Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a splendid variation on a theme
I was certainly predisposed to like this story, as its author was generous enough to dedicate it to me, explaining that it had sprung from an old story of mine. Mr. Bell's a fine writer, and the changes he's worked are both inventive and dramatically convincing.

It's a curious thing--I've written two fishing stories that I can recall, "Sometimes They Bite" (the...
Published 19 months ago by Lawrence Block

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars disappointing
not worthy of the author. have read other of his books, and this was not up to his standard at all.
Published 10 months ago by ksue


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a splendid variation on a theme, December 13, 2012
By 
Lawrence Block (Greenwich Village) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Autumnal (A Story) (Kindle Edition)
I was certainly predisposed to like this story, as its author was generous enough to dedicate it to me, explaining that it had sprung from an old story of mine. Mr. Bell's a fine writer, and the changes he's worked are both inventive and dramatically convincing.

It's a curious thing--I've written two fishing stories that I can recall, "Sometimes They Bite" (the point of departure for "Autumnal") and the more recent "Catch & Release (A Story From the Dark Side)." Both, like Mr. Bell's, are dark and nasty. Yet fishermen in the main are such a patient, contemplative lot.

Most of them, anyway...

Lawrence Block
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Compelling, April 16, 2013
By 
Bookman (Eugene, Oregon) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Autumnal (A Story) (Kindle Edition)
James Scott Bell not only writes compelling novels, but short stories as well. This is well-written and true to the genre. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Kept me Guessing, December 27, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Autumnal (A Story) (Kindle Edition)
I have read many James Scott Bell novels and this story was a surprise freom start to finish. Short, with Criminal Minds - the TV show - characteristics, it took reading right to the end before I figured it out. A page turner, like all his other books, it was a fast read and one I'd highly recommend, although devoid of any Chrstian characteristics.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This one won't get away from you..., December 20, 2012
By 
Nancy Cole Silverman "Nancy Cole" (Studio City, CA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Autumnal (A Story) (Kindle Edition)
James Bell's new short story Autumnal is a chilling read and nothing less than what we would expect from this master storyteller. A lone camper is met in the woods by two hikers and the unexpected happens. Readers will find themselves reading between the lines and still finish saying, "I can't believe that!" A real twister that stays with you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars disappointing, August 25, 2013
This review is from: Autumnal (A Story) (Kindle Edition)
not worthy of the author. have read other of his books, and this was not up to his standard at all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Too short even for a "Short Story", August 20, 2013
By 
R. WESTBROOK (VIRGINIA BEACH, VA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Autumnal (A Story) (Kindle Edition)
Don't buy this, it's only a few pages long, not long enough for a decent plot, and a waste of money!~
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The suspense dude adds a touch of horror, August 18, 2013
By 
Teddi Deppner (Lincoln, CA USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Autumnal (A Story) (Kindle Edition)
Perfect short story to sandwich in over lunch or a coffee break. About a man trying to get a little quiet time fishing. Two hikers interrupt him and they are just weird enough to make you start to wonder. You know something's coming, but the details are a surprise. Nicely done.

It says it is based on a Lawrence Block story, and I was concerned I wouldn't get the story if I hadn't read Block's. But "Autumnal" stands alone just fine. In fact, now I'm intrigued enough to search out Block's original story!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Fun, Quick Story, March 21, 2013
This review is from: Autumnal (A Story) (Kindle Edition)
I borrowed this story from the Prime library, and I must say, it was a fun, quick read. It only took me a few minutes to read, but I enjoyed to dark, tense feel of the story, and the ending topped it all off. I'll definitely read more of Mr. Bell's work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding storytelling, February 26, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Autumnal (A Story) (Kindle Edition)
As is typical of James Scott Bell's work, he both entertains, thrills, and instructs in the craft of writing. This short story had all the elements of great short fiction.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Dedicated and fitting, December 21, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Autumnal (A Story) (Kindle Edition)
No spoilers here, just a well written story about hikers and a fisherman. Mr Bell is a great storyteller. Can't wait for his next novel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Autumnal (A Story)
Autumnal (A Story) by James Scott Bell
$0.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.