Customer Reviews


81 Reviews
5 star:
 (52)
4 star:
 (19)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


114 of 121 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perhaps the best game ever invented, but it's not for the novice gamer
This is perhaps the best game ever invented. Well, that is, if you are interested in history, geography intruige, human nature, diplomacy, and you have plenty of friends that like games and they all have a whole day to play the game.

Here's the basic premis:

The game is set at the outset of WWI. There are seven major European powers (Great Britain,...
Published on February 2, 2009 by ARH

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Good map, terrible components, a real shame...
I got this game because I wanted to play Diplomacy and this is the current version... well it's a disappointment. The board is good and its nice there are a sheaf of paper copies of the map but the other component quality is terrible. Gone are the wood blocks, metal pieces., or even plastic armies and navies of previous versions, here you get very poor quality cardboard...
Published 2 months ago by Matthew H Ackerman


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

114 of 121 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perhaps the best game ever invented, but it's not for the novice gamer, February 2, 2009
By 
ARH (The Shadow of the Tetons) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Diplomacy (Toy)
This is perhaps the best game ever invented. Well, that is, if you are interested in history, geography intruige, human nature, diplomacy, and you have plenty of friends that like games and they all have a whole day to play the game.

Here's the basic premis:

The game is set at the outset of WWI. There are seven major European powers (Great Britain, France, Germany, Austria-Hungary, Italy, Russia, and Turkey) involved in the conflict, and each country is respresented by a player. The game flows more smoothly if you happen to have an eighth player that is willing to serve as game-master. The game-master keeps time, helps interpret rules, helps keep the game moving along, and keeps things straight and in order.

The goal of the game is to acquire control of as many "supply centers" as possible. As a player's country conquers supply centers they are able to add armies and navies to their military might.

Game play involves the following events:

1) Diplomacy - usually a 20-30 minute period where players meet privately with one another to try to make deals of mutual support, alliances, break alliances, etc.

2) Order-writing - when each player writes orders for every one of their armies and navies.

3) Resolution of orders - when all orders are made known, and all conflicts are resolved.

4) Addition or loss of armies and/or navies as mandated by the outcome of conflicts from the previous turn.

The game opens in 1914, and there are two turns per year (spring and fall). A game ends with the fall move of 1918. At that point all players still in the game count up their "supply centers" and the player with the most wins.

What you should know.

1) There are no cards, dice,or other elements of chance in this game, other than the BIGGEST element of chance there is - human nature! You never know when someone will live up to their agreements, support you when you need it, or makenew alliances and stab you in the back. It's pretty brutal - like real life.

2) The game can be played with as few as two players, though it plays best with the complete seven-player game.

3) It takes hours and hours to play this game. A full game may take as long as 8 hours to play.

4) Not all "board game players" will be interested in this game, mostly because of it's length, so you need either a gaming group/club or a large group of gaming friends to find enough players to try this game.

Anyway, I have been playing games, including Avalon Hill bookcase games, and more recent games like The Settlers of Catan and expansions, Agricola ZMG 7026, etc. And I still find this game to be top-notch, even after more than 30 years...now if only I could find six more people who would be willing to play (and a full day for game play!)

Even with those challenges, this game remains a 5-star event.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A long, but brilliant game, June 16, 2009
By 
Gordon Witt (Sydney, Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
If you are looking for a game that you can play with a group of friends and be finished in a couple of hours with everyone happy and content, this is definitely not for you. This game, played properly, requires many hours of thinking and, as the name suggests, diplomacy. There is absolutely no chance involved in the game, the game is all about strategy and forming alliances with other players, and then when they least expect it, stabbing them in the back. If you liked the "survivor" television program, or ones like it, you will love this game. I hated the "survivor" series, but I still love this game.

Just a word of warning. Be careful who you play this game with. If they are easily offended and cannot grasp the fact that part of this game entails the necessity to stab another player in the back eventually to win, there could be some definite post-game consequences. All in all, a great game that really exercises the mental faculties and hones negotiation tactics.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Don't Play This Game With People You Don't Like! (And other tips for a great game), March 25, 2012
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Diplomacy (Toy)
This game is infamous amongst my friends for the nicknames it created. I won't tell you mine, but suffice it to say that I wasn't popular with Germany or Italy when I played as France! You CANNOT win this game alone. You have to make deals with people -- and unfortunately, you also have to break them. Make sure you play with people you like a lot, and be sure that they really like you too, or it all may wind up with none of you ever speaking to each other, ever again!

I'm serious. This game can ruin relationships if you're not careful.

It's time-consuming, so I recommend timing each "turn" and limiting the amount of time each round that people are allowed to talk and make deals. The first round should allow no less than thirty minutes, and possibly up to forty-five or an hour, to make sure that each country gets to talk to every country leader/player that it needs to, and weigh the deals that are offered. After that, ten to fifteen minutes should suffice.

The game is set up so that no one can invade their neighbor on the first turn, so you'll need to build crucial allies the first time around in order to defend yourself against invasions in the second turn, and make well-coordinated strikes against your opponents.

TRUST NO ONE! This game CANNOT BE WON unless *SOMEONE* is stabbed in the back. Sad, but true. The people who are your allies in the beginning will likely be your enemies after a few short years/turns.

Enough reviews give the specifics of game play, so all I'll offer are some TIPS. You'll find that they sometimes contradict each other. That's because the best strategy for winning means doing what ISN'T expected, and because the country you choose is crucial in determining what course of action you should take for the win.

*Don't rush to attack anyone right away. You need to focus on securing extra supply centers so you can build and strengthen your forces and THEN attack.

*Work on your naval placements, especially if you're playing France or Russia or Germany. You'll be tempted to work your way inland with these nations, and build armies at the expense of sacrificing naval units, but you'll leave yourself vulnerable if you do -- especially from the U.K.

*Try not to play as the U.K. unless you really, REALLY trust the other people. You can't win as the U.K. without some powerful allies in the beginning. If you get stuck with this country, try forging early pacts with nations that can't hurt you right away, like Russia, so that they won't attack you when you start to become a threat, and will help support you against your early enemies.

*The people playing France and Russia should team up with one another against the U.K., cut off its naval channels, and wipe it out immediately, while everyone else on the continent fights it out for inland territory. Divide the north seas between yourselves. Get Germany to help in exchange for a piece of the action. In the normal course of a good strategic game, the U.K. should be the first nation to go, because taking it out is child's play.

*Once Russia and France have obliterated the U.K., they should remain a team long enough to take out Germany.

*If you're playing as Italy, attack France first. Get Germany and the U.K. to help you.

*If you're playing as France, defend like hell from the U.K. and Germany, and attack Italy as quickly as you can, or it will come after you later. Get support from Germany. DON'T FORGET YOUR NAVY. You'll need it later, if you survive.

*If you're playing as Russia, take over the small countries in the East instead of attacking right away. You already have an advantage starting with four pieces, so BUILD and fortify yourself while your Western neighbors start the skirmishes early. Get Denmark and Norway before the U.K. can.

*Lie, lie, lie. Lie to anyone, at any time. Break deals when it's best for you, but not unless you can back yourself up, or people will turn against you too quickly and form teams to take you down. Don't break any deal early on, or everyone will know from the start not to trust you. Build their trust, THEN break it, when you can pounce. The best way to do this is to set up your opponent for an invasion of a third party, tell them you'll support their moves, and then move in behind their back when you KNOW they'll be unsupported. Wipe them out, then have a fresh place to bargain from even though no one else will trust you.

*Don't take anything at face value. Anything your opponents tell you could be a lie. They're out for themselves, and EVERYONE has a secret deal going. Trust no one, and don't leave your vulnerable lands unprotected.

*Don't buy this game unless you have a lot of friends, because you won't be able to play with the same people twice if you take my advice.

That's Diplomacy, folks. It IS possible to win with integrity, but it's not half as much fun! And for those of you who haven't already guessed it, I'll 'fess up to my eternal Diplomacy nickname: Evil Back-Stabbing [rhymes with "witch"]. :-D ;-) And uh, none of my friends will play with me anymore, so if you do find a copy and need some extra players, feel free to drop me a line! :-}
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


36 of 41 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, but not for everyone, March 31, 2008
By 
Ralph M. (Chicago, IL USA) - See all my reviews
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Diplomacy (Toy)
A new version of Diplomacy is long overdue, with the 1999 release often going for as much as $[...] on Ebay.

Rather than metal or plastic playing pieces, this new version of Diplomacy includes glossy cardboard tokens. Though plastic or metal pieces would have been nice, the cardboard tokens are durable and functional, and probably help keep the price of the game low. The game also includes a big note pad of maps that can be torn off and drawn on. You'll need to purchase seven pencils and seven small notebooks for writing down orders.

This game is very fun to play, but unlike Risk or even Axis & Allies, its complicated nature makes play become tedious very quickly for those who aren't used to plying strategy games. Long story short, this is a great game to play with your gamer friends, but less nerdy friends, even those who like Risk, may not enjoy playing.

It can be difficult to gather the full seven players needed, but luckily, the game can be played with a smaller number (as few as 2, according to the instructions).

All in all, if you like strategy games and history and have enough people to play with, this game would certainly be a wise purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars New Version of a Classic Game, September 15, 2009
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:2.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Diplomacy (Toy)
Diplomacy is an awesome game, hands down! The game is designed for 7 players and it is playable but not as fun with 5 players and any less makes the game somewhat stale. Up until I bought my own copy of Diplomacy (which is what I am reviewing), my friends and I would play the 1961 version.

I make that last point because there are some serious differences between the two. While the rules remain fundamentally the same, this version comes with (durable) cardboard pieces. Like the 1961 version, squares represent armies and rectangles represent navies. While I like that this version's pieces have both a solid colored side and a graphic side, the army graphic is an artillery unit which I thought was not appropriate to represent an army (how about an Infantryman?); however the navy graphic was fine. I disliked that the pieces in general were cardboard as the '61 version had painted wooden pieces. As my personal opinion, I always thought the wood pieces created a novel depth (conjure here images of pre-digital war boards and maps with commanders pushing blocks around a map). The cardboard pieces are also susceptible to water damage (although both version's boards are too).

Another complaint I have with this version is that there is no container to easily separate nation's pieces by color. Something like that would have been a nice extra, although cannot be expected.

There were I found ample enough minimaps to use. They come on bound by that sticky-rip off stuff, like a paper note pad. While at least a couple dozen come with the game, if frequently played they will run out! I'd suggest either scanning the map and keeping a digital copy, going to staples or an office store and enlarging & laminating a few maps, or both (which I did, the lamination is cool because now I can use dry erase markers to make battle plans, etc).

Although I may have some complaints about the product, this game has given me dozens of excellent, wonderful memories with my friends and although I play with the same group, every game is different. Diplomacy is a wonderful game unto its own, simply to play although difficult to win!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A whole new fun experience!, September 3, 2010
= Durability:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Diplomacy (Toy)
Let me start by saying I already like board games and videogames when I played this game. The reason I bought Diplomacy was singular. In fact, I only knew one thing about it before ordering: "It ruins friendships." Or so someone told me. To me, that indicated that the game was both immersive and competitive. If only I knew how right I was.

When it came in the mail, I read the instruction book. That took me about 2 hours. I read it slowly and carefully and studied the diagrams. It's very important that at least one person playing has done this. The more, the better. This game has strict rules and there aren't any luck factors at all. It's pure skill. This way nobody complains about the outcome of the game and everyone feels responsible for their achievements.

This is a 7 player game. It's possible to play with less people, but ideally and in my opinion, you really need the full seven. It took me 2 weeks to organize a game for a Sunday afternoon. I also think it's very important to pick the players wisely; quitters, griefers, cry-babies will just ruin it. This was the biggest challenge I faced with Diplomacy. Nobody I played with knew anything about the game so I spent around 30 minutes explaining and after about 1.5 hours of actual playing, everyone was comfortable with the rules.

It's exciting to have everyone write down their commands at the same time and then have everyone also reveal at the same time. It allows players to make and break plans in cunning or foolish ways. About 6 hours in, we had to stop playing. One player had to go home and it ruined the game balance. At that point, we had only eliminated 1 person from the game, and things were really getting interesting. We all wished we could have played more.

Bottom Line: An experience you'll never forget. I highly recommend even if you'll only get to play it once!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The most fun that you will have with a piece of cardboard, April 22, 2008
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Diplomacy (Toy)
What can I say about Diplomacy. I started playing just a week ago and I'm already addicted to it. This game is truly a masterpiece because its not really the game that gives you the most fun, its the interaction with all of the other players. You can make secret alliances, team up to take down the powerful player, or betray your ally and take his country for a prize. A game can go on for months, you can email moves to each other, or meet up with the players a couple of times a week to issue commands to your fleets and armies and talk to the other players. This game can be played with 2 people, but you won't have the experience unless you play in a seven player mode. Overall, if you like to socialize and have a blast stabbing your friends in the back, buy this game!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A classic, July 17, 2009
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Richard Nixon is quoted as saying that this board game was one of his favorites, an excellent way to prepare oneself for politics and I can completely understand why. The crux of the game lies in the long periods between each round, during which players conduct negotiations with each other; making deals to support or at least not attack one another. After negotiations each player writes down his or her moves and then all players simultaneously expose their orders, at which point it becomes clear who has lived up to his or her agreements and who has chosen the opportune moment to stab his or her ally in the back.

The beauty of the game lies in its simplicity; there are only two types of troops, land and sea, and combat is resolved simply by two being more powerful than one. The majority of the gameplay takes place in the conversations you have with other players. Needless to say this is a game for more mature audiences, and even then be prepared for tensions to run a bit high. I have seen long time friends stalk out of my house during a game, so just be careful who you play with.

For myself (an advanced table top gamer)it doesn't get any better than this. No dice, no card decks and nothing to blame except your own powers of persuasion and awareness, when you realize too late that your brother and your best friend spent an awful long time talking for enemies . . .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Never played it before. Loved it on first playthrough., December 15, 2013
By 
Chris Ng (California, USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Diplomacy (Toy)
The game board is very well made and looks beautiful too, with sharp lines and good color. The pieces the,selves are cardboard, and although this disappointed me at first, the pieces are actually some tough-ass cardboard if I ever saw it. Rulebook is clear enough. No disappointments in production quality.

Gameplay is tense and I remember multiple times being immersed in the game and the players. I remember everyone writing down orders as fast as they could. I remember being betrayed and betraying others. 10/10 would play again. If i could find more players...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not a game for everyone... But still amazing, December 13, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Diplomacy (Toy)
I love this game. I think it is a brilliant way to spend an afternoon, however; this is not a game for everyone.

The good:
One of the most in depth games I have ever played.
Takes hours and hours. (A positive for me)
Can play by mail or play by email.
Simple rules but deep strategy.

The bad:
Takes hours and hours. Honestly, I've never seen a game take less than 5 or 6 hours... Some people won't like that.
Component quality is so-so. The map is beautiful, but the pieces are cardboard... Honestly, I would much prefer wooden blocks or metal pieces. Plastic would be acceptable as well. (I recommend getting wooden blocks from a craft store and painting them to give the game a touch more class)
You need the right play group. This game is at it's best as a 7 player game, and people who are faint of heart will not like this game. It's very backstabby.
ABSOLUTELY NOT FOR KIDS. It says 12 and up... That's waaaay too young. I say 16+

In conclusion: Do research before you buy it. See if it's a game you would be interested in. If you can handle long games of political intrigue... This game is for you, if not, don't get it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Diplomacy
Diplomacy by Avalon Hill
$29.99 $28.73
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.