Automotive Holiday Deals Books Gift Guide Books Gift Guide Shop Men's Athletic Shoes Learn more nav_sap_SWP_6M_fly_beacon Prime Music Sweepstakes egg_2015 All-New Amazon Fire TV Grooming Deals Gifts Under $50 Amazon Gift Card Offer cm15 cm15 cm15 $30 Off Amazon Echo $15 Off All-New Fire Kindle Voyage Classics and Essentials in CDs & Vinyl Outdoor Deals on HTL

Format: Amazon Instant VideoChange
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

36 of 37 people found the following review helpful
on December 10, 2000
There's nothing too complicated about the plot. A rich American businessman played by Jack Lemmon has to make a sudden trip to Italy to claim the body of his father who was killed in an auto accident. He meets a young English woman, played by Juliet Mills, who has come to Italy to claim the body of her mother who, it turns out, died with Lemmon's father. It seems that these two were in the midst of their annual month long tryst. For many years they had been meeting at exactly the same date at exactly the same Italian resort for what was obviously their raison d'etre.
Strait-laced Lemmon is shocked that his father could possibly behave in such a manner. Life loving Mills is thrilled that her mother had found love and happiness. The rest of the plot consists of the complications of dealing with Italian bureaucracy and the evolution of Lemmon's character from cold efficient American businessman to a warm loving human being. Mills has "just a bit" to do with these changes in Lemmon.
There was a running gag throughout the movie that exactly reflected my own experiences in Italy. The morgue was closed until 4:00 because it was lunch time. There were no taxis because it was lunch time. A helicopter was told not to land at a local airport because it was lunch time. In my own experience, when attempting to cash some travelers' checks in Rome, I was made to wait at a bank window for over 30 minutes while the cashier finished his sandwich and looked at a newspaper. No, no other window cashed travelers' checks and yes, he'd take care of me when he was ready, but he wasn't ready yet. I think that the feeling of "been there, done that" really added to my enjoyment of AVANTI, and the jokes built around the Italian inefficiencies did a lot to create the atmosphere of the whole movie.
You don't have to have been there, however, to enjoy this movie. It's warm and funny on its own. Lemmon and Mills seem destined for one another, and the hotel manager, played by Clive Revill, who is obviously in love with love, adds another dimension of humor. No great drama, but loving good-natured comedy is what you can expect from AVANTI.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
on August 17, 1999
Accidently caught this late night movie while channel surfing in a hotel room on a freezing London night far from home and nursing a cold.I was enchanted as I'd never heard of it.Jack Lemmon as Wendell Armbruster and Juliet Mills as Pamela Pigott give convincing portrayals of a millionaire american and a working class englishwoman come to Italy to retrieve the bodies of his father and her mother,who unknown to their families had been lovers for years and had died tragically together in a car accident.Jack Lemmon displays his acumen for comedy without even trying and miss Mills gives an understated performance.But kudos must go to the person who cast Clive Reville in the part of Carlucci the indispensible hotel manager.When he blurts out 'idiota' to an incompetent underling in absolute frustration its an absolute delight.It was a while before I realized he wasnt neapolitan.What a pity his talents have not been more recognized.I would also commend the melodic theme music arranged by Mr Rustichelli.The ending was not a complete surprise but fitting all the same. Please rent this one out all you romance lovers,you will not be disappointed, for my cold,lo and behold the next morning it was gone!,funny that...
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
on December 30, 2004
With "Senza Fina" as the musical theme we've got a top rate romantic comedy in "Avanti!" Jack Lemmon arrives in Italy to get his father's corpse back to the US in time for the funeral to be viewed by 200,000 people on closed circuit TV (black and white in Puerto Rico). The jokes reference the time (1972) as the pilot in flight tells a State Department guy, "Greece is on the far left" "Not while I'm in the State Department". And Jack Lemmon's earily relevant gripe: "Goddamn Ralph Nader".

But what really makes this film is Juliet Mills who just came off the show, "Nanny and the Professor" and proves herself here as the weight-conscious lass who wins Lemmon's heart...and ours. It seems her mother and Lemmon's father had a 10 year affair at the hotel whose manager played by Clive Revill takes care of all the arrangements (What would Lemmon do without him). Meanwhile the porter is trying to blackmail Lemmon with compromising photos. Lemmon can no longer resist Mills charm.
"Permesso?" "Avanti!" 5 stars.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
on July 12, 2004
This one was not thoughfully picked , but caught my eyes in one of those channel surfing routines.. where just after few seconds , didn't think of any other channels or anything else..

The English translation of Italian word 'Avanti!' is 'Go Ahead' and is usually used in response to 'Permesso?' asked by any of the hotel staff while knocking at the door of your room.

Released in 1972, this is Billy Wilder's yet another light comic offering where an American businessman Wendell Armbruster(Jack Lemmon) comes to Italy to pick his father's dead body. Once there he comes to know about the long kept secret of his father of having a relationship with some woman. This woman's daughter Pamela Piggott (Juliet Mills) a delightful Brit also comes to Italy to pick her mother's dead body. Wendell, a hyperactive & uptight fellow and Pamela, a loving & carefree person happen to share the same hotel and share the same reason for their Italy visit. After not-so many instances, both of them find themselves in their parent's shoes. As if their assets of love have been passed on to their offspring. At the end, the bodies of the dead are not taken back to their respective country, but buried where their love once bloomed!

Amidst all the tough & good times there is one character that is distinctly noticeable is of Carlo Carlucci(Clive Revill) an efficient,clever and very helpful hotel manager. He is shown to be know-it-all and handle-it-all kinda guy.

One gets a sneak peek at the Italian culture of long lunch hours, mafia ruling,a general laid back attitude of people,etc..Although the movie could have done without the nude scenes and the vineyard brothers & their unreasonable demands from Wendell.

The true meaning of 'Avanti' is revealed when Piggot says it in response to Wendell's asking 'Permesso?' to kiss her. This truly is a magical moment!! The lilting music, the wit of the characters played and the locales add to the magic of this enchanting experience.

I'm glad that a film picked by chance turned out to be such a pleasure and it belongs to my favourite genre of movies!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
on April 6, 2006
I find this gem to be simply delightful, excellent acting and great location scenery.

Here's some sampling of the humor.

A 90 year old gentleman is having his annual romp with his young nurses at the hotel. A while later a stretcher was brought to his room due to a heart attack.

Jack Lemmon: " Hope he's all right "

Hotel manager: " He's fine, it's one of the nurses. "

Hotel manager: " I have some good news and bad news, your licenses had been rejected, you will be delayed for 5 days, your wife is very angry...."

Jack Lemmon: " Stop, now tell me the good news."

Hotel manager: " That was the good news. "

OK, so I'm not a comedian. But you gotta see it. Jack Lemmon and the hotel manager is very funny and Juliet Mills is a total sweetheart.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
on July 27, 2003
I am biased in my review of this film, I first saw it in the 70's and I fell instantly in love with Italy, thank you Billy Wilder.
To paraphrase Pamela Piggot;
'Avanti is not a film, it is an emotion '
Everytime I watch this film I am transported into the ongoing and timeless world of Wendle Ambruster Jnr. Pamela Piggot, Carlo Carluci and the rest of the characters in this perfect film.
I like to think that Wendle and Pamela are still meeting 15 July to 15 August every year.
The film is yet another of Billy Wilders masterpieces of cinema, I only hope younger film fans will come to appreciate his portfolio of classic films, all of them good, but this one is my personal favorite.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
on February 1, 2004
If your depressed, need a holiday, think that everything is against you, then you need to see Avanti! This is a true Jack Lemon comedy and Billy Wilder at his directorial best. As you watch the film you will be taken to the real Italy where lunch is more important than making money, where making love is to be savored and marriage is what you do at the end of the day.
I write this not as film review but as a strong recommendation to your soul - buy Avanti on DVD becasue if you get on VHS, your and your family wear it out! As they say in the film, "you bet your sweet buttouti!"
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
on March 28, 2003
that is the song, the leitmotiv... it looks like a so simple story
but in fact, it seems like there were so many films in only one!! what were really our parents??? what were the secrets they couldn't share with the other ones even children? and above all: how they finally manage, beyond the death, to learn us the way of life, the way of love and happiness! of course, the two actors : Lemmon and Mils are absolutely fabulous! on my opinion, one of the most marvellous film of Billy Wilder... unfortunately too unknown! and, as for those who really love the Jack Lemmon's Art, an essentiel film!!
the telephone conversations with his wife!!... how to describe them??? it's amazing!! the scene in the morgue... a sort of masterpiece! all the others characters are extraordinary painted too! So... do me a favour! forgive my very very bad english but rush at " AVANTI" as soon as possible!!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
on February 28, 2001
This film about double lives (public/private; parent/child; alive/dead) appropriately offers two pleasures for the price of one. You can enjoy this film as a thoroughly sympathetic, funny, moving romantic comedy, achieving a difficult balance of wit and sentiment. Or you could watch it as a typically caustic Wilder satire about American hypocrisy, about learning, from Dad, how to be better at it - there are some very dark insinuations here (about American industrial practice, for a start) that cannot be overridden.
Being a nice person, Wilder allows us to enjoy both. You can throw all the flaws you like at 'Avanti' - too theatrical, too much trading in stereotypes etc. - because the good things are imperishable: extraordinary acting (especially Clive Revill as Carlucci), subtle visual patterning, unpredictable incident and funny dialogue, and a lovely, unabashedly sentimental score. Better than most of Wilder's more revered works.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
on July 29, 2004
For me - an Austrian - at last this movie is available on dvd. Me and my wife have been loving this picture for years. It's so innocent an so many hidden comedy, that meanwhile I could see Avanti every week and enjoy it over and over again. This Wendell Armbruster character ist simply genius. And what's even more genius ist the part of Carlo Carlucci , the Hotel-Director. Everyone who loves a romantic movie mixed with humor and good acting - buy this one.

Robert Farnleitner, Vienna, Austria
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Customers who viewed this also viewed


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.