Best Books of the Month Shop Men's Shoes Learn more nav_sap_SWP_6M_fly_beacon $5 Albums All-New Amazon Fire TV Grocery Amazon Gift Card Offer jrscwrld jrscwrld jrscwrld  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 Kindle Voyage AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Fall Arrivals in Amazon Outdoor Clothing Kids Halloween

Away From The World [+digital booklet]

September 11, 2012 | Format: MP3

Song Title
Digital Booklet: Away From The World
Your Amazon Music account is currently associated with a different marketplace. To enjoy Prime Music, go to Your Music Library and transfer your account to (US).

Product Details

  • Original Release Date: September 11, 2012
  • Release Date: September 11, 2012
  • Label: RCA Records Label
  • Record Company Required Metadata: Music file metadata contains unique purchase identifier. Learn more.
  • Total Length: 53:51
  • Genres:
  • ASIN: B00949XIL6
  • Average Customer Review: 4.3 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (263 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #50,343 Paid in Albums (See Top 100 Paid in Albums)

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

121 of 131 people found the following review helpful By Bricktop VINE VOICE on September 11, 2012
Format: Audio CD Verified Purchase
Big Whiskey came at a puzzling time. Founding member LeRoi Moore passed away August 19th, 2008 and amidst discussion of whether or not the band would continue they pulled up their drawers and went into the studio with some previously recorded ideas and created Big Whiskey, with much Moore studio material preserved. Fans had long since clamored for an album to live up to the "Big Three" of 1994's Under the Table and Dreaming, 1996's Crash and 1998's Before These Crowded Streets and had been somewhat jaded by DMB's studio output since 2001's Everyday usurped the universally praised scrapped album known as "The Lillywhite Sessions", the last body of work by DMB featuring Steve Lillywhite as producer. While those songs were re-worked into the 2002 release Busted Stuff they simply didn't resemble the sound that came out with Lillywhite at the helm. It is likely for this reason that many fans on message boards like "Ants Marching" and "These Days Continue" have long held to the belief that DMB would not see a true return to form until Lillywhite returned to take over the console again.Read more ›
17 Comments Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
35 of 42 people found the following review helpful By T. A. Daniel on September 11, 2012
Format: Audio CD
It was hard to anticipate just where Dave Matthews Band would go after BIG WHISKEY AND THE GROOGRUX KING. The biggest predictor would be the band's decision to bring longtime producer Steve Lilywhite back into the studio; having produced the band's first three albums, it seemed somewhat likely that he would bring the band's 90's sound with him. As it turns out, the band's 8th full-length album sounds like a mix between some of the creative direction of BIG WHISKEY with some of the ideas from the band's early career.

Some of these songs will be a little familiar: "If Only," "Gaucho," "Sweet" and "Mercy" have been road-tested earlier this year while the band was on tour. The album begins with "Broken Things," a song that centers around a jolting guitar riff before giving way to the rest of the band working together in unison. This song sets the precedent for the album: not only is it a strong melodic song, but it's sprinkled with political overtones, with a few lines here and there flecked with political discontent. "Belly Belly Nice," (the worst song title on the album, so it only gets better from here, I promise) features a soaring chorus that recalls Dave Matthews from the late 1990's. The politically-charged lead single, "Mercy" centers around Matthews vocals and instrumentation - it's a simple song, but after being exposed to the full band jamming on the previous two tracks, it's hard for it to stand up to those heights.

The dynamic "The Riff" begins pretty bare before the rest of the band opens up (similar to "Broken Things"); it's one of the more rocking tracks (and it's great live) and it shifts frequently from loud to soft passages.
Read more ›
2 Comments Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
20 of 24 people found the following review helpful By Chad Jones on September 13, 2012
Format: Audio CD
NOTE: This is an all encompassing review of the album "Away From The World". I purchased the vinyl edition and the Super Deluxe, but Amazon directed me here to place my review. I'll add my thoughts on the vinyl at the end.

Today and yesterday I spent a lot of time with Away From The World. I was one of those who skipped the leak and waited until I had the vinyl in my hand and dropped the needle before I listened to the whole thing. I'd heard Sweet, Mercy and Gaucho live this summer, Mercy and Gaucho singles and checked out the YouTube videos of The Riff, If Only and Belly Belly Nice, but after that I wanted to stop and wait until I had the final product in my hands to give it a listen. I thought I'd share my thoughts.

Going into AFTW, I wasn't sure what to expect. DMB had evolved and changed, matured and had added on the lineup with more presence from Tim Reynolds and the addition of Jeff Coffin after the passing of LeRoi Moore and the addition of Rashawn Ross on the horns for a developing horn line. Adding Steve Lillywhite to this wasn't going to bring the band back to the beginning to make a BTCS/UTTAD/Crash style album, but I knew it was going to take that newer DMB sound and make an album that was going to be great. I knew the album would be good, but I didn't know it was going to be this good. I'm very impressed with the work that went into this and I think AFTW is just phenomenal. I don't try to say, "This is the Big 4!" because honestly, this is a new work for a different time and a different place in their lives. The Big 3 existed at a time as a work that will always be an example of early DMB. This is something new, something different and a different sound, but still uniquely DMB, if that makes sense.

Read more ›
13 Comments Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?