B-Sides & Rarities [Explicit]

October 4, 2005 | Format: MP3

Song Title

Product Details

  • Original Release Date: October 4, 2005
  • Release Date: October 4, 2005
  • Label: Rhino/Maverick Records
  • Copyright: 2005 Maverick Records. Manufactured & Marketed by Rhino Entertainment
  • Record Company Required Metadata: Music file metadata contains unique purchase identifier. Learn more.
  • Total Length: 1:04:18
  • Genres:
  • Format: Explicit Lyrics
  • ASIN: B00122FTVK
  • Average Customer Review: 4.3 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (77 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #10,673 Paid in Albums (See Top 100 Paid in Albums)

Customer Reviews

Overall though I can't complain much about the cd.
Give this CD/DVD a chance, You will find that you have made the right choice.
Music Man
Doesn't really matter, this is still a great release for any fan.
W. Barber

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

53 of 65 people found the following review helpful By LeftManOut on October 6, 2005
Format: Audio CD
And I say that statement with some pain. It really hurts me to give a Deftones release less than 5 stars, but their newest collection of B-Sides and Rarities is just one of those releases that had so much potential, and in my mind fell short of what the goal was. Not that there is much about the release that is bad, indeed this is a fine collection of songs if you are any kind of Deftones fan, but it's definitely lacking as to what it could have been. A lot of key songs are missing, and the pace/mode of the cd seems to be more centered on slower, moodier pieces, and lacking the balance that most Deftones releases seem to have. It's just one of those instances when your hopes are extremely high, and in the end you wind up getting dissapointed.

To begin the song selection seems odd to me. It's not that any of the songs are bad, just most are stuff we've already heard, or are just different versions of old songs. The "Digital Bath", "Change In The House of Flies" and "Be Quiet And Drive" acoustics, while good, have been heard by most fans. The "Teenager" remix isn't really that special or different from the original. Most of the good songs featured on here are cover songs. "Simple Man" and "No Ordinary Love" are Leonard Skynard covers. "The Chauffer" is an excellent Duran Duran cover. While we do get some cover songs, we get a couple of originals in "Crenshaw" and "Black Moon", however neither compares to the rarities that weren't placed on here. Which is why after listening to the cd, I'm still left with the question, "Where's the stuff we wanted to hear?" Foolishly left off the cd is "Teething", perhaps one of the best Deftones songs around (which appeared on the Crow City of Angels Soundtrack). "I Can Barely Breathe" (Escape from LA soundtrack) was also left off.
Read more ›
6 Comments Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
7 of 8 people found the following review helpful By A. Estes on October 10, 2005
Format: Audio CD
"Well it's about damn time"

That was the the first thought that popped into my head when I found out the Deftones would be releasing a CD/DVD set of unreleased material and music videos. There are so many great, hard to find Deftones classics out there, it's high time some of them were presented in proper form to the public! "B-Sides & Rarities" comes at a good time, as we are still waiting for the fifth Deftones album (which keeps getting pushed back into oblivion). Along with Team Sleep's debut earlier this year, this set provides a nice placeholder for the new album. Something to keep us occupied until new music presents itself.

Right off the bat, any Deftones fan who has spent time on the 'net downloading bootlegs and b-sides (or even buying those pricey imports) will tell you how much excellent material is missing. For starters, none of the group's original demos (of which, there are many) are included. One of the best demos, "Like Linus" would have fit in perfectly. Likewise, Charlie Clouser's rare remix of "My Own Summer (Shove It)" would have been great as well. But complaints aside, let's talk about what is actually on here. The CD is comprised of 14 tracks, mostly cover songs or acoustic versions of Deftones' classics. There are quite a few choice covers that show the obvious influences (i.e. The Cure, Helmet, Duran Duran) and a few totally bizarre, left-field choices as well. The one song that sticks out like a sore-thumb would be their cover of Lynyrd Skynyrd's "Simple Man." Musically, they nail the song, and make it their own. But unfortunately, Chino's vocal performance is rather uninspired, as he shows little to no emotion while singing a very sentimental song (reportedly, Chino didn't dig the song until after they recorded it).
Read more ›
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful By Jon on October 4, 2005
Format: Audio CD
First off, I want to point out the positives of this release, because it does have a few. Not concerning the songs themselves, but that casing is amazing. It comes in an extremely well done hardback book, with the CD being on the back of the cover when you open it, and the DVD being on the inside of the back....all with great photos and liner notes from the band being on the pages between. I also thorougly LOVE the fact that they finally brought back the fuzzy dandelion disc art that we all know from the Adrenaline and Around The Fur discs. I wish they would have stuck with this on the White Pony and Self Titled discs. But anyways, as far as positive ends from the music...The Chauffeur. This has always been one of my favorite deftones tracks. Its also very nice to have official releases of some of the tracks, considering the quality one gets from finding tracks online isnt always that great. Its also extremely sweet to have every single deftones video on one dvd, that deffinetly satisfies the anal b*#^@rd in me.

But, the biggest nit pick I have with this is the music itself. Not that I wish any of these songs werent present, I just want more. It also saddens me that they left out some of their best B-sides. This disc is not so much a rarities and b-sides as it is a "Covers and Remixes" album. I have been looking forward to a deftones b-sides for years. In fact, I made one myself awhile ago. But I was looking forward to the official release, with consistent mixing and production...and because some of my favorite tracks are missing its a dissapointment. The most noteable tracks absent are "Teething" (one of the best deftones tracks ever, better than most of their album tracks) and (like everyone else has already said) "To Have And To Hold.
Read more ›
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

Most Recent Customer Reviews

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?

Look for Similar Items by Category