Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awake!
Awake is a book that when I read it, I found myself putting it down several times because the author wants you to open your mind and heart to the seriousness of this broken world. In light of that, she wants the reader to not just be a spectator of in this world but to make the decision to be a participant in making the life of another person better. She provides...
Published on May 30, 2012 by Cyrus Mad-Bondo

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Eh...it's alright.
The book was okay. A little too much "god" and bible scriptures. Some good solid facts that are interesting but then it turned into a late night commercial to sponsor a child. For someone that has never really been out of the country and explored (and Christian) this book would be great.

It did have good facts that are eye-openers. The book was very...
Published 2 months ago by dar


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awake!, May 30, 2012
By 
Awake is a book that when I read it, I found myself putting it down several times because the author wants you to open your mind and heart to the seriousness of this broken world. In light of that, she wants the reader to not just be a spectator of in this world but to make the decision to be a participant in making the life of another person better. She provides throughout the book personal encounter with people from different countries around the world that she has personally helped earning her the right to call on others to join in...

The take away is that, the author realizes and notes in this book that it would take individual and collective commitment to invest in the life others in order to make this world a better place than we've found it.

This book can be understood by young and old, learned and unlearned. I highly recommend it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Incredibly Inspiring!, May 30, 2012
Like the cup of coffee pictured on the cover, Noel's book beckons the reader to sit for a moment and experience the process of awakening. Through her descriptive writing, your senses will wake up to the needs of the world. You'll see the faces of girls forced into prostitution; feel the helplessness of holding a dead child in your arms; hear the cry of babies who need rescued; and smell the aroma of the dump where children play in Guatemala. Finally, you'll taste the warmth of hope - knowing that you can make a difference by living fully awake.

The book is a captivating blend of information. It provides startling statistics of overwhelming hardships throughout the world. It then inspires with personal stories from those who have already been awakened and are making an impact. In 11 short chapters, Noel infuses the reader with the essence of worldwide suffering. She then concludes with practical ways to make a difference in chapter 12. At the close of the book, the reader is fully awake - aware of the tremendous opportunity to do a world of good. Stimulated to action, you'll never want to fall into a complacent slumber again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Breathtaking!, June 12, 2012
"Awake" by Noel Brewer Yeatts is an inspiring book. As I read her own personal experiences, that of a woman who has traveled the world making a difference in the lives of so many others, I am captivated by the humility in which she shows to those who are hurting. This book allows the reader to meet the people she has met that, according to her, have changed her life. No one can read this book and not change the way they see the masses of hurting people. Noel Yeatts makes it clear that although we cannot help the masses, we can help by investing in one person at a time. Through this the mass of hurt can be conquered. It makes the reader ask, "What if one person with excess reached out and shared with one person in need?" What a difference we all could make.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Must Read!, May 26, 2012
I couldn't agree more with the previous reviews. Most of us are aware there are vast needs around the world. Our society is constantly bombarded with news reports of natural disasters and groups of people in crisis overseas. It is easy to feel overwhelmed with the magnitude of the needs and feel "stuck" not knowing how to help or where to start. AWAKE presents the most pressing humanitarian issues of our time through the lens of the spiritual vacancy of those who are suffering. At the end of this book you will no longer feel stuck, but feel empowered to reach out to those in physical and spiritual need. You will NOT be able to put this book down!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I could'nt put it down, May 25, 2012
By 
Tony Foglio (TORONTO, OHIO, US) - See all my reviews
"Awake" by Noel Brewer Yeatts is not only well researched and engagingly written; the author's expertise and life changing experiences make it captivating. It is one thing to write about the needs of the world; it is quite another to live what you have written. I opened it and did not close it until the last page. Awake, a perfect title... One of my best reads.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Eh...it's alright., June 17, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
The book was okay. A little too much "god" and bible scriptures. Some good solid facts that are interesting but then it turned into a late night commercial to sponsor a child. For someone that has never really been out of the country and explored (and Christian) this book would be great.

It did have good facts that are eye-openers. The book was very easy to read and at times you wanted to keep reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Called to serve, October 22, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Most anyone who selects this book knows deep in their heart they are being called to action by God. This is just that extra push to motivate you and maybe give you some suggestions for your own next step to act on the enduring love shown to you by your Creator. Tears, some laughter but mostly demonstrations of the crushing need that only you can fill. It can be done, one person at a time...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Held My Attention, August 30, 2012
I was privileged to meet Noel recently. We kept in touch and she then sent me her book. I wasn't sure when I'd find time to open it but finally did. I finished it in just a few days because it held my attention and literally kept calling me back to read it! Not only that but she's a tremendous writer!

The stories that Noel shared were often heartbreaking and moving. I was especially moved by the stories about the contaminated water in countries and how it is harming millions. And you know how much it costs to provide clean water for someone? $15. FIFTEEN DOLLARS.

The theme throughout her book is that we can just do our part. Help that one person. Make a difference in someone's life. We don't have to save the world because we can't. But we can help save one.

You will be inspired, challenged and motivated to start being a change agent where you are when you read this book. And you'll be amazed at how little financial resources it takes to help someone else.

Think of what how much better our world would be if everyone would donate $15.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fully Awake!, May 23, 2012
"Awake: Doing a World of Good One Person at a Time" opens one's eyes to absolute poverty, malnutrition, water borne illness, human trafficking, gender discrimination, and other global issues in such a manner that the author does not put one to sleep with statistics. The book allows the reader to catch a glimpse into the lives of real people who have faced these most difficult of circumstances and now have an opportunity for a better life. What could have been a book that left the reader feeling a sense of despair at the magnitude of the needs, instead leaves the reader with the knowledge and hope that one can make a difference by focusing on one person at a time. It would be difficult to read this book and not be awakened physically, emotionally, intellectually and spiritually. A must read for those who wish to see the world with eyes wide open.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very inspiring, June 11, 2014
By 
Susan D Derr (East Brunswick, NJ, US) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I realized that each person is important and will make an impact on the world of other people. No reason not to try a smile even if for only one person. i really liked this book as an inspiring devotional reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Awake: Doing a World of Good One Person at a Time
Awake: Doing a World of Good One Person at a Time by Noel Brewer Yeatts (Paperback - June 1, 2012)
$12.99 $5.20
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.