Customer Reviews


51 Reviews
5 star:
 (45)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

65 of 67 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome Avengers art book and movie companion, May 8, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Avengers: The Art of Marvel's The Avengers (Hardcover)
Length:: 1:31 Mins

Just like other Marvel movie art books before, this is big and thick. In fact, at 272 pages, it's thicker than The Art of Captain America: The First Avenger and The Art of Thor which are both at 240 pages each.

The cover looks great and it's actually a slipcase.

Almost all aspects of the movie are covered. There are the Avengers themselves with their new costume designs, Loki, The Chitauri, flying leviathans and other characters like soldiers, Nick Fury, etc. The art is great and these are all printed big. The characters are mainly drawn by Andy Park and Charlie Wen. Most look very much like the actors. The Iron Man design is, as usual, amazing. There are also a few pages of Hulk art which are new obviously since there are no Hulk movie art books.

Many locations, props and vehicles are featured as concept art. You'll see Bruce Banner's hideout home, Tony Stark's tower a breakdown of the technology that suit him into Iron Man or un-suit him, the warehouse where Black Widow was held, the Helicarrier and its interiors and even the tunnel Loki escaped in. The props are all sort of gadgetry shown in the movie, stuff like Hawkeye's bow, other weaponry, a sequence of Tony Stark suiting up into Man VII in mid-air. There is a lot to see because some pictures are filled with details. The visuals are spectacular.

I think the layout is slightly chaotic because there's a lot going on with so many characters and big set pieces. The content is presented chronologically as they appear in the movie.

The writeup is extensive and there's a lot to read about various part of the movies. This will probably be very interesting to those who want to find out how The Avengers differs in areas as compared to the comics.

This is an awesome art book and informative movie companion. Highly recommended.

(There are more pictures of the book on my blog. Just visit my Amazon profile for the link.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Art Book For an Epic Event!, May 3, 2012
By 
Thanos of Titan (Hamburg, NY United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Avengers: The Art of Marvel's The Avengers (Hardcover)
Having collected all of the previous Marvel Movie art books this one most definitely keeps up the great consistency. However, I do think the "art of Thor Book" is still the best. This book does a great job showing off the amazing character renderings and explanations for the designs but also weaves in some of the marketing art and design for this film and previous movies as well (Film posters, promo art, merchandise design and so on). Not only does this book serve as an art and design book but it also catches the reader up to speed on the Marvel Cinematic Universe Movie franchise even including a fold-out timeline so you even know the order of when certain events occurred in relation to all the films.

The only thing about this book is that it seems to skimp a bit on art for the alien race: The Chitauri. Some of the best work in the book are the designs for these creatures...I wish they would have given us a bit more. I love the renderings for the character "The Other"....very creepy! I also wished they would have had some sketches of "The Mystery Villain" from the mid credits scene (I don't want to spoil the surprise for anybody who hasn't seen the film).

If you have any of the previous art of Marvel books and enjoy them, there is no reason you shouldn't love this book. Like the others, this book comes in a high quality sturdy slipcase. The design and quality of the book is really nice, although I wish the pages were a little thicker. All this stuff is pretty nit picky. If you love the design and art of movies or Marvel movies you will love this book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars marvelous eye candy, May 15, 2012
This review is from: Avengers: The Art of Marvel's The Avengers (Hardcover)
completely beautiful book. i was a little disappointed at how little we hear from joss whedon directly, and i might have preferred more text in more places - but i guess i can wait for the blu-ray special features to dig more directly into the production process. that said, the book is gorgeous all around. i saw a few people complaining about pixelated images in the "art of thor" book; to my eye, i only found one pixelated image in this book, and only a few spots where the book designers made the unfortunate decision to allow a key image to span the spine of the book in a way that chopped the image up instead of allowing detailed appreciation. all in all as a dork who saw the movie 3 times in 7 days, the book was still a total treat and the other "art of..." books are tempting me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfection, May 8, 2012
This review is from: Avengers: The Art of Marvel's The Avengers (Hardcover)
The Art of the Avengers is a must-have for anyone who a-loves Marvel Films, or b- loves book about the making of movies. The book is exactly what you want, with great art, making-of images, and a great deal of insider information including interviews and commentary by the core production team. The writing is perfectly suited for armchair Marvel historian and amateur alike. The Art of Marvel books have been treats, but the Art of the Avengers is the Christmas morning of Art of books. I certainly hope that the next Marvel art of books follow the same format.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent art book, May 4, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Avengers: The Art of Marvel's The Avengers (Hardcover)
I received this amazing book yesterday, i'am from Italy so i have already seen the movie on April 25 it's a great comic film.This book is a reflection of what you see on screen, i collected all of previous art books,and also this one is excellent. Is divided on chapters with characters art,arms,vehicle,film posters, promo art, merchandise, different locations, and chitauri development. Also this one is on a high quality slipcase. For me is a 5 stars book, for every Marvel comics fans to have.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars beautiful book with high production values, July 17, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Avengers: The Art of Marvel's The Avengers (Hardcover)
I ordered this art book mainly as a way to continue to enjoy the Avengers film after seeing it. I rarely buy art books, but couldn't resist this one as a companion to the movie. I expected it to be mostly character designs, with pictures from the film complementing the artist renderings. Happily, it is much more than that, and truly is a journey through the film. There is a lot of concept art for props, vehicles, and general world-building, in addition to character design. The book has a lot to offer for any film enthusiast to enjoy. The section on the design of the helicarrier is particularly well done, as the book goes into depth on how they wanted to base it in reality while still being true to the comic origin. Physics, visual appeal, set design, and more were all taken into account. The exposition (text) enhances the art and photos rather than taking away from them (as I have noticed in other art books). The text incorporates quotes from the actors and filmmakers, as well as tidbits of Marvel comic history as it impacted the film, and more. I found I enjoyed reading the book as much as looking at the gorgeous imagery.

The production values for the book are top notch. The book comes in a hard slipcase with the cover art printed onto it, without dust jacket, as issued. The pages are thick and glossy, and the book is well laid out. The designers were careful not to have images broken across pages (one of my biggest gripes with art books), and there's a nice balance of screen shots from the film to contrast against the artist images. This turns out to be a great book for film fans and art fans alike. And I fully intend to get The Art of Marvel Studios, which collects the art books from the previous films in one set. Highly recommended!

Please see my pictures of the actual book I received, with slipcase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Avengers Art A+, June 7, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Avengers: The Art of Marvel's The Avengers (Hardcover)
Such a great read and look see. I recommend it to anyone! Beautiful art just bounces off the pages! I'm a comic book fan and love it. But guaranty you don't have to be to appreciate the incredible art!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, June 5, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Avengers: The Art of Marvel's The Avengers (Hardcover)
The best 'The Art of XXX' book I've ever read. Amazing! Find it more precious after watching the film for 8 times.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Avengers Art of the Movie, June 2, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Avengers: The Art of Marvel's The Avengers (Hardcover)
The book did justice to the movie that was over the top! Would definitely recommend to all Avengers fans and comic fans in general.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Art of Marvel's The Avengers - Amazing Book, May 21, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Avengers: The Art of Marvel's The Avengers (Hardcover)
The Art of Marvel's The Avengers is a fantastic step into the world of MARVEL STUDIOS. I am a young filmmaker in highschoo bound to be a future film editor. This book totally helped me to keep acheiving my dream. The book will take hard core MARVEL fans into the films amazing concept art. Featuring stunnig artwrok with final stills from the film. The book also features script excerpts by Writer/Director Joss Whedon. It includes interview with Joss Whedon and the whole entire cast. The book includes a recap of all of the characters in the previous MARVEL films, such as; Iron Man, Thor, Captain America, The Hulk, Nick Fury, Loki, Black Widow, Agent Phil Coulson, Dr. Erik Selvig. The book also introduces the new charaters. Agent Maria Hill, The Chitauri, The Other. The book also recaps the origin of the Tesseract, the object Loki will use to rule Earth. this book is so amazing! For hard core MARVEL fans, filmmakers (like me), and any film fan, The Art of Marvel's The Avengers is a book that everybody will cherish forever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Avengers: The Art of Marvel's The Avengers
Avengers: The Art of Marvel's The Avengers by Jason Surrell (Hardcover - May 2, 2012)
$49.99 $44.99
Temporarily out of stock. Order now and we'll deliver when available.
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.