Buy Used
$4.14
FREE Shipping on orders over $35.
Condition: Used: Good
Comment: Super fast shipping! Money back guarantee! This item is gently used in good or better condition. If it is a text book it may not have supplements. Big Hearted Books shares it's profits with schools, churches and non-profit groups throughout New England. Thank you for your support!
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

Awakening Earth: Exploring the Evolution of Human Culture and Consciousness Hardcover – November 1, 1993


See all 3 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Hardcover
"Please retry"
$11.78 $0.15
NO_CONTENT_IN_FEATURE

Best Books of the Month
Best Books of the Month
Want to know our Editors' picks for the best books of the month? Browse Best Books of the Month, featuring our favorite new books in more than a dozen categories.

Product Details

  • Hardcover: 382 pages
  • Publisher: William Morrow & Co; 1st edition (November 1993)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0688116213
  • ISBN-13: 978-0688116217
  • Product Dimensions: 9.5 x 6.5 x 1.6 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 1.7 pounds
  • Average Customer Review: 4.7 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (6 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #1,387,127 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

Editorial Reviews

From Kirkus Reviews

A stimulating, though not elegantly expressed, vision of the evolution of the cosmos--and of our role in its future. California social-scientist Elgin (Voluntary Simplicity, 1981- -not reviewed) draws on ancient spiritual traditions and modern scientific insights to form a picture of where we're going in the universe. The present, he argues, is crucial, since advances in technology and communications suggest a new expansion of human consciousness even as ecological problems cast doubt on any ``sustainable future.'' Elgin discerns three decisive stages in the development of consciousness: the era of hunter-gatherers, beginning roughly 35,000 years ago and marked by limited self- reflection; the era of agrarian-based civilizations, beginning about 10,000 years ago; and our own scientific-industrial era, begun in the 1700's. He contends that now we're entering a new era, one in which mass communications make possible the beginning of a global consciousness, as well as hoped-for reconciliations among ourselves and between us and our planet. Looking forward, Elgin projects three further stages: ``bonding,'' in which community and viable future can be built; ``surpassing,'' which will foster free creativity; and ``maturity,'' a wisdom-culture of enlightenment and cosmic consciousness. The author claims that his thinking isn't New Age, since he envisages a process involving matter as well as consciousness--a process he terms ``co-evolution.'' Elgin's stress on human responsibility avoids the determinism of many evolutionary views, and his suggestions that the ideal world government will resemble that dictated in the US constitution, and that ultimate reality is ``democratic,'' will please patriots. But Elgin's final vision is of consciousness being freed from matter, and his concept of an eternal ``Meta-universe'' seems to align him with the Taoists or pre-Socratic Greeks. Moreover, it's difficult to see how personal individuation has a place in his view of the fully evolved consciousness. An ambitious and provocative call to greater awareness, marred by sometimes tortuous turns of expression and thought. -- Copyright ©1993, Kirkus Associates, LP. All rights reserved.

Review

Challenging, thoughtful, original, well-documented, and plausibly hopeful. One of the best long-term futures books in many years! (Future Survey, Volume 15, Number 10, October 1993)

Awakening Earth argues that we are now collectively poised for a major species shift. If the first stages of human awakening involved separating ourselves from nature, developing our sense of autonomy as a species and discovering our ability for remaking the world, the next stages of evolution will require reintegrating ourselves with nature, exploring our deep bonding with one another and with the cosmos and developing our capacity to act in harmony with the universe.

Though at times daunting in its comprehensiveness, the book's ultimate achievement is its balance of vision and sober reasoning, in the tradition of Marshall McLuhan and Buckminster Fuller. Without denying the tension and suffering that go with change, Elgin conveys a powerful sense of what he calls enthusiasm for the conscious coevolution of life on Earth, for it is only through our individual awakening and creative action that the Earth will awaken as well. (San Francisco Chronicle, Review, April 10, 1994)

Elgin bases his tour de force on an awesome synthesis of his reading over the last dozen years and a personal spiritual experience documented as an appendix. He is the West's version of Sri Aurobindo, an Eastern sage who created a mighty synthesis of East and West. For weaving together the strands of spiritual traditions, various thinkers and the new physics, this book is worth the read. For anyone who wants, as I do, the grand overview, you certainly get it here. (Initiatives, Newsletter of the Institute of Cultural Affairs in the Western United States, Vol. X, No. 3, Summer, 1994) -- Initiatives, Newsletter of the Institute of Cultural Affairs in the Western United States, Vol. X, No. 3, Summer, 1994


More About the Author

Duane Elgin is an internationally recognized speaker and author. His books include The Living Universe, Promise Ahead, and Awakening Earth. In 2006, he received the international Goi Peace Award in recognition of his contribution to a global "vision, consciousness, and lifestyle" that fosters a "more sustainable and spiritual culture." He lives in the San Francisco Bay Area.

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
5 star
5
4 star
0
3 star
1
2 star
0
1 star
0
See all 6 customer reviews
Share your thoughts with other customers

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful By A Customer on April 19, 2004
Format: Hardcover
the entire book is available on Duane Elgin's website as a free pdf file.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful By Bugs on March 31, 2005
Format: Hardcover Verified Purchase
Duane Elgin has compiled a fairly complete and comprehensive outline of the evolution of human consciousness and the direction we are headed and therefore, the drastic and immediate changes humans need to make to insure survival of life on our beautiful, but vulnerable planet Earth. I'll borrow a simple, but profound Ancient Chinese Proverb Elgin included in his book: "Voluntary Simplicity" to emphasize the need for humans to realize the slippery slope to disaster we are on and the need to alter course:

"If we don't change our direction, we are likely to end up where we are headed"- Indeed!

Elgin doesn't just dwell on the negative without proffering ideas, means and ways to clean up our collective human act, rather, most all of his energy is poured into answers and ideas for human lifestyle changes that are sustainable and healthy. All of his publications are guidelines to sane, harmonious living. And this can be seen in another fine, eloquent book of his: "Promise Ahead".

"Awakening Earth" outlines the on-going poll seen at his website about what stage of maturation and consciousness is humanity at: "What Life Stage of the Human Family". There are four choices: Toddler, Teenager, Adult or Elder. The poll has maintained it's choice percentages for several years at about 74% for Teenager and about 21% for Toddler- not much left for the Adult or Elder category. After reading Elgin's books, one might be inclined to see him as one of the Elders.

The importance in Human Maturation was the focus of a very simple, eloquent, but potent book published in 1947 by H.A. Overstreet: "The Mature Mind" which became an international bestseller and I found it is as profound and timely as Elgin's important work.
Read more ›
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful By A Customer on July 24, 1999
Format: Hardcover
I was happy to have stumbled across this book. Inside its bindings lies a thoughtful look at where the evolution of our speciese has come from and where it is going. Spiritualy, physically, and Meta-fully. Worth reading for purly new ideas.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again