Customer Reviews


3,282 Reviews
5 star:
 (2,157)
4 star:
 (363)
3 star:
 (270)
2 star:
 (133)
1 star:
 (359)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


256 of 281 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Transfer to Blu-Ray
I got this as soon as I found it available on the net. It will not be available commercially for some time and that, of course, means the price is WAY to high for most viewers. I was willing to be taken for a ride but if you do not just have to have it now I would recommend waiting until it is available everywhere.
The video quality is fantastic. I have a Samsung 40"...
Published on January 28, 2011 by Thomas Reed

versus
3,614 of 4,299 people found the following review helpful
An Amazon.com official commented on the review below
1.0 out of 5 stars AVOID THIS EDITION - 20-40 minutes of new missing storyline and no special features. SPECIAL EDITION COMMING SOON!
***THINGS YOU MUST KNOW BEFORE YOU BUY***

1. A special edition likely including 20-40 minutes of additional footage is already being leaked to media for release later THIS YEAR!
2. No special features. If you are a fan, of all the discs in your collection this is the one you really want the extra stuff. It really should be amazing!
3. No 3D...
Published on March 18, 2010 by MyD


‹ Previous | 1 2329 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

256 of 281 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Transfer to Blu-Ray, January 28, 2011
I got this as soon as I found it available on the net. It will not be available commercially for some time and that, of course, means the price is WAY to high for most viewers. I was willing to be taken for a ride but if you do not just have to have it now I would recommend waiting until it is available everywhere.
The video quality is fantastic. I have a Samsung 40" 3D setup and the movie was just beautiful to watch. Not quite the same as IMAX but very close (size of screen being the only difference that I could see). The 3D is, to my eyes, exactly as good as the IMAX on-screen version. I am a huge fan of the movie but believe me I would tell you if the video quality was not great.
I would not hesitate to do the purchase again (even considering the huge rip-off in price at this time) but advise others to consider if you really have to have it right now or can wait awhile.
Great movie, almost unbelievable video transfer quality, and a price that is just not right!
Hope this helps.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


An Amazon.com official commented on the review belowSee comments
3,614 of 4,299 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars AVOID THIS EDITION - 20-40 minutes of new missing storyline and no special features. SPECIAL EDITION COMMING SOON!, March 18, 2010
***THINGS YOU MUST KNOW BEFORE YOU BUY***

1. A special edition likely including 20-40 minutes of additional footage is already being leaked to media for release later THIS YEAR!
2. No special features. If you are a fan, of all the discs in your collection this is the one you really want the extra stuff. It really should be amazing!
3. No 3D presentation. New technology in TVs is out this year and should enhance the home 3D experience. I don't usually care about 3D at home but things are changing. Be ready!
4. There is also news that the movie itself will be re-released shortly with the 20-40 minutes of additional content I mentioned above. Why buy the Blu if you can see it with additional content and in the best possible 3D at theaters--- then buy the special edition just a few months later?

I have to echo the comments of a previous reviewer. The studios are becoming so brazen. They released this edition and tried to explain the poor accoutrements by saying "they wanted to save all the space on the disc for the best possible presentation". Are you kidding me? Bust out the extra discs already! Offering this bare bones BR right before re-releasing the movie with additional footage was also a classless act that spits in consumer's faces. Just rent the movie or see the enhanced version in theaters. It will tide you over until the Special Edition comes out.

Lastly, there are plenty of people adding comments that you shouldn't wait for 3D because the home experience with 3D is lack luster or most people don't have the new 3D TVs. That's partly true, however...
IT'S NOT JUST ABOUT 3D! The lack of additional storyline, missing special features and blatent disregard for consumers (in an economic downturn) are what make this a bad deal. There is new home theater technology out this year that should enhance the home 3D experience. Your home theater will catch up. People who are excited about this movie should be standing together against a poor release offering, especially when there are terrific alternatives to hold us over.

Wait a few months and get a much superior release for similar money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No

 
stem
An Amazon.com official commented on this review(What's this?)
Posted on Oct 12, 2010 4:54:44 PM PDT
Latest Information: The extended collector's edition of "Avatar"--with more than eight hours of special features on Blu-ray and more than three hours on DVD--is now available to order at Amazon.com.
 
 

101 of 117 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars And you wonder why people pirate movies......., October 18, 2012
Lets break down the release of Avatar for all to understand. The Avatar 3D blu-ray was eagerly anticipated by everyone who spent good money on a 3D system. Even with high prices, little content worth watching, and uncomfortable, goofy glasses we looked forward to the blu-ray release that put 3D technology on the map. First slap in the face, 20th Century Fox strikes a deal with Panasonic for an exclusive release of Avatar 3D. All you have to do is buy a Panasonic Blu-ray player or 3D glasses kit and a bare bones copy of Avatar in 3D is yours. What about people who already own a Blu-Ray player not to mention a better performer than Panasonic? Unless we spend well over $100.00 we don't have access to the movie. So we grit our teeth, and wait. Then what happens? Fox releases just the Blu-ray version of the movie to the public. For those who don't have 3D TVs, this release makes sense, expect once again, no additional features. No problem, Fox will just wait a bit and release another version of Avatar. This time, a wonderful 3 disc version with the extended movie and loads of extra features. This would be the perfect version to buy, except its missing one important detail. 3D! So we continue to hold off for many months and then the announcement we are waiting for. Avatar: Blu-ray - 3D for sale October 16th! The complaining would end here, unfortunately Fox just loves pissing people off. I go to buy the movie and discover it is once AGAIN, just a bare bones version. WOW, you couldn't just release the movie with the extra features that have already been produced. Even it if cost more at the cashier, don't you think people who waited for the 3D version would want to watch extra features that show how the highest-grossing, most technically advanced movie of all time is created? What's the likely response, "Most fans probably own the 3disc version, you can simply buy this release and have it all." Sure, I enjoy wasting my money by buying multiple versions of a movie. It's a complete waste of resources and unbelievably greedy on the studio's end. Even if you get this newest release, you still don't get the 3D extended version of the movie. We can't win. I'm sure yet another version will come eventually. The 5 disc, extended, multi-Platium, limited edition, collectors series with every feature under the sun. It will be glorious, and it only took three years to get it. Is it so hard to understand why people pirate movies and music? Fox, I would love to unleash a whirlwind of profanity laced commentary on you, but for the sake of not making me look even more pathetic than I already am, I will simply say I'm a grossly disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1,137 of 1,369 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars BE CAREFUL!!!!!, March 17, 2010
As it turns out, Fox has craftily decided to milk "Avatar" for every possibly penny, since the debut DVD/blu-ray will be a bare-bones release -- and it will be one of the first major films to appear in home video without any of the regular special features, such as theatrical trailers, deleted scenes and behind-the-scenes footage.

If you want all the extra features, you'll have to wait until November, when you can buy a second "Avatar" DVD, currently titled the "Ultimate Edition," which will include all of the fancy stuff. And then, if you have really deep pockets, you can come back to the video store next year and buy a third, 3-D, version of the DVD.

So in a nut shell... This Blu-ray/DVD release JUST has the movie on it! NOTHING ELSE. NO EXTRAS, NO TRAILERS, NO SPECIAL FEATURES.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


43 of 51 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely amazing in 3D, July 6, 2011
By 
BuilderBob "Bob" (BEVERLY HILLS, FL, US) - See all my reviews
I must admit I was a little skeptical about the quality of the 3D version. I was pleasantly surprised I felt as if I was in the movie myself I loved it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


52 of 63 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Avatar 3D's Finally Here!!! -OR--Too Little Too Late?, August 14, 2012
By 
FINAL UPDATE: My original review(below) was designed to help people get information about the 3D release(Theatrical version in 3D and a 2D DVD copy--with no extras), before it was available to the general public. This review was written before the extended collector's edition was available. I hope those of you who purchased either the 3D or extended editions are enjoying it.

UPDATE 10/2012: Final 3D release price was $24.96

UPDATE 8/2012: Just want to clear up a misconception that some people may have. In order to view the Panasonic Exclusive edition you did NOT need to own a 3D Panasonic HDTV and Blu-ray player. It worked on ANY 3D system. It was, however, only FREE to those who purchased Panasonic HDTV's, Blu-ray players and 3D Starter Kits during Panasonic's special promotion periods.

As this "Collector's Edition" is currently only a Pre-order item the purpose of my review is to provide information on what exactly this edition will contain as information becomes available and to address some obvious questions about the release (feel free to skip around to any questions that interest you). I own Avatar 3D(Panasonic Exclusive) and it is indeed terrific eye candy and a stunning showpiece in our 3D collection.

--Is it worth owning? Absolutely, if you have the 3D technology, liked the movie or simply want a great 3D experience.
--Should you buy it now if you've been waiting for it? Certainly, haven't you waited long enough for a 3D general release? It's time to finally see it.
--Should you pre-order it now if you want it? I would. Amazon could raise the price of this item before the release date or after if it's a big success. (Pre-orders are not billed to you credit card until the item is ready to ship. So your credit card will not be charged until about 3-5 days before the release)
--Should you buy it if you already have the 3D Panasonic Exclusive? Probably not. Rent or borrow it, but hold out for the 3D Extended Collector's Edition.

While of course I haven't actually seen this NEW edition yet, here is what I do know about it. This new two-disc Avatar 3D Blu-ray Collector's Edition will feature the original THEATRICAL release and be available in all-new special collectible packaging. The 2D and 3D theatrical versions of the film will be accessible on the Blu-ray disc and the included DVD will be 2D only. There has been no mention of this version including the extended cut of the movie or any extra special features or goodies. Even so, right now it looks like the NEW Amazon version will be better than the Panasonic Exclusive release. (The Panasonic Exclusive had no extras and didn't come with a separate standard DVD copy)

Is the new Avatar (3D Blu-ray Collector's Edition) going to have all of the versions and extras available on the non 3D Avatar (Three-Disc Extended Collector's Edition + BD-Live) [Blu-ray]?
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
The official announcement said that it will be the THEATRICAL cut. My guess is that if they were including other versions they would have said so as this would have created more of a buzz. There is speculation though that it will contain some new extras as this has become James Cameron's pet project.

Multiple sources have correctly predicted that when the 3D version was finally released it would not be a "complete" edition and Fox and Cameron would attempt to double dip by offering a barebones edition first(October, 2012) and then a complete edition with the 3 versions of the movie and extras later on down the road. (as they did with the DVD versions) Many people will be very disappointed or even angry about this issue while others will be extremely happy to at last be able to own a copy of Avatar in 3D.

Will this theatrical Collector's Edition be exactly the same as the Panasonic exclusive edition in regards to picture quality and sound?
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
The official press announcement stated "this release offers the highest picture quality possible". The original movie was created using the Fusion Camera System, a digital movie camera system developed by James Cameron and Vince Pace and shot on multi format 3D Sony cameras. Avatar 3D is pretty much still the benchmark to which every 3D movie released in the USA is compared. It is hard to believe that it can or will be improved upon.

What languages and with what subtitles will this new 3D edition be offered?
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Amazon's Product details say "Language: English, French, Spanish, Subtitles: English, French, Spanish". However, the Panasonic Exclusive said:
"Master Audio is English 5.1 DTS, French Spanish and Portuguese Audio in 5, Subtitles in English, French, Spanish and Portuguese" so I guess the only question is regarding Portuguese.

Will this be a Region Free release?
---------------------------------------
The 3D Panasonic Exclusive was Region Free(Confirmed for Region A, B, C). I would guess that this release will be the same although currently it is only confirmed for Region A (Region B & C are untested).

Are people complaining that this release doesn't contain the extended version(cut) of the movie or that it's not an extended Collector's Edition?:
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Well, both actually. It's about not having to spend more hard earned money on yet another version of Avatar and also about getting a different cut of the movie.
1) Those who already own the 3D Avatar Panasonic Exclusive(2D/3D single disc blu-ray) really wanted this to be the extended cut(16 additional minutes, including alternate opening on earth) or contain both the theatrical and the extended cut of the movie. Yes, this release does have an extra DVD copy(2nd disc) but otherwise there's nothing new.

2) Those who own both the 3D Avatar Panasonic Exclusive AND the non-3D Collector's Edition Blu-ray AND those who never purchased ANY version of this movie wanted this release to be the final, complete release with all 3 versions of the movies plus all the extras and goodies, hence, a TRUE COMPLETE 3D COLLECTOR'S EDITION.

About the Extended version: The "extended cut" of Avatar is not simply 16 additional minutes slammed onto the front end of the movie. It does start differently which adds some time to the beginning scenes but the 16 minutes difference is much more. It's little bits added and cut here and there(scenes, dialogue, locations, action) which many people feel made it a better movie. Other reviewers felt the extended cut "lends further depth to the characters", "fills in important parts of the storyline", "enhances one's enjoyment of the film", and that "the Extended Edition of AVATAR and regular theatrical version are like watching two different films". Here's a review that detailed the exact changes if you're interested(beware! contains spoilers):
http://www.amazon.com/review/R1ENZY9G8KPC3N/ref=cm_cr_rdp_perm?ie=UTF8&ASIN=B0044XV3QY&linkCode=&nodeID=&tag=

So I guess the big question is whether this 3D version will be too little too late? (My thoughts)
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
By now almost anyone who liked this movie already owns it in either DVD or Blu-ray form. My hunch is that this release will sell EXTREMELY well no matter what's on it! There is a large group of people who have patiently waited for this 3D release and the price is certainly affordable for almost everyone. PLUS, since the original theater showing of this film in 2009 many people have been slowly upgrading to 3D HDTV's and 3D Blu-ray players(or bought a Playstation 3). The big selling point here for Avatar in 3D is that technically 3D is "the way it was meant to be seen" as developed by director James Cameron. Hype or not, on that premise alone people are likely to purchase it. Probably even people who don't especially like the sci-fi/fantasy genre and/or have NEVER seen the movie but now have a 3D HDTV setup will be buying it.

Since Cameron has announced "I'm in the "Avatar" business. Period. That's it. I'm making "Avatar 2," "Avatar 3," maybe "Avatar 4," and I'm not going to produce other people's movies for them." we know that this movie is just the beginning of what he has to say "in terms of the state of the world and what I think we need to be doing about it."

What exactly makes this a "Collector's Edition"?
------------------------------------------------------
If it only has the theatrical cut and not the extended cut is there really anything so "limited" or special about it? After waiting so long for this general release, for $27.99 I feel we should be getting more than just the barebones 3D edition. I feel cheated. This is certainly a 5-star movie based on technical merit alone, but I'll reserve the last star until I'm totally certain what the "Collector's Edition" contains. After all, this isn't really a review of just the movie. There have already been 5 releases of Avatar(2 DVD, 2 Blu-ray, 1 3D Panasonic exclusive). So a review of a "Collector's Edition" also needs to look at what's on the discs and the packaging too. The new cover art is pretty cool, but if they put this in a steelbook case or it had a stereoscopic jacket, now that would be something.

Food For Thought: I'm not quite sure why Amazon and other websites are tagging this as a "Collector's Edition". This just isn't true. The box art simply says "Limited Edition" and even Cameron didn't call it a collector's edition in his press release. It should just be listed as "Avatar - Limited 3D Edition".
UPDATE: Amazon has changed the title name of this offering to "Avatar (3D Blu-ray + Blu-ray/ DVD Combo Pack)" and removed the Collector's Edition working. Thank you Amazon.

Conclusion:
-------------
It's great that Avatar will finally be available to the general public in October. There will be much rejoicing over this in many homes.
However, Cameron's exclusive Panasonic deal has left a bad taste in many of our mouths. I think that in the next 2 months or so you will hear echoed everywhere the thoughts of so many "If only it were the Extended Edition".

Historical Info:
-----------------
Panasonic's rights to the Avatar 3D theatrical version expired Feb 29, 2012 and it was expected that a general release would follow in March or April. That was not to be. But Century Fox Home Entertainment is finally going to release the 3D version in October 2012 and you can now own it for the pre-order price of $27.99. Amazon's final release price was $24.96 in October.

If 3D TV is new to you just be aware that to watch this movie in 3D you need:
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
1.) a 3D capable HDTV,
2.) any 3D capable blu-ray player or a Playstation 3 (RE Playstation 3: You may need to initialize your PS3 for 3D with your display)
3.) 3D glasses compatible with your 3D HDTV brand.
4.) An HDMI cable. (some may need/want a high speed HDMI cable, but your current HDMI cable may be able to handle a 3D signal)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


411 of 528 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Blu-Ray Review (not a review of the movie!), April 22, 2010
Five months after "Avatar" received its initial big-screen release, we are presented with its first release to the home-video market. Much has been written about the double and triple-dipping. We know this is a bare-bones release, devoid of ANY extras, special features, deleted scenes, commentary, etc. We know the studio is releasing a more complete edition of the film on Blu-ray in November 2010, and a 3D version at some point in the future. We've all heard the complaints from those who think this stripped-down version is merely a cash grab. So now Earth Day has arrived, and "Avatar" has been released in this bare-bones edition. For those who, like me, love the movie, and want to have something on-hand to enjoy until the more thorough release arrives in the months to come, is this worth it?

In a word, yes.

This Blu-ray is the movie only, with some basic search/bookmarking features and subtitles. There is no commentary, no trailers, no previews, no annoying advertisements that play before the movie starts. It's the movie only, much like the way DVDs presented films back in the early days of that format. You insert the disc (the disc loads and starts playing automatically in my Sony BDP-S570). There will be a moment or two of a blank screen as the disc loads. You'll see a brief message informing you to update your player's firmware if you experience any problems playing the disc. Then you'll see a piracy warning (thankfully it's brief), and then a basic Fox Home Video title screen. Now you come to a nicely animated menu screen, which gives you options to play the film, set up your options or search for a scene or bookmark.

The disc has an advanced feature which allows you to resume playback if you power your player off during the film playback. This option comes on automatically when you turn on the player again, even if you've removed the disc and reinserted it.

The video quality is astonishing, easily besting last month's Toy Story and Toy Story 2 releases from Disney. You have a full 16x9 (1.78:1) picture, which is how I remember the film being presented in RealD and Dolby 3D Digital in theatres. Colors are crisp and bright. No visible artifacts.

Audio is superb, a quite robust mix that will engage fully your 7.1 system.

This is the finest-looking Blu-ray of the year, thus far, and the best way to enjoy the film until the next more complete edition is released in November. Is this stripped-down edition a cash grab? I don't think so. I appreciate having a bare-bones release. It's refreshing to have a disc that is the movie only. Who needs all the junk that we get on most Blu-ray discs? Yes a making-of documentary would be fun, but is there anyone who loves the movie who doesn't already have some idea of the craft that went into making it?

This release is for people who love the movie, end of story. If you love the movie, you'll appreciate having such a wonderful, flawless transfer to enjoy in high definition at home. If you don't love the movie, you will find things to quibble about such as the lack of extras. I, for one, am happy with what we've got now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


73 of 93 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding movie!, June 13, 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I find it amazing that so many of the people who reviewed this disc whined about it having no "extras". I buy a disc because I want to watch the movie and enjoy it, over and over. I have no interest whatsoever in all the extras, deleted scenes, commentaries, interviews, bells, whistles, fireworks, violins, etc. that clutter up most movie discs today. That is all nothing but an excuse that the studios can use to double the price of the disc and they do nothing to enhance the enjoyment of the film. This disc was fine for the purpose of anyone who wants to enjoy the film. What is even better is that even though it reads as "widescreen" it was put out in an aspect ratio that makes it fill virtually the entire screen of your tv set. I throughly detest the "widescreen" format that leaves you watching a movie that fills the center third of your screen, with huge black blocks at top and bottom. What, exactly, is the point of buying giant big screen tv's when movie discs leave one third of your screen blank at the top and another third blank at the bottom, leaving you to watch a movie squeezed into the middle of your screen? I was not able to see Avatar in the theaters, so I wanted to see it at home. And when I did I was enchanted. The fantasy world of Pandora is utterly breath-taking, with colors so vivid you wonder if you ever saw real color before this. Cameron has done it again; someday the film world will stop doubting him. Bigger, better, more amazing, more entertaining, he does it all. Film reviewers keep grouching that his characters are steriotypes, his dialogue clunky----but I think I am sensing sour grapes here. I think all the critics wish that they could have made a movie that was not only marvelous, but made so much money it is unbelieveable. As for steriotypes? Did you ever wonder why something is a steriotype? Mostly because it is a character that speaks deeply to people, and is very, very popular. The story of Avatar is that of a weary hero, very much abused and alone, finding himself willing to risk everything, even his chance at a new life, for a girl, a people and a world he has come to love. The hero that stands against great odds, to defend what is right, is an eternal figure. He has existed in every time, land and race since humanity began to dream. Humanity needs such heros, real or fictional. We all wish we could be such heros. The filming of Avatar is ground breaking, the story ideas interesting, the visual effect gorgeous. You fly with dragons, run through giant forests, fight enemies, find love, taste disaster and triumph. The basic story is simple---but all the very best stories are. Especially the ones that last. As I think this one will. So get this disc, enjoy the movie, the adventure and the beauty. It is a fantastic "feel good" film. And there's not a damned thing wrong with that as far I can see.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


72 of 92 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply put: The best Picture and Audio available on any format. (Blu Ray review), April 23, 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Let me start off by saying that I am one of the people that saw Avatar multiple times in theaters and loved it. The CGI , as well as the 3D technology infused, were by far the best I have ever seen. James Cameron and all of the people who participated in the making of this movie did a tremendous job. Weta workshop is taking its place at the top of the mountain, as far as visual effects companies go. Watching this movie was like being transported to a different universe. I was completely immersed throughout the almost three hours I was in the theater.

As for the story and acting for the film, I am probably in the minority on most of these reviews. The story for me, while predictable and reminiscent of other movies I'd seen previously (What movie isn't nowadays?), was extremely enjoyable. Watching this made me feel young again. It made me forget about all the worries that an adult life brings, and just enjoy myself in the moment. Many people argue that the acting in this movie was subpar. These people say that the portrayals of the characters were downright cartoonish. I would argue strongly against that. For the type of movie that this is, the good versus evil portrayals given by the actors works in the movie's favor. Sam Worthington especially does well. If you haven't seen him in Terminator: Salvation, do so. He made the movie worth watching.

Now, to get to the actual product at hand. I ordered the Blu Ray / DVD combo pack from Amazon. From the moment the menu came onto my screen, I knew this was going to be something special. When I pressed play, there was no turning back. Over the next three hours, my senses were completely assaulted and my mind was dumbstruck. Simply put, James Cameron's Avatar on the Blu Ray format is the best picture and audio we have seen or heard to date. I have a feeling it will be years before anything better is brought to the table. Watching the visuals was more stimulating than looking at a real life forest. Every detail could be seen from far and away. The walls of my house shook, and I just hope the neighbors did hear. I would tell them to buy the movie themselves and experience it.

With this release comes certain issues. While I don't have any of them myself, I will still talk about them as it would be uninformative of me to not. This release of Avatar is not in 3D. Many people complain about this, and a large percentage of those people do not even have the right equipment to properly experience 3D yet. The technology for home theater 3D is very new and very pricey. Next year, after all the quirks have been worked out, is when we will likely see Avatar in a home release 3D format. Another gripe is the complete lack of special features. This again has a good reason. In the Special Edition coming later this year, there will be scenes incorporated into the movie not even visually completed yet. Documentaries in high definition have to be put together. A commentary track needs to be recorded. No one is being forced to buy this "stripped" edition, however. I am one of the people who will knowingly double or triple dip on this. The reason for that is because I love it so much.

Now to the biggest complaint. During the initial release, many people were complaining that Avatar would not play in their Blu Ray players. The reason for that seems to be some new copy protection put on the disc. While I was not one of the people with this problem, I can certainly sympathize with those who did. A new firmware update is all it will take to fix the issue. My PS3, which serves as my Blu Ray player, had a firmware update ready for me before I watched the movie.

So if you are one of the millions who loved Avatar when you saw it in theaters, or one of the people who didn't get around to seeing it, now is your time. Pick this movie up right away without hesitation. Keep an open mind, and let yourself become immersed. You do not want to miss what many people believe is one of the top movies of all time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars INCREDIBLE 3D MOVIE, I HATE BAREBONES!!!!, October 15, 2012
I'm holding out for the "Totally-Greedy Avatar Anniversary-Edition 32-Disc 3D BD/DVD Combo exclusive diamond platinum gold silver bronze rock paper scissors ultimate limited extended special definitive remastered collector's director's cut w/lossless audio, UltraViolet digital copies, CD soundtracks, notepads, post-its, coasters, and a shot glass."

Thank you very much!

P.S. Oh, True Lies and The Abyss, as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2329 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa314eabc)

This product

Only search this product's reviews
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.