Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars love it
it is in great condition and a important part of my collection i love it and it is a fun and great movie
Published 7 months ago by rogdrick jordan

versus
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I'M A LUMBERJACK, AND I'M NOT OKAY
Sgt. Hoke(Thomas Downey) is in charge a group of first time teen offenders at a camp in the woods of Minnesota. The hormonal teens camp outside. One of them in the group earns the wrath of a giant (about 15 to 40 feet depending on need) who attacks them. This is a fairly straight forward teen slasher film with the slasher being slightly different.

The special...
Published 18 months ago by The Movie Guy


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I'M A LUMBERJACK, AND I'M NOT OKAY, July 11, 2013
Sgt. Hoke(Thomas Downey) is in charge a group of first time teen offenders at a camp in the woods of Minnesota. The hormonal teens camp outside. One of them in the group earns the wrath of a giant (about 15 to 40 feet depending on need) who attacks them. This is a fairly straight forward teen slasher film with the slasher being slightly different.

The special effects were bad. The CG Babe the Blue Ox was comical. The 1890's clothes looked modern. People chopped in half, blood spray. They attempted to create diverse personalities, but it fell flat as the acting fell short.

Parental Guide: F-bombs, near sex, nudity (Jill Evyn) There are worse Red Box rentals.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars One Brilliant Scene Of Bad Movie Magic Can't Save The Rest Of This Low Budget Lunacy, August 23, 2013
Anyone that watches a SyFy Channel original movie on occasion knows that they rarely offer real chills. That doesn't mean that some of the films don't have a demented sort of charm. Grade A cheese, the best of the bunch tend to be hysterically unapologetic creature feature schlock. And who doesn't love bad B-movie mayhem? I certainly do and there aren't enough genetically mutated monsters to satisfy my cravings. However, sometimes there are movies that fail to accomplish even "dumb fun" and these can be painfully uninteresting. Unfortunately "Axe Giant: The Wrath of Paul Bunyon" falls into this category. Late in the movie, a story is recounted that shows why Bunyon turned into a crazed axe wielding maniac. That scene is so supremely silly and terrific, it just demonstrated how mundane the rest of the movie was. Let's just say that I'll never think of Babe the Blue Ox in quite the same way. But this demented 5 star scene can't save the lack of creativity in the rest of the film.

The movie starts with a glimpse of this back story, but soon moves quickly to the present. A troop of at-risk teenagers is taking an excursion into the woods with a surly Sergeant (Thomas Downey) and a sensitive social worker (Kristina Kopf). As a sort of wilderness reform therapy, each of the law breaking delinquents will be pushed to extremes by the stern taskmaster. Of course, the kids are rather generic character types instead of interesting people. Among them is an incredibly bland good girl who got a bad rap, so you have a good idea of who might survive (I would warn you about a possible spoiler alert, but don't bland good girls generally survive?). When the group finds a mysterious death alter, it opens a Pandora's box of horrors with a murderous giant tracking them down. They meet Joe Estevez (Martin Sheen's overacting, more craggy brother) who clues them in on the legend. Cue great back story, brief glimpse of Grizzly Adams, repetitive killings, and on to the blood soaked conclusion.

I've seen a lot of terrible CGI work in my pursuit of Bad Movie Magic, but this surely takes the case! So incredibly awful and laughable, I'm inclined to up my rating just to encourage you to see it for yourself. My primary problem with "Axe Giant: The Wrath of Paul Bunyon" was not really how bad it was, I simply didn't have much fun. The characters were so boring and interchangeable. Jesse Kove (as the Lothario) and Jill Evyn (as the bad girl) show signs of life, but are left dry by the unimaginative screenplay. Estevez is wacky, if a tad tedious. Only Thomas Downey seems to get he's in a bad movie with a stunning performance right out of Reno 911. I loved it. The characters we're supposed to care about are horribly generic and uninteresting and the big finale leaves much to be desired. 1 1/2 stars. I'll round up based on the one scene that was great fun and for Downey. KGHarris, 8/13.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars no thief like a bad movie, October 2, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Axe Giant: The Wrath of Paul Bunyan (Amazon Instant Video)
I will sometimes purposefully watch a B movie. So I can be good with low budget,bad acting and a weak plot at times. This was way beyond terrible. I just recently watched Dark Waters which was a really bad flick. But in comparison was a blockbuster. Don't go anywhere near this little number. You could shoot a better video drunk in the dark with an old VHS recorder. And that's probably how they did it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars love it, June 28, 2014
it is in great condition and a important part of my collection i love it and it is a fun and great movie
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars a very good twist in the storey book, April 7, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
it was good. it had some miner things but over all it was good hope to find more movies later
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Axe Giant, January 12, 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This movie was surprising good. It was a typical horror flick, with a bad guy, but better than most inexpensive horror flicks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great fun, January 7, 2014
If your expectations are lowered entering a viewing of a film like this (and don't you think they should be, the movie is called Axe Giant for God's sake) you might be pleasantly surprised. Cheesy, gory, stupid, and an old school charm. I had fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars So stupid it's funny, December 31, 2013
This One is worth watching once just don't get your hopes up. It's ok along the lines of classic movie standards. I found myself giving it the mst3k treatment and making fun of it but still got a good laugh out of it. I still gave it 3stars just for originality but I really have to wonder who thought this movie up? Now on to sharknado.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars B movie, December 20, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Spcial efficts are as cheesey as it gets. Overall this would have been the second feature at a cheap drive-in movie. You know the one you might as well sleep through.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars not as original as it could have been, September 11, 2013
not a bad horror movie, but the ending was very close to that of the amazing colossal man - giant falls off a bridge/dam into water and disappears after being shot up and his body is not found. Maybe a sequel is comming.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.