Professional restaurant supplies Textbook Trade In Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it Sixx AM Fire TV Stick Subscribe & Save Made in Italy Amazon Gift Card Offer out2 out2 out2  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors Kindle Paperwhite Shop Now May4th

Format: Blu-ray|Change
Price:$7.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on March 24, 2014
How bad is Avengers Confidential? Depends. How do you like your cliches served up?

If you love 'em coming at you every other minute, you'll love this film. AC will offer you classic lines like, "He died in vain for no good reason." And "this terrorist group is behind every evil deed on the planet!"

Yes, the writing is that good [horrible].

Avengers Confidential starts strong for the first three minutes, then the Black Widow arrives. It's all downhill from there, folks. A canned secret terrorist organization plot, a really unbelievable character arc involving Black Widow that you could watch ten times and still not swallow, horrible voice acting, and a Thor Ex Machina all make this film A TOTAL PIECE OF GARBAGE.

You have to watch this to understand how bad the script and dialog are. They really are that bad. Really. That. Bad.

So bad.

Why the one extra star? Because the fight scenes are done well and the animation is pretty darn good.

Do not buy this film. Do not support Marvel Animation. Do not support crap efforts. Make Marvel realize that they need to improve the quality of their films before we'll buy them.
2424 comments|92 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 4, 2015
I never expected this movie to be big. When I saw the trailer it looked ok but when I saw the clip on YouTube it was amazing, right after I saw the clip I had to buy the movie. After buying the movie and watching it, it's more than just amazing, it's the best Marvel Anime Movie ever. I read on Wikipedia that there's a TV show like this with the same Anime support like in the movie but some I think are only seen in Japan.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 14, 2014
the movie was great. it eventually had everyone and some new characters but i wont spoil it much. graphically impressive art style. its an impressive side of the characters and pretty gritty but it was pretty cool to see it make sense all in one film. there is possibly a sequel in the works.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 3, 2014
Following up Iron Man: Rise Of Technovore from a year prior, Marvel Anime continues its line with this, their second full-length movie. Having already done four TV series that were slightly connected and taking place in their own version of the Marvel Universe, this time we switch gears to a team-up with two of the comics' regular solo-artists. Even though it says "Avengers" in the title, it mostly centers around The Punisher and Black Widow, Agent of SHIELD.

Punisher captures Cain, an arms dealer, but Black Widow and SHIELD appear to take Punisher in for getting in the way of their investigation of Cain's supplier, a terrorist organization known as Leviathan(no relation to the DC Comics group of the same name). Nick Fury makes a deal with Punisher for him to help SHIELD capture Leviathan by teaming up with Widow to track them down. The unlikely duo sneak into Leviathan's base where Widow is shocked to discover their whole operation is being supervised by Elihas Starr, a former SHIELD scientist who was presumed dead, and only happened to be Widow's lover. Now, he's enhanced himself as well as an army of kidnapped spies into super-soldiers using DNA taken from various members of the Avengers. Elihas did this for Leviathan so that he would be worthy of being with Widow because the fact she was a super-spy and an Avenger can make a fella feel inadequate, although faking your own death and selling out to terrorists is a little extreme. Widow and Punisher barely make it out alive with a peace of Leviathan's tech used to brainwash spies, which Punisher was exposed to temporarily turning him into killing machine. SHIELD's resident techie, Amadeus Cho, manages to create some special shades that block out the hypno-rays. They then find out Leviathan is holding a special auction for their super-soldiers on Madripoor(which was the location for about half of the Wolverine anime series)for a bunch of supervillains. Widow and Punisher head out there first to sabotage their efforts, and then the rest of the Avengers show up, including: Iron-Man, Captain Marvel(formally Ms. Marvel), Thor, and War Machine, but still no Spider-Man! Widow runs into Eliahas and convinces him to turn against Leviathan, so they go to take on his boss, Orion. Elihas ends up being killed in the fight, but Punisher shows up to put a knife right in Orion's one eye. In the vein of Blade II, the movie ends with Punisher tracking down Cain for a final kill.

This was a pretty decent extension of the Marvel Universe, although not totally related to the comics or any of the live-action movies. It has some great direction by Kenichi Shimizu and the rest of the Madhouse crew, with exceptionally fine details to the characters and vibrant fight scenes. You can see this movie on its own without having seen any of the other Marvel Anime stuff, although its a great successor to the series as a whole so far.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 2, 2015
Frank Castle should get a restraining order against S.H.I.E.L.D. and the Avengers because he should have never been dragged into this mess of a direct-to-video movie.

While in principle, The Punisher and Black Widow *should* make a great pairing, this movie went in directions The Punisher just didn't belong. As a Punisher fan his material should be dark and gritty, no-holds-barred violence, with a bit of a detective pulp noir armosphere. He isn't about getting involved with super villain plots to take over the world or thwarting the evil clone army machinations of baddies out to do battle with the Earth's mightiest heroes. No. So what is Frank doing in this Avengers movie? He's so out of place, they may as well paired Black Widow with Howard the Duck.

When not with the Avengers, Black Widow is a vastly more down-to-earth super spy and assassin. With that kind of background it should have been a snap to weave a story where her's and The Punisher's paths crossed and combined into one of mutual blood-soaked interest. One would think that would have been the direction MAD House would gone with this pairing when pitching this story. Unfortunately they got too caught up in their permission to use the Avengers franchise and its characters. While I wouldn't have been opposed to one or two of the other Avengers putting in a cameo appearance (Hawkeye or Cap would fit in well depending on the story), The Punisher has no business sharing the same screen with Iron Man, the Hulk, or Thor (though was kind of nice to see Captain Marvel getting some attention, even if very limited). Frank is *not* Batman. He doesn't hang with super heroes, nor does he get along with them (barring his association with the Thunderbolts, which ended badly for them due to Frank's inability to play nice with others).

This offering was a terrible waste of a vastly solid potential for what could have been a truly great movie.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 5, 2014
Movie was decent but must be a fan of this anime type style animation or you'll probably be dissappointed with character and drawing style. Is not like the animation in most of the Marvel shows you might be used to.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 3, 2016
I choose this rating because the movie is good. What I like about the movie is that two legendary heroes. One unstoppable force. After interfering with a top secret mission, The Punisher is taken into custody by S.H.I.E.L.D. Agent and Avenger, Black Widow. At the orders of Director Nick Fury, Punisher and Black Widow are sent on a mission to stop Leviathan, a global terrorist organization, that plans to sell stolen S.H.I.E.L.D. technology to the highest bidder. Now, the vigilante and spy must work together to prevent this technology from falling into the wrong hands. The fate of the world, and of the Avengers, hangs in the balance. What I dislike about the movie is that I wanted to see more of it. I would recommend this movie to other people.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 21, 2014
Awesome. Rarely are animated comics so graphic. This was excellent.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 10, 2014
I am a big Avengers fan so this animated movie was good for me. The animation techniques are a bit dated and the story line is lacking in detail.

The story line is a bit lacking in any real character / plot development. We find out unlikely information important to the story line as the story rolls along. That is everything just seems very coincidental and "staged" for the sole purpose of providing a twist to the ending. Don't know how else to describe it better without giving things away except to say it left me feeling a little disappointed these facts couldn't have been done earlier in a sub-story or are commonly known information from the comics/movies. Kind of reminds me of a soap opera plot twist...

I still give this movie four stars from the perspective of a real Avenges fan. The animation isn't all that bad and Ian live with the story line "twists". For those not into Avengers I would demote this to three stars due to the "quaint" animation quality and subpar story line. Better rented from Amazon Prime than purchased for a one time view.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 13, 2014
Great movie, Mad House did a great job. There were a lot of interesting details I loved. Like when the punisher shared his Marine core tattoo to a shield agent. I also loved that the punisher just disregarded all orders from Shield and killed who ever he wanted. I was worried now that Disney owns the rights they might have toned down his character. I would love to see a solo Punisher animated movie.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse