Customer Reviews


43 Reviews
5 star:
 (28)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


155 of 156 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An understandable guide to a complex subject.
This book clearly describes two meditation exercises to improve the flow of chi through the energy circuits in the body. The first involves sending positive energy to your internal organs and other structures so that they can function better. The second is the "microcosmic orbit," a very ancient practice which moves energy in a circular motion up the spine,...
Published on September 21, 2000 by Ruth Henriquez Lyon

versus
50 of 57 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good as a reference book, but be Warned!
This book was one of the first books on a segment of the Taoist arts to reach the west and to that I give Mantak Chia high praise. The book deals with the energy circulation within the body. It is written in a easy to follow style (for such a subject).
After studing the internal arts for years I find this book a good reference book. Unfortunately I believe this...
Published on July 21, 2000 by Roger Black


Most Helpful First | Newest First

34 of 52 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars wheel without a hub, May 13, 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Awaken Healing Energy Through The Tao: The Taoist Secret of Circulating Internal Power (Paperback)
While Mantak Chia's works have boldly promoted Taoist qi gong into popular culture they've also, unfortunately, promoted fundamental mis-conceptions that inevitably lead to injury.
Yin and yang can't be successfully cultivated without knowledge of resolution into the neutral space. A wheel needs a hub or, in Buddhist terms, if you're going to invigorate a wheel you'd better also know how to get off of it... This makes the distinction between promoting agitation, addiction vs. promoting stability, freedom.
While Chia's modern renditions are obviously serious attempts they, sadly, are missing the deeper material that make this sort of work... actually work. Some review of classic texts is in order.
Suggested remedial texts:
"Tsongkhapa's Six Yogas of Naropa" transl. by Glenn H. Mullin
"Cultivating the Energy of Life" transl. by Eva Wong
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ANYTHING WORTHWHILE TAKES ENDURANCE TO MASTER, March 14, 2000
This review is from: Awaken Healing Energy Through The Tao: The Taoist Secret of Circulating Internal Power (Paperback)
I HAVE READ THE REVIEW OF OTHERS CONCERNING THIS BOOK AND I FIND THAT THE ONLY THING THAT THEY SHOWED WAS THEIR LACK OF OPEN-MINDEDNESS. THIS BOOK IS A JEWEL! AS ARE ALL HIS BOOKS. BUT LIKE ALL JEWELS ONE MUST LABOR HARD IN THE EARTH TO REFINE HIS\HER PRECIOUS STONE.TAOISM IS NOT RELIGION, NOR IS IT YOGA, IT IS THE REALITY OF THE UNIVERSE. MAYBE THE COMPLICATION IS DUE TO THE WAY THE AUTHOR THINKS,AS OPPOSED TO THE READER. IN ADDITION ENGLISH PROVIDES POOR TRANSLITERATION. IF YOU SEARCH FOR THE WAY YOU WILL NEVER FIND IT FOR IT IS NO THING TO BE SEARCHED.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars loved it, December 15, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Awaken Healing Energy Through The Tao: The Taoist Secret of Circulating Internal Power (Paperback)
I bought this for my father who is very spiritual and into meditation and yoga. He loved the book and thats good enough for me!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Refreshing and helpful, September 28, 2008
By 
Linky "Lynnk" (Chigwell. Essex UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Awaken Healing Energy Through The Tao: The Taoist Secret of Circulating Internal Power (Paperback)
I've enjoyed reading this book and I think that it is a really positive and useful book. Try not to skim and allow it to permeate into your daily routine in order to get the benefit. Also, if you want, take up tai chi exercises; live it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars thanks., February 4, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Awaken Healing Energy Through The Tao: The Taoist Secret of Circulating Internal Power (Paperback)
gift was great thanks. so much. I will shop more soon. Sincerely thanks Darryl
love and happiness always Darryl D
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Must Read!, January 7, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Awaken Healing Energy Through The Tao: The Taoist Secret of Circulating Internal Power (Paperback)
My daughter had been looking for this book for several years. (It had been recommended by a friend.) I decided to give it to her for Christmas. While we opened presents, she was completely engrossed in this book. She insists I must read it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very good book, October 23, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Awaken Healing Energy Through The Tao: The Taoist Secret of Circulating Internal Power (Paperback)
I used to own this book but lost it during moving from a place to another.It is a great book for anyone that is into meditations and energy work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a unique book about taoist meditation system, May 26, 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Awaken Healing Energy Through The Tao: The Taoist Secret of Circulating Internal Power (Paperback)
I think it's a reference book that opens the advanced taoist chi kungs. It has a brief rewiev of other meditations like internal smiling.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 37 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Pump sexual energy up your spine today!, April 9, 1999
This review is from: Awaken Healing Energy Through The Tao: The Taoist Secret of Circulating Internal Power (Paperback)
There's a lot of confusion and misinformation in this country about what exactly Daoism is. This book has a lot to do with the situation. Mantak Chia purports to strip unnecessary religiosity from Daoist practices to present readers with a bare bones version of basic qigong. But without an understanding of Daoist religious thought and an appreciation of the complex Chinese cosmology which underlies it, these exercises are about as meaningful as the Lord's Prayer might be to a Martian. If you want to learn the microcosmic orbit, go ahead and read this book. But to better understand where this is all coming from, read Isabelle Robinet, Kristofer Schipper, or Livia Kohn.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 30 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Makes the Taoist Yoga too complicitated, July 12, 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Awaken Healing Energy Through The Tao: The Taoist Secret of Circulating Internal Power (Paperback)
I have found much more to-the-point books on Taoist yoga techniques.....Its kind of If I ask you the time of day I don't want to learn how to build a watch. Otherwords there is way too much fluff in his writing. All Mr. Chias books together could be condensed into 1 well written book... Also this Author attempts to mix christianity and Taoism which is not impressive, which is on the tape of this book. There are better sources for the information
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Awaken Healing Energy Through The Tao: The Taoist Secret of Circulating Internal Power
$14.95 $13.46
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.