Automotive Deals Best Books of the Month Shop Women's Clothing Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Crown the Empire Fire TV Stick Sun Care Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer harmonquest_s1 harmonquest_s1 harmonquest_s1  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis Enter for the chance to win front row seats to Barbra Streisand Water Sports

Customer Reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars
32
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:$14.87+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon December 21, 1999
BLT is probably my favorite Trower album. The songs have a very commercial feel to them, but have enough "hooks" to grab you. The final track of the album, "End Game", has some of the lowest and richest bass playing I've ever heard. I never listened to Truce until I got this double-CD so it doesn't have the same history with me. However, try as I might, I just can't seem to get the "hook" with this one. It is ok, but sounds a bit uninspired and lacks the raw energy I associate with BLT. In either case, this disk is worth getting simply for the great BLT album and if you like Truce even a little bit, it is gravy.
0Comment| 34 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 2, 2007
Hi there:

As the author of the Jefferson Airplane book "Take Me To A Circus Tent" I am asked often to review and talk about rock and roll recordings from the 60's and 70's.

The idea of a double package (Giving the fan both "BLT" & "Truce") is a great marketing tool. Almost everyone that owns the 2 albums enjoy "BLT" more, thus you can look at "Truce" being included as a bonus.

There is a lot of positive musical events that went on during the idea of Robin Trower teaming with one time Cream bass-player Jack Bruce. You not only have two musicians that can improvise on any tune but be tasty on the three minute rockers as well. Joined by drummer Bill Lordan (Played on many Trower recordings) the trio works well and can push each other. Something that has often times been forgotten is Robin Trower employed the services of the former lyricist he worked with in Procol Harum (Keith Reid). The foundation was set on both the music side and the lyrical content.

The song that got the airplay from "BLT" is "Into Money." It happens to be the first track and puts you in the proper frame of mind in helping to digest the rest.

When "BLT" is finished (Last song has the fitting title "End Game") do not let any previous reviews of "Truce" turn you off to the recording before it starts.

Be prepared to listen to "Truce" two or three times before you can sink your teeth into the material. It is a win win situation. If you like even one tune on the album you are that much more ahead of the game. If you only think "BLT" gives you the flavor you crave, you didn't go out of your way to get "Truce" anyway. There is a good chance you will find it better than you were told it would sound.

These guys rock and you can be along for the ride.

Always be well,

Craig Fenton

Author of the Jefferson Airplane book "Take Me To A Circus Tent"
11 comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 26, 2002
It was a good experiment; get Cream's vocal and bass powerhouse teamed up with one of the most sonic guitarists since some guy named Hendrix and sparks, well, sparks mostly fly. Except when they don't, which is the case with the second Trower/Bruce team-up, TRUCE. That one sorta lays down and rolls over. But the first album, BLT, is a smoker! From the opening riff of "Into Money," through the power blues of "No Island Lost" and the balladry of "Won't Let You Down" and "Carmen," heck, throughout the entire ten tracks, B(ruce) L(ordan) and T(rower) restore the good name to "power trio." Dunno what happened the second time out, but, to be fair, TRUCE is a relatively pleasant if sleepy album. If you can find BLT by its' lonesome on CD without taking out a second mortgage, snap it up! Otherwise, this is still a good purchase to make. I might even grow to like TRUCE as much as BLT with a few more spins.
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 30, 1999
THIS HAS TO BE ONE OF THE MOST DEFINITIVE WORKS IN TROWER'S COLLECTION ALL BE IT PRACTICALLY UNKNOWN TO MOST. TRACK ONE INTO MONEY SAYS IT ALL. EACH TRACK IS A TRIP INTO JACK BRUCE'S AND ROBIN TROWER'S MULTI-TALENTED MINDS. THE END GAME FEATURES SOME OF HOTTEST BASS CUTS EVER RECORDED ON THE PLANET. THIS IS A MUST HAVE FOR ANY COLLECTOR OF ROBIN TROWER.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 28, 2005
If your a R. Trower fan and you don't have this one, your not a fan! Jack Bruce,Bill Lordin,Robin Trower. This is simply his best, and Re-mastered too.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 4, 2014
Lost in the synthesizer laden shallows of the 80's is this gem of a power trio featuring Legends, guitarist Robin Trower and bassist Jack Bruce, as well as Reg Isadore and Bill Lorden drums. The Trower/Bruce two album collaboration totally escaped my notice until recently when I came across the video tracks on Youtube while looking for something else. While the songs might not rival those of Cream and Trower's masterwork 'Bridge of Sighs' album, there is still plenty of excitement. The tracks were laid down 'as live' in the studio with Truce being recorded in two days. The rawness of the recording drives the music. Bruce's voice and crisp bass are great against Trower's full-throated Hendrixian guitar. There's definitely some songs that would have gotten airplay in any other decade. As it stands, it's a great representation of what can happen when two storied musicians get together for an intense jam/recording session.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 22, 2011
This is going to be a bit harsh perhaps. But I don't know how else to say what it is without saying what it is. And what it is, in my humble opinion, is this: "B.L.T." is probably the very best work Jack Bruce, Robin Trower, and Bill Lordan ever did... collectively, as individual artists, or with the works they've each done with other bands. "B.L.T." is simple raw classic perfection. To make such a great and full sound with a 3 piece band is quite a feat to be sure. Bruce's bass lines are incredible and vast, his vocals near perfect; Trower's work rivals anything he's done, in my opinion, including Bridge of Sighs; and while Lordan worked with some outstanding musicians in the past, including Band of Gypsies, who created some unbelievable music, this "B.L.T." project is, in my opinion, his finest work to date. The way he works a ride cymbal, hammers a kick drum, and fills only when he should with the most tasteful fills, is a pure joy to listen to. To say that each of these guys are masters in their own right should go without saying...but I will say this, "B.L.T." is sticky sweet ear candy from the first lick to the last. Each song has it's own sweet individual flavor. If you like classic "real" rock and roll, original blues, and/or passionate ballads, none of which are over produced, you'll love this album.
"Truce", on the other hand, is a different story altogether!! Poorly mixed, vocals dropping out randomly, over produced and over all a more "commercial" sounding project, I skip it. I just can't bring myself to listen to it...especially following the masterpiece that B.L.T. is. I'm sorry. After the first 10 tracks, which are "B.L.T.", I move on to the next disc in the player. I'm a singer/ songwriter and, among other things, a bass player...and a HUGE Jack Bruce fan, but Truce has been weighed and found wanting. It may seem cruel, I certainly don't mean to be. I respect these artist. I just have to call 'em like I hear 'em. Why it was decided that these two works (B.L.T. / Truce) be put on a single disc is beyond me. You, however, might love them both. If I were rating "Truce" alone I would've given it 1 or maybe 2 stars, while "B.L.T." alone would've rated 5...with a bonus star if I could.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 9, 2007
This is a biased review because I love this artist and I knew the music well before choosing the purchase. It is great!
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 20, 2003
Don't buy this CD. It's truly brilliant but you can buy both of TROWER and BRUCE's collaborations ( BLT and TRUCE ) on 1 CD, that way you not only get the best output from BRUCE but 2 for the price of one. This CD was recorded in 2 days and displays BRUCE's voice and TROWER's playing at their best within a fairly sparse framework leaning heavily on the blues. This is however not a blues album as a lot of other influences come to play as well. As with all TROWER CD's ( I've got all 23 of them ) his playing is reliant more on tone and emotion than on outright speed. If you like TROWER or BRUCE you must have this as it shows
both of them of at their best while being easily accessible ( some of BRUCE's solo efforts can be a bit obtuse ) and totally enjoyable.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 24, 2005
The chemistry between the extraodinary electric blues-rock guitarist, Robin Trower and the remarkable clear tenor bluesy vocal of the legendary Jack Bruce combines fantastically on the first "album" on this digitally remastered "2-fer" CD as "BLT" is a classic, 5-star, 10-song collaboration. Drummer Bill Lordan (The "L" in "BLT") compliments both Trower and Bruce wonderfully as this trio provides an inspired, listener accessible, cohesive mix of rolling power-blues rockers and slower tempo, absolutely flowing catchy blues ballads as Bruce's flawless vocals and Trower's energetic licks are right on target throughout. "BLT" standouts although every track is enjoyable are my personal favorites "Life On Earth", "Into Money", Once The Bird Has Flown", "Carmen" and "End Game".

"Truce", the second "album" of this CD is on the other hand a disappointment in comparison. It is an uninspired overall effort and lacks consistent staying power. To sum it up, this is a 2-star effort (a 3-star for devoted Bruce and Trower fans who still can get a feel for the music and musicianship - it's not all so bad).

Overall, the good news is that the sound is super with the digital remastering throughout both albums and since it is a "2-fer" it is a nice bargain to have. Besides, I have yet to see "BLT" on CD by itself here readily in the USA to date. Do yourself a favor and grab this.

Overall rating: "BLT">5 stars "Truce"> 2-3 stars
>Round off to 4 stars overall................................
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

$14.99

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.