Winter Driving Best Books of the Month Valentine's Day Shop Learn more nav_sap_SWP_6M_fly_beacon King Bose SoundLink AE All-New Amazon Fire TV Subscribe & Save Valentine's Day Cards Find the Best Purina Pro Plan for Your Pet Amazon Gift Card Offer chiraq chiraq chiraq  Amazon Echo All-New Fire Kindle Paperwhite Prime Exclusive Savings in Video Games Shop Now SnS

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on September 24, 2012
Espisode 2x19 "Code Red" is reminiscent of 1990s Batman, with a plot based on political intrigue and duplicitous villains. It has the rare effect of making me wish the episode lasted longer. Generally "Mightiest Heroes" has consisted of very short stories, even in its two-parters and long arcs, but "Code Red" seems to cry out for 10 more minutes of exposition.

But that's a good thing, a glowing result, in fact. This cartoon offers up good action and plot, and leaves me wanting just a little more. Kind of the perfect recipe.
11 comment6 of 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 20, 2012
"The Avengers: Earth's Mightiest Heroes" is one of the best written conversions of comics to animated form that I've seen. They did everything from the origins, to acts of vengence, to the Skrull Invasion, and Season 2 had so much more. Now they've decided to cancel it in favor of a new cartoon based on the movie... I really wish they'd just left well enough alone. The target audience will love it whether it's based on the movie or not, and the stories had so many more places to go.
In fact, I really can't believe that they only gave Galactus a single episode. That probably should have been a season. And we're left to our imaginations for where they could have gone with the Surtur storyline.
0Comment3 of 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 22, 2012
...but it's starting to improve. (Although the new opening for each episode sounds like it's aimed at 8-year olds, and I see that the PC forces have converted Thor from the "God of Thunder", to the "Prince of Thunder".) In any event, the stories are starting to become more mature and more complex again. I hope this indicates a trend toward matching the quality of season one.
0Comment3 of 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 10, 2012
Season 2 is still more of an all-ages show, watered down from Season 1, but things just got better with episode 17. Now we're back to just a hint of maturity and layered characters. I think this episode has the first use of the word "die" so far in this season.

Still, it's not quite as violent and sharply toned as Season 1. Remember, Season 1 had the theme song starting with the lyric "The world's about to break." The episodes made good on that promise with things like Banner defending the Hulk's heroism and Ant Man hating Stark's guts. Season 1 was about as mature as "Batman Beyond," where season 2 is closer to Justice League or The Batman.
0Comment5 of 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 26, 2012
This one I'm going to keep short and sweet.

Almost everything I raved about in my review of season one applies equally to season two. The art continues to be extremely stylish, and to preserve that ever so slightly "gritty" comic book feel that we rarely get to see in animation. On the level of the individual episodes, the storytelling is action packed, lightning paced, and riveting. The season-spanning story arcs are cleverly put together and emotionally engaging. Indeed, I should really say "series-spanning", because the continuity here is seamless: much of what we see in season two flows on directly from season one.

The bottom line is that this is a great show that both children and adults can enjoy. It's smart, but accessible. It may not deconstruct its own genre in the way that Watchmen or Justice League Unlimited did. But it does give us both characters and a universe of genuine depth and complexity. One of the many things I love about this show is that very occasionally, it does dip its toe in the waters of the broader Marvel Universe. Just as in season one we had a couple of members of the Fantastic Four show up for poker night, this time around we get a team-up with everyone's favorite hometown hero, Spider-Man. Not just the kind of team-up that simply means that there's an extra guy in spandex to punch the baddies, either. All the classic Spider-Man braggadocio and angst come along for the ride.

So yes, as superhero cartoons go, this is one of the great ones.

About the only down side worth mentioning is that they've spoiled the rather stylish season one opening titles by overlaying an extremely cheesy voice over, consisting of a kind of micro-bio of the team as a whole, and of a few of the main characters (e.g. "The Hulk! Strongest hero there is!").

That, and the fact that this, the second season, is also apparently the last.

Why, Marvel?

Why???

Theo.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 9, 2014
this show is awesome!!!!!!!! the perfect cartoon avengers ever!!!! I mean "Avenger's Assemble" is good but its some kind of different animation, for cartoons animated like this one, perfect!!!!!
they even included the red hulk!! Winter soldier!!!! showed spiderman and fantastic four with the avengers its the best show ever, loved it when they beat galactus I still watch that episode over and over lol.

I just really do not understand why they have no continued the series, only 2 seasons which is like 5 volumes? they should keep going and make more!!!!!!!!!

all the good cartoons have like 100 or more episodes like GiJoe for example, there is no excuse why this one should not continue with more episodes, season series ect..
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 8, 2012
Season one had a fantastic combination of intrieguing plots, clever writing, humor, great voice acting, and solid animation. While I liked Marvel's The Avengers movie, I wish that the team who developed this series (Christopher Yost and crew) could have written the live action movie. Anyway, season 2 picks up where one left off. First episode even has an extensive cameo by the Fantastic Four, which was very cool. They've done a good job of drawing the various story arcs together as introduced plenty of new material to keep things fresh. Can't wait for the season two finale!
0Comment3 of 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 28, 2013
I love this show and am bitterly disappointed it was canceled before it really got going. The writers handed the twisting story lines expertly and made sure to give all the Avengers enough face time to make the viewers care about each one of them. This show has a really good Loki too which is very hard to do and currently only this show and the Avenger's movie have managed to pull off.

This show is a must watch for kids and adults.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 15, 2014
This show was awesome. A great way to expand fans of the Avengers movie to the other heroes that make up the marvel universe. Although only 2 seasons , it hit upon some of the best avengers storylines from the comics, but tweaks them enough that the story stays fresh for fans of the books, like myself. I would much prefer to watch these two seasons of avengers:earths mightiest heroes, than the newer but less superior avengers assemble.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 14, 2013
I started watching this series because my daughter liked season 1 so much, she wanted to continue on. We ended up counting the days until the next episode was released! The writers of this show did an excellent job of character development, creating excitement, giving the audience plenty of action, and leaving questions unanswered to keep us coming back for more. Excellent entertainment for all ages.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse