Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


44 of 44 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great War Game With Historic Flavor
Axis & Allies Pacific 1940 uses the same core set of rules used in the 50th Anniversary Edition and 1942 edition of the game, but the similarities end about there. This game focuses on the Pacific theater with the United States, China, United Kingdom, and ANZAC (Australia/New Zealand) prematurely "setting" the Rising Sun of Japan.

This game uses the same...
Published on February 16, 2010 by J. Schaefer

versus
10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fun game, but really cheaply made
This review is really for the Global Version of the game that you get when combining this one with Europe 1940.

After the success of the 50th Anniversary edition of Axis and Allies, I was really looking forward to this newest version. Unfortunately, there are a number of things that were a step backwards from the previous installments. It is still a fun game,...
Published on January 17, 2012 by Nevada Jones


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

44 of 44 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great War Game With Historic Flavor, February 16, 2010
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Axis & Allies Pacific 1940 uses the same core set of rules used in the 50th Anniversary Edition and 1942 edition of the game, but the similarities end about there. This game focuses on the Pacific theater with the United States, China, United Kingdom, and ANZAC (Australia/New Zealand) prematurely "setting" the Rising Sun of Japan.

This game uses the same premise of the original Pacific but with the new set of core rules. Other major changes from the original Pacific is that the Victory Point system is no longer used and the Combat Air Patrol has been revamped and now called Scramble.

The map spans from India out east to the United States and has many more Asian territories most similar to the Anniversary Edition. There are also more sea zones and island territories on this map. Additional units and rules in Pacific 1940 also gives this game more of a historic flavor that really enhances the experience as compared to 1942 edition. The board itself is very large at 35" wide by 32" tall and will match up with the upcoming release (Q3) of Europe 1940. The two maps combined (billed as measuring 60" x 32") is rumored to have multiple set ups (by year - similar to 50th AE) and it's own unique subset of rules (like Technology, etc.) Mum is the word on exactly what these might be, however.

Before your first game you will want to search the web for revisions to the rules/setup than what was initially produced (called errata - they're out there on a prominent forum dedicated to Axis & Allies). There are a number of things that have changed after feedback from players as well as additional play testing by the development team (unofficial at this point as they are probably still looking into feedback from players). I won't cover what these are as they still may change but they are significant to game play.

Overall quality of the game components is great and what you would expect:

* The board is large and very durable. I prefer boards that do not fold but then the box would've been massive
* There are plenty of units and chips (a tad too few Tac Bombers for Japan)
* Includes the player aids and storage trays (no dividers) that we have seen in the past (besides 1942 edition)

You can expect the time to complete a game to be about the same as other versions of Axis & Allies (3 1/2 to 5 hours for experienced players). The Political Situation (rule) starts the game with Japan at war with China but not US/UK/ANZAC. This essentially gives Japan free reign of the Pacific for up to 3 turns while it moves it's units into position for it's attack on US/UK/ANZAC; or it can launch an unprovoked attack before then at the risk of bringing the US into the war earlier (US starts the game with reduced IPCs but it's income gets a boost when it's "at war" with Japan. The UK/ANZAC may declare war during any turn, but any counterattack by Japan will not bring the US into war (so it had better be a crushing blow).

The addition of Naval and Air Bases really makes things interesting as those units have more range than what you see in the 1942 or 50th AE of Axis & Allies. This really adds an element of strategy on where to place your units around various islands and territories. Pacific 1940 also introduces Tactical Bombers and Mechanized Infantry. Tac Bombers when paired with Fighters/Tanks have an attack of 4 (instead of 3) and may land on Aircraft Carriers. Mechanized Infantry have a movement range of 2 as well as the ability to blitz along with tanks.

This game is probably best played with 2-3 players (3 players being Japan, United States/China, and UK/ANZAC) but could be played by up to 5 people if you want to break China away from US and ANZAC away from UK.

The following are some of the new elements to Pacific 1940 compared to 1942 or 50th Anniversary Editions

Units:
* Tactical Bombers and Mechanized Infantry
* Aircraft Carriers are now Capital Ships and take 2 hits to destroy (damaged Carriers cannot launch/land planes, though)
* Industrial Complexes are divided into Minor & Major (Major = up to 10 units mobilized, Minor = up to 3 units mobilized) and are upgradeable
* Naval and Air Bases (adds 1 movement point for units leaving these sea zones/territories, also where Capital ships are repaired)
* Anti-aircraft guns now only cover attacks against units (Industrial Complexes and Naval/Air bases have their own "built-in")
* Tanks cost $6 and Aircraft Carriers $16

Major Rule Additions:
* Political Situation - In short, all nations are not hostile to start (except Japan vs China)
* Scramble - Air Units on Islands with Air bases may defend in Naval combat in surrounding Sea Zones
* Convoy Zones - hostile Naval units in convoy zones reduce income received from Territories in that Sea Zone
* Kamikaze - Japan can conduct up to 6 Kamikaze attacks in certain Sea Zones (Kamikaze symbol printed on map)
* Neutral Nations - These now have units printed on the map that are placed when their borders are crossed

Pacific 1940 is a must have for any fan of the Axis & Allies franchise and I recommend this to anyone who enjoys a quality strategy game with a little more substance. The additional rules may take a game or two to master but are well worth the time investment. The Political Situation rules alone adds an element of history and strategy that enhance the Axis & Allies experience. I am very interested to see this effect on the combined global game when Europe 1940 is released. Despite the initial need of rule/setup corrections, Axis & Allies Pacific 1940 is a quality board game that will give you and your friends many hours of entertainment.

Happy Wargaming!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 1940 PACIFIC: GLOBAL PERSPECTIVE, February 25, 2011
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Axis And Allies Pacific 1940 (Toy)
My audience for this review are those who currently own 1940 Europe and are curious about the "Global 1940" game that can be had when the two sets are combined.

SETUP: The Pacific 1940 board lines up perfectly with the Europe 1940 board.

The Global turns are as follows: (Germany, Russia, Japan, UK Europe, UK Pacific, Australia, Italy, US, China, and France).

In "Global 1940", Japan has a big navy that is divided into 3 main areas. There are also an insane amount of aircraft at Japan's disposal. Ground units and finances are where Japan is particularly--but understandably--lacking.

CONSIDERATIONS FOR JAPAN: Despite their military might, Japan has to ask itself the following question early on: Do you attack China and ignore everyone else (allowing them to beef up and buy technologies)? Or do you go all-out and hope for the best?

I've played Japan in several Global games, each time with different tactics. In the end, the result was always the same: Japan can just barely stay alive when it's fighting a 3- to 5-front war (Australia, UK Pacific, Russia, US, and/or China).

Focusing solely on China is generally a waste as you're only making 1 IPC gains and often losing much more in troop strength. In addition, China has the nerve-wracking ability to spawn soldiers and artillery immediately on the front lines. Mainland minor factories are a wasted investment, especially when Australia and UK come in to run you over.

However, mostly ignoring China and attacking UK and Australia is also difficult, as this also brings the US into the war. Capturing Calcutta or even Sydney has never even come CLOSE to happening--and Japan can sure use some enemy IPCs.

LESSONS LEARNED (THE HARD WAY):
Keep your aircraft carriers alive and functional! Fighters and Tac. Bombers on islands have a very limited range.
Invest in a major industrial complex on the Asian mainland instead of 2 or more minor ones.
Transport those men who are "vacationing" on lonely islands to more practical destinations (Manila, Hong Kong, etc).
Don't completely ignore China and/or Russia, or they will be your undoing!

OVERALL: As I haven't played the Allies in the Global setup I can't comment on their strategy, but I will say that allowing newer players to take the role of the Allies is a wise decision as mistakes can more easily be remedied. China is arguably the most frustrating opponent for the Japanese and, despite not having a capital or abilities to create the usual range of units, a long life-span.

Compared to Axis and Allies 1942, the Global game can either be extremely frantic or MUCH slower (if Japan doesn't attack UK or Australia then the US CAN NOT enter the war until turn 4 (usually 5+ hours later)). I personally feel that Axis and Allies 1942 is better balanced, but Axis and Allies on the global scale is also very fun if you don't mind learning a few new rules.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fun game, but really cheaply made, January 17, 2012
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Axis And Allies Pacific 1940 (Toy)
This review is really for the Global Version of the game that you get when combining this one with Europe 1940.

After the success of the 50th Anniversary edition of Axis and Allies, I was really looking forward to this newest version. Unfortunately, there are a number of things that were a step backwards from the previous installments. It is still a fun game, but I'm not impressed with a number of factors. Let's look at the pros and cons.

GOOD STUFF:
1. GAMEPLAY. Once you get the new rules and setup, the game is quite deep and strategically balanced. It is a great challenge for experienced players, and I really enjoy it a lot. The new units (Tactical Bombers, Mechanized Infantry, Cruisers), countries (Italy, France, Australia, China), and the Facilities (Airbases and Naval Bases) add a lot to the strategy.

2. THE BOARD IS HUGE!! It is so awesome seeing this game set up on the giant board. When you combine the two games the board is about as long as I am tall and quite an impressive sight. Really makes you excited for the game.

BAD STUFF:

1. MISTAKES IN THE RULES. This must have been rushed to production, because there are tons of mistakes in the rules and the setup. In order to get the full experience, you have to go to the website for Harris Game Design and get the new rules and setup that have been edited numerous times. I suspect that the publishers didn't want to pay people to test the game, so they just sold the rough draft and took the advice of people who complained about it on the axisandallies.org forum. Basically they used customers as play testers. Anyone who posted a suggestion should get a refund, in my opinion.

2. LOW QUALITY PARTS.
-There is no paper money...just a chart so that you can keep track of your cash flow. Somehow, they thought that making the customer repeatedly photocopy the half-page chart that only lasts ONE TURN and then doing a bunch of arithmetic would be easier than just having some fake money. Stupid.
-The Antiaircraft guns and Factories used to be plastic pieces just like the other units in the game, but now are just flat little pieces of cardboard with a picture of an AA gun or Factory on it. Cheap and harder to see on the board.
-The storage boxes have no dividers, so it's really hard to find pieces when they are all mixed together. Annoying.
-There are not enough roundels (little country markers used to mark conquered territories) for some countries, and way too many for others. Bad planning.
-Japan doesn't come with enough Tactical Bombers to set up the game! You have to request replacements (for free).
-There are not enough chips (used to represent additional units) for such a large scale game. I even borrowed some from an older game and I still ran out.
-There are no reference charts of any kind. To remind yourself of the turn order, the available research options, the national objectives for each country, or the price and statistics of each type of unit, you constantly have to be searching through the rulebook. The 50th Anniversary edition of Axis and Allies had these all on a convenient reference card for each country in the game, but not this version.

3. IT TAKES FOREVER TO PLAY. My friend and I just completed a game in 16 hours. That was fast for us. There is so much stuff going on and so much to think about that it just takes a really long time. If you have the time, it's worth it, but as a result I don't play it as often as I would like because...you know...I have a job and a life, and so do my friends.

Overall, I really like this game, but I had to do a lot to soup it up so that it would be nice. I bought better storage boxes so that I could find units more quickly. I borrowed chips, money, AA guns and Factories from an older Axis and Allies game that I have. I requested the replacement parts from the company. This is a lot of work that shouldn't have to be done after spending a lot of money on the game. It's worth it because the game is so much fun to play, but just be warned that it's not as great as it could be.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome game for any Axis and Allies Fan, December 15, 2010
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Axis And Allies Pacific 1940 (Toy)
I am a huge fan of the original Axis and Allies and until Pacific 1940, have not bought any of the other variants of the game (Battle of the Bulge, Revised addition, Spring 1942). Having played through Pacific 1940, I can tell you that this game is awesome... it has all of the core game play of the original Axis and Allies, but the new factions, rules, units, and political situations make this game a masterpiece.

One of the things that I really like is the re-playability of Pacific 1940. With the original Axis and Allies, I felt like there where a handful of ways to win and if you deviated from those strategies then you where in for an up-hill battle... Pacific 1940 may ultimately end up being the same way (I haven't play tested it enough), but my initial impression is that there are a lot possibilities for winning/ loosing. Being that the setting of 1940 starts earlier in the war, there are a lot of critical decisions that must be made early on for both sides. As Axis Japan, you start off as a military power house and have tons of resources at your disposal... do you launch an offensive into China and give the allies time to build up, or do you go on the offensive early and hit the British and ANZAC forces which in turn will bring the US into the war? As the allies, you try to slow the advance of Japan long enough to bring the production Juggernaut US into the theater... it is up to the British and Chinese to slow down the Japanese on the Asian mainland, while ANZAC harasses the Axis power in the South Pacific.

My initial impression is that this is an awesome addition to the Axis and Allies universe and would highly recommend it to anyone interested in WW2 history or strategy games. This game can also be paired with the Europe 1940, which allows you to play out the second world war on an epic scale (I am looking forward to playing this Global version at some point in the future).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fun game of WWII in the Pacific, April 6, 2010
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
In a nutshell, this is Axis & Allies in the Pacific.
The set up time is much longer, with many more units.
The Japanese player has an advantage, only for a short while till America's productuin soars ahead.

But here's a house rule that works. A 'what if' the Japanese only attack British and it's Allies, for the first 3 turns. Not the USA.
Normally, the rules for a first suprise attack is 'defend with a 1'. However, this only applies the the British and it's allies, (Australia, India, China, NZ)
In turn 2, if USA is attacked, 'defend with a 2'. If the Japanese wait till the 3rd turn to attack the USA, they 'defend with a 3'.(defend 3 or less, depending on the defensive unit, then regular battle chart starting turn 4)

And if you want a 'MONSTER game, put the A&A Europe next to A&A Pacific, with a few house rules, you will have a long game.

John & EW
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great game to Play, January 8, 2011
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Axis And Allies Pacific 1940 (Toy)
If your into Strategic board games, This is a really neat game to play.

One thing about this game is that Japan does not have enough strategic bombers. They only have six, and the game starts them off with at least ten. So when you are setting up the game, You have to use chips uder the strategic bombers to represent how many strategic bombers thier are.

Axis and Allies is not for everyone. The Person should be into history and Like planning and thinking a lot to really enjoy this game. The rules sometimes are not so clear. They can be sometimes ambiguous. I would say that sometimes the players have to decide what is right and wrong when the rules are ambiguous.

The game itself is good, but I can see how not all people would be into it.
This is a long game to play if the people playing are really into strategy. The game can take more than four hours to play. I have heard stories that it can take up to eight hours. It all depends on the people playing.

What Axis and Allies or Avlon Hill should do is try to create other games like the Korean war or Vietnam. Perhaps, even create games based on Iraq and Afganastan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars great old revise of a classic, December 18, 2010
= Durability:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Axis And Allies Pacific 1940 (Toy)
only real downside that i do not like is the no IPCS included lucky for me like most Axis and Allies fans i own many boards so i just use those IPCS oh and the lack of chips. you run out of chips on the set up of the board, and not many peices.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars CHEAPLY MADE, January 6, 2012
= Durability:1.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:3.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Axis And Allies Pacific 1940 (Toy)
I can't believe how cheaply made this game is!

I've always really liked the look and feel of Axis and Allies games, but this edition is pretty terrible. How can they charge $90 for a game that looks like it was designed by the intern as a weekend project?

The old editions had map boards that had a kind of navigational chart feel to them. The other boards were informative and made from durable cardboard, and each player got a cheat-sheet with unit placements and abilities. And everything had some picture of a Spitfire or a battleship or something else that was World War II themed. The game as a whole was a work of art, and every time I play it I'm impressed by the sheer amount of detail they put into it.

Axis and Allies Pacific 1940 is the opposite. The map board is just barely passable. The only other boards included with the game are a tiny, flimsy battle board, an even smaller "casualty zone" board (useless), and a nondescript economic production board. I should add that there's no artistic flair to any of these boards, as they're just barely big enough to fit the absolutely essential bits of text they decided not to delete for the new game. The one place where they improved was by giving each nation a box for units, like in the first edition original game. But there's no insert to keep things organized, so it's not much better than using zip-lock bags. The cover of each box has a unit placement table that looks like it was designed and printed from MS Word. It doesn't include any kind of unit ability cheat-sheet. And as if all of that weren't enough, they didn't bother to print any IPCs for the game! I guess I'll use my fingers, or raid a Monopoly set to keep track of how much money each player has.

All this for twice what I paid for my original Axis and Allies, which as I said is a work of art.

I'm a big fan of this series, but this is just ridiculous.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Axis Allies Pacific 1940, August 22, 2011
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Axis And Allies Pacific 1940 (Toy)
This game is great. I bought both games (190 Europe and 1940 Pacific) so this review is for the combo. THe boards line up very well, off by less than a few millimeters. The games also do connect very well dynamically. I would say the only real problem is the Axis player has a tougher time winning. Mostly because USA and GB are so powerful together and Italy does very little to help Germany. I am considering using a house rule that italy will receive more money per turn to off set this, perhaps a bonus payout as long as that player controls North and south italy (pride of homeland or something, since the other nations seem to have similar bonuses). Over all this game is great. Great for just a few people but really more worth while for a larger group (when playing the combo). If you just have 2 people its a little too much to play global rules, as the turns take way too long. The individual boards Pacific and Europe are fun on their own as well. I have not played Pacific by itself, but the Naval battles that take place on this board are the same in global as well, and are quite fun! ANZAC actually helps out, where as China is more like a small barrier and doesn't do much.

Upsides to the game:
great Risk style game based on chance and skill. if you love WWII then this is a game 4 u. Great quality of board and pieces. very amusing to attack your friends and try to destroy their armies. Unlike Risk, this game has a dozen different types of troops to choose from, and creates a realism rarely seen in a board game. 90%+ the game follows true world history and its great to re-enact the epic battles from WWII. Game pace is slow, but also means you cant lose in one turn. Complex rules create a dynamic that is so real, by far the most complex board game I have played, but by far the more rewarding. Once I learned the rules the game goes 2-3X faster. By far my favorite part of the game is to discuss strategy with your allies (if your the Axis then Italy and Japan are your allies) and create unique plans of attack, and create special ways to assist one another. The cooperation is pretty much required to win, that I love.

Down sides:
Game is incredibly (enjoyably) complex, and as such takes a while to learn well, and 5+ hours to play, so only play if you can save the boards on a shelf or something, or start early enough in the day/evening (also digital pictures of the board would allow you to break it all down and continue playing the same game at a later time). Axis seems to be slightly over-whelmed by allies on all sides (but I supposed that must have been what it was really like). I suggest looking into Alpha 2 rules to see some options. Incredibly nerve racking to play if you have cats lol! we had our squirt bottle nearby because our cats are hunters and constantly tried to jump up on the board and attack the pieces!

Great game, I highly recommend. Has/will be a source of great fun on our board game nights! Good hunting!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Axis and Allies Pacific 1940, January 22, 2011
= Durability:2.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:2.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Axis And Allies Pacific 1940 (Toy)
Great game, and definitely worth it. I had to have Pacific with it, and recommend buying them together. It took up the whole dining room table!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Axis And Allies Pacific 1940
Axis And Allies Pacific 1940 by Wizards of the Coast
$98.09
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.