Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Book 2 Earth, Vol. 1, January 30, 2007
This review is from: Avatar The Last Airbender - Book 2 Earth, Vol. 1 (DVD)
The Avatar is a cartoon series open to people of all ages. If you have not yet watched the series, it is basically about a boy named Aang who must master bending (controlling) the four major elements of the world (Earth, Water, Fire and Air) in order to save the world. Aang is the only hope left to stop the long 100-year war started by the Fire Nation.

The best thing about this particular DVD is that unlike its predecessors, this one includes 5 episodes! In Book 2: Earth, Vol. 1, the included episodes are:

Chapter 1: The Avatar State. In Aang's visit to an Earth Kingdom city, the general tries to help Aang reach the Avatar state in order to use his power against the Fire Nation. Is this Earth Kingdom general really trying to help Aang?

Chapter 2: The Cave of Two Lovers. Aang and his gang decide to head back to Omashu to visit King Bumi in hopes he'll teach Aang Earth bending. Their run-in with some nomads leads them to a cursed cave! All they need to do to get out is to "trust in love," but is it really that simple?

Chapter 3: Return to Omashu. When they arrive at Omashu, something seems different. The Fire Nation has taken over! And where's King Bumi? Aang, Katara, and Sokka also encounter the evil Azula and her 3 friends for the first time. Expert killers, will Aang and his friends make it out of Omashu safely without finding Aang's old friend?

Chapter 4: The Swamp. While passing over a swamp on Appa, Aang thinks he hears it calling to him. After trying to ignore it, a random tornado forces him and his friends to land on ground. There is something mystical about this swamp, but Aang can't quite figure it out. Although skeptical Sokka tries hard to seek a logical way out of the forrest, there is someone watching. Does danger always follow the Avatar around?

Chapter 5: Avatar Day. After escaping from a small herd of Fire Nation soldiers, Aang makes his way to the city of Chin to discover that he's right in time for Avatar Day! However, it's not all what he expects it to be and the local townspeople are now accusing him of a crime centuries old. Can detective Sokka and Katara help clear Aang's name?

The next set of chapters come out April 10 of this year, so collectors should keep an eye out. If you haven't seen this show yet, check your local listings of the show on Nickelodeon. Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Avatar The Last Airbender Book 2 Vol 1, January 13, 2007
This review is from: Avatar The Last Airbender - Book 2 Earth, Vol. 1 (DVD)
I am a 39 yr old father of 2 sons(6 yr old and 3). We watch Avatar faithfully with my wife who also enjoys the show imensely. It is the the only show on TV that the entire family watches together! It is one of the most beautifully animated cartoons on television. To refer to it as a mere cartoon is a diservice since the writing is far superior than 90% of all other tv shows. This show is not created strictly for children. The shows has very interesting and complex characters who are involved in a long story arc involving main protagonist(Ang) and his friends. The second season ,which this disc is the beginning of is just as interesting and exciting as the first season. The direction the show's plot goes is very compelling. I espeacially love how the show contains the right amount of comic relief and dosen't rely on any overtly cutesy chacters to blatantly apeal to children or girls (like most "serious" cartoons do).There are however several strong female characters in Avatar that take a major role in season 2's plot. What I like most about Avatar is that not everting presented in the show is black and white but in shades of grey. What I mean is that not all the characters are predictable and that they are changing throughout the show from new experiences.Is there violence in the show? Yes but it is not graphic or gratuitous and is there only to serve the plot.In addition to to the amazing animation and fabulous story telling it's the chacters who make this show worth watching.Anyone who is partial to fantasy or really good animation will enjoy this show.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Avatar is the kewlest show By; Noah x stid, October 29, 2006
This review is from: Avatar The Last Airbender - Book 2 Earth, Vol. 1 (DVD)
I am a 14 year old boy in menlo park, and yes, i love Avatar. I first saw this show when i was 12 and have loved it ever since. I love the way the Characters Aang, Katara and Sokka interact and mature through the show, helping and saving others while trying to throw off the fire nation persecuters. Also, the passionate animation and beutiful action scenes really stir me deep inside because all the bending disciplines are based on real Kung Fu.in this DVD there will be the episodes

1. the avatar state- Aang learns about the avatar state and is attacked by a mean earthkingdom general who wants to use tis power

2. The cave of two lovers- Aang and Katara get trapped in a dark cave

3.Return to Omashu- Aang goes back to learn earthbending from king bumi, but Omashu has changed

4.the swamp- Aang & co go to a swamp and learn about zen.

i really like this show, and i think you will too. but i would recommend seeing Book 1, water before watching Book 2 earth. peace out!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THIS SHOW ROCKS!, November 9, 2006
This review is from: Avatar The Last Airbender - Book 2 Earth, Vol. 1 (DVD)
This is a fabulous television show. It has been quite a challenge to find something my entire family can enjoy watching together -- but Avatar can keep the attention of a four-year-old girl, a twelve-year-old boy, two gen-exers, and a grandpa. The characters are well-developed, the story is well-constructed, the animation is beautiful and the martial arts sequences are choreographed beautifully. It's adventurous and thrilling but not violent or scary. And it's funny. The episodes can stand alone, but the story also follows a linear path that moves at a nice pace and doesn't drag on forever...I could drag on forever about this show...It ROCKS!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pleasure and Frustration and Patience, November 22, 2006
This review is from: Avatar The Last Airbender - Book 2 Earth, Vol. 1 (DVD)
Avatar: The Last Airbender is certainly one of the best shows to come out of Nick in a long long... long time. The continuing serial storyline is in-depth, multi-layered, and follows a number of characters who are entertaining to watch. For this reason I am giving this product five stars.

BUT...

My frustration is over the fact that they continue to release the seasons in this broken up format of four episodes per volume. By the time Book 2, Vol 1 is released, the entire second season will have already aired. In due course it will be released as a season long package, but to have us wait simply to try to pull extra bucks from the less patient is (although understandable) annoying as hell.

My suggestion to everyone, satisfy your Avatar needs by watching re-runs on TV or viewing the fuzzy low-rez versions on YouTube (hopefully they will remain there). Eventually the entire Book 2 package will be released when they get to releasing Vol. 5 and you will be able to get everything from Episode 201 to 220 in one feld swoop... and more importantly, at a reduced total price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Family of 6 and we all Love this show!!, January 19, 2007
By 
Mommy of Many "Crazy" (Wherever life leads us) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Avatar The Last Airbender - Book 2 Earth, Vol. 1 (DVD)
I must echo what many reviews state... This is a beautifully animated show!! There are plenty of laughs for Mom and Dad as well as our 4 children. We own all of Book 1 and are waiting impatiently for the rest to be released. Unpredictable characters, their roles always seem to be changing... One of the few shows I allow my children to watch, and one of the few that we all enjoy equally!! I encourage you to watch with or without the kids since I feel this is for everyone!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Almost Perfect, November 4, 2006
This review is from: Avatar The Last Airbender - Book 2 Earth, Vol. 1 (DVD)
I am writing to show that Avatar: The Last Airbender is also appealing to those in my age group. I started watching the show at age 19. I'm 21 now and Japanese Animation is a personal obbsession.

As this is a more kid friendly series I only gave it a four. But don't let that stop you. The series is amazing. Watching all of these wonderful characters face fears, obstacles, and war together is truly moving.

And it matures as it advances, just making it all the better for people to watch. This isn't just for kids, it's good for everyone. If you're an anime fan, you should watch this series just because it's got all of the art value, story line advancement, and just enough cuddly interaction to keep you bolted to your seat.

It's got you before you know it. Try it out, you'll like it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best cartoon on TV today, November 17, 2006
This review is from: Avatar The Last Airbender - Book 2 Earth, Vol. 1 (DVD)
As other comments have already expressed this show is utterly amazing.

I'm 30 years old, no kids, and I love this show. I have shown all my friends this series and they have all fallen in love with it as well.

It is really something to find a series that appeals to so many age groups.

Book 2 though does start to get a bit darker from Book 1 though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great viewing for kids (especially young boys), March 8, 2007
By 
W. Beyer (New York, USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Avatar The Last Airbender - Book 2 Earth, Vol. 1 (DVD)
Avatar is a great series for children of ages between 5-10. Parents should feel comfortable in allowing children to view this series as the content is non-offensive. There is the eastern philosphy within the series and martial arts are part of each of the 4 nations within the story but there is not a domination of violence and there is no gore shown at all. Even when the martial arts are utilized, it is non-contact as the characters are "bending" and element to attack their opponent. Good usually pervails over evil and the main character is attempting to save the 4 nations to bring peace to the world. It is hard to find such an enjoyable cartoon for children (and adults) but this is one I would highly recommend. The shows can be watched multiple times without tiring of them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Series, February 17, 2007
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Avatar The Last Airbender - Book 2 Earth, Vol. 1 (DVD)
We too watch this series as a family. It's story has a plot with endearing characters who have flaws and a sense of humor. This is probably my favorite DVD, because the Cave of Two Lovers is the funniest episode that they have made as yet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Avatar The Last Airbender - Book 2 Earth, Vol. 1
$14.98 $9.15
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.