Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic collection of those all-time BJ Thomas hits
This is the pinnacle of all collections of BJ Thomas' greatest hits. All people out there who consider themselves BJ Thomas fans should include this in their personal collection!
Published on September 24, 2000

versus
5 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars RE-RECORDING ALERT!!
Sorry to contradict the two other glowing reviews, but these are RE-RECORDINGS of his original hits. I picked this up back in the vinyl days in a bargain bin, and while Thomas is in good voice throughout, re-makes can NEVER conjure up the magic of the original hit recordings. The "Gusto" label that released this, among other "hits" collections, (including a Gary Lewis &...
Published on May 2, 2008 by T. A. Murphy


Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic collection of those all-time BJ Thomas hits, September 24, 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: B.J. Thomas Classics (Audio CD)
This is the pinnacle of all collections of BJ Thomas' greatest hits. All people out there who consider themselves BJ Thomas fans should include this in their personal collection!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best of B.J. Thomas, May 20, 2001
By 
Scott A. Eckstein (Bloomfield, New Mexico United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: B.J. Thomas Classics (Audio CD)
I am enjoying this CD as I type this information. An excellent CD, at a more than excellent price. I really take pleasure in listening to the soothing voice, and music of B.J. Thomas.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Thomas's Promises, April 8, 2012
This review is from: Best Of B. J. Thomas (Audio CD)
The B.J. Thomas version of "I'm So Lonesome I Could Cry" was the first version of that song that I ever heard back in '66. I was only 13 at the time and fell in love with the tune and with Thomas' voice. I've since heard some of the more authentically C&W takes on the song--including Hank Williams' original--and have come to appreciate them as much if not more than Thomas' more commercial version. But there's still something special--beyond the nostalgia factor--about the B.J. Thomas version. He took the song's plainspoken sentiment and torched it up a notch or two (especially evident in the dramatic ending he provides). Purists may not find it as authentic sounding as many of the more country sounding versions by various and sundry artists out there, but as a 60s chart topper, it's hard to beat.

Thomas' career seemed to follow a somewhat unconventional commercial arc thereafter. He never seemed to drop out completely--and had sporadic Top 40 hits (his next truly big one coming in '68 with the Top 5 single, "Hooked On a Feeling"). He was the kind of artist who didn't have COMEBACKS per se, since he never really went away. No one was surprised when he finally garnered a No. 1 tune with "Raindrops Keep Fallin' On My Head" in '69. He seemed like the ideal singer for that particular piece of pop confection. And if Bacharach/David seemed pretty far removed from his basic country roots, no one seemed to mind..or even notice particularly.

"Raindrops" was one of those tunes that hippies didn't necessarily object to as being too commercial since it stemmed from the soundtrack of a pretty hip movie (BUTCH CASSIDY AND THE SUNDANCE KID). Thomas' earlier Top Ten hit, "Hooked On A Feeling," was, on the other hand, the butt of more than a few jokes at the time of its release though. Throwing an electric sitar into the mix seemed like pretty much like a desperate attempt at hipness at the time--as did the druggy allusions inherent in the song ("hooked on a feelin'/high on believin'...). Nowadays, one can listen to the tune with a sense of nostalgia though: there's something almost sweet about the attempt to be both hip AND commercial. And admittedly, it worked well enough at the time to score Thomas his 2nd Top Ten hit.

In the 70s, Thomas scored higher on the Adult Contemporary and Country charts than on the regular Hot 100. When he revisited Bacharach/David territory with a semi-novelty number like "Everybody's Out of Town," he scored a Top 3 on the AC chart but didn't quite make the Top 20 on the Hot 100. He did have a chart topper on all three Billboard charts in '75 with "Another Somebody Done Somebody Wrong Song" (NOT included on this budgeline "Best of" sampler, unfortunately).

I don't imagine you'll find B.J. Thomas, at age 69 (which he is at the time of this writing) complaining too much about how things turned out for him, careerwise. If superstardom as such seems to have eluded him, no one can say that he hasn't performed solidly as a hitmaker from a period dating back to the mid-60s. He had the pipes, and some of his material ("I'm So Lonesome," and "Mighty Clouds of Joy," among those included here) have an emotional heft that's undeniable. Even at his downright schlockiest ("Mama," "Rock'n'Roll Lullabye") he sells the tunes with conviction, making "Lullabye," in particular, a strong contender to be on anyone's Guilty Pleasure list--what with the Duane Eddy guitar solo and the soulful back up vocals by the Blossoms.

This bargain price sampler actually is a good intro to Thomas' body of work. I'm sometimes wary of Laserlight products, but this one works. Pretty well actually.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Filled with lots of great memories!, September 10, 2012
This album was originally released in 1987, and was rereleased in 1994 on CD. It's a very good album, one that is sure to please any B.J. Thomas fan. It includes all of his best tunes, including Raindrops Keep Fallin' On My Head, I'm So Lonesome I Could Cry, and Hooked On A Feeling.

Right, unlike with other recordings, this one contains the original tunes. And, they do sound absolutely wonderful. I don't know if they've been digitally remastered or anything, but nonetheless they sound great. It's an excellent album, filled with lots of great memories!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Not a rip off!!, May 19, 2009
This review is from: B.J. Thomas Classics (Audio CD)
This B J Thomas offering-Classics-the one pictured above- is not the Gusto recording. The previous reviewer made a mistake. I too purchased the other set-and the synthesized horns were a tip off. I returned mine to the discount store for a refund. However, this is the real deal (a real photo is used.) It may be a bargain cd-but it is the real deal. Don't be put off by the mistaken reviewer above.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars RE-RECORDING ALERT!!, May 2, 2008
Sorry to contradict the two other glowing reviews, but these are RE-RECORDINGS of his original hits. I picked this up back in the vinyl days in a bargain bin, and while Thomas is in good voice throughout, re-makes can NEVER conjure up the magic of the original hit recordings. The "Gusto" label that released this, among other "hits" collections, (including a Gary Lewis & The Playboys best of that also fooled me at first) is/was notorious for such deceptions. No reason to buy this as long as the genuine Scepter/Decca hits collections are available. By the way, when will a REALLY COMPLETE B.J. Thomas anthology be released? All the ones I've seen miss at least a few songs. Maybe the people that put out those two-disc "GOLD" sets could give it a shot?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

B.J. Thomas Classics
B.J. Thomas Classics by B.J. Thomas (Audio CD - 1996)
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.