Customer Reviews


301 Reviews
5 star:
 (264)
4 star:
 (22)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


117 of 125 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 63 reviews, 4.9 star average rating: Do the math.
In only a few short months after the landmark Are You Experienced? was released, Jimi and his Experience created another musical triumph in the form of Axis: Bold as Love. While AYE was a solid but somewhat rough sounding collection of mostly road tested tunes like "Purple Haze" and "Fire", ABaL was an absolute marvel of studio-born songs with sound quality that amazes to...
Published on August 9, 2002 by Church of The Flaming Sword

versus
27 of 35 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Gimmick...the 1997 remaster with new packaging.
Janie Hendrix, Jimi's adopted sister and sole heir to his music copyrights, dropped the MCA record label and signed a new contract for reissuing Jimi's catalog on Sony in 2010. It seems kinda ridiculous that every 2 or 3 years, whenever she wins a copyright lawsuit or decides to switch record labels, she "remasters" the entire catalog. How many victory reissues do we...
Published on November 20, 2011 by FromABuick6


‹ Previous | 14 5 631 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Could be better..., May 19, 2010
By 
"Axis" have been a classic for over 40 years, so i'm not going to review the album, but this Deluxe Edition.

The remastered sound is really an improvement if you only listened to the first pressings of it on CD. But, if you already have the '97 remasters, it's just the same thing.

I'm givin' it 4 stars because of the dvd. It's so short, that i really wonder why not to put a CD of demos or live recordings from the era? It would be so better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Experience's best studio album, July 6, 2004
By 
Chet Fakir (San Francisco) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Axis: Bold As Love (Audio CD)
Axis was originally released in 1968 and is the second of the three studio albums released in Hendrix's lifetime. For my money Axis is the Experience at their peak. Its better recorded than the debut "Are You Experienced?". The drums sound MUCH better and the guitar much more alive and richer in tone. And Axis is less rambling, more focused and less broad in scope than "Electric Ladyland". The songs flow better than either of the other studio albums and both the recording and song writing are more consistant. Not neccessarily better. Its just that Axis is more unified in sound than Hendrix's other studio output. It's his tightest and most psychedelic album. Jimi and his engineer Eddie Kramer really got some facinating sounds in the studio and used phasing among other tricks to great effect. Just check out the track list: Its got the live staple "Spanish Castle Magic", its got "Little Wing", its got "If Six Was Nine" "Im gonna wave my freak flag HIGH!" Its got the jazzy soul of "Up From the Skies" and the metal edged funk of "Aint No Telling" to the acid tinged 4 minute pop symphony of the title song "Bold As Love." Not to mention the beautiful Dylanesque rocker "Castles Made Of Sand." It doesn't get any better than this. One of the true psychedelic albums of the sixties. Just Beautiful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Only his second album and people have covered it for years, April 11, 2009
By 
R. L. MILLER (FT LAUDERDALE FL USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Axis: Bold As Love (MP3 Music)
Since Hendrix's passing, people have been covering his work for years, but years, but this album's tracks were the biggest source. "Up From the Skies" has been done by Sting and Rickie Lee Jones, who both proved that the wah-wah may have been the most prominent feature of this original version here, but the song wasn't dependent on that gimmick. Now that it's permissible to critique Eric Clapton without being called a heretic, I can finally come out and say that the earliest cover of the ballad "Little Wing" on "Derek & the Dominos" was annoyingly strident. Sting's later version was a bit less so, but if the bikers who idolized "Derek" re-ee-ally want to know how the song is supposed to sound, here's how. When this album came out, rock'n'roll wasn't supposed to be in 3/4 time--that meter was for those stodgy waltzes your music teacher forced on you in school and your parents did at weddings. Jimi didn't care--he wrote "One Rainy Wish". Back then, in the intro "EXP", I didn't know there was a real Paul Caruso, but he was later interviewed in the film "Jimi Hendrix". Listen to that track and you'll see that Jimi does a great laid-back caricature of Caruso's professorial tones here. But that was Jimi for you--his awkward, shy patter between numbers in live shows could really give you the wrong impression of the man's genius.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Axis won't dissapoint!, June 8, 2004
By 
KB (Lawrence, KS) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Axis: Bold As Love (Audio CD)
Hendrix reentered the studio mere months after recording Are You Experienced? and began work on Axis: Bold As Love. For many artists, recording a successful follow-up album to a hit is a difficult, indeed in some cases impossible, endeavor which often takes years of laboring over new material, but such was not the case for the Jimi Hendrix Experience. Hendrix's writing is much tighter and his music much more accessible. Some of his more extravagent and indulgent impulses (like Third Stone From the Sun) appear to have been tamed, and Hendrix seems to be trying to appeal to a more pop oriented audience. Indeed, you will only find two songs on the album which exceed the three minute radio barrier of the day. Chas Chandler's influence as creative consultant, manager, and producer is quite pronounced in this regard, and subsequently, Axis: Bold As Love is less raw than Are You Experienced, MUCH more accessible than Electric Ladyland, and not even in the same ballpark with Band of Gypsys.
Yeah, it's not the most memorable material Hendrix ever produced, but it's still extremely good. It's a terrible way to familiarize yourself with Hendrix's body of work if you're a Hendrix novice, but for the music lover and Hendrix fan, Axis: Bold As Love is an essential album, a must own, without a doubt.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Underrated, April 27, 2006
This review is from: Axis: Bold As Love (Audio CD)
Yup. That's right, I gave an album with an average review of 5 stars the label "uderrated" and, compared to it's predecessor and successor, it is. No doubt Are You Experienced, the greatest debut album in music history, and Electric Ladyland the highpoint in Hendrix's career deserve every ounce and more of the credit they receive. This album though, is sometimes overlooked. On this album, Hendrix's already good songwriting is taken to another level and the man known to be such a hard rocker writes some songs, such as Little Wing and Castles Made of Sand, that are a million times sweeter than all of the teen bop pop whatever the heck that junk is called combined. Thought Hendrix couldn't get any better at guitar? His playing improves at a rate that is scary between the debut and this. I play guitar professionally and still the rhythm parts on some of these songs are enough to drive one to intense frustration (when trying to play them, to listen to, they are pure joy). So this wasn't the debut that broke down every musical barrier, nor was it the magnum opus, but it was/is one tremendous album that deserves to stand on the pededestal with the other two Experience masterpieces.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Axis Bold As Love, April 16, 2004
This review is from: Axis: Bold As Love (Audio CD)
Axis Bold As Love remains as Hendrix's most fluential albums of all time. It was all acheived on a small four track recording system. This album was way ahead its time I personally think most artist now days could not even achieve what Jimi did some 30+ years ago. This album is a true classic in its shape, age, and form. While The Jimi Hendrix Experience were recording their first album Are You Experienced they where also working out songs for there next album Axis Bold As Love. Its hard to even believe hendrix had only four short years for four albums that were all masterpieces.
The start of the album goes into a little renedition titled EXP mostly space sounds. Then their's Up From The Skies very cool. Then my all time favorite Spanish Castle Magic. I also love Castle Made Of Sand, Bold As Love, and Aint No Telling. Also their are classics like If 6 was 9, and Little Wing. 30+ years I listen to Jimi Hendrix and still cant get over his music. He will always remain as the best guitarist, and also one of the best song writers. I still admire Jimi Hendrix. Axis Bold As Love is the real deal for any music fan buy this~Highly Recomened!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rock Icon's Overlooked Second Chapter, March 28, 2005
By 
Erik Rust (Lexington, KY) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Axis: Bold As Love (Audio CD)
Jimi Hendrix's sophomore release may not have been as explosive as ARE YOU EXPERIENCED?, or as lavish as ELECTRIC LADYLAND, but AXIS: BOLD AS LOVE certainly packs an impressive wallop of it's own. Although "Little Wing" supplies the album with it's resplendent signature tune, there's plenty of other tasty rock n' roll treats scattered throughout. Heavier on funk and groove, this album boasts a more pronounced soul and r&b influence than before on "Wait Until Tomorrow," "Up From The Skies," and the strutting "Little Miss Lover." However, the incendiary "Spanish Castle Magic" and "If 6 Was 9" could easily go toe to toe with Hendrix's previous psychedelic hard rock anthems as they shake the foundations with nasty fuzzed-out riffs and blazing guitar pyrotechnics. And, as usual, there's a multitude of mad-scientist-like production flourishes (underwater guitar and back-masking to name a few) to keep any listener on their toes. Hendrix was certainly the consummate artist, and although not as many revere this particular album, there's still plenty of evidence here to prove why Jimi was such a rock n'roll heavyweight.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Jimi's "Axis", February 13, 2003
This review is from: Axis: Bold As Love (Audio CD)
Jimi created his own axis, and he gives us a glimpse with
"Axis: Bold As Love."
This is my favorite Jimi jam (and believe me, I've had more than my share of "Axis" vs. "Electric Ladyland" arguments! Maybe I'll tell y'all about a classic debate I had with an employee at J&R Music in Lower Manhattan one day!) because it showcases the whole spectrum of his genius...Songwriting, playing, singing and production.
Everyone goes on and on about how Miles started Fusion, well, I'm here to say that Jimi had that concept down by the time Mr. Davis decided to plug his horn into a Wah-Wah pedal with the "Axis" cuts, "Up From The Skies," "Gold And Rose" and "If Six Was Nine." (Need I mention even earlier Fusion cuts on "Are You Experienced?")
I have only one problem with "Axis," and it pertains to Jimi's ending solo on the title cut. The phasing effects make an otherwise uninspired solo sound stratospheric. It leaves me torn each time I hear it. (maybe that was the effect Jimi and studio engineer Eddie Kramer were shooting for.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not quite up to the level of Ladyland, but essential listening nonetheless for Classic Rock fans, January 26, 2006
By 
This review is from: Axis: Bold As Love (Audio CD)
Most casual fans of Hendrix will want to purchase Are You Experienced? or a Best of Hendrix compilation, but true Hendrix fans will want to purchase all three of his albums with the Experience, if for no other reason than to hear the remarkably quick metamorphosis of Hendrix' songwriting from that of Psychedelic Blues Rock pop-length tracks to the more "concept-album"-oriented sound of both this album and its successor, Electric Ladyland. Just about every track on this album (with the exception of "She's So Fine") is worthy of mention, most notably "Bold As Love", "If 6 was 9", "Castles Made of Sand", and "Little Wing". Also worthy of mention are "Little Miss Lover", a damned funky number and one which serves as a signpost offering the direction his music would take after leaving the Experience, and "Spanish Castle Magic", a psychedelic romp fueled by heavily distorted guitar while at the same time hearkening back to Are You Experienced? in terms of general sonic feel. An essential album for Hendrix fans, but you should go get Electric Ladyland too, as well as his Band of Gypsys album with Buddy Miles.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Jimi is as bold as love, April 26, 2005
This review is from: Axis: Bold As Love (Audio CD)
This album is an absolute classic. Although it has a different tone from the "are you experienced" album, it is just as good, if not better. The whole album is very listenable, a short and sweet 38 min. (i think).The album is packed with heck load of good songs. Everyone will love (heh, heh, Axis:Bold As LOVE) the song 'Castles Made of Sand", a very emotional poem-like song about how life is like. It talks about a cheating man, an indian who's dreams of being an indian chief were crushed, and a depressed handicap person whose meaning of life was restored when she saw a "golden wing ship pass her way" from a cliff.People will also like the rockin' songs like "you Got Me Floatin' (very catchy- love Jimi's singing in this one) and "Spanish Castle Magic". The classic "if 6 was 9" is here and contains the famous Jimi quote "i'm gonna wave my freak flag high." The intro is a wierd sci-fi thing that makes you go "huh?" but by the end "Bold As Love", it will have blown you away.It is just evil to skip songs on your first listen of this cd.Also reccomend: Are You Experienced?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 14 5 631 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Axis: Bold As Love
Axis: Bold As Love by Jimi Hendrix (Audio CD - 1997)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.