Your Garage Summer Reading Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Brett Dennen Father's Day Gift Guide 2016 Fire TV Stick Grocery Father's Day Gifts Amazon Cash Back Offer DrThorne DrThorne DrThorne  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis UniOrlando Shop Now SnS

Format: Paperback|Change
Price:$11.40+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

TOP 500 REVIEWERon November 1, 2011
Even the most " humor challenged" people I know can't keep from laughing as they look through this one. We keep a copy on our coffee table and somehow it manages to "migrate" to the night stands in guests' bedrooms or other areas of the house....even if they aren't animal lovers. The book is proof that people CAN be just as smitten with their pets as with any person they know. And the crazy photos attest to that.

This is the kind of book that can liven up somber family gatherings or break the ice at parties. The kind of book where you can look at just one page at random - but I dare you to stop after looking at any one page. Impossible. To. Do.

Some of the photos (an armful of chihuahuas) are almost too cute for words while others are just too...well...strange.....to seem believable...and also laugh out loud funny. Pity the poor guy whose cat went ballistic during a photo shoot and the picture that documented the whole thing. Or just laugh at him. Maybe he even submitted the photo himself...if the cat didn't.

The photos show both people and their pets at their craziest...and often it is the people who appear totally nutty while their beloved pets (finally) get their just dues. There are some "behind the photo" explanations here and there,adding to the hilarity. From cats to pot-bellied pigs, there are all sorts of pets here, even a fair smattering of lizards, birds, and snakes. All steal the show. If you liked Awkward Family Photos you should add this to your collection.
55 comments|13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 7, 2011
Always a kick to see these pictures and be glad the aren't your family...oh wait...this edition does have one of us in it :)
11 comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 22, 2012
If you're a fan of the Awkward Family Photos, you'll also like this pet addition. I purchased it as a gift, and it was fun for us all to look at it with each other. Everyone seemed to really get a kick out of it!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon November 13, 2011
As an animal lover in need on a good laugh, I was pretty sure this book would fit the bill. I wasn't aware that there was a website devoted to this as well as Awkward Family Photos until I got my hands on this eBook.

Unfortunately, the eBook was read on my black/white print Kindle, so for a book which consists mostly of photographs, this is not the ideal way to view this book. I was able to flip through the actual book at my local bookstore as well, so that made the book much more fun for me. The book is a quick read, and does include a few brief stories along the way. Many of the photos are totally ridiculous and it made me wonder about the people submitting the photos for consideration -- some are certainly cringe-worthy.

There is a section of Holidays and I think these were may favorite --very funny. In addition there is a section of farm animals which were very fun, vacations with people and their pets. Other sections feature, cats, dogs, exotic pets and just plain "awkward pets".

This is one of those books that would be perfect to have on your coffee table when you are have company over --a perfect conversation started for sure. This book would also make a fun holiday present for the animal lover who has everything. Check it out and see what you think.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 23, 2016
This is basically a book full of the memes and photos you already see all over social media for free. Keep your money, the book isn't worth it. Is it funny, sure, once. Will make a good gag gift next Christmas though. Seriously, it's only funny for 20-30 minutes before you start to question your life decisions.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 14, 2015
The book cover was actually the only really funny and awkward photo in the whole book. Perhaps because of all the dogs and cats we've rescued over the past 43 years; I've become a bit jaded. Our house has been the site of some of the most comic antics by both dogs and cats. The photos in the book were very appealing and nice; but not hilarious or awkward.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 25, 2016
The pictures in this book are absolutely hilarious. They are also very high quality. It's a picture book, and the perfect book for a coffee table. Not a single person has picked this up without laughing at every page, it's a great book!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 17, 2012
Cute pictures of kids and entire families with their pets - not just their dog or cat either. Many are actually taken in studios! Captions are entertaining and not snarky. There is a section where pets were captured inadvertently, in the background, doing what comes naturally - so this part may not be for the kiddies. This was just a nice little book to enjoy while relaxing (for me). I look forward to going to their website in the future to see photos that didn't make "the cut" or maybe just not "the cut-off."
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
"Awkward Family Pet Photos" captures some genuinely hilarious moments between pets and their people. Spanning decades of material, and every kind of pet imaginable (cat, dog, bird, sugar glider, etc.) this book features portraiture gone horribly awry in the funniest ways possible. Some of the shots will just leave you wondering "What were they thinking?" while others fail due to uncooperative animals or people (especially children). The best part of the book is the first person recollections from people involved in the pictures recounting how they came to be, as misguided as they are.

People who love animals will surely appreciate this summation of the human and animal conditions in portrait form. While I have no clear favorite photograph in the book (there are too many to choose from), I found the most amusing photo to be the Sesame Street-themed nightmare on page 139. Big Bird and Cookie Monster, sure...but a horse dressed as Mr. Snuffleupagus? That's genius. Of some kind.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 8, 2015
This is a great coffee table book and ice breaker when you have guests over. Some of the pictures are just so hilarious. I also have the original one, which is even better. I think it's so interesting because everyone can relate on a certain level.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.