Customer Reviews


102 Reviews
5 star:
 (54)
4 star:
 (28)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


134 of 141 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great game but....
The game itself is great. Having only played the 1941 version before I was nervous about some of the rule changes. But the game plays well, and the new navy boats and artilery pieces make for more diverse battles. My biggest problem is two things: 1) Wizards of the Coast doesn't provide you w/any money for the game. The instruction book says "Keep track of your IPC's...
Published on October 7, 2009 by Hoop

versus
18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars cheap
Wizards of the coast must have been going for the cheapest product of all time with this game. The board is way too small, and there's very little in the way of extras, like figure boxes and chips. There's not even enough chips to set up the board! after set up you can't even see europe any more. Aside from the low quality of this product, the game is very good. I've...
Published on July 7, 2010 by rod


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

134 of 141 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great game but...., October 7, 2009
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Axis & Allies 1942 (Toy)
The game itself is great. Having only played the 1941 version before I was nervous about some of the rule changes. But the game plays well, and the new navy boats and artilery pieces make for more diverse battles. My biggest problem is two things: 1) Wizards of the Coast doesn't provide you w/any money for the game. The instruction book says "Keep track of your IPC's ($) with a piece of paper and pencil." LAME! C'mon Wizards, would it have realy killed costs to throw in a couple of paper bills? Next time, give less navy units to Russia (cause it's not like anyone ever buys them) and include some $$. And 2) You are suppose to use the grey and red chips under your units to represent multiple units; but they dont even give you enough chips to set the game board up in the begining! You have to resort to using some upsidedown country flag token things right off the bat. We used to do this in the 1941 edition also. But normally not until the game was underway. You at least had enough chips to set the board up. So again, c'mon Wizards, why so skimpy with the chips?? Do they really cost that much?!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


74 of 77 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Axis & Allies, a classic, December 5, 2009
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Axis & Allies 1942 (Toy)
The game of Axis & Allies has long been a classic board game. Not only does the player learn game strategies, but in the process, learns a great deal about WWII history. The only drawbacks about this particular edition are:

No currency is included: players are told to keep track of paydays on paper
No planning trays are included: In older versions, each army had trays that separated the items, for ease of location.
No enough dice and chips: More dice and chips, as in other versions makes for a more playable game
Not enough of some items: Some armies are thin on such items as tanks.

In general, it appears that the maker decided to cut costs by cutting valuable items from the game inventory. I would much rather have seen those items included, and paid a bit more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


59 of 61 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Revamp of a Classic, February 15, 2010
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Axis & Allies 1942 (Toy)
This game uses the newest revision of rules introduced in the 50th Anniversary Edition of Axis & Allies but is more streamlined (no Italy) and plays much closer to the revised edition with nearly the same map layout.

One of the biggest changes from the revised edition is the Cruiser naval unit. While I don't find the unit particularly useful in my style of play, the higher attack value (compared to Destroyer) with the additional ability of Shore Bombardment (like a Battleship) makes this a versatile unit to any powers' Navy looking to rule the seas. There are additional rule changes from the revised edition regarding the use of Anti-aircraft guns, damage done by Strategic Bombing, Transports, and more.

If you enjoy more detailed strategy board games and haven't played Axis & Allies you definitely want to give this a try. You can't find a better strategy board game for the money in my opinion. The low price of this game does come with some drawbacks that seem to disappoint others. There is no paper money, storage boxes and the game could use some additional pieces at times (mostly chips). There are plenty of inexpensive solutions to remedy all of these issues and something had to be trimmed down to keep the low price point.

The biggest issue with this edition is that the map can get cramped in Eastern Europe/Western Russia once the game gets rolling. Using chips is a must and action in the aforementioned area of the map will deplete your chip reserves fairly quickly. This is nowhere near significant enough of a problem to stay away from this great game, however.

Play time can vary greatly depending on the experience of players. Those who have not played before can expect the game to take WELL over 6 hours if you don't keep people moving along. Once you're familiar with the rules and general strategies you can expect a game to run between 3 1/2 to 5 hours. [If you haven't played Axis & Allies before, I would highly recommend playing a 1 on 1 game to work through the rules. Then introduce new players once you're comfortable with the core rules so you and your buddy can help them out.] The more conservative the players are, the longer the game will run. Most games I have played are all but decided within 4 or 5 rounds with each round taking about an hour.

I recommend Axis & Allies 1942 for anyone looking to have many hours of board gaming enjoyment. Pick this up, learn the core rules and explore the other A&A games that are being re-introduced with the new set of rules (Pacific 1940 and Europe 1940). The A&A community is massive and there are plenty of homebrew rules, variants and player aids out there for those looking to enhance or alter their A&A experience.

Happy Wargaming!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars cheap, July 7, 2010
= Durability:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:3.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Axis & Allies 1942 (Toy)
Wizards of the coast must have been going for the cheapest product of all time with this game. The board is way too small, and there's very little in the way of extras, like figure boxes and chips. There's not even enough chips to set up the board! after set up you can't even see europe any more. Aside from the low quality of this product, the game is very good. I've played the original alot, and i think this is a solid improvement. I will still be playing it as often as i can get others to join in, all the while grumbling about the board. Seriously, invest one more dollar in materials and charge ten more. All in all, i would still have bought it knowing what i now know.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Axis and Allies 1942 (once again), March 14, 2011
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:3.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Axis & Allies 1942 (Toy)
This is A&A 1942 by Avalon Hill/Hasbro/Wizards of the Coast (WotC), which updates the previous 1942 "Revised" update by Avalon Hill/Hasbro, both of which were based on the classic and beloved Milton Bradley (MB) "Game Master" version from 1984. Wizards/Avalon Hill also has put out A&A Europe 1940 and A&A Pacific 1940, which are updates of Avalon Hill's two Europe and Pacific 1941 variants. Both Avalon Hill Revised and the new WofC versions are supposed to represent game designer Larry Harris' vision (once again) of a game improved from the MB version. For what it's worth, the original MB game itself had 1st, 2nd, and 3rd edition clarified rulebooks, but those were just rules, not new games. So on one hand, designers have continually been seeking to make this much beloved game better. On the other hand, one cannot help but notice how much money Avalon Hill has been making with all the new versions in the last 12 years.

Several other reviewers have pointed out the absence of both paper money for the IPCs in this version (also missing in the 1940 versions, but present in the AH and MB versions) and the lack of enough unit chips to even set up the game. I agree, this is really sad. What is more, the chips they give you can't be stacked with the chips from the previous AH or MB versions (the grooves won't match up), so if you have earlier A&A copies, you can't just conveniently cannibalize the older sets. This can't be a coincidence. WotC has also made the A&A piece different colors from the units of previous versions, which means that cannibalizing your older sets for more units will mean your Japanese units are both orange and red, your German units are gray and black (and somewhere in between), your British units are beige and slightly browner beige and slightly less brown, your Russian units will be dark burgundy and light burgundy; even the green American units have different hues. If you're not feeling picky, this is not a problem; personally, this bugs me. There are 10 dice in the game, whereas the original game gave you 12. Finally, the previous versions (including 1940 versions) gave you boxes or dishes in which to keep your units separated. Here you get nothing except one cardboard dish for everything. In fact, about 2/3 of the entire game box you receive is empty air beneath a cardboard lift. Did they keep the box large so it would compare well with the image of the original MB "big box" games?

The game board is the same size as the 1984 MB version but the world map is smaller because the National Production Chart is now on the game board below the map. This addition is not really a bad innovation per se, but the smaller map lacks the awe-inspiring canvas of other versions. In terms of colors, the map follows the 1940 version by choosing earthy tones that are all fairly close to one another, rather than the original distinctive national shades of the MB version. Whether this looks better is anyone's opinion. I suppose it's supposed to look more like earth, but I think it looks bland. Meanwhile, the map distorts Africa wildly by squishing it - as does the 1940 version - which is pretty ugly. The country spaces, particularly in Asia, seem more blobular in appearance than in other versions. There are other nitpicky, inexplicable map choices, such as a shrunken Brazil and swollen, misshapen Peru and Venezuela. Along the north border of the whole map is white representing the north ice sheets but looks more like your little brother maybe took spray paint to your game board to annoy you.

This game version changes the cost of several units (for examples: tanks cost 5 credits, same as MB version, but less than the 1940 version cost of 6; aircraft carriers are 14, whereas before they were 18 in MB and 16 in the 1940 versions) and has changed the attack or defense of units (examples: aircraft carriers attack at 1, same as MB version but more than the 0 of the 1940 versions; subs defend at 1 instead of 2, which is in all other versions I know). There are many rule changes or clarifications from previous versions (examples: aircraft carriers take one hit to destroy, same as MB and AH versions, but the 1940 versions it takes two hits; no tech development in this variant, unlike 1940 and the original MB version; tanks can't blitz through a space occupied by even an AA gun). There is some method behind the difference between 1942 and 1940 versions: smaller board, fewer great powers, fewer units, fewer spaces and special conditions, and overall less complexity of rules. Obviously, you have to review the rules carefully from variant to variant because you could easily jumble up these many rule shifts. If you wanted to teach someone Axis and Allies, you could start here and move up to the 1940 version.

I have always enjoyed Axis and Allies and I own all the versions I've named above. A&A is an excellent game, and although the original MB and 1940 editions are probably the best versions overall to own, this is the version to buy if you want the least expensive and most "up to date" version. Unfortunately, this version of the game feels skimpy and small right out of the box. As with other reviews, I would have paid more to get more. For A&A buffs with more cash to burn, the 1940 Europe and Pacific versions -- especially when put together to form an overall world game -- will be more compelling. For those learning the game, the 1942 version offers a cheaper entree to the world of A&A, whetting your appetite for the bigger, more expensive 1940 versions (which is probably what is intended).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome game with some package disappointments, February 5, 2010
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Axis & Allies 1942 (Toy)
I read other reviews before buying this version of Axis and Allies. Having played the original, I knew I would enjoy the game itself. Here are the major pros and cons of this version as I see them.

Pros:

1> The updated rules are a big improvement IMO and are much better written for clarity than the original.
2> The added unit types and custom sculpting for each country type is cool.
3> Nicer, larger, map.

Cons:

1> Not enough pieces (especially chips) when the equipment starts to escalate on the board, with some more fragile than others.
2> Some map space boundaries are hard to see and spaces don't have enough room for pieces (bring back sideline spaces.)
3> No money included, though I reverted to casino chips (the heavy ones) which work beautifully.
4> Some of the ship types (mainly crusiers and destroyers) are hard to distiguish from each other for some countries.

I knew about most of the cons before I ordered the game (thanks to everyone's reviews) so I am not upset about them.

My son (10 year old) loves this game. We play one round per evening, once or twice a week. Couple rounds per day on the weekend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great game!, October 9, 2009
By 
Richard (Honolulu, HI) - See all my reviews
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Axis & Allies 1942 (Toy)
Though I'd heard of the A&A series prior to my purchase, this was the first version I ever owned and played. The two game sessions we've enjoyed with friends thus far have been immensely entertaining and challenging (and long...10 hours or so...since none of us were used to the strategy or rules). I appreciate the detail in the pieces & game board, the general guidelines for gameplay, and the challenges inherent in the historical/geographical positions & industrial productivity of the varied powers. This is a keeper, especially for someone who is just starting to enjoy something more challenging than Risk.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE World War II Game, March 6, 2012
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Axis & Allies 1942 (Toy)
Having just played this game again recently I thought now would be as good a time as any to write a review. It is extremely fun and I would recommend this game to anyone.

Game play:

Overall axis and allies 1942 is an amazing game! For anyone of you that are not familiar with axis and allies it is basically a very complicated war game where you play for a country that was involved in World War II. Like the game implies there are two sides to the battle with, the Axis and the Allies. In this game you can play as Germany and Japan as the axis, and the United States, the United Kingdom, and the Soviet Union (Russia), as the allies. Now you might be thinking if you had played a different version of this game only 5 countries? Well really it is the perfect amount for a nice game with your friends.

Now this game has lots of rules and complicated attacks, and lots of other aspects to the game, but don't let that stop you from buying this, it is still very fun. If you start off with just the basic rules if you don't know how to play you can still be successful in no time! As soon as you start to get the main rules just keep adding on till you are playing full on advanced.

The Board:

Now I have heard a lot about this board being "way to small" and "unplayable" however on the contrary the board is just the perfect size and in truth some spaces on the board are not utilized at all and some barely have any pieces. The only spot that does get a little crowded is in Europe, however, there is a solution to this. Included in this game are gray and red chips and these can be used to minimize the amount of pieces needed on the board. If you are not familiar with the gray and red chips here is what they do: you put the gray chip under a figure to symbolize that there is two times the amount of men truly than what is on top of the chip. A red chip multiplies the amount of figures by 5. So say you had a tank with a red chip, you would really have 5 tanks. If you had 1 tank with 1 gray chip you would have 2 tanks. This technique is very easy to use and it makes game play so much easier.

Figures:

You have a good amount of figures plus the red and gray chips so you really have the perfect amount to wage war. Each country has a different design of figures so they are very individualized. You have tanks, infantry, fighters, bombers, destroyers, cruisers, submarines, transports, and battleships. Also included are antiaircraft guns and industrial complexes, however, these two pieces are universal to everyone and are colored light gray.

To the matter of not being all to distinguish to boats from one another is pretty simple. The battleship is the largest of all of them it will be about 2 times the size of the other two ships. The cruiser will be the 2nd largest and will look a little less complicated or detailed than the large destroyer. Lastly, the destroyer is the smallest and the skinniest of all of them. It will look a lot less detailed than the cruiser or the battleship. Finally, if you are still having problems figuring them out which I hope you won't, look at the pictures of the side view of the boats in the rule book.

Durability:

I will get right to the point on this matter: this game will not break easily. not even if you step on a piece by accident. Really to break a figure you would have to throw it to the ground and stomp on it.

Educational Value:

I gave this 4 stars because the game does teach about the situation in WWII but you really aren't going to find out about specific battles from it. But it is still an amazing game!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Awesome game, January 27, 2010
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Axis & Allies 1942 (Toy)
I have been playing Axis and Allies since about 1984. This current 1942 version is far superior in balance and gameplay to the original. If you love strategy and WWII or wargaming in general, then this is the game for you. If you like Risk, but feel like you dont have enough depth or enough options, then this is the game for you. It takes a little bit to get onto the rules and gameplay, but it is WELL worth the effort to learn. The only cons to this version really mainly apply to players that have been playing for years. (The didn't include paper money, some charts, etc...) My opinion of this is: Veteran players will already have this and can use old money and charts. New players will never miss it. Overall the rulebook is well written. My advice is to acquire this game and add something to your board game collection that is not the same old same old.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great game, August 7, 2010
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:2.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Axis & Allies 1942 (Toy)
This is an excellent game. Everything is excellent quality, especially the pieces. Many people complain about the lack of IPCs and I did too at first. However, upon playing it, I found it just as easy or even easier to record IPCs on the national production chart using an infantry unit. The map is small but definitely playable. I did find myself needing more chips but not right off the bat. It was a few round into it before we actually ran out. Substituting an upside down control marker for a 10 chip works pretty well. The gameplay is excellent and fun. It is also supposed to be more balanced than revised.
Overall, a great buy for the price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Axis & Allies 1942
Axis & Allies 1942 by Avalon Hill
Used & New from: $45.98
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.