready. You open the get and let your people out/in. When that happens many of the zombies are going to get in as well. Your bat boys jump in and start smashing skulls while you close the gate. Any zombies that get in are contained in the zombie lock. Then your bat boys kill them all. If there are really lots of them, get .22 rifles and pistols and start shooting them in the head to bring their numbers down.

b. When the number of zombies surrounding your safe haven get too numerous, send out people in tough vehicles to simply do laps around the perimeter while mowing them down. Sure this will make a lot of noise, but I bet you could kill them faster then they could show up.

c. Create a diversion. The zombies are attracted to noise and activity, so have a brave crew of people set up a noise maker at a location farther away but still within earshot. Put a CD player with fresh batteries on a roof top of a nearby building. Have the player loop so it will go on constantly. This will draw the zombies away from you and toward the distraction. Then you can get in your vehicle and start mowing them down.

2. You want a safe haven where you can have food and water as well as the conveniences of the pre-catastrophe world without having to worry about getting trapped by too many zombies.

a. How about a boat? Go to the coast, or even a large lake or a large river and get in a house boat. Go a short distance from shore and drop your anchor. You can stock the boat with all the food and water and fuel you will need for a long time. On board you will have electricity, running water, flush toilets and safety. If you are close to shore you can expect the zombies to gather at your launch point, but you can just travel to a different harbor to get resupplies. The only real worry is bad weather.

b. Just keep moving. There is pleny of gas and vehicles. Do what Mike and Emma did and get a motor home and travel the country. Camp in remote locations and when there are too many zombies around, just step on the gas. Not as good as the boat idea because you will have to be very quiet whenever you stop for a while, but still workable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very good book. Different from most zombie stories., February 18, 2006
By 
Pearldrum1 (Bakersfield, CA USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Autumn: Purification (Paperback)
I thought this was a very good read. I have just got into this series but cant put the books down. I had my doubts while reading the first book "autumn," because it is slow at first, but once it picks up you really want to know what comes next.

The character development is great. You really want to see what happens to the characters you are introduced to. I could really sympathize with them, because of this I give Moody lots of credit as an author.

If you like Apocalyptic stories or are a fan of the Zombie genre, the autumn series is for you. Although the pages arent covered with blood this series is sure to prove to be a cult classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Autumn: Purification (Autumn series 3)
Autumn: Purification (Autumn series 3) by David Moody (Paperback - August 16, 2011)
$14.99 $10.23
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.