Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Highlights from the Past Decade
The Road to Avengers vs X-Men selects pivotal moments from major events in the Marvel universe and weaves them into an anthology that makes a great refresher course for fans and a good introduction for new readers. Included in this graphic novel:

House of M #8-- "no more mutants" The phrase redefines the Marvel universe and radically changes the X-Men...
Published on April 13, 2012 by S. H. Wells

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Confused and honeslty a little dissapointed
I've read a few xmen and avenger books as individuals, along with all the movies that have been made. So far I have enjoyed almost all of them as well. This book takes a handful of different situations in where the two hero/mutants have met within the past and how this somewhat new war has came into form. I guess its partly my fault for not reading closer into the reviews...
Published 21 months ago by Tookie


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Highlights from the Past Decade, April 13, 2012
By 
S. H. Wells (Tulsa, OK United States) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Avengers vs. X-Men: It's Coming (Paperback)
The Road to Avengers vs X-Men selects pivotal moments from major events in the Marvel universe and weaves them into an anthology that makes a great refresher course for fans and a good introduction for new readers. Included in this graphic novel:

House of M #8-- "no more mutants" The phrase redefines the Marvel universe and radically changes the X-Men.

X-Men Second Coming #1-- Cable returns from the future with the only mutant (named Hope) born after M day. Hope is considered the mutant messiah.

X-Men Schism #5-- Cyclops and Wolverine's different desires for the future of mutantkind causes a major split in the X-Men. Half the X-Men abandon Utopia.

Avengers The Children's Crusade #7-- The Avengers and the X-Men are at odds over how to deal justice to the Scarlet Witch (who is responsible for de-powering most mutants).

Magneto Not a Hero #1-- Magneto seemingly murders a group of anti-mutant bigots. The Avengers are tasked with arresting him. But Magneto and the X-Men insist that Magneto is innocent.

Avengers X-Sanction #1-- Cable sees a bleak future where Hope fails to save mutantkind because Cable fails to save hope. Cable vows to intercede in the timeline to ensure Hope survives; however, an alien in the future suggests the Avengers are to blame for Hope's death.

Marvel Point One #1-- In a galaxy far away a fiery bird rises from the ashes. How exactly this fits in with the above plots is still uncertain.

Each issue collected here is an important and pivotal event in recent Marvel history. Each issue is prefaced with a brief "Previously" X-Men to help situate the episode. Of course getting a single episode from multiple major events that span years leaves a lot of details out. Fans of marvel probably have most of the issues collected here in other graphic novels. And new readers will probably want to follow up on many of the dangling threads by picking up more complete editions of the major events covered here. However I found the price was right for a refresher course and found some material in here that I hadn't read elsewhere. If you don't want to buy a half dozen other graphic novels, Road to AvX is a good buy.

While it does feel like a bit of a " double dip", I would not have read several of the issues collected here in stand-alone formats. 4-stars "I liked it."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Confused and honeslty a little dissapointed, March 11, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Avengers vs. X-Men: It's Coming (Paperback)
I've read a few xmen and avenger books as individuals, along with all the movies that have been made. So far I have enjoyed almost all of them as well. This book takes a handful of different situations in where the two hero/mutants have met within the past and how this somewhat new war has came into form. I guess its partly my fault for not reading closer into the reviews before I purchased this because they're about 5 stories in this book. Although it just throws you right smack in the middle of each situation, no beginning(other than a small summary paragraph at the beginning), and no conclusion(except for telling you what book to purchase to read the rest of the story). Idk about everyone else but I personally don't want to read a book without a beginning or an end! With all this said, I'm upset with myself, and even more with this book. 1.5 stars...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 20 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Pass, April 29, 2012
This review is from: Avengers vs. X-Men: It's Coming (Paperback)
Honestly, I think you're better off just going and getting the individual stories rather this trade. While I like that Marvel is trying to fill readers in on the events leading up to AvsX, it would be simplier for them to simple include a handy page or two in the AvsX trade rather than pointing them to this. It's a good idea to read the entire story!

I would recommend: Avengers Disassembled, Young Avengers, House of M, Messiah Complex, Messiah War (and, if possible, all four volumes of Cable), Second Coming, Avengers: Children's Crusade, X-Men: Schism, and Avengers: X-Sanction. These books will point you in the right direction! If you want a collect of half-stories, read this trade. If you want the full story, read what I've listed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars nice, December 16, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Avengers vs. X-Men: It's Coming (Paperback)
nice ramp up to the grand battle of the two powerhouse teams in marvel. a good read and the story flows well
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good way to get ready for the February Avengers/X-Men event, January 3, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Avengers vs. X-Men: It's Coming (Paperback)
This compilation is a good way to get ready for the upcoming Avengers/X-Men event. Warning: if you have been out of the comic book world for awhile, like me, don't expect a lot of narrative or backstory. Many of the characters are poorly fleshed out if you are not already up to speed with the X-teams. This will definitely get you interested in learning more about the stories features. All in all, a bit of a tease as most of the loose ends are not tied up and leave you wanting more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars How it all starts, December 17, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Avengers vs. X-Men: It's Coming (Paperback)
Don't know why the X-Men have beef with the Avengers? Then you need to start here. Hope you read the comics mentioned in here cause if not, you're going to be lost and you're missing out on some other great reads. Good way to set up X vs. A.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A lot of fun but not the big picture, November 4, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Avengers vs. X-Men: It's Coming (Paperback)
I should have read this review a little closer. I was expecting the 5-7 comics leading up to Avengers vs. X-Men. Instead it's a number from comics from all over the place that help lead up to it. However that being said the comics are will picked, and help bring you to the Avengers vs. X-Men. So although I know have to order 30 more comic sets I did enjoy this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Alright, September 7, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Avengers vs. X-Men: It's Coming (Paperback)
A lot of comics most people have. It jumps around. I think marvel wanted to sell something just to make a little more money. It's nice if you're new to comics though
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Primer, August 16, 2012
This review is from: Avengers vs. X-Men: It's Coming (Paperback)
This is a collection of key single issues from several X-Men and Avengers titles - there's no original material here. That said it is a decent summary of those books which primes the reader who doesn't want to read these books in order to enjoy the upcoming X-Men Vs Avengers book. There are single issues from each of the following books: -

- House of M (which sets up the Mutant "Drought" where there were no more mutants thanks to Scarlet Witch)
- Second Coming (where Hope appears, the first mutant on Earth for years)
- Schism (where the X-Men split between two ideological camps, one led by Cyclops, the other by Wolverine)
- The Children's Crusade (where Scarlet Witch attempts to undo the damage done on M-Day leading to a new ultra-powerful Doctor Doom)
- Magneto: Not a Hero (someone seems to be setting up the newly-good Magneto as the old evil Magneto - but who?)
- X-Sanction (Cable travels back to destroy the Avengers to stop them destroying his step-daughter Hope who ends up saving the world)
- Point One (the Phoenix is headed to Earth)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, July 2, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Avengers vs. X-Men: It's Coming (Paperback)
This is an excellent combo of avengers and Xmen!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Avengers vs. X-Men: It's Coming
Avengers vs. X-Men: It's Coming by Jeph Loeb (Paperback - April 25, 2012)
$19.99 $13.50
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.